BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/1999

Brooks Quality Tree Service

(407) 898-6461View Additional Phone Numbers4316 Riverside Park Rd, OrlandoFL 32810-2874 Send email to Brooks Quality Tree Service

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/1999

BBB has determined that Brooks Quality Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brooks Quality Tree Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brooks Quality Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: They cracked my driveway when picking up limbs. They hid the damage until they were paid. The owner has promised to fix it for over 6 weeks.
Brooks Quality Tree Service was contracted to cut down and haul away a tree in my front yard. When they came to pick up the limbs their grappling truck cracked my driveway while using stabilizers to stabilize the truck. I didn't know that it had happened until after I paid them in cash because their workers strategically parked their vehicle over the area so it could not be seen. I have since talked with the owner, Ellie Brooks, 4 times about repairing the damage. She said the damage would be repaired. But each successive conversation with her about the repair she would give excuses of "forgot my phone number" or "forgot the house address." It has been 6 weeks since the damage was created and she said it would only take a few hours to fix it. The communication between us has been one way, me to her. She promised to repair the damage the week after it happened on August 24, 2012. My last conversation with her was 2 weeks ago and to this day, October 8, 2012, it's still not repaired.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *****@att.net
i apoligize this email is te first time i have been made aware of this complaint period and the first time i was aware that this matter was not resolved once i contacted months and months ago nrepair and heard no complaint i mistakingly thought matter was resolved on all my quotes and work orders it is written waiver therefore technicly i am not liable but i do the right thing and under this i agreed o patch the driveway spot i cotacted a vender and i thought it was done month and mnths and months ago i only became aware of this for the first time 1 4 2013 within 2 weeks i will have hole patched asagreeded forgive me my mistake humbly and apologetically ****** ****** BQTS I am sorry ****** Thanks

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not heard from the business or ****** ****** and this has been the problem before. ****** ****** of ****** Tree Service has promised to repair the driveway on several occasions but has not. The driveway as of today 1/14/2013 has not been repaired. I'm not aware of a time that the driveway will be repaired. It's been almost 5 months since my driveway was cracked. I spoke with ****** ****** 4 times, the last in September 2012, about repairing my driveway and each time she promised the driveway would be fixed in a certain time frame without committing to a specific date. This issue has not been resolved.

Business' Final Response
I had this drivewayb repaired Jan 10th Thank You ****** ****** BETS

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: Brooks Quality Tree Service/ Brooks expert Tree Sur. removed tree branches that were hanging over my roof and damaged my brand new roof in the process
After having paid for a "NEW" roof,I wanted some branches removed that were hanging over the roof. Brooks Tree Service came on Monday, 3/3/14, to do the work. They were paid cash, $1375, half before, and the remainder at completion. I had my daughter, take care of payment.She was at work, and did not get home until dark. No receipt was given to her! The next day, her fiance noticed sawdust on the roof, and went up on the roof to blow it off (using an electric blower) The sawdust would NOT blow off. There was gasoline on the roof as well as gouges/holes, missing/torn shingles, as well as a tree limb. When Brooks was notified, they denied being on the roof at first, and there was a bit of tension. My roofer was contacted, and assesed the damage. He stated that the branches must have been dropped onto the roof , cut there, and dragged across the roof,spilling gasoline onto the new shingles. The gas would deteriorate the integrety of the shingles, and the warranty as well, and needed to be dealt with ASAP. After contacting the owner via phone several times myself, she still would not give me the company insurance info that I have requested. **** ****** told me she wanted to have her roofer assess the damage, and I told her
that I would allow that. However, it has been 1 week, and nothing has been resolved. My daughter has pictures of the damage if needed.This is causing an enormous amount of stress.

