BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2012

Quality Transmission and Total Car Care, Inc.

Phone: (407) 568-4271Fax: (407) 568-4272View Additional Phone Numbers18768 E Colonial Dr, OrlandoFL 32820-3000 Send email to Quality Transmission and Total Car Care, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2012

BBB has determined that Quality Transmission and Total Car Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Quality Transmission and Total Car Care, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Quality Transmission and Total Car Care, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/16/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not honor 12 month/12,000 mile warranty of auto repair because I am currently out of state.
I was preparing to take a trip in my car and had Quality Transmissions look it over to see if anything needed replaced or repaired before traveling 2,300 miles. I had been there a few times before where both myself and my daughter dealt with the manager at the time there, *****. He suggested replacing the timing belt for $383.95 which I did on 11/13/2013.
While visiting my mother on 4/24/2014 my car stopped and upon having ********* look at it they informed me my timing belt had slipped. Before proceeding any farther we called Quality Transmission located in Orlando, Florida and talked to the owner ***** who informed me that since I wasn't in the state of Florida they did not have to abide by the warranty. I asked where this was at on the document/receipt and he informed me it wasn't necessary in the state of Florida and that I was out of luck unless I wanted to bring the car back to them to make the repairs-The car isn't running! I have no way of getting it back to Orlando without paying to have it fixed again.
I then asked what I was supposed to do, contact the BBB or something, he said I could try but it wouldn't do any good, they don't have to include that the warranty is not any good if you leave state in Florida and asked if I wanted the phone number.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund from the repairs charged pertaining to the timing belt $383.95 or if they would prefer, they could contact someone here in Las Vegas that they would allow to make the repairs under the terms of my warranty.

Business Response
We at Quality Transmission strive in COSTOMER SERVICE AND QUALITY WORK. Unfortunately the warranty we offer is NOT NATION WIDE. In this company like many other companys THE WRRANTY IS ONLY COVERED IN THE FACILITY THAT THE JOB WAS PAFORMED ONLY. we went over Ms. ****** paper work and we did replace the timing belt with seals. But there is other factors that can contribute too timing belt failure such as timing belt components and water pump. Even with all these facts Quality Transmissions is willing to give Ms. ****** a shop credit for the amount of the invoice ***** off 383.95.

Consumer Response
See attached Documents

******* ******
**** ** ****** **** ****** *****
*** ****** ** XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

May 16th,2014

***** ****** (Owner)
Quality Transmissions ** Total Car Care
*** ***** ******
*******. FL XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

RE: XXXXXXXX

**** ***** ********,

On November 13, 2013, Iliad some repairs performed on my car at Quality Transmissions Total Car Care. own a I993 Plymouth
Acclaim with around 80,000 original miles on it and took excellent care when it came to routine and major repair work necessary._I had
taken my car to Quality Transmissions & Total Car Care a couple of times before because I was planning on driving from Florida to
Nevada by myself and wanted to make sure my mr was up for it and I wasn't stranded alone in the desert I thought I did my homeworkby
checking the re utation of the business by checking customer reviews, BBB complaints and Automotive Service Excellence accreditation.
I spoke with **** ******* the manager of the location I went to, about any repairs needed or parts replaced to drive my car there and
he suggested replacing the tuning belt because it looked cracked.
On April 24th, 2014, my car suddenly stopped running while at a stop light intersection. I was fortunate enough to be across the street
from a ********* **** and, after taking a cursory look, they informed me that it looked as if my timimg belt had slipped off. Iproduced
the copy of the repair invoice stating I had just made these repairs under advisement from an auto repair in Orlando. The manager
from Firestone told me that sometimes companies have an afliated auto repair for just these type of problems and contacted Quality
Transmissions & Total Car Care inquiring if they had someone in Las Vegas that would be honoring the repair warranty Quality
Transmissions & Total Car Care told the manager at ********* **** that they dicln't have an affiliate that would do the repairs and they
would not be paying anyone in Las Vegas to perform them. I found it extremely disappointing" and unprofessional when I spoke with
***** ******, the owner, explaining I am disabled, on a xed income and the warranty and guarantee of repair was the entire reason I
took my car to an automotive repair chain in Orlando instead of some back-alley mechanic, ***** told me if I wanted to bring the car to
one of their locations they would lake a look at it and repair it but, when I left the state of Florida my 12 month/12.000 mile warranty
was null and void and I was just out of luck I asked him where it stated that on my invoice I essentially had no guarantee of repairs if
I wasn't in Florida and he told me he didn"t have to have it on he invoice, the law was on his side. I then said I would have to contact
someone and report this as it just dicln't seem fair to me and he told me to go ahead and asked if I wanted the number. I immediately
led a complaint on the BBB website.
After ling a complaint with the BBB I received a complaint activity report with a response from Quality Transmissions & Total Car Care
stating the warranty is not Nationwide and there could be other mitigating factors, ie; Water pump. On May 13th, 2014 I took my car to
an independent auto repair service in Las Vegas to get an estimate and tell me whether it was the timing belt or something else. They
informed me that the camshaft BROKE causing severe engine damage that in all probability would cost more to repair than the car was
worth. Looking over the repair invoice from Quality Transmissions & Total Car Care I noticed that THEY replaced the camshaft on my
car. Iwent to a *** **** to get a "ballpark" quote on parts and labor and learned a couple of things, a timing belt repair kit INCLUDES
a water pump and, a new camshaft cost over $100. I then called the Quality Transmissions & Total Car Care location on ***** ****** and
spoke to an employee named **** who assured me that a water pump WAS included when performing a timing belt repair, they usually
purchased their parts from ********* auto parts and they NEVER put used parts in without prior consent It looks as if I got a very good
deal on a camshaft that broke OR I received a USED one without my knowledge. On the invoice I have all the itemized components
making up the timing belt kit except for the water pump. If the pars were bought from ********* they should have a guarantee on them
as well and Quality Transmissions & Total Car Care should take that up with them and let me know howl can get my car repaired.
In my original complaint I requested a refund so I could apply it towards repairs in Las Vegas. After towing my car to determine the
cause and repairs it is obvious that resolving this problem will unfortunately cost a great deal of money and I would like either the blue
book value of my automobile which is $3,487, or an authorized auto service location repair the damage with a 12 month/12,000 mile
guarantee. There is no way of knowing the amount of damage done to the engine at this point and the integrity of the vehicle will forever
be altered I purchased this car from the original owner with less than 40,000 miles on it and EVERY oil change and transmission ush
receipt pertaining to it I am enclosing a photo of the automobile and all major service invoices along with the latest invoice for new tires
recently purchased to demonstrate that the vehicle was in VERY GOOD condition aside from needing a paint job and always properly
maintained by licensed auto repair technicians/mechanics.
I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem and can be reached at the above address and phone number.
Sincerely,
******* ******


Business Response
From: ***** ****** (mailto:*********@yahoo.com)
Sent: Wednesday, June 04, XXXX X:XX AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

we at Quality Transmission strive on COSTOMER SERVICE AND QUALITY WORK. Unfortunately the warranty we offer is NOT NATION WIDE. In this company like many others companys THE WARRANTY IS ONLY COVERED IN THE FACILITY THAT THE JOB WAS PAFORMED ONLY. We went over Ms. ****** paper work and we did replace the timing belt with seals. But there is other factors that can contribute too timing belt failure such as timing belt components and water pump. Even with all these factors Quality Transmission is willing to give Ms. ****** a shop credit for the amount of the ************ of 383.95

On Thursday, May 22, XXXX X:XX PM, Better Business Bureau <***********@bureaudata.com> wrote:

Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ******* ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Towing - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Clutches

Additional Information

top

The owner of this company previously owned TransPro Transmission, Inc. which is no longer in operation as of 2011. For a report on the company please click here.

BBB file opened: 11/08/2012Business started: 01/24/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Orange County Business Tax Receipt
http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of 0614876 for this company, issued by Orange County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of MV82920 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service. