BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Grand Seas Resort

Phone: (386) 677-7880Fax: (386) 673-1991

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service27
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints34

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (34)
02/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I stayed 2/4/16-2/6/16. Today is 2/10/16 and they are still holding and now processing the $150.00 deposit they promised to return.
They take a large deposit in addition to the cost of the room. There were no issues or reason that it should not be refunded as promised. I called to check and there are no issues. I went online to bank of America and they are processing and taking/ keeping my deposit illegally.

Desired Settlement
Refund the $150 security deposit as promised immediately.

Final Consumer Response
Resolved. They did return the deposit after we filed the complaint. Thank you.

01/27/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THEY WANT TO CHARGE MAINTENANCE FEE DURING YEARS WE CAN'T USE RESORT!!
We own an even year unit. Was told that we would only pay the maintenance fee in years we used the resort (even years). Just got a bill for 2015 Maintenance Fee (along with the 2016 fee). RIP OFF!!

Desired Settlement
Would like to give them the unit back and get some part of what we paid back!

Final Consumer Response
From: ************************************************
Sent: Tuesday, January 26, 2016 12:47 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#*******************************************

The resort has corrected this error and it is now all set. No need to proceed.

Thank you.

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
February 28 to March 7th. Worst vacation ever.problems everyday
When we checked in, paid $100 for extra bedroom.went to take showers no hot water.they moved us next day. Bathroom had hair all over it,vomit outside window, on downstairs balconey, woke up two nites in a row, due to kids partying next door. Restraint closed, bar closed, one elevater, on the way home in Georgia we realized our car had over spray paint all over it and caulking on the top of it.I have been on the phone with them for 3 weeks trying to get the money nine hundred and thirty dollars to fix my car.

Desired Settlement
it cost nine hundred and thirty dollars and 87 cents to repair my car. if we have to drive to Florida to go to small claims court we will be asking for 3000.

Final Consumer Response
From: ***** ***** (mailto:*******@gmail.com)
Sent: Monday, April 13, 2015 12:37 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

The contractor that was painting for them finally sent me a check for my vehicle. It did take them a month but at least they did resolve the problem

04/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to hold up contract agreement to utilize additional resorts. Additionally, paid my dues for 2014 and was not able to utilize my banked points.
It is my understanding that Grand Seas Resort had filed bankruptcy and now is under new management. This timeshare has been paid for and have owned it since 2003. Contractually we are a Club ****** owner which is based from a floating timeshare which utilizes a point system. Meaning we are charged points based from the season in which we travel. Club ****** was taken over by ******* ******* and we had 5000 points banked with them and paid our dues for the year. After calling ******* ******* to utilize our points we were denied and were told to contact Grand Seas. Grand Seas is no longer affiliated with ******* ******* and therefore they can no longer honor our points through them. After contacting Grand Seas they told me that they do not use the points system and can only book my week and seasonality does not matter. This is a breach of contact and want resolution on this matter.

Desired Settlement
My resolution on this matter would be to give back the ability to utilize my points based system and my banked points from 2014. Additionally, since those points are not able to be utilized a refund of my dues which are $149.

Business Response
Mr. *******,

We sincerely apologize for the trouble you are having using your points through Club ************** Resorts. Unfortunately, Club ************** Resorts is a completely separate company and we cannot control their decisions. This issue is well known to us and is being dealt with as quickly as possible by our upper management and Club ************** Resorts.
While we are awaiting the resolution with Club ************** Resorts you can set reservations through us here at the Grand Seas Resort or you can use Interval International. Through Interval International you can trade your time to stay at a different location within their network (which is internationally recognized).
To set a reservation with Interval International you will need to create a new account separate from Club *************** Interval International's membership fee is $89.00 (Club ***************** membership fee this year is over $186.00). Any account owned through Club ************** Resorts will be inaccessible.
Once you have opened a new account with Interval International please contact our Reservations Department. We will bank the 2014 week you missed last year as well as give you an additional week for 2014. The only way to access these weeks will be through Interval International.
If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us directly at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.



Thank you,
Grand Seas Resort - Owner Services
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is acceptable for now, we will see if this service can be continued by them. Will give them every opportunity. Have been a member since 2003 and would appreciate better treatment.

