BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cruise & Vacation Depot

Phone: (407) 831-1577Fax: (407) 260-9491

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid a deposit on a trip was not able to go was told I'd get a refund and it is over a month and I have not gotten a refund.
I had paid a deposit of $700 for a 9-day trip to Bermuda due to leave on October 27, 2013. Due to extensive surgery I had on Sept. 13, 2013 I had to cancel this trip. I called and cancelled I would say before the end of September and was told I would receive a refund of $300. I waited and got nothing. I called back a few weeks later and was told its coming. I called back again and was told it was coming I called back again and this time was told I'd have to wait until the account was closed (I was going with a group) and that wouldn't be until the trip. I called again and was told I have to speak to **** *** I left a message and have yet to speak to her it will be one month since the trip on Nov. 27 and two months since I originally cancelled the trip. I have gotten my daughter involved and she has been calling to no avail. This is terrible customer service and bad business practice.

Desired Settlement
I just want what is owed to me $300

Final Consumer Response
finally I received a refund. Not what I was told but close to it. I will never vacation or send friends to this company. Their customer services is below standard. THANK YOU BBB!

12/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been unable to retrieve monies owed to me by this company. I have made at least 20 emails and calls since july of 2015 with no avail.
I booked a cruise with cruise depot with ***** with a 400 deposit. I was unable to go the date I booked and so I rescheduled with ***** to a different date which he told me was not an issue. I then received my new confirmation and noticed my deposit amount was $150 less. I asked why was this and I was told I was subject to a cancellation fee. I didn't cancel now ask for a refund just to pick a different cruise. See attached policy. I contact ***** and the owner Dawn *** several times through email and phone with no avail. She did not return any of my calls or emails. I also did not sign any of their credit cards slips. I tried to file fraud but to much time elapsed. Due to the lack of response by management I call *************** who told me I could pull the account from cruise depot and that I would deal with *************** directly. I numerous times spoke with ***** who stated " I needed to contact the BBB because she has done this many times to many customers and to call the local news. I also has several other friends that she ripped off in the same way. I received my confirmation from***. But the deposit amount is incorrect. ** shows a deposit of $200.00. So where is the extra $50. I gave cruise depot $400. If I was charged the cancel fee that 75 pp. Total $150. And then ** shows deposit of $200 that leaves a debt of $50. I have since July since multiple emails to Dawn**** with no resolve. She will not call me. She will not refund my money. She will not give me my money back. She also does not answer the phone at her office ever. She is a modern day theif and needs to be held accountable.

Desired Settlement
I would like her to be held accountable and I would like a refund in total of $200.00 sent to me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Dawn Ohl President
Contact Phone: 407-831-1577
Contact Email: *******************
Ms ***** was booked on one of our group cruises to sail on September 25, 2015. On July 9th Ms ***** cancelled her cruise reservation for the September 25th cruise. For group cruises we have an no refund of deposit policy. However, Ms ***** was going to travel at a later date...so we just charge her our normal cancellation fee of $75pp. She had a balance of $50.00 deposit that was moved to a new sailing date of December 4, 2015. Than on August 11, 2015 Ms ***** cancelled her December cruise with us. So we enforced our original penalty of no refund so she lost her $50.00. We have replied to many of Ms *****'s emails (which were mostly full of slander and threats). I am sorry she feels we have not given her the service she deserves...but we have been in business over 25 years and this was our 10th Annual cruise she was booked on. Each year our group grows. And we have over 200 guests that travel in this group each year. So again at this time there is no refund due to Ms. *****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Her response does not address the issue and is completely inaccurate. I did reschedule my original September cruise to December, which I was told was not an issue and was never made aware that I would suffer an 150 penality for changing dates. Her cancellation policy which is attached does not have any fees for rescheduling. I also made an original deposit of 400 dollars towards the September Cruise. I also did not cancel my December cruise. The booking was taken away from Cruise Depot by**************** which is shown in the letter prior addressed to ***************. The owner also acknnolwedged this in the attached email. Cruise Depot only transferred a deposit of 200 to *************** which left a balance of 50 dollar that cruise depot held. Several emails and calls I was unable to get the additional 50 back or transferred to ***************. Her cancellation policy also never mentions anything about "50" dollar cancellation fees. The booking was taken from Cruise Depot and it is unlawful for Cruise Depot to "make up" illigimate cancellation charges and to "make up" charge amounts. At no point ever did cruise depot say I was subject to another cancellation fee. I was told she would review the case only after I made several attempts to contact her with no avail. I was also told by her employess that he forgot to mention the monies owed and would contact his boss to get it refunded. I was told the money would either be put back on my credit card or forwarded to *************** which has never happened. Now all of a sudden there is some new cancellation fee that did not exist before and happens to be for 50 dollars the exact amount owed to me. Attached are emails from the owner herself and her employes stating that they would process the money owed. SHE IS A CROOK!!!!!!!!!!

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not honor price agreement. Agency reps are not business professional.
Purchased a cruise vacation in May, 2014 with a cruise line (Celebrity) promotion of $100 discount pending the purchase of air tickets through Choice Air. Did not honor the promise/agreement upon completion of the requirement. Invoice number #XXXXX

Also the sales rep and the phone operator are not business professional as they said "will call you right back" and they never did. I had to call and call to get a hold of them. I also had to ask to get my invoice. Shouldn't it be sent after payment?

Same issue with my friend who booked the same vacation with this same rep. Will never do business with this travel agency ever.

Desired Settlement
$100 refund

Business Response
Ms. ***** booked a Celebrity Cruise on May 1st. (Thursday) an invoice was sent to the client on Tuesday May 5th. When she booked her cruise it did not include airfare. Our company did not add on her airfare. The client booked her airfare directly with Celebrity on their website. This was brought to our attention on May 19th...we added this to her invoice and sent an updated invoice to the client on May 23rd. There is always a few days delay in getting invoices to clients as they have to go to the customer service department for verification. We did not charge her card for the airfare Celebrity did. If there is a problem with the amount of for the airfare cost she will need to discuss with Celebrity. I am sorry if a returned call was not placed in a timely fashion. As this occured 3 months ago I have no way of investigating this problem. We try to get back to our clients within 24 hrs of their message. But sometimes agents are sick or off for the day. Looking at the file I do not see where there is $100.00 due back to the client. If she has something in writing from Celebrity since she made the change to her own reservation...I would be happy to look at this further. Otherwise, there is no refund due.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the last response email I received from the agent"**** I spoke with accounting and due to the fact I gave you a 150.00 discount on the cruise we cannot give you the additional 100.00 back.

With your certificate for another 100.00 off that would make your discount of 250.00 which cannot do.

You will receive the onboard credit and the discount of 150.00 which is what we had agreed upon.

We should of taken the certificate into account at the very beginning when making the initial reservation and we did not do that. So we cannot give it back on the back end.

Sorry"

He indicated that there was an agreement in the initial booking of the trip, but then said that he can not honor it at the back end. So I think you can make promise to lure your customer in and then break it later to do business.

As for the return call issue, the last call I made was to speak to the accounting. Whoever answered the call told me she is on the phone and will call me back. I never heard from anybody again and didn't bother to call back, as this not the first time happened with this business.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Cruises

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.