BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/1999

Holiday Host, Inc.

Phone: (386) 676-7638Fax: (386) 615-1045

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
were not given the accommodations we were promised and not told about all fees upfront until last minute
My fiance's mom purchased this trip,she was told the 3 hotels we were to stay in after we got back and told her how **** off we were with what the company stuck us in for accommodations. She was told we were to stay in:Daytona: Coral Sands Oceanfront Resort,Orlando: Fantasy World Kissimmee and Bahamas: Grand Luceyan. Instead we were put in Tropical winds resort(daytona), island seas resort(grand bahamas) and the doubletree hilton(downtown orlando). There is no comparison between them we were misled and lied to. We were not told about the hotel taxes in orlando or the rental car taxes in orlando until the night before our trip,we weren't told about paying for parking in orlando, we were threatened if we didn't go to 3 timeshare presentations(we didn't know about 2 until we arrived at the resorts)that we would be billed the entire price of our rooms and not get our disney passes. We were stuck in high pressure sales pitches when we weren't interested and had over 8 hours wasted of our honeymoon on that. The agency wouldnt let us book the parts of the trip in the order we wanted and they refused to do anything to find us from port of palm to orlando international airport for our rental and recommended a shuttle company that was a nightmare. I feel this was the most poor excuse of a travel company going, we paid for taxes on both florida rooms almost a total of 100$,they wouldnt cover the taxes/fees/insurance on the rental so that would have been 350$ but enterprise took it down to about 250$,then there was the parking 45$,the shuttle was 138$, just for pop on the crusie would have been 3$ a can but we paid 21$ for a reusable cup each for unlim. pop. The date this package was purchased was approx Nov 7/12. Initial cost was 574$,then 926$(paid by ******** *********) for the all inclusive package, then also all of the other fees mentioned above were paid by myself ****** ****** and my fiance ******** *********.There were at least 2 people at holiday host setting this up, ***** ****** and ******* ******. The account number for the orlando portion was XXXXXXX. For the bahamas island seas resort conf. num is Confirmation: XXXXX, for the way to the island Confirmation: XXXXXXX-XXXX and on the way back Confirmation: XXXXXXX-XXXX. There were a few other companies mentioned amongst this all apparently holiday host was never heard of in orlando when we had to go to the time share presentation it was a company under U.S something. There was also mention of a website for the bahamas portion of the trip http://www.resortscruisesinc.com. If we had of known all the trouble this trip would have caused us in extra charges and the irritation we would have never gone on this trip. Because of this I will never use a travel agency again, these people were hard to get a hold of, not easy to deal with, unaccommodating and rude as well. I would never recommend this company or anyone who is tied to this company every they are horrible and all they did was rip us all off. I would have been tolerant if we were only made to sit through one time share presentation but not three, it should have been automatically recorded if we denied one the others should never have been scheduled.

Desired Settlement
I feel for all the trouble they have caused us that one of two things should happen.
1. The company gives us a brand new vacation to the resorts actually promised to us Daytona: Coral Sands Oceanfront Resort,Orlando: Fantasy World Kissimmee
Bahamas: Grand Luceyan fully all inclusive including all beverages and food with a rental in all possible locations, with no additional fees whatsoever, and all of the airfare included as well. This would have to have no expiry and we can use whenever we want.
2. My fiances mom should be refunded the entire amount she paid out 1500$ for the trip and the extra fees we paid out throughout the duration of the trip of 575$. Also for the 8 hours wasted in timeshare presentations i feel it would be appropriate to have some sort of compensation for the time we could have been enjoying ourselves.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@h*************
Let me first clarify that the ******'s/******'s did not purchase their package from Holiday Host but from United Travel Services. I do apologize for your inconvenience while traveling on your package. Holiday Host has an agreement to fulfill requests for United Travel Services (as we do many companies) per the Terms & Conditions in which the package was purchased. (i.e. taxes not included, tour required in all locations). These packages are discounted and sold at low prices to meet the needs for anyone who wants to travel. Therefore Presentations are required in all locations. The package was purchased for $574.00 for 6 nights in Orlando with 2 Attraction Tickets, 3 nights in Daytona Beach and 2 nights in Freeport, Bahamas. That is 11 nights and 2 Attraction Tickets for only $574.00. Hotel Tax is not included in the purchase price of the package. Holiday Host only books the Daytona Beach area and Bahamas Cruise & Stay portion of the package. United Travel Services books their own packages in Orlando and coordinates all dates for Daytona, Orlando and Bahamas Cruise & stay and including the rental car ... Holiday Host has nothing to do with booking Orlando stay or the rental car. Holiday Host is open 7 days a week from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm. and handles every customer with respect and we go out of our way to resolve any problems that may occur. There was never any mention prior to traveling that there was a problem. I explained to Mr. ****** prior to travel via email that he would need to contact United Travel Services in reference to the rental car.
Dates were accepted from UTS for travel to Daytona Beach on 2/22/13 for 3 nights. Confirmation was sent via email on 11/15/12. 3 months ahead of time is not last minute. The confirmation clearly states that tax is not included and are the responsibility of the traveler and tour is required. Accommodations were not available at the Coral Sands because of the Special Event in Daytona Beach (Race Week rate was $259 per night). They were booked at the Tropical Winds in an oceanfront efficiency which is comparable to the Coral Sands. As far as the Bahamas Cruise & Stay... The Robertsons/Gays were emailed information about booking the Cruise & Stay 11/9/12. This information explains what their Cruise and stay entails ( 2nights at the Island Palm Marina Villas, taxes not included) , options to upgrade to stay at the Island Seas Resort with All Inclusive (taxes included) with pricing attached. Ms ****** chose the option for All Inclusive and was given a total monies due of $926.00 which her mother in law paid. This was an option she chose written via email on 11/29/12. All this was finalized on 11/29/12 and documents were sent via email 11/30/12. Again, 3 months prior to travel. Not at the last minute. As far as the presentations in all locations ... Per the Terms & Conditions in which the package was purchased from United Travel Services presentations in all locations are required. Again, nothing to do with Holiday Host. As far as Ms. ******'s resolution ... Holiday Host in good faith booked Daytona Beach and Bahamas Cruise & Stay per requests from both Ms. ****** and United Travel Services 3 months prior to travel. Nothing was ever mentioned to us about any problems with those areas. Holiday Host however will reimburse the tax paid in Daytona Beach in the amount of $61.89. The monies paid for the Bahamas Cruise & Stay were initiated by Ms. ****** and Ms. ******. Ms. ****** will need to contact United Travel Services for any other compensation she is seeking pertaining to Orlando and the rental car.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was nothing stated that we received that the hotels **** mom specifically was told that we would be staying at could be substituted, it really makes no difference to me whether the places were not available, they hould not be offered if they cannot be guarunteed they are available. This still seems like false advertising and again if your two companies work together for the package both companies should work towards a suitable resolution instead of being ******* around by everyone. The taxes alone to be is not enough there should at least be a portion of the cost of the trip refunded as a courtesy for the inconvenience.