01/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i purchased something and it was nothing like what i was told they lied to me and took my money
i took a vacation club tour on dec 16 th the man told me lie after lie making this sound like the best thing ever i made the purchase but had to wait 7 days to get the package which i guess is there cancellation time how nice ! i got the package and not one thing they told me is true. ! Not a one. i have been robbed of 2245 and i live on a fixed income. they took advantage of me and this is wrong. please help me get my money back and help other ppl from getting robbed. please help me. they said i would get discount vacations they are more expensive than anyone , they said if anyone beats there price they pay 110% thats not true. i have left messages for days no one will return my call i am helpless i contacted my credit card. please stop these thiefs

Desired Settlement
i want a full refund for the package i purchased that was nothing even close to the truth , they lied. deceived and set me up i want a refund of $ 2245.00 they will not answer or return my calls

Final Consumer Response
refunded

Page 1 of 2
11/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we purchased a unit from Grand seas its been paid for in full for 6 years we have never stayed there do to issues or weeks not available 3 years ago we lost are house to a fire and I called 11/2013 and ask if they would take this unit back it was paid in full and I was told at that time from Morgan ext. **** that paper work would be sent and that it would not take place till march 11/2013 that when they do all trans actions like this never was sent a thing then in 1/21/15 I get paper work again saying we owe $802.42 so I call and find out Morgan is no longer with the company and John informed me she was not doing her job as it should be done and was released he informed me he had tried calling us a lot about payment and I in fact we never have been called from him I gave John my work phone number and it rings directly to my cell phone that I have 24/7 365 I have never to this day received a call from Grand seas when I talked with John I told him what I talked with Morgan about and that we would like to give are paid in full unit back and pay off any out standing bill John said I would have t o wait till march 2015 this would be sent to the board members and they will file paper work and let me know where I need to go from there never received any calls from Grand seas then on 8-25-2015 I get a collection notice for $2028.36 I was again called 2 weeks ago by the collection agency asking for payments I asked if I paid it in full would they send a quick claim deed or take the unit back and was told no and that my bill would just keep getting bigger and I would get sued for more money and lose my credit for 7 years I again asked is there any way to get the bill paid and stop charging me and just take this time share back and was told no I said I guess I will have bad credit then I'm asking you is there any thing I can do we are still rebuilding from are fire and don't have the extra cash but if I could make these blood hounds go away I will come up with the $2028.36 but I don't wont billed no more and they must take this unit back *************************
owner ID # ****
unit /week *******
if you cant help any advice who I should be contacting Thanks ***** hope your having a great day

Desired Settlement
Contact from business

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: The Grand Seas
Contact Phone: ************
We're sorry you haven't been able to use your timeshare these last few years. The maintenance and taxes are due from each owner before they are able to set a reservation each year. Mr. ***** you have what is referred to as a "floating week". You may set your reservation for any part of the year outside of "fixed/event weeks". We only have 8 fixed/event weeks throughout the year which are unavailable to floating week owners. Fixed/Event week owners may only use their timeshare during their fixed/event week. Reservations are based upon availability. I recommend calling to set your reservation with as much notice as possible to ensure you may book the dates you desire most.
All owners have the capability and power to resell or give their timeshare to an accepting party. We have researched Mr. *****'s claim of the Grand Seas offering to take back his timeshare. However, we don't have any record shown of ever offering to "take back" Mr. *****'s timeshare. Unfortunately, we don't offer any type of resale program at this time. However, we do provide assistance with the transfer process. Once an owner has found a buyer they may contact us for assistance in the transfer process. They may contact our Member Services department at *************
We do not discuss any owner's personal financial information with anyone but the owner.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
you will never find this company admitting to saying any thing they will how ever tell you one thing on the phone and then never here back from them I have talked to 2 people at this company and have been given the run around when we first bought this time share we was told its a time share not a motel but found out its a motel after buying any one can walk off the street and stay this company never keeps its word or fallows thru on what they tell you they can have this time share back and I will pay any and all out standing outstanding bills or I can just loose my good credit rating and the time share can sit until they take it back we made a promise to pay for something and we kept it they made a promise and have never lived up to there end you can go on several sites and read of horror story after horror stories of this company telling you any thing to buy and when you get home only to find out your stuck with something you cant use I invite some one from the BBB to go listen the stories they tell you to buy in and then sit back and watch as you found out your stuck sitting 1000 miles away like me

Thanks ***

07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Resort has not lived up to promises.
June, 2007, I refinanced the mortgage. At that time, I owed approximately $8000, and agreed to pay $150.88 per month.

Desired Settlement
Accept my offer to sign over my unit to the Resort, and I will pay transfer fees. Remove the late payment status from all 3 credit bureaus.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Owner Services
Contact Phone: ************
Mr. **************,

I'm sorry you no longer wish to be the owner of your property at the Grand Seas Resort. If you decide to remove your obligation to your property I recommend you transfer ownership to another party. You are more than welcome to sell or even give your property away as it's your property. Unfortunately, the Grand Seas Resort is not in a position to take over ownership of your property. In order to transfer your ownership to any party you would first need to satisfy any balance due if you have a mortgage. Our records indicate no contact has been made to maintain your property since 2013.
If you require any assistance completing a transfer please call us at ************. To check on any mortgage status you may dial our financial services department at ************.
You stated "I was promised free upgrades." I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "free upgrades." However, we do offer upgrades to larger units if available. For example if you own a Studio unit you can request to upgrade to a 2-bedroom. If the unit is available we can upgrade your unit to the 2-bedroom. There is a charge to upgrade to a larger unit as the extra cost is not included in your annual maintenance and taxes for the smaller studio unit.
You stated "continual updates of unit." We have and do maintain all of the units constantly. We have a chief engineer on site as well as a maintenance department. However, the Home Owners Association is planning on renovating all of the units over the next few years in separate stages. This is so the resort can stay open during the entire process.
We have never "locked in maintenance fees." Maintenance fees are not decided until the annual Home Owners Association budget meeting. You and all of the other owners here at the Grand Seas Resort make up the Home Owners Association. If you feel the maintenance fees are too high or feel the money isn't being used towards projects you approve of, please voice your opinion. You may write a letter to the board of directors for the Home Owners Association so that it may be discussed at the next board meeting.
We have two different types of weeks available for ownership, fixed and floating weeks. Only fixed weeks have guaranteed reservations. Fixed weeks can only be used during the fixed week decided upon during the sale of the property. We have 8 different fixed weeks available; week 6 is Rolex 24 hour race, week 7 is Daytona 500 race, week 9 is Bike Week, week 26 is Pepsi 400 race, week 42 is Biketober Fest, week 47 is Turkey Rod Run, week 51 is Christmas and week 52 is New Years. Floating weeks can be used throughout the rest of the year. Non-Fixed week owners CAN NOT stay during the fixed weeks. Floating weeks are based upon availability.
We have experienced many changes since you've last visited us. At the end of September 2014 we were purchased by Exploria Resorts. Immediately after the purchase we started major renovations of the entire property. The first thing you will notice is the color of our building has changed from yellow to a light blue with white trim. We have three new elevators being installed this year (one at a time). Our roofs were completely resurfaced with white energy efficient material. The restaurant is being completely remodeled as well as our Tiki bar on the pool deck. The turf for our Putt-Putt golf course was recently redone as well with many more renovations soon to come. We would be more than happy to go over all of these changes with you in more detail upon request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I HAVE MAILED A CERTIFIED LETTER WITH PERTINENT DETAILS, INCLUDING A COPY OF THE ORIGINAL CERTIFIED LETTER I SENT TO SUMMER BAY RESORT LOAN SERVICING, AND AS MY LETTER STATES- I REFINANCED MY MORTGAGE UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT EVERYTHING PRTOMISED TO ME BY THE LADY IN THE CONFERENCE ROOM ACROSS THE STREET IN 2007. I FEEL I WAS MISLED UNDER MISREPRESENTING AND FRAUDULENT CLAIMS AND STATEMENTS. MAYBE YOU HAVE PERFORMEND UPGRADES AND REPAIRS, BUT THAT HAS ONLY OCCURRED WITH NEW OWNERS AND NOT BY THE LARGE CORPORATION WHO HAD PREVIOUSLY PURCHASED THE RESORT AND SINCE I REALIZED THE REFINANCE STATEMENTS WERE A HOAX.
WHAT ABOUT THE 6 YEARS THAT I WAS PAYING A MONTHLY MORTGAGE AND LARGE MAINTENANCE FEES?
I AM ATTACHING COPIES OF BOTH LETTERS.

07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company lied about the money owed on the account and waits until a month before the scheduled vacation to claim that the balance was never paid.
In February of 2015, I called to make a payment on my timeshare and schedule my date. At the time of the call, I was informed that no balance was due since our previous year was paid for but we did not attend. The rep made it seem that our room had been rented out since we notified them that we could not make it and those funds were pushed forward onto this years fees. In May of 2015, I received a letter stating that if I did not pay my fee my March of 2015, my account would be going to collections. The dates on the letter made no sense so I called. After no answer for 2 days, I finally got through. The reps were very degrading and didn't seem to want to listen. I was transferred to a supervisor who did not return calls for close to a week. Eventually, she got back with me and told me that there was nothing that I could do since my previous conversations were not on paper from the company. I was also told that there was no way I could schedule my float week vacation with a balance still pending. I questioned the supervisor who just said it didnt make sense that I scheduled it but I had a balance and I had to pay it. I will be contacting my lawyer about their practices and I will end up selling my timeshare and let them rip someone else off.

