BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Georgia & the CSRA

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2005

Davis Appliance & Furniture

Phone: (706) 796-0500Fax: (706) 798-8185

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Dryer delivered did not work. WOuld not refund money sent someone out to fix and dryer could not be fixed. Delivered another dryer and it did not work
on 5/8/13 my step father senior citizen ****** went to ****** Appliance and purchased a dryer and paid a delivery fee. Dryer was delivered and when hooked up did not work. We requested money back and they refused saying they did not give refunds. my argument was you did not deliver a working dryer. I spoke with an office manager who was very rude so I asked to speak to the manager. I was thentold the manager was not available and put on the phone with a sales person who was rude told me I could not have a refund on the non working dryer that they would send someone to fix the dryer because it had a 90 day warranty. Two men came back to my house, looked at the dryer and said it could not be fixed and they would bring me another dryer tomorrow. I told them that was not acceptable ****** had paid for a working dryer to be delivered today. They left and said they would bring me back another dryer as soon as possible. The two men showed back up hooked up a another dryer and left. The second dryer they left does not work either ! It will turn on and spin but no heat comes out to dry the clothes. I ran the dryer for 3 hours and the clothes are still wet. I feel they should refund ****** 100% of his money. What kind of business delivers not 1 but 2 broken products ?

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@GMAIL.COM
MR ***** PURCHASED A DRYER FROM US ON 5/8/2013 AND THE CUSTOMER CALLED TO REPORT UNIT WASNT WORKING . WE DO CHECK ALL MERCHANDISE BEFORE PUTTING IT ON FLOOR, BUT WITH USED APPLIANCE THEY CAN GO BAD. THATS WHY WE GIVE A 90 DAY WARRANTY. WE TOOK CARE OF THIS CUSTOMER THE SAME DAY AND REPLACED THE UNIT. IF WE CANT REPAIR UNIT WE REPLACE UNIT FOR EQUILE VALUE, BUT DO NOT GIVE REFUNDS. AT THIS TIME WE BELIEVED THIS CUSTOMER TI BE SATISFIED. IF NOT WE WILL REPAIR OR REPLACE

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/01/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: On Feb. 26,2013 I purchased a bedroom set. March 4, 2013 i still havent recieved it.
On Feb. 26,2013 i purchased a bedroom set from them and was told from the store owner son that he just ordered 5 of the bedroom sets and that they would be in the next day. i continued on with the purchase paid in full and set up the deliever date for the next day feb. 27, 2013. the next day feb 27 2013 i sat at home all day and reieved a phone calll about 4pm saying my furniture hadnt arrived it should be in fri no later then tues. i said ok but if its not in by tues ill be back to get a refund. he said ok hung up the phone.. March 4 2013 i still hadnt received my furniture nor had it come on the truck and they said they didnt know when it would be in. i went to another furniture store found a bedroom set. i proceeded to davis appliance to get my refund in full for 1,025.92. they told me they had to charge me a restocking fee of 224.75. how can you restock something you never received in the store?

Business' Initial Response
In regards to the purchase made by Ms. **** *****, we have a firm no refund policy. She special ordered the bedroom group and on the receipt that she signed it shows to allow 2-12 weeks for all special order items. It also states that there is a 25% restocking fee on all merchandise not received. In her case when we found that the group was going to be delayed we notified her and explained that it would be in by Friday, March 1, 2013 no later than Tuesday, March 5,2013. When we received the bedroom group we made her aware and by that time she refused the merchandise and demanded a refund in which case we charged a restocking fee.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The salesman who no longer works there, told me to keep calling back to check and see when it would arrive. .I was never giving a Time frame for an expected arrival date. The refund signs are posted high above the register where no one would look up.I didnt see it until the day they pointed it out. The store owner son was with another customer trying to collect personal information from her in front of a large group. She got up and left because she said he wasn't getting her info in front of everyone and left.He blamed us for her leaving. I dont understand how can you charge a restocking fee when the furniture never was on its way to the store. .

Business' Final Response
In response to Ms. ***** rebuttal we are confused as to her argument. In her original complaint she stated that we gave her a delivery time frame of, and i quote "the next day feb 27 2013 i sat home all day and reieved a phone calll about 4pm saying my furniture hadnt arrived it should be in fri no later than tues. i said ok but if its not in tues ill be back to get a refund." We show the merchandise was in fact instock at the time she received her refund on March 4, 2013 which was on Monday. In response to the location of the refund signs, they are posted not only on the wall above the counter where the customer makes their purchases but it is also on the invoice in which we have the customer acknowledge our NO REFUNDS ALL SALES FINAL and returns/exchanges policy. In response to the other customer not wanting to release there information has no relevance to the refund or restocking fee dispute.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

06/11/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/21/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Furniture - Retail

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.