Business' Final Response
In our continued effort to attempt to identify and find mutual resolution to the issues that are being raised, I must again point out that the CONSUMER'S DESIRED RESOLUTION and the CONSUMER'S REBUTTAL TO BUSINESS focus on her unhappiness with the advertising and/or information included in a vacation package that the consumer did not actually purchase - from a completely different vacation company - not from Holiday Host Inc. It appears that the consumer's mother in law purchased a vacation package from United Travel Services. The merits of the claims made by the consumer regarding the terms of the usage of the vacation are topics that need to be addressed by the consumer and United Travel Services.



As pointed out in earlier correspondence, Holiday Host, Inc. does have a contract with United Travel Services to provide accommodations and travel arrangements for consumer's that have requested such in the Daytona Beach Resort Area and/or Cruise & Stay accommodations on Grand Bahama Island. In this case, United Travel Services forwarded the consumer's requests to Holiday Host, Inc. for fulfillment. As explained in detail in prior correspondence, all costs, expenses, optional upgrades were explained IN WRITING and prior to any monies being charged or collected from the consumer. Any fees collected by Holiday Host, Inc. were fully disclosed - and agreed to by the consumer - prior to any transaction taking place. Holiday Host, Inc. was not aware of any concerns or questions (and certainly not any complaints) that the consumer had at this point.



The confirmations- provided to the consumer well in advance of the travel dates- again pointed out what the consumer was entitled to and what additional costs/fees would be collected directly by the hotels & cruise ship at the time of usage. Still, no concerns or complaints were received from the consumer.



Holiday Host, Inc. prepaid the costs for ALL of the accommodations and cruise passage that were requested by - and confirmed specifically for - the consumer.



The consumer traveled to Daytona Beach; stayed the entire duration of the reserved nights (at the confirmed hotel) and departed without incident. The consumer was and is aware of the Holiday Host, Inc. office in Ormond Beach, Fl. and did not call or visit the office to voice any unhappiness or complaint while in the resort area.



The consumer sailed round trip aboard the confirmed cruise ship to/from Grand Bahama Island without incident. The consumer arrived at the confirmed resort and participated in the All Inclusive Option (which was requested by the consumer and purchased prior to travel) for the entirety of the reservation. There were no issues ...no complaints or concerns...received by Holiday Host, Inc. regarding the consumer's round trip cruise or All Inclusive accommodations on Grand Bahama Island.



Holiday Host, Inc. did not sell a vacation package of any kind to the consumer or her mother in law. We cannot defend ourselves against complaints made regarding a vacation package that was sold to a consumer (coincidentally, not the consumer filing the complaint) by a third party business entity. The travel arrangements that this office made for the consumer were done so in good faith, fully explained and used in their entirety by the consumer. While Holiday Host, Inc. takes the position that we provided 100% of the accommodations & service that was confirmed - IN WRITING AND IN A TIMELY MANNER - for the consumer by the Holiday Host, Inc. staff, we once offer to reimburse the consumer for $61.80 in taxes paid to the hotel in the Daytona Beach Resort Area.