Desired Settlement
I expect this business to stand by their claims that I do not owe any fees for the 2015 rental. I dont understand why the reps expected me to have a papercopy of a conversation in February. I havent received any letters about our recent conversations. Their policies state that I can not schedule my timeshare without paying my fees. Why is it that now, I owe something and I scheduled my timeshare 4 Months ago.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

All owners are responsible to maintain their units by paying maintenance and taxes every year. If their maintenance and taxes are not paid they may not use their unit. We sent out the 2015 Home Owners Association statement last December, 2014. The due date is January 1st of every year. The entire month of January, 2015 was their grace period before accruing any late fee or interest charge.
Mr. and Mrs. **** never requested their unit to be rented last year. We require a rental agreement to be signed and returned to us in order to make their unit available for renting. The deadline last year to setup a rental was June 1st, 2014.
We spoke to Mr. and Mrs. **** multiple times last year in regards to their reservations. On March 14th, 2014 Mrs. **** called and requested the ability to split their two-bedroom unit for a one-bedroom and a studio unit, both for a complete week in August. We of course accommodated and booked both units for them. Then on July 31st, 2014 Mrs. **** called and canceled their weeks for August 9th, 2014 and booked a 2 bedroom instead for week 38 (in September). Then on September 6th, 2014 they called and canceled their reservation again. This time they stated they will call back before the end of the year to book their week. Unfortunately, the owners never called back to book there week. Since their week was not used and was not banked by October 1st, 2014 it was forfeit.
We most recently spoke with Mr. **** on June 12th, 2015 where a supervisor at our corporate office confirmed with Mr. **** the total balance due for his maintenance and taxes. Mr. **** was very argumentative and stated he doesn't owe anything.
Mr. and Mrs. **** have never claimed to have made any payment towards their 2015 maintenance and taxes. Unfortunately, if they have a past due balance for their 2015 maintenance and taxes they will not be able to use their unit. All owners have full access to their resort once the maintenance and taxes are paid in full for their unit.
Mr. and Mrs. **** are more than welcome to contact us directly to take care of this matter. They can call us here at the Grand Seas Resort directly at ************. They may also contact our corporate office at ************. If we may be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to call.


The Grand Seas Resort
Owner Services
************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As far as I can tell, all of the dates listed are correct but there are at least two dates missing from their timeline (either left off by the emailer or never put into their system by the reps that took the calls). Unfortunately I do not know the exact dates. I called mid November just to notify Grand Seas that I would not be attending this year and was asked if there was anything I could do to not be out the money. The rep said that it was unlikely that they could rent the unit out this late in the year but they could try and I should as well. If I found a friend who would take it then just call and let them know the names and dates. Unfortunately, I could not find anyone to rent the unit and I accepted that I would probably be out the money. In late February/Early March, I called with the intention of paying my dues (even though I never received a bill). Credit card in hand, I was told by the rep that NOTHING WAS OWED ON THE ACCOUNT and I was able to SCHEDULE MY DATE. The rep voiced that the unit must have been rented the previous year. I know nothing about signing a rental agreement because it was never expressed to me by the numerous reps I talked to. In May of 2015, I received a letter from Exploria about paying my dues (2-3 Months after being told I owed nothing and scheduled my date). The letter states "Owners with week usage will not receive reservations or banking (RCI) until your account is paid in full". Given this statement, there is no way that I would be able to schedule my reservation for July 25th-August 1st as was confirmed by the supervisor I spoke with recently. Unfortunately for the resort, they allowed me to schedule my vacation for the listed date AFTER telling me that I didnt owe ANYTHING. Now, 3-4 Months later, the company decides that they dont want to honor the verbal agreement they made with a customer. This is blatant theft and dishonesty by a company that is known to rip customers off as evidenced by the 33 BBB complaints on this company. I do not feel that I owe dues this year as I was told that I do not owe anything but in order to hold my date and give grand seas no legal right to take my date away, I am considering paying the dues again with an anticipation of a refund once they admit their wrong doing.

03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been leaving messages for the last 6 months with no return phone call. I want to get rid of my timeshare and need to get information.
I have been leaving messages for the last 6 months with no return phone calls. I want to get rid of my timeshare and need to get information on the process and fees associated. The annual fees are ridiculous. Grand Seas never returns phone calls or ever responded to the letter I sent. I had someone offer to take my time share from me, but I could never get the info! I no longer want this time share! I will GIVE it away. I am so disgusted and disappointed with Grand Seas and the reviews on- line only solidifies my feelings. I cannot even donate my timeshare because of the terrible reviews. I have always paid my bills on time and in full, at this point I am willing to let it ruin my excellent credit just to get rid of this thing. Grand seas has been unprofessional and unhelpful.

Desired Settlement
I want to give this time share back to Grand Seas. I no longer want ownership or to conduct ANY business with this organization.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Cust. Serv.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@grandseas.com
We show no record here at The Grand Seas Resort of any communication with the owners in regards to the issues they have expressed in their complaint. As there have been several departmental changes throughout the resort I am unsure as to what ext. or with whom any of the messages have been left with. However we would be more than happy to assist if the owner would like to contact us directly here at the Grand Seas Resort Customer Services Department. As for transferring the ownership it is a very straight forward process. To transfer ownership one would need to sign and have notarized, a Quit Claim Deed (Q.C.D.) with the acquiring party signing the same document. Once signed and notarized it would need to recorded in Volusia County (clerk.org). Once this has taken place we would just need a copy of the updated deed and we would make the adjustments in the system to reflect the new ownership.
Thank you,
**** *****
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. ****
Grand Seas Resort Customer Services
******@grandseas.com


Consumer Response
I have attempted to contact the representative multiple times. I have still not received a returned phone call or email.

02/17/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were mislead in regards to what we were purchasing from the moment we agreed to the sales presentation.
We notified Grand Seas a year ago of our dissatisfaction. To date we have been ignored. We have attached the letter we originally sent to Grand Seas along with the most recent correspondence we have received. It is a bill statement, all Grand Seas cares about is taking money for a subpar service.

Desired Settlement
Our names removed from this contract.

Business Response
These Owners entered into a Legal Binding Contract to purchase a timeshare here at the Grand seas Resort.
They were provided a Ten day cancelation per FL Statute 721.10 .
The Owner never Notified the Seller in writing of the intent to cancel.
The Owners purchase is valid and active as of 3-12-07.
The owners have an Active Mortgage through the Lender that must be maintained to avoid foreclosure. Likewise the maintainence and taxes are an obligation between them and the other owners collectively.
We show no record here at The Grand Seas Resort of any communication with the owners in regards to the issues they have expressed in their complaint.
We would be more than happy to discuss what options they have to resolve the matter if they would like to give us a call as we have tried unsuccesfully to contact these owners mothly and even daily for the past year and a half.
we can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We mailed our complaint to you via certified mail January 28, 2014. We have copies of the receipts that the letters were delivered and signed for. We also have alerted 2 separate third party debt collectors this timeshare is in dispute over the past year. There is no possible way we could have known in 10 days of ownership that we would not be satisfied with this timeshare. We have asked for a response in writing and do not wish to talk about matters over the phone. Your sales personnel talked us into an ownership and we do not want to continue moving forward with GrandSeas. There is no value to being a timeshare owner and we didn't realize we would be stuck paying on something for the rest of our lives that isn't worth the amount put into it. We are trying to be amicable and are asking for an exit plan.

Page 1 of 2
08/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This timeshare promised me they would take my membership back, but have not done so or sent me any paperwork to do so.
I have written two letters to the timeshare resort, Grand Seas Resort Partners, one dated September 15, 2015, the other November 2, 2015. I have never received a response. I know they got the letters as I received the return receipts.

I asked for release from my timeshare agreement because of financial distress. I contacted the home owner's association asking to be put on inventory surrender. No one has ever contacted me. I called the resort several times but only got voicemails that went unanswered. Finally I got a representative on the phone who was going to send me information about surrendering or selling, but I have not received anything.

Earlier, I went to Grand Seas to ask them to help me sell the property. Instead, they sold me more saying that I could rent it for enough to cover my expenses. Supposedly, they put my unit on a list of rentals, but it never rented.

I am 65 years old and recently retired, so don't have the money to continue to pay. The timeshare is useless to me. Had they done what they said they would do by renting, I would be OK. I had an autistic son with me at the time of the purchase who was very distracting. Sadly, he has since died.

I got a letter from a collection agency dated 8/30/15 for Grand Seas Association for $1076.30. I sent a notification that the debt was not valid.

I got notice to pay ********, which is the developer with Grand Seas, but it states a different owner ID number and contract number from mine, so I can only conclude there has been an error or mixup. No one is explaining this to me. Interestingly, May 19, I was contacted by "Giselle" who talked to her manager, "Linda," both from *****************--part of ******** Resorts. She said that they will buy it back if I pay a $250 legal fee. She said I should give her a credit card number, to transfer the title to them. I said I wasn't sending any money until I had something in writing. After not receiving anything I called again and was told I would get a call when it's written up. I have never been called.

Desired Settlement
The timeshare is paid off. All I owe is past maintenance fees. I want Grand Seas/******** to take the timeshare back, dissolve my debt, and refund my money from the 2015 purchase.

Business Response
We are saddened to hear about Ms. *******' current financial situation and of the passing of her son. We will try to answer all of her concerns in full. Ms. ******* states that her timeshare promised to take her membership back. We think that she is referring to the prior Developer/Management Company of Grand Seas Resort, prior to our buying same property from Bankruptcy in 2015 where we acquired some old mortgages, excess inventory and the Management contract from the HOA but has no inclusion in any promises that may have been made by GSRP. To be clear, Ms. ******* is an owner of deeded real estate property "a timeshare" at the Grand Seas Resort. Ms. ******* purchased that property from Grand Seas Resort Partners, a Florida General Partnership in 2009, copy of Deed enclosed. The GSRP no longer have an office at the Grand Seas Resort, nor do they manage the property.

The offer to take her property back for $250 was made with the caveat that her title is "free and clear" to this property. The $250 is to run a title search. Upon further research, it was noted that the Grand Seas Resort HOA cannot take her property back for her even if they wished to because there is currently a Mortgage Deed listed in the Volusia County Courts that has not been satisfied by GSRP. This means that there is a lien against this property and the only people who can clear that lien are GSRP. A Satisfaction of Mortgage would need to be filed by GSRP to clear this lien and provide clear title so that the ownership could change.

******** Resorts have never sold any property to Ms. *******. The debt regarding the payment of her HOA assessments is a valid debt. Ms. ******* currently owes $1791.71 in HOA Maintenance Fees and Taxes. The different Contract number that she received is a Contract number that ******** Resorts uses and does not mean that there is an error. The County Court does not show that this timeshare is paid in full and we suggest that she look up the Grand Seas Resort Partners to try to get better contact information for them. They are a completely different company and we do not have that information. If she paid them in full for her Mortgage, she will need to ask them to file a Satisfaction of Mortgage to clear that debt. If that occurs, her HOA may be willing to relook at her request to surrender the property. ********/Grand Seas Resort cannot dissolve the Mortgage debt or the maintenance fees and taxes debt. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us*************.



06/27/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
new owners want to change the original contract signed by us & representatives of grand sea resort.
about 10 years ago my wife & I bought a time share at grand sea resort for $5,000. the week we bought was christmas week each year which was worth 2000 points per year. points could be used to acquire other weeks of the year if they were available. each week of the year was given a point total. if we were able to acquire certain weeks with low point totals, we would be able to receive 2 or possibly 3 weeks per year. now the new owners say that we are entitled to only one week per year. they are changing the contract without us agreeing.

Desired Settlement
we want our original investment ($5,000) back or the new owners to honor the contract signed by us & their representatives.

Business Response
In 2015,********* Resorts became the "successor developer" at Grand Seas when the previous developer declared bankruptcy. At the same time,********* Resorts took over the management of Grand Seas and began working with the board of directors of the homeowner association to manage the resort and the association's financials.
On April 3, 2015, a letter was sent via USPS to all owners in the Grand Seas condominium explaining the prior developer's bankruptcy and new management company. The letter provided details about how to contact the new management company with questions about their ownership.
Files from the prior Developer indicate Mr. ******'s purchased a deeded timeshare unit in the Grand Seas condominium which was originally subject to the Club Navigo reservation and exchange system. The Club Navigo program at Grand Seas was terminated during the bankruptcy process and Mr. ******'s timeshare reverted to the deeded "fixed event week" (Mr. ****** can refer to his Club Navigo contract regarding same). This means that Mr. ****** will automatically have a reservation in his studio unit (*****) for the week that contains Christmas Eve every year (timeshare week 51). If Mr. ****** does not want to use his contracted unit week each year, he has the right to change his reservation dates to any other non-event week in a studio ("Abaco") unit at Grand Seas during the same year.
He also has the option to join Interval International, a third-party exchange company, which will allow him to exchange his timeshare at Grand Seas for a vacation at a different resort. (Membership in Interval International is entirely optional.)
******** Resorts' records indicate that Mr. ****** used his timeshare week in 2015 (as an exchange through Interval International) and in 2016 (he changed the reservation dates from week 51 to week 12). Thus, Mr. ****** has received his complete ownership entitlements to his timeshare week for each of the years that********* Resorts has been involved in the management of the resort.
Our records further indicate that agents in the member services department of********* Resorts have spoken with Mr. or Mrs. ****** on the following dates: April 15, 2015, April 16, 2015, April 20, 2015, September 17, 2015, June 7, 2016, and June 8, 2016. On each occasion, the information about the bankruptcy and termination of the Club Navigo program was explained and additional assistance to make reservations was offered.
It is the position of********* Resorts that Mr. ******'s deed in the Grand Seas condominium is being honored. ********* Resorts will continue to assist Mr. ****** with his ownership in the Grand Seas condominium and vacation needs in every way possible. However,********* Resorts does not find any reason to cancel his timeshare ownership, nor is he eligible under his contract rights to cancel.


02/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Breach of Contract.
The Grand Seas Resort offered us Unlimited daily visits and onsite parking with our timeshare purchase.

We purchased our timeshare based upon The Grand Seas Resort offering the unlimited daily use of the Grand Seas ammenities and facilities for ourselves and our guests, including onsite parking.(Due to living nearby)
A few years ago however, we showed up at the resort for daily use and were told to park off-property, and were then told that daily use is now limited to 3 days per week.
This is contrary to the published information we have regarding this from the Grand Seas.
I told the Grand Seas this is a "Breach-of-contract" and will not pay any more maintenance fees until the issue is resolved.
I had called many times trying to get an answer but nobody returned my calls.
Now **************** owns the Grand Seas, and we have communicated with them regarding this issue.
I have asked them to inquire about this program
and acknowledge its existence.
After speaking to the ******** legal dept. I faxed to them several pages of documents that describe the daily visits and on-property parking that are contained in the notebook given to us by the Grand Seas when we initially purchased our timeshare.
I am still waiting for an official verification that acknowledges and/or recognizes this program.
While still waiting for their verification they have lowered my credit score by over 200 points!!

They also advertise that this is a 5-Star resort, Oh, based upon what criteria?
It might have been when we purchased way back, but has really gotten run-down over the years.





Desired Settlement
Honor the sales paperwork I faxed to you from the official Grand Seas Owners notebook.

I want in writing that I have Unlimited Daily Useage of the Resort and ON-SITE parking.

If you cannot honor these terms then send me a "Quit-Claim-Deed"
If you honor these terms in writing then I agree to pay back maint. fee's but not your late fees because I am still waiting for your answer.
the only reason we purchased this timeshare was because of this offering.

This program if honored, also allows us an improved chance to sell our timeshare to local residents if need be.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: The Grand Seas
Contact Phone: 386-677-7880
Mr. **********,

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to this misunderstanding of the Day Use Policy.
All owners are welcome to visit us and use all amenities on property. There is no restriction to how many days you may visit us. However, due to current fire code we are only permitted a specific number of people on our pool decks at any given time. To stay compliant we may deny day use access if the resort is at a capacity of 90% or greater. We are a family oriented resort. Safety is our greatest concern.
To avoid being denied access to the resort for Day Use we require a 24 hour notice before your arrival. This is so we can advise if Day Use will be available for that day.
Thank you for being an owner with us. If you ever have any questions or concerns you are welcome to contact us here at the Grand Seas Resort at 386-677-7880. Any member of our Front Desk Team will be able to assist you.

Sincerely,
The Grand Seas by ******** Resorts

04/11/2016Problems with Product / Service
03/31/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
10/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Very misleading sales about product service and what would be included in the contract. Lied to and harrassed into contract.
Purchase of Grand Seas in October 2012 was to be a trade in of existing ********** ownership. Sales lady said we would never hear from ********** again and our fees with Grand Seas would never increase like **********. She told many lies and was negative about ********** Property. She shared personal information to make us feel sorry for her. Tried to leave at one point but felt pressured and guilty due to all we were told by sales lady. A man came and sat near us (maybe her supervisor) and she stated he told her our trade in property was really good and she knocked off another $1,000. The man asked us not to carry our "red bag" that included our documentation on the beach because people would try to talk to us. That was weird! Returned home and phoned within 10 days and told a different story when we couldn't find any documentation about the trade in property. She gave us her cell number to call and not the resort number. We had several phone conversations. After no resolution she finally stated would just take our existing property and we could just sign it over to her. She would love to meet her Dad in Gatlingburg. She stated Grand Seas doesn't make any money anyway and they would just "turn it over to legal" A very long story. She explained how we would complete a quit claim deed to her and she would get JS to notarize it. We stupidly sent a quit claim deed but no response. She even told us to send her the January statement for maintenance fees of our existing ********** property. I finaly talked to a female and requested cancellation and she was in the system about to get things cancelled and then said, oh wait it is past your 10 days. I asknowledged that but also stated we had not received all the information and the whole situation was misrepresented. This allows for cancellation after the 10 day period. She then stated I would need to send a letter in writing explaing my request. A registered mail letter dated 2/2/2013 is attached explaining more details. Never located her and never heard anything and always referred to someone else when trying to call. Grand Seas signed for letter 2/6/2013. Finally, we were told she was no longer there and someone sent us a "Take Over My Timeshare" form for our existing timeshare that we "traded in" that is paid in full for a fee of $499. Did not do this as it required more money. Continued reluctantly paying to stay in good standing but never intended to own two timeshares. Answered a few calls they make only wanting money and have asked them to make documentation of this situation and dispute in our file. Don't think they have because I continued to be harrassed at home, at work and in my email.Have multiple email correspoondences since the business went under and was purchased by ********** now ********. Sales person with new company stated he would help us take care of this but over a year nothing is yet resolved. He was nice but I'm not sure he really did anything except lip service. I sent another letter in August 2015 and no response. I sent a most recent letter 9/22/2015. I will not be making any more payments and this will destroy my excellent credit rating but I'm at the point I don't care. I refuse to give them any more money and be humiliated and stupid.

Desired Settlement
At this point I simply want this to end and cancel the contract and restore any negative credit reports. I have tried to be kind to individuals and do the right thing and pay. I have been very patient. If this continues we will obtain legal counsel and ask for a refund plus! From other reports I see, a class action suit may be a good idea.

10/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Numerous horrible issues with the property, the room, and its facilities, including expired elevator certificate.
My in-laws visited the property in person two months prior to our booking and were shown ONLY the elements that were in good working order so that the representative could sell us the stay. Had they been told of ALL the horrible conditions of the property, including the closed facilities (pool slide, tiki bar, etc.) we would never have booked there. The room was in deplorable condition and had numerous issues - broken couch leg, broken towel bar, broken shower faucet, bad A/C, disconnected smoke alarm - and the property should have been closed altogether for the refurbishing that was going on - indoor pool was a danger zone with huge areas of pealing paint, elevator looked like a bomb went off in it and had an expired certificate, tiki bar was under construction, pool slide was closed. When we complained to the manager, he promised a call back and we never heard back at all. We are now left with no choice but to file a formal complaint.

Desired Settlement
Quite simply, we would never have booked our stay at this deplorable resort had we been given the truth about the condition of the property. A full and complete refund is expected. We paid with a credit card, so they should be able to refund accordingly. However, if they choose to mail us a check, that would be fine too. Our stay was 7/22-7/25, $540.34 total paid. *********** booking# *********

10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No answers to emails or calls. I have left messages and there is no response/return. While leaving a message the machine begins ringing in my ear.
In March 2014 I booked a room at the Grand Seas Resort for October 11-12, and again for October 14-15. I will be there looking for investment options in timeshares, as I understand it Grand Seas operates timeshares as do many other companies in the area, essentially I want to try their services and rooms before making any final decision. While there I will be scouting other options as well. However I cannot get ahold of anyone at the Grand Seas Resort, I have already booked 2 nights and paid for them I just want a confirmation number of the reservation before I purchase my plane tickets. I will obviously be very upset if I invest thousands of dollars into flying down there with my partner only to find out my room is not available on the dates I already paid for.

I've yet to receive any sort of interaction from Grand Seas, ********* mentioned there would be a follow up receipt from Grand Seas Resort, no such thing ever arrived. I emailed Grand Seas but the email bounced back as undeliverable. I used their contact form on their site, never received a response. I called multiple times ************* and directly to XXX-XXX-XXXX) and am only given the option to leave a message. When I opt to leave a message it's cut off by ringing through the machine. It's not my phone, it's their message system. Regardless there has been no response. I've yet to even get there and already this is looking like shady business. Better customer service is needed.

Desired Settlement
I don't want a settlement... yet, I just want a response, at this point I'm beginning to question if it's even a valid business. I need a confirmation number and assurance that my reservation is in their system and there won't be any issues when I arrive on October 11, 2014.

10/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have disputed our contract since November 2013. Grand Seas has ignored our request and sends us excuses.
We have attached all of our correspondence with Grand Seas. Instead of releasing us from our contracts which have been materially devalued, Grand Seas has ignored the issues. They have sent us to collections, continue to call us and threaten collections, deny knowledge of our dispute, and have even attempted to get us into their amnesty program. We are not interested in maintaining ownership with Grand Seas. We do not appreciate the increase in fees we must pay because Grand Seas is in financial trouble.

Desired Settlement
We would ask for a refund but considering all the financial issues Grand Seas is having we are only asking to be released from both contracts.

10/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were lied to from the very beginning and don't want to pay over 850 some dollars and only get to use the room 1 week every other year.
We are disputing our contract with GrandSeas. We have been ignored and sent generic lock out notices and most recently eligibility for their amnesty program. We are not interested in any such program. We want our names taken off of the contract. Attached are the letters we have sent to GrandSeas. We do not accept financial liability for any monies associated with the contract. We were lied to from the beginning and signed a contract based on the lies. We were going to contact GrandSeas directly, but since they did not take the time to address our concerns we are turning to the BBB for assistance.

Desired Settlement
We want our names removed from this contract immediately. We do not want our names associated with GrandSeas.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Timeshare, Vacation Certificates & Vouchers, Resorts

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.