BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Georgia & the CSRA

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/13/2000

BMW of Macon

Phone: (478) 757-7000Fax: (478) 757-7019

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Repairs made by BMW of Macon to a 2012 BMW X5 purchased as new about six weeks earlier are inferior. The brakes are squealing or not working properly.
I took the 2012 BMW X5 XDR 35D sold as new on 9-11-13 to ****** ******* ******* my son, back to BMW of Macon on Nov. 11 after they made repairs to the front left wheel and related damage due to impact (Invoice XXXXX; customer# XXXXXX; Invoice date: 11-8-2013). I initially picked up the X5 on late Friday, Nov. 8th; I heard brake squealing but was not able to return until Monday, Nov. 11 when the service department reopened. I contacted my insurer to inform them that the car was making the squealing noise when pressing the brakes and that this noise was not there prior to the repair; they gave me the ok to return it and allowed two additional days of rental for BMW of Macon to figure out what was going on. My BMW service advisor, ******* ****** per a voicemail on Nov. 13 at 11:27AM said, "...I don't have any issues with the brake at all...all of the brakes are in perfect working condition, it could have been where the vehicle sat for an extended period of time waiting on the insurance and all...had a little build up in surface rust...that type of thing...everything with the vehicle as far as the braking system is in perfect working shape...I have everything ready to go for you..."

After work, on Friday, Nov. 15, I returned to BMW of Macon to inform them that I was still hearing the brake noise and wanted a technician to ride with me in an attempt to replicate the noise. A different service adviser rode with me and he heard the noise. He told me that he knew exactly what was causing it and would take it back to the service department and get it taken care of.

Before I could get home, I was still hearing the noise. This person did not complete a service report, but one of the customer service ladies in the intake area pointed to the vehicle when I returned as if everything was fine. The following week was very busy and I did not have an opportunity to get back up to Macon from Warner Robins to report the same problem; however, I plan to take it to them on Monday, 11-24-13 since I will be on Thanksgiving break. I want the problem fixed and the vehicle performing as it should. It was sold as a new vehicle to my son with at least 4500 miles on it. The Dunlop run flat tires on the new vehicle per ******* ***** needed replacing already 32nd wear, which means worn to wear bars per the invoice.

Although my son is of age, he is a novice with purchasing new vehicles. Unfortunately for the consumer, most car dealerships thrive on fraud, deception, manipulation, greed, lies, trickery, deep corruption, and the constant pursuit to financially injure innocent and unsuspecting consumers." I have already posted a complaint about how the X5 was sold to him.

Initial Business Response
Final brake repairs were made on November the 27th 2013 RO#XXXXX @ 8,256 miles. . As a customer goodwill, Front brakes were replaced. To date, we have not heard of any issues with a noise from the front braking system. It is our understanding the brakes are repaired?
As for the tires, the particular tires in question are a soft compound high performance tires. It is extremely rare that no more than 10,000 miles are put on this type of performance tire. The customer has already called the Dunlop manufacture (which is where the tire warranty is processed) and reached an agreement with Dunlop for new tires. All tire warranties are performed through the tire manufacture Not BMW. Not to mention, during the wreck the car had jumped a curb.
The X5D was sold as new. The vehicle was a new car demo and therefore had never been titled. Being that the X5D had never been titled to anyone, it was new. During the transaction, Mr. ****** stated he left his drivers licenses at home. He said he would return with them the following day. To date, after repeated calls, Mr. ****** has yet to return with his licenses.
The irony in all of this; the car was left abandon after the accident at another local dealer, 5 star. The Police discovered the X5 wrecked with tires busted. Not to mention, the car was abandoned with the driver's door open, keys in it and still running. When the police asked the owner, Mr. ******, he stated to the police he didn't own the car. It was the following morning, Mrs. ******* had the car towed to BMW of Macon for repairs.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I have placed deposit ($2000) to order two vehicles and had to cancel the orders in about 4 days. The dealer is not willing to refund my deposit.
I have placed my orders to purchase two vehicles(X5, X1) on 10/18/13. **** (the dealer) asked me to put some deposit to order but he didn't tell me anything about the deposit money is not refundable or any policy related to my deposit. He told me because those cars would be made as per the orders and be available in 4 wks and 7 wks each. I used my credit card to pay for my deposit ($2,000) I have confirmed with **** the orders were put in the system in the next day (10/19/13) On 10/23/13 order cancellation request made by me, adressed to the dealer (****) through his personal cell phone (17:24 p.m.) Since I already placed the deposit, if I cancel the orders now, I will not get any deposit. He never explained to me regarding this refund service and I didn't sign any document to acknowledge this. I pointed out the fact that it has not been even 4 days since orders were placed. I don't think those cars are already assembled and ready to be sold. He promised to call me back to check the order status but never called me back on 10/23/13. I made a second phone call to confirm the status to him but he was not answering (18:39 p.m.) I left a voice msg to his cell phone. I feel frustrated with his attitude especially his customer service. Please look into this.

Initial Business Response
bmw of macon ordered 2 cars for mr. *****, mr. ***** wanted to back out after the cars were ordered.bmw of macon ordered the 2 cars in good faith for mr. ***** and did what he asked and agreed on all numbers, therefore constituded a deal and got a $2,000.00 deposit to go forward. i made a decision to refund his money back and on oct 28th we gave him his $2,000.00 back.bmw of macon was 100% in the right to keep the deposits on over $100,000.00 worth of cars that we are being stuck with, but didnt want to get tied up with headaches and wasting our time so we agreed to credit him back.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/26/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.