02/01/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rebooking trip within time limit- charged of $1725.85 as tax cost should be refund from last canceled booking.
My trip was booked and I had until March 2013 to rebook with different dates. the penalty was $209.85.
When the trip was finalized and set for Feb 2013 I was told over the phone there was a charge of $1725.85 to cover tax for not cancelling trip previously.
As you can see by the email correspondence the trip and date changes were in fact submitted and it should be the booking agency to cover any costs if they did not cancel for me as requested.
Emails of our conversations are attached for your information. The charge for the 1725.85 was over the phone and I have not received anything in writing to explain it.
Thank you, I hope you can help me.


Re: Bahamas
To see messages related to this one, group messages by conversation.
10/16/2012 Reply '-'Reply
From: ****** (**************@consultant.com)
Sent: Tuesday, October 16, 2012 4:18:57 PM
To: **** **** (**********@hotmail.com)


*****,
The total is 209.85, and you will have until March 20, 2013 to travel.

******


On 10/16/2012 12:02 PM, **** **** wrote:

******


Is this 69.95 for cancelling cruise? or Orlando or for all? what is the total?


*****



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Tue, 16 Oct 2012 11:58:08 -0400
From: **************@consultant.com
To: **********@hotmail.com
Subject: Re: Bahamas


*****,
There is a 69.95 rescheduling/cancellation fee, since you are already booked and confirmed

On 10/16/2012 11:56 AM, **** **** wrote:

*****,


I just like to clarify that I would like not to have a vacation during this Christmas time and New Year.


Thank you for your support!


*****



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Mon, 15 Oct 2012 12:14:21 -0400
From: **************@consultant.com
To: **********@hotmail.com
Subject: Re: Bahamas


I need to see if those dates are available now since you are changing them

On 10/15/XXXX XX:XX PM, **** **** wrote:

******


I have talked to ***** and booked cruise. The date is 23 Dec to 27. I would like to book Orlando stay from 27Dec to Jan2 for the rest of part of trip.


Thank you for keeping remind me for this vacation!


*****

Desired Settlement
There should be no cruise tax charge as I meet all there requests and the trip will be booked and used before the March deadline.
I will pay the $209 as requested for the booking change.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** - Supervisor
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
Customer request was received on 8/7/2012. I sent an email to customer on 8/7 with all information about the Cruise & Stay along with pricing and Terms & Conditions. After no response 2nd email was sent 8/8 and 9/9. Her charges were explained to her prior to processing on 10/15/12. $245.00 per person for Port & Service charges (x 4 persons), $218 for 1st guest All Inclusive at resort, $218.00 for 2nd guest All Inclusvie, $138.00 for 3rd guest, $70.00 for 4th guest All Inclusive, $80.00 upgrade to 2 bedroom. (All Inclusive is optional which she chose). Total charge was $1704.00 ($1725.85 Canadian conversion). She chose travel dates of 12/23 and I proceeded to book. She called 10/16 stating that she needed to change her dates and I explained that since she was already confirmed she would have to pay $50 per ticket to make any changes ($200.00) The email she is showing from ****** is only a quote to her for making changes or cancellations. She did not reply back to ****** excepting the $200 charge. Not sure if she emailed ****** first or spoke with me first. She refused to pay the change fee and said she would talk her daughter into traveling 12/23. We never heard back from customer about this matter. She did not pay the change fee to HH or her marketing company so her reservations were not changed or cancelled for Christmas week. Her email prior to booking clearly states that there is a $50 charge for any changes or cancellations once confirmed. Cancellation within 10 days of travel all monies are forfeited. I have been able to convince the Resort to refund HH the $724.00 she paid for the All Inclusive while on the Island. If she clearly would have told us she was canceling we would have canceled and she would have been refunded less the Cancellation fee of $200.00. (She also had reservations in Orlando which were not canceled and HH was charged a no show fee of $65.00.) She refused to pay the fee so she was not cancelled. HH strives to accommodate every customer and miscommunication sometimes happens. HH cannot retrieve the monies she paid for the ship ... they will not refund the $980.00. I am willing to split the difference with her.(Keep in mind she still has not paid any fee for cancellation). Monies paid for the ship were total of $980.00. I will apply $490.00 + $724.00 for All Inclusive as a Credit to her file. Total credit to file $1214.00. I hope this is acceptable to the customer and further conversation pertaining to travel will only be via email so that no miscommunication happens. Customer may submit new dates for Cruise & Stay only to me with all information needed for new booking.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The ongoing discussions are on taxes only. Other monies are now lost. I tried to rebook to see if we could come to a compromise to salvage a vacation and it appears that was impossible. Trying to book this vacation to include children was difficult. When sending emails to a booking agent I thought they would take care of changes , not me having to phone everyone. This was very stressful trying to get this sorted and very disappointed . Especially when you read the previous emails. I did not even suspect the booking dates were not changed for me.

Sincerely

Business' Final Response
Consumer was emailed and told that no bookings would occur until all matters with BBB and Credit card company are resolved. She has disputed her credit card for the full amount that HH collected from her. HH no longer has that money. I cannot proceed with booking her new dates until this matter is resolved. I don't know how she thinks she can dispute charges to her credit card and still try and make reservations.

Again, no further bookings will take place until BBB and CC dispute are satisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Tours - Operators & Promoters

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.