BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cruise & Vacation Depot

Phone: (407) 831-1577Fax: (407) 260-9491View Additional Phone Numbers1033 State Road 436 Ste 201, CasselberryFL 32707-5758 Send email to Cruise & Vacation Depothttp://www.CruiseCafe.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Cruise & Vacation Depot is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cruise & Vacation Depot's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Cruise & Vacation Depot

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid a deposit on a trip was not able to go was told I'd get a refund and it is over a month and I have not gotten a refund.
I had paid a deposit of $700 for a 9-day trip to Bermuda due to leave on October 27, 2013. Due to extensive surgery I had on Sept. 13, 2013 I had to cancel this trip. I called and cancelled I would say before the end of September and was told I would receive a refund of $300. I waited and got nothing. I called back a few weeks later and was told its coming. I called back again and was told it was coming I called back again and this time was told I'd have to wait until the account was closed (I was going with a group) and that wouldn't be until the trip. I called again and was told I have to speak to **** *** I left a message and have yet to speak to her it will be one month since the trip on Nov. 27 and two months since I originally cancelled the trip. I have gotten my daughter involved and she has been calling to no avail. This is terrible customer service and bad business practice.

Desired Settlement
I just want what is owed to me $300

Final Consumer Response
finally I received a refund. Not what I was told but close to it. I will never vacation or send friends to this company. Their customer services is below standard. THANK YOU BBB!

07/23/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not honor price agreement. Agency reps are not business professional.
Purchased a cruise vacation in May, 2014 with a cruise line (Celebrity) promotion of $100 discount pending the purchase of air tickets through Choice Air. Did not honor the promise/agreement upon completion of the requirement. Invoice number #XXXXX

Also the sales rep and the phone operator are not business professional as they said "will call you right back" and they never did. I had to call and call to get a hold of them. I also had to ask to get my invoice. Shouldn't it be sent after payment?

Same issue with my friend who booked the same vacation with this same rep. Will never do business with this travel agency ever.

Desired Settlement
$100 refund

Business Response
Ms. ***** booked a Celebrity Cruise on May 1st. (Thursday) an invoice was sent to the client on Tuesday May 5th. When she booked her cruise it did not include airfare. Our company did not add on her airfare. The client booked her airfare directly with Celebrity on their website. This was brought to our attention on May 19th...we added this to her invoice and sent an updated invoice to the client on May 23rd. There is always a few days delay in getting invoices to clients as they have to go to the customer service department for verification. We did not charge her card for the airfare Celebrity did. If there is a problem with the amount of for the airfare cost she will need to discuss with Celebrity. I am sorry if a returned call was not placed in a timely fashion. As this occured 3 months ago I have no way of investigating this problem. We try to get back to our clients within 24 hrs of their message. But sometimes agents are sick or off for the day. Looking at the file I do not see where there is $100.00 due back to the client. If she has something in writing from Celebrity since she made the change to her own reservation...I would be happy to look at this further. Otherwise, there is no refund due.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the last response email I received from the agent"**** I spoke with accounting and due to the fact I gave you a 150.00 discount on the cruise we cannot give you the additional 100.00 back.

With your certificate for another 100.00 off that would make your discount of 250.00 which cannot do.

You will receive the onboard credit and the discount of 150.00 which is what we had agreed upon.

We should of taken the certificate into account at the very beginning when making the initial reservation and we did not do that. So we cannot give it back on the back end.

Sorry"

He indicated that there was an agreement in the initial booking of the trip, but then said that he can not honor it at the back end. So I think you can make promise to lure your customer in and then break it later to do business.

As for the return call issue, the last call I made was to speak to the accounting. Whoever answered the call told me she is on the phone and will call me back. I never heard from anybody again and didn't bother to call back, as this not the first time happened with this business.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Cruises

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service
(800) 435-7352

Seminole County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of ST12636 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service. Seller of Travel .

Type: Seller of Travel

BBB records show a license number of 171011 for this company, issued by Seminole County Occupational License. Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1990, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dawn Ohl (President)Mr. Bret Bradford (Director)Ms. Cherie Coad (Manager)
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Cruises

Products & Services

Travel Agency,vacation services and cruises.

Alternate Business Names
Cruise Depot, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cruise & Vacation Depot

1033 State Road 436 Ste 201

Casselberry, FL 32707-5758

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1033 State Road 436 Ste 201 

    Casselberry, FL 32707-5758

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cruise & Vacation Depot is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 788-2545
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://twitter.com/cruisedepot
  • www.facebook.com/CruiseandVacationDepot
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Travel Agencies & Bureaus

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.