BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2002

A + Vacation Homes

(321) 766-6455View Additional Phone Numbers52 Riley Rd # 389, CelebrationFL 34747-5420 Send email to A + Vacation Homes

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2002

BBB has determined that A + Vacation Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on A + Vacation Homes

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

A + Vacations Homes charged us huge fees at our cancelation, despite their contract stating no fees would be charged.
We were with A + Vacation Homes for approximately 2 months. During that time we received minimal bookings. My wife emailed the owner asking if there was anything we needed to do to increase that number. We have had our home with another company in the past and it rented out very quickly. The owner responded in a rude fashion and suggested we'd be happier going back to the other company. Due to his attitude, we agreed and canceled our contract with them.
Their contract specifically states in Section 6 under Terms of Agreement "If you don't like what we do then you can simply leave! No penalties or fees just 30 days notice and your free to go". We have an email from the owner on March 2 asking about terms of the contract and he replied "We have no long term contracts or termination fees". We also had discussed this verbally with A+ prior to signing as they were a smaller company than we had used before and were a little nervous on how the process would go. Despite this being in their contract and that there is NO LISTING OF ANY FEES FOR CANCELLATION, the owner still charged us $924.00 to "recoup a portion of their advertising expenses". When I discussed this with the owner, he simply said 'you can pursue this all want, but you won't see any results'. When I pressed him as to how he could charge us for this even though his contract says otherwise, he simply stated that he didn't have a contract in front of him so he didn't know what was in it (I would think the owner would know something big like this).
On their statement we were charged for phone service and pool service, both of which we pay for ourselves and A+ does not do.
Also, as of 8/10/15 we still have not received payment for the non-disputed funds owed to us by the company.

Desired Settlement
1. Payment of non-disputed funds
2. Adjustment for services charged but not rendered by A+
3. Refund for the $924 fee charged by A+

Business Response
Ms ********** inquired about our services to handle the property management of her townhouse in the beginning of March and to start services right away as they where going back home. We picked up a key the same day and started our services,

We set up the home online applied for licensing etc and started marketing the home, we had quickly 3 bookings in their home, but the owner called me somewhere beginning April and said they wanted aggressively market their home as the Calendar looked open. I explained that it takes time to market and to be patient but that i would increase the marketing for her home.

We then took a listing on ****************** and ****************** to make owners happy for a total cost of$1848 I had already paid the first bill for $924 when the owners emailed me a week later that they were not happy with the bookings in the 4 week we had the home I replied that maybe we were not the right company for them. They then canceled management service after only 6 weeks. It is correct that we don't charge any penalties if a owner leaves us and they where not charged any! Ms & Mr ********** were charged for services they requested and we rendered this for them but have nothing to do with the cancellation of the management. Also the statement that we charged for pool care and a phone service is incorrect as i also explained that prior with owners on the phone.

Ill attach the statement for your review from March were you can see on page 2 the summary of charges clearly states Credit and debit of both charges.
We have never received a payment to start our services from them and we have mailed a check to them of $356.58 this check still has not been cashed and i have asked now 2 times via email if the have the check or that we needed to put a stop payment on it with no reply.

We regret that we where unable to meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you for sharing your concerns, and please know we will consider them as we work to better provide a more enjoyable experience for all our clients and guests. We wish you all the best with your new management company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, I have received the new statement showing that the charges for phone and pool services was refunded to us. The comment I made that we were charged for pool/phone is NOT incorrect as we have copies of the statements that show those charges to us with no credits for them listed. Thank you for fixing your statement to reflect a credit back to us on those.

When I spoke with the owner on 8/10/15 I explained at that time that we have not received the check that he claims to have sent. I told him to check his notes and if they did send a check and it hasn't been cashed that it would need to be stop-payed and a new one issued. There shouldn't need to be any further discussion on whether we want another check issued as I requested it at that time.

Included in the description of Management responsibilities is that the home is to be marketed. We were never told that there were extra fees for this. When we expressed our concern that they were booking our home MUCH slower than other management companies had in the past, we were simply asked if we would like to have them 'aggressively' market the property. If we were told that we would be billed for this, we would have done it ourselves, or re-evalutated at that time whether we were going to stay with the company. We were never told that we would be charged for any marketing if we canceled the contract; both at the time of when they asked if we wanted them to market the home or at the time when a discussion of canceling the contract came up (nor anywhere in the contract). According to their contract, they're responsibility was marketing the home. There are no statements, either in writing, email or verbal, that we would be charged fees for the activities they were supposed to be performing as a management company. No where is there listed different 'levels' of marketing that they may perform. Again, if a simple statement would have been made 'these steps are above and beyond our normal management process and therefore may incur a charge if the contract is canceled prior to xx/xx/xxxx' we would have a different view of this. However this never happened. By all perceptions, both with the contract and in verbal/email conversations, this was a normal part of their marketing responsibilities.

Our choice to cancel was not based on bookings (although it concerned us how slowly it was booking compared to other companies we had used). It was due to the way the owner handled the situation when we asked why it was booking slowly and if there was anything we could do personally to improve that. If we were being treated this way, we definitely did not want any guests to get the same response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are still waiting on payment to us for the $924 in unauthorized charges applied to our account. They appear to have ignored it in their last response.

Final Business Response
This account has been closet the $924 was for services rendered and are non refundable, these were made at owners request for marketing their home.


02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Rentals, Facility Maintenance

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 08/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Osceola County Business Tax Receipt

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395

BBB records show a license number of 99092 for this company, issued by Osceola County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of DWE5919800 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is

Type: Vacation Rental - Condo

Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 2001, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Vandelaer (President)
Business Category

Vacation Rentals, Facility Maintenance

Products & Services

This company is in the business of Short Term Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
A Plus Vacation Homes & Property Management, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A + Vacation Homes

52 Riley Rd # 389

Celebration, FL 34747-5420

To | From


1 Locations

  • 52 Riley Rd # 389 

    Celebration, FL 34747-5420

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A + Vacation Homes is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 655-9014

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (407) 966-4867

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Vacation Rentals


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.