BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/2010

Liberty Vacation Properties, Inc.

Phone: (863) 420-3332Fax: (863) 582-9338

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company failed to provide what was listed on the website.
The couch was destroyed so it was impossible to sit on with kids. Roof leak on the second floor. The toilet paper was not provided to us, no soap for hands or dish washer. Also on the website it says the access to the pool and fitness room is provided, but in reality it was not, and we had to pay an extra $30 to club house, and now I'm asking them to refund me that $30 and they say no.

Really terrible costumer service, they told me that someone will come in to cover the couch and we were home the whole day waiting for someone to come in, and no one showed up.

Another thing is on the website I was chatting with representative who insured me that the property is only 10min away from the main entrance to the park, but it took us 30-40min without traffic. If I knew it was this far away I'd rent somewhere else.

Wi-Fi password was incorrect, so we had no access to the internet for 6 days.

It was suppose to be a family vacation instead I was on the phone with them couple of times, wasted time to drive to the parks. Extra money spent on gas and tolls, plus lost fast pass to the ****** **** because of incorrect time posted on the website. And we had to spend a lot of time standing in line for those rides because fast pass was not used on time

Desired Settlement
I'd like to get 50% of the total amount that they've charged me for the stay. The total for the stay was $731.36, so I'd like to get $365 back. I believe with the service that was provided to us it it fair.

Final Consumer Response
From: ******* ********** (mailto:********@hotmail.com)
Sent: Tuesday, April 14, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: ****@centralflorida.bbb.org
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)


Hello I need to cancel the complaint, the company has agreed to refund me as soon as the complaint is canceled.

Thank you

01/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Saturday, January 3, 2015, I booked a rental property for Aug. 15-29, 2015, for $317.00. On Monday, January 5, 2015, the price changed to $1608.99.
On Saturday, January 3, 2015, I booked a rental property for Aug. 15-29, 2015, with a quote of $317.00 at Rent A Villa - ***** ********** using ************* Then on Monday, January 5, 2015, I received an email from Rent A Villa - ***** ********** that there was a glitch in there system and that it gave me the wrong price for this rental unit for August 15-29, 2015. The new quote that I got changed the price to $1608.99 for August 15-29, 2015.

Desired Settlement
I feel that I should get this rental property for the amount of $317.00 for August 15029, 2015, as indicated in the reservation request.

Business Response
The guest has made a reservation request through a travel advertising website called ************* On this website both owners and property management companies list their individually owned vacation rentals to advertise and get reservations for their homes.
Because ************ is only a channel where all the individual homes advertise they do not guarantee the reservation requests until the owner or property manager has accepted each reservation.
In this case the reservation request came in with a glitch in the rates where it only calculated 3 nights instead of 14 nights. Upon receipt of the reservation request we emailed guest with an explanation and clarified the correct rental amount for their stay.
No charges have been done to this guests credit card.
See below details on **** it Now button on the ******** advert.
What is the **** it *** button

The **** ** *** button allows you to submit an inquiry and enter payment information to let the property owner you are committed to renting their vacation rental. The vacation rental owner or property manager has 24 hours to accept the booking.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I guess so.

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As a Daisy Girl Scout Troop we were having our end of the year trip and decided to rent a house so the girls could have access to the pool and all be together. The house that we were given was a very nice house overall, but it was missing some of the important qualities. The kitchen was not completely stocked. We had to go buy a can open, a colander, a frying pan, and a pot (as well as the toilet paper, paper towels and trash bags that we were not previously informed we would need to grab). The pool deck was covered in earth worms as well as the pool. I contacted the management company Friday with no answer as they were already closed. Again, I contacted them Saturday morning, spoke with ********, to inform them of the inconvenience. ******** was very rude and short worded pretty much informing me that there was nothing they could do. **** contacted me Saturday to see how the stay was going- I then informed them of the disappointment. At **** I spoke with **** who tried very hard to try and get everything taken care of. I was informed that they would get someone to come clean the pool and bring kitchen needs. Saturday around 6pm, we arrived back at the house to find the pool and deck were still covered with earth worms (that disintegrate when you try to pick them up). The office was already closed so I made contact with ****, ****, she stated the property contacted her and stated that they sent out some kitchen needs and cleaned the pool and deck. The property states that it was raining Saturday, which it did after 2pm until about 6pm, but the other surrounding pools were not covered in earth worms. The property individuals have not taken care of the pool/deck for a few days before we arrived its very clear. The property is refusing to give us any type of compensation for the inconveniences that we went through during our stay. I have even provided pictures of the surroundings of the house to show that nothing was taken care of. Now I have 7 six year olds and parent that did not enjoy the hous
Product_Or_Service: Rental Home

Desired Settlement
I do believe after all the girls disappointment that we do deserve a compensation of at least one night stay of, $129. I just believe that the property should understand that the attitude I received from ******** the day of and even today when I spoke with her that it was unacceptable as well as the way we received the house. We did not receive it in the way they portrayed the house to **** to be rented out.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Homecare
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@*********************
Agreed that the pool and pool deck were covered with worms.

I have contacted **** and asked them to please credit the guest the $129.00 as requested. I spoke with April at **** and credit is issued. It does take 5 business days to show posted to her account

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response as this was all we asked for was just a little bit of understanding as to what we went through on this journey and at least a refund of one night, $129.

01/07/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We are being charged fees by hoa association that resulted while eagle managent was the property n
Managers of our home in Florida.....although we made several employees ,several times aware of situation we were assured that hoa association would not most likely carry on with fines.
There were other situation we were not happy with as really good quality linen we purchased replaced with much .
Very old dryer not worth the repair of 240.00 serviced without checking with owners
Very expensive pool control panel 450.00 they seemed to not know how it came to happen

Desired Settlement
Would like total reimburse for all losses

Business Response
We are very sorry the owners weren't happy about our services, we have 175 homes we manage since trading 11 years ago and have never had a complaint filed at the BBB during this time but our reply is below, no compensation whatsoever will be refunded for the reasons below.

We as a property management company cannot he held liable for fines that the homeowner incurs from the HOA. The fines are for the garbage can being left out on non-collection days. We were made aware of the initial violation by the owner and sent staff to the home to return the garbage cans to the garage. We do this every day late in the afternoon after trash pick-up for most developments that we're required to do this for, we simply can't be at one house to wait for the trash van to pick it up so we can take the trash can back to the house, completely obviously unrealistic. Day before trash pick-up maintenance attends homes to take the trash to the curb which is a service a lot of management companies do not action. If a guest decides to take the trash on another day to the road for whatever reason this is impossible for us to police and we simply can't be held responsible for.

We have gone over the pool heater with the owner on the phone numerous times. The owner occupied her home from 11/12 to 11/17 and the pool heater was turned on for her and according to her the pool heater worked perfectly. When the owner left on 11/17 we sent a member of staff to the home to turn off the pool heater and the pool heater was as it should be. Once the owner returned home she phoned us a few days later stating that she would like to terminate management which we did immediately. We did not revisit the home again after 11/17 as the owner advised us that she had retained another management company. We can't be held responsible for a pool heater that is not working now but was working when the owner was in the home and we managed the property? If the heater stopped working while we were managing the home our pool technicians would have been sent and a report would have been generated to the owner with the work that is required.

I am not sure what the owner is speaking about concerning linens as I have pulled her statements for 2014 and 2015 and we have only billed her for a queen sheet set and pillow protectors which was in 2014 when the property first came into management.

The dryer repair was also spoken to about with the owner. Please note that this repair was carried out in July 2015. We had guests in the home who had laundry that needed to be done and I sent an appliance repair person to repair the dryer. The owner and I spoke after this and the owner asked that any further repairs that needed to be done on the home I was to phone her first as she may decide to have the appliance replaced rather than have it repaired which I agreed to and made a note on the property concerning this. We did not have to carry out any further repairs on this property but if you would like us to post the contractors invoice please let us know and we would be happy to do so. We also only use licensed contractors for all appliance work due to licensing regulations with the DBPR. We are licensed with all regulators state and nationally, hold the seal of compliance with the Polk county tax collector's office and members of both the CFVRMA and CFHLA and finally FRVMA.

We're sorry we didn't meet the owners expectations and wish them all the luck in the future.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If they are my property manager I expect that total trash care is their job, therefore I should not incurr fees as I am paying them for this job
If I can not get reimbursed this way perhaps you can advise us on others as we will pursue as far as we can
Thanksh

Final Business Response
Thank you for your response, however, trash removal is not the responsibility of any property manager it is the responsibility of the county. We as your property manager go round and place the can back to the side of the house. It is logistically impossible for the county to inform property managers what time collection is made for us to place the can back immediately. Any fee's from your HOA then obviously owners must correspond with their HOA.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are not speaking of trash removal. We are referring to the fees incurred from trash cans being left out God knows how long post trash removal where they are not supposed to be seen which is the property managers we hired them and they weinformed severed embers of the business .one reply to us was that they being hoa do not carrythroughwithany fees.
Again if you annoy help us please advise of local legal agency that will.
We would prefer that over our lawyer here in Mass
Thank you
************

07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Villas we rented through ***** ********** were very dirty and the staff was very unprofessional.
I planned my family vacation from July 7, 2014 - July 12, 2014 villas *** and *** $2,176 paid to florida sunshine vacation rentals by agent *****. Upon arrival the two villas we rented were extremely dirty. Home *** smelled of urine ,the walls were dirty, there was a towel in the linen closet with feces on it,there was food underneath furniture,soiled linen in both homes there was ice-cream stains on the master bedrooms comforter and the list goes on. We called ***** ********** to make a complaint and they insisted on sending someone over to fix the problems. Maintenance came over the next day and took out the sofa mattress that was full of urine. Me and my family lost two whole days of vacation just cleaning during our stay. As we contacted Eagle ********** we spoke with ******** (manager) she was very unhelpful, she didn't care about the conditions of the home and wasn't trying to compensate us in no way that was fair to our party. We have pictures of the entire disaster she said it wasn't good enough. There customer service is the worst and their villas are nice on the outside and dirty on the inside

Desired Settlement
We at least expect compensation for the the two days we lost due to us cleaning up the house and washing all the linen. it is unfair for us to have been on vacation and had to clean up upon arrival that was not apart of the policy.

Business Response
The below is my activity (***) with the guest

I received a call from the guest the day after arrival. Guest stated that she was not happy with the cleanliness of the home. I apologized to her and asked her the issues. Guest stated that the carpet was dirty. I explained to guest that it is impossible to get the carpets cleaned on homes that are back to back because then the carpets would be wet. Guest also complained about marks on the walls. I explained to guest that this would not impact her stay and the marks are from people hitting the walls with their suitcases.

Guest had no complaints about the property **** her issues were in ****

I asked guest if she wanted me to send the cleaners back to the home to re-clean and guest stated to me that it was not necessary because she had already cleaned. Guest asked me what form of compensation that I was going to give her. I asked guest if she drove in or flew and she stated that she flew. I asked guest what time her departing flight was and she stated that it was later in the evening so I offered her a late check out ($75.00 value per home) in BOTH homes of 4:00pm. Guest thanked me and the call was terminated.

The below is ********'s activity with the guest:

Tuesday 7/8
Gentleman called the office and expressed how upset they were about their accommodations, that they paid a lot of money and the homes were not up to their standards. I asked him to list each concern and after much back and forth with me trying to explain that he MUST tell me specifics of what they are upset about so we can fix it he mentioned the below;

*** ******** *****
Cannot sleep in beds (uncomfortable we have advised owner)
Cannot use master bedroom tub because it has black mold around the drain
House dirty- and by this they said they had to wash the king sheets because they were dirty (nothing else other than the carpets dirty and walls dirty)

*** ******** *****
Tv upstairs not working
Couch smells like urine and cannot sit on it

I said to the guest that I will be happy to send out an inspector to check on the issues we can which were the TV, couch and tub and I also asked them if they called the office when they arrived and found the home dirty because we would have been happy to send the cleaners back to remedy their issues but they said they had to clean but when asked what they had to clean they said they only had to wash the king sheets.

*** (our inspector) was sent to the home to check on the above issues and called me to say the black mold they claimed around the drain in the tub was just a residue of what seemed like hair dye, he passed his finger over it and it came out immediately.

*** said the couch has some stains he was going to treat with the cleaner and that the guest was complaining about the sleeper sofa mattress smelling, I told him to remove the mattress and bring to office to see how it can get cleaned. He asked the guest if they were using the sleeper sofa and they said NO. We have inspected the mattress and there is no smell so this was returned to the home.

Wednesday 7/9
A lady by last name ******* called me super upset asking to speak to the manager to see what was being given to them as compensation for everything they have had to deal with. I explained *** went to the home and also that they had gotten the 2 late departures free of charge.

This lady was very upset and said no one has done anything for her that she had pictures and would come to the office so we can see them to see what we are going to do, they said they wanted their money back because the homes were not up to standards. Guest never came to office.

Thursday 7/10
Mrs ******* called again She said they had many issues and wanted to know if we can give them a free night for the inconvenience and I explained the owners need to have their income per night and this is something we cannot offer for free and after this I did not hear from them again until we heard they had waited for the new guest arriving at *** ** to tell them all about their horrible experience.

The issues that the guests had were taken care of during their stay aside from the marks on the walls which did not impact the guests stay. Guests were compensated with the late check outs for both homes.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Rentals, Property Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.