Initial Business Response
Today is the first time ive seen this 4/18/2014 When we left this propertyy there was absolutley no damage seen we never said we not on roof the "homeowner was there when we were we were on west side only for moments We left property unharmed Ms **** I have never met another lady who was there was named ***** WE GAVE HER A FAIR PRICE DID GREAT WORK LEFT HER PROPERTY UNHARMED! a DAY LATER A MAN BOYFRIEND CALLED AND SAID WE HURT ROOF HE YELLED CURSED AND THREATENED ME....HE ALSO STATED HE GOT ON ROOF TO "BLOW IT OF WE ALWAYS LEAVE EVERYTHING BLOWN CLEAN PERHAPS THERE WAS AN ACCIDENT with his actions... And we were chosen as scapegoats???? . We were not anywhere near where the problem was Again!! At any rate over the next few days i was called harassed we went to look at roof the guy tried to push my guy off roof i was called by another man and told to watchout the guys dad was head of homeland security i better watch out and this man whoever he was was looking for my money and he would tell his friend to come after me or if i did not have money he would tell him to drop it at any rate we did not damage roof therefore we are not responsible to do anything else I do not believe that this lady Ms **** understands that and she was not who hired inspected job and paid us I feel bad for her for what ever she is dealing with and wish her the best...Truly. there is some dishonesty or misunderstanding somewhere..But not with me Had we did damage we would have fixed it PERIOD My reputation and record show that.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mrs ****** was made aware of the damage the day following the cutting down of some tree limbs that were hanging over the NEW roof. The day the trees were cut was Monday, March 3rd,while my daughter was at work. Ms. ****** received half of the money around noon, then returned later that day to get the remainder of the money. It was in the evening, and it was dark out. My daughter paid her "in cash", and did not get a receipt as they were to return the following day to remove some branches, and give her a receipt. The work was scheduled to be done on Tuesdsay, March 4th, when my daughter would hsve been home while the work was being done. One of the neghbors spoke to my daughters fiance on Tuesday, and told him he could see a large tree limb on the roof. He then went on the roof, and that is when he saw sawdust as well as a large limb left on the roof. When he tried to blow off the sawdust,(with an electric blower) he realized that there was GASOLINE under the sawdust!!! He phoned Ms ****** who, returned to the property on Wednesday morning , and asked her to climb a ladder to actually see the damage. Her response at that time was that it was "tree sap", and could be washed off. One of her employees threatened the fiance!! My daughte's fiance called the Roofing company that had replaced the roof in January, and they came to look at the roof. The roofer found even more damage, and stated that the gasolne (NOT TREE SAP!!) would eat through the shingles and compromise our roofing warranty. When I originally spoke with Ms ******, I requested her Insurance companys information. Instead of just giving me the info, she requested an estimate from my roofer as well as photos of the damage. She also stated she would send "her own roofer" over to access the damage, but never did ! The estimate, and photos were sent to her, however, she did not respond, and has made no further attempt to rectify this situation. There would be NO reason why the roof would have damage, right after the tree work was done, if not for shoddy work!!! If she has insurance, why not give that information and let them handle it???? Maybe she is NOT insured as she states.It seems that she is making things up and is stalling..... It seems we will have to take her into small claims court as our only alternative!

Final Business Response
I am dismayed that this situation continues we did not damage roof I have never ever seen or met MS R Her Daughter was who i dealt with we did a great job with NO DAMAGE at a great price. Had we caused any harm I would deal properly with it. We did not .I believe my record speaks for itself. When I have had a problem in the past...I do the right thing And there has been hardly any and quite small. Again I do the right thing! If you read the 2 complaints they are inconsistant accounts.......Personally I see the posibility that perhaps a well meaning family member may have accidently caused her trouble not me. Thanks E B

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Service, Stump Grinding, Crane Service, Tree Service - Pruning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1992
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Orange County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of 0577587 for this company, issued by Orange County Occupational License. Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2008, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Eleanor W. Brooks (Owner)
Business Category

Tree Service, Stump Grinding, Crane Service, Tree Service - Pruning

Products & Services

This company offers tree trimming, tree removal, stump grinding, crane service, Bobcat service, mulch chipping, tree planting, cabling, de-mossing, and fertilizing.

Methods of Payment

Visa, Master Card, American Express, Discover

Alternate Business Names
Brooks Expert Tree Surgeons, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brooks Quality Tree Service

4316 Riverside Park Rd

Orlando, FL 32810-2874

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4316 Riverside Park Rd 

    Orlando, FL 32810-2874

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brooks Quality Tree Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 256-4010
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tree Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.