BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/13/2000

BMW of Macon

Phone: (478) 757-7000Fax: (478) 757-7019

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Management promised me new tires at purchased of vehicle. One tire was incorrectly plugged and technician stripped out hole to mount tire.
I purchased a pre-own vehicle from merchant. After bringing home and taking it back the next day to have put on computer was told needed new tires, wire was hanging out of them. Complained to salesperson, then management agreed to put new tires on the vehicle. For the past two weeks I road in the vehicle low air pressure light came on, didn't think nothing about. But this week, it keep coming on even after I put air in the tire so I thought maybe it has a nail or something. Immediately I took to my local BMW to purchase tire. The technician asked where did I get the tires and I told him BMW of Macon put the tires on when I purchased the vehicle. I found out not only wasn't the tired new, it had been plugged incorrectly which was the reason the air continued to leak out and whomever put the tire on stripped out the whole on the hub you put the bolt in to mount the tired and just left the bolt in there. I purchased the new tired because I had no other way home but the car also needs a new hub. I called Macon BMW and they have yet to get back with me or ****** *** of ******* about the repair. They isn't taking ownership of there mistake. I want repayment of the tire I purchased and the hub repaired.

Desired Settlement
I want repayment of the tire I purchased because the air wasn't going out for anything I done, it was due to the incorrect tire plug and for BMW of Macon to pay for the repair of the hub to be done at ****** *** of *******.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** G.S.M.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@bmwofmacon.com
We told Mr. ******* that we would cover the requested repairs and he gave us the phone number for his contact at his local BMW dealer. After several attempts to reach his local dealer with no returned calls we waited to hear from Mr. *******. If he could have his contact locally return our calls we will arrange payment for said repairs.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No per the local dealer, ****** *** of *******, Service Department, ***** ******* he has not received any call back from BMW of Macon. Mr. ***** ****** advised me that they had ordered the part before I left and said he will contact me once he receive the call back from BMW of Macon. When I called him back the next week he advised that he still haven't received a call back from the dealership. Mr. ***** ****** number is XXX-XXX-XXXX

12/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman lied to me about purchasing a car and got my personal information and ran my credit after I told him not to make any inquiry.
Salesman call me several times after he reviewed information on ************* I told him ****** ***** I was on vacation but insisted to call me everyday are send a text about a car. I told him that I was going to wait on my purchase until I could put more money down. ***** insist that he could get me approve. He ask how long was it before you tried to get a car I told him a week ago and did not want my credit ran again. I lied to me about my personal information and use it to get my credit score. I got and alert from one of the credit bureau that and hard inquiry was recently made. ***** act like he didn't know what I was talking about and he did not make and inquiry and will call me back and never did. I tried call him and he will not answer. I call a manager of BMW of Macon and explain the issue and he took side with the salesman as I did something wrong. I think they have got over on a lot of people to put food on there table. They are scammers

Desired Settlement
Never lie to sale a car.

Business Response
When I received Mrs. ******* complaint I investigated her claim that we submitted her to various lenders. This allegation is false as we are the only entity to have viewed her credit file. We have her request stored electronically with her secure digital signature authorizing us to view it to determine how likely it was for us to arrange financing. When it was determined that we cold not arrange financing she accused us of submitting her to lenders.

12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repairs made by BMW of Macon to a 2012 BMW X5 purchased as new about six weeks earlier are inferior. The brakes are squealing or not working properly.
I took the 2012 BMW X5 XDR 35D sold as new on 9-11-13 to ****** ******* ******* my son, back to BMW of Macon on Nov. 11 after they made repairs to the front left wheel and related damage due to impact (Invoice XXXXX; customer# XXXXXX; Invoice date: 11-8-2013). I initially picked up the X5 on late Friday, Nov. 8th; I heard brake squealing but was not able to return until Monday, Nov. 11 when the service department reopened. I contacted my insurer to inform them that the car was making the squealing noise when pressing the brakes and that this noise was not there prior to the repair; they gave me the ok to return it and allowed two additional days of rental for BMW of Macon to figure out what was going on. My BMW service advisor, ******* ****** per a voicemail on Nov. 13 at 11:27AM said, "...I don't have any issues with the brake at all...all of the brakes are in perfect working condition, it could have been where the vehicle sat for an extended period of time waiting on the insurance and all...had a little build up in surface rust...that type of thing...everything with the vehicle as far as the braking system is in perfect working shape...I have everything ready to go for you..."

After work, on Friday, Nov. 15, I returned to BMW of Macon to inform them that I was still hearing the brake noise and wanted a technician to ride with me in an attempt to replicate the noise. A different service adviser rode with me and he heard the noise. He told me that he knew exactly what was causing it and would take it back to the service department and get it taken care of.

Before I could get home, I was still hearing the noise. This person did not complete a service report, but one of the customer service ladies in the intake area pointed to the vehicle when I returned as if everything was fine. The following week was very busy and I did not have an opportunity to get back up to Macon from Warner Robins to report the same problem; however, I plan to take it to them on Monday, 11-24-13 since I will be on Thanksgiving break. I want the problem fixed and the vehicle performing as it should. It was sold as a new vehicle to my son with at least 4500 miles on it. The Dunlop run flat tires on the new vehicle per ******* ***** needed replacing already 32nd wear, which means worn to wear bars per the invoice.

Although my son is of age, he is a novice with purchasing new vehicles. Unfortunately for the consumer, most car dealerships thrive on fraud, deception, manipulation, greed, lies, trickery, deep corruption, and the constant pursuit to financially injure innocent and unsuspecting consumers." I have already posted a complaint about how the X5 was sold to him.

Desired Settlement
At this time, make the corrections to the vehicle braking system so that it can run the way that it is suppose to. In addition, I would like to get a reimbursement of the difference in cost that I had to pay for 3 new tires at another service provider due to the fact that BMW of Macon service was not willing to make things right by replacing those used tires with new tires and reimbursement for the difference that I had to pay($159.32) for the tire that my insurance company replaced through the dealership at a premium rate of $482.79 on Nov. 8 and road hazard cost for all 4 after Dunlop Corporation at least gave a claim settlement for a portion of something that should never have been for a vehicle sold as "new" two months earlier. By the way, registration is still in BMW of Macon's name because they did not follow sales practices and require state issued ID prior to sale. My son does not have a state issued ID and the BMW Salesperson, Stan Treadway, and all associated with the transaction were greedy to get a cash sale for an overly priced 2012 X5 XDR 35D sold as new for nearly $75,000 with 4700 miles on it (at least showing on the odometer). The Attorney General or independent agencies need to look into these practices. I will also notify BMW headquarters about these practices at BMW of Macon.

Business Response
Final brake repairs were made on November the 27th 2013 RO#XXXXX @ 8,256 miles. . As a customer goodwill, Front brakes were replaced. To date, we have not heard of any issues with a noise from the front braking system. It is our understanding the brakes are repaired?
As for the tires, the particular tires in question are a soft compound high performance tires. It is extremely rare that no more than 10,000 miles are put on this type of performance tire. The customer has already called the Dunlop manufacture (which is where the tire warranty is processed) and reached an agreement with Dunlop for new tires. All tire warranties are performed through the tire manufacture Not BMW. Not to mention, during the wreck the car had jumped a curb.
The X5D was sold as new. The vehicle was a new car demo and therefore had never been titled. Being that the X5D had never been titled to anyone, it was new. During the transaction, Mr. ****** stated he left his drivers licenses at home. He said he would return with them the following day. To date, after repeated calls, Mr. ****** has yet to return with his licenses.
The irony in all of this; the car was left abandon after the accident at another local dealer, 5 star. The Police discovered the X5 wrecked with tires busted. Not to mention, the car was abandoned with the driver's door open, keys in it and still running. When the police asked the owner, Mr. ******, he stated to the police he didn't own the car. It was the following morning, Mrs. ******* had the car towed to BMW of Macon for repairs.

11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have placed deposit ($2000) to order two vehicles and had to cancel the orders in about 4 days. The dealer is not willing to refund my deposit.
I have placed my orders to purchase two vehicles(X5, X1) on 10/18/13. **** (the dealer) asked me to put some deposit to order but he didn't tell me anything about the deposit money is not refundable or any policy related to my deposit. He told me because those cars would be made as per the orders and be available in 4 wks and 7 wks each. I used my credit card to pay for my deposit ($2,000) I have confirmed with **** the orders were put in the system in the next day (10/19/13) On 10/23/13 order cancellation request made by me, adressed to the dealer (****) through his personal cell phone (17:24 p.m.) Since I already placed the deposit, if I cancel the orders now, I will not get any deposit. He never explained to me regarding this refund service and I didn't sign any document to acknowledge this. I pointed out the fact that it has not been even 4 days since orders were placed. I don't think those cars are already assembled and ready to be sold. He promised to call me back to check the order status but never called me back on 10/23/13. I made a second phone call to confirm the status to him but he was not answering (18:39 p.m.) I left a voice msg to his cell phone. I feel frustrated with his attitude especially his customer service. Please look into this.

Desired Settlement
I want full refund of my depost ($2,000) from BMW of Macon.

Business Response
bmw of macon ordered 2 cars for mr. *****, mr. ***** wanted to back out after the cars were ordered.bmw of macon ordered the 2 cars in good faith for mr. ***** and did what he asked and agreed on all numbers, therefore constituded a deal and got a $2,000.00 deposit to go forward. i made a decision to refund his money back and on oct 28th we gave him his $2,000.00 back.bmw of macon was 100% in the right to keep the deposits on over $100,000.00 worth of cars that we are being stuck with, but didnt want to get tied up with headaches and wasting our time so we agreed to credit him back.

08/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.