BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/06/2012

Affordable Travel of Orlando LLC

Phone: (407) 377-1930Fax: (407) 523-9675

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
04/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their business practices are unprofessional
I had a billing issue that I wanted to resolve and there is no way to get in contact with them. They have 3 different phone numbers all of which are not working. I am positive that I am not the only person having these issues which makes me question their legitimacy as a business

Desired Settlement
I would just like to communicate with the business so I can cancel my reservations

Business Response
Dear BBB,
We cancelled ***************'s reservation on 2/4/16. On 2/4/16 we also sent ******* an email letting him know that his reservation was cancelled per his request.

Please let me know if you need any other information.
Thanks,

Trey Duling

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company claims on their website that if you find a lower ticket price anywhere they will match or beat their price. They did not do this.
This company claims on their website that if you find a lower ticket price for Universal Studios anywhere they will match or beat their price. I called this company on April 1st and gave them the details of the lower price found on "visitorlando.com" and they would not match it.

Desired Settlement
Credit/gift certificate to use on their website for a future purchase.

Business Response
We received Mrs.***** complaint and while we have not been able to confirm that visitorlando.com sells the Universal ticket for cheaper, we would like to offer Mrs. ***** a $50 coupon which she can use for lodging or for any package deal (lodging and tickets) in the future.

All Mrs. ***** has to do is call Trey Duling at ************** ext **** to book the lodging or package deal.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I feel it's a fair resolution.

09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled my reservation 15 days before my arrival date and deposit was never returned as per their policy.
I booked a hotel through ******************* conf# XXXXXXXXX with a $50 deposit. According to their policy if you cancel prior to 15 days of your departure date they will refund $35 back to you. This deposit was never returned and when i called them they came up with fabricated excuse that i had agreed to keep the $35 for future travel reservations and i explained that i wanted my refund back and not held. As of today Sept.01 i still havnt received by refund. If you require proof of my cancellation i received via email which shows i cancelled before the 15 days i can provide.

Desired Settlement
As per their policy i want my deposit refund back in the amount of $35.

Business Response
Dear BBB,
I have received a disputed charge from ****** ********. Mr. ******** final payment was not able to be processed on 7/24 for a hotel stay he booked coming in on 8/8/14.

Our records show Mr. ******** did cancel his reservation 16 days prior to his arrival and we will be refunding him $35 of the $50 deposit today. Mr. ******** will receive an e-mail showing this money has been returned to him.

I will also be following up with the representative to find out why Mr. ******** refund was not processed earlier.

Thanks,

**** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid a deposit, the bank approved it and the company never took the money out, causing me to not have a reservation.
I made a $50.00 deposit to make a reservation on *************** on February 13, 2016. I got an auto receipt of the transaction. I checked and the money was pending with my bank. My bank approved the transaction on 02/16/2016. The company never took their money. I called to finish paying and was told I did not have a reservation. I followed up with my bank and found out that they never took the money. So I was told that there was a cliche in the system for a few days and some of the reservations were not completed in the system.
But how was I suppose to know that. After getting the run around for 2 days, I was pretty much told that it was my fault for not following up with my reservation and they were not going to be able to assist me. So now I do not have reservations with the rest of my family. I was told that all this was my fault because the system was not working properly and I did not follow up. How was I suppose to know that the system was not working properly. I am upset that I will not get to spend my family vacation with my family. And no one seemed to even want to try to help. All the blame was put on me. I will not ever use this site again and I do not recommend anyone else use it either.

Desired Settlement
I want them to own up to the fact that they fell short due to their system not working properly and follow thru with making my reservations. I feel like some type of compensation should be offered due to the fact that they have ruined my family vacation.

Business Response
Dear ***** and BBB,

I will honestly tell you that I have never had this issue or heard of this issue in the past. This is very alarming to me, as our company makes money by making reservations for our partnering hotels and vacation home companies. Without reservations we cannot stay in business.

I called our Credit Card Merchant Processing Company, and they said that this does happen but not very often. My representative told me, that the customer's bank will usually stop a transaction from occurring if they think the charge is fraudulent. It is very hard to tell in this case since this happened a couple of weeks ago. Thy are going to look into and get back to me if they can find out any more information.

Mrs. ***** if you would like to give me a call directly at *********************** I will be more than happy to try and help you find a hotel or vacation home for your next vacation to Orlando.

Thanks,

Trey Duling


10/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently made resort accomodations and paid for a full kitchen, however, when I arrived I was reserved with a partial kitchen.
My reserv was from 5/9 thru 5/14/14 at the ******************* in Orlando Fl. I tried to call and resolve the issue during my stay but was told my reservation agent's (Rosa*****) last day was that Tues and it was nothing else they could do because they did not book the reservation.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of the cost of my stay because it was not as stated in my reservation. I was quoted a price on a full kitchen, but was provided a partial kitchen.

Business Response
Dear BBB,
I have talked to **************, and she did make her reservation with Rosa M****. However, Rosa had sent her quotes on multiple different properties. Three of those properties offered full kitchens, and the ************ offers a partial kitchen.

I asked Mrs. ******** if she has anything in writing where we state that the ************ has a full kitchen we would be more than happy to honor anything we say to a guest or put in writing.

As a jesture of good faith we are going to issue Mrs. ******** a 1 night credit toward her vacation.
Thanks,
Trey

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response because I had an email that stated I had a full kitchen reserved but because the confirmations are all linked; I tried to retrieve the email but the link has since been changed and no longer supports my claim. However, the pictures on my reservation shows a full kitchen (full refrig, stove etc). In addition, I was informed that the resort fee would be $5 but after I arrived I was charged $7. I brought that to the agencies attention (Trey)as well at which point I was credited $10 for the overcharge.
The agency appears to be dishonest with their visiting travelers.

Final Consumer Response
Please reopen this complaint/case; it is not been resolved.
I am expecting some sort of compensation/refund for my/my families inconvenience while on vacation. The refund necessary to close this complaint would need to be in excess of $100.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,
I have talked with ***** a couple of times, and I have even written a response on this inquiry as well.

We sent ***** a couple of different quotes on properties for her family to stay in. Some of the resorts have full kitchens, some have partial kitchens, and some don't have a kitchen at all in the units. The property she chose had a partial kitchen.

I have asked in my previous conversations to ***** if she has anything in writing from us where it states the ************ of Lake Buena Vista has a full kitchen to please forward the information to me. To this date I have not received anything.

Thanks,

Trey Duling

07/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has bad customer service, will not return repeated phone calls and false advertisement on resort location and amenities.
Booked Terra Verde Resort on May 13, 2015 and paid $50 deposit. Conformed booking and paid in full by May 15th. Called on June 9th about resort switch to Emerald Island. No one contact me about the switch in resort. I called because of another charge on my debit card. Spoke to Tre and was promised the same amenities as Terra Verde. Upon arrival amenities were not the same. No jacuzzi, no tvs in rooms, windows not properly covered, blinds were not in tact.

Desired Settlement
I want the business to resolve the amenities issues and I would like compensation for the inconvenience.

Business Response
Mrs. ***** left a message over the weekend (Sunday Night) on Monday morning I gave her a call and we upgraded her to a 4 bedroom vacation home with a private pool.

I followed up with Mrs ***** on Wednesday and she was very satisfied with the house.
Thanks,
Trey

10/16/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Rentals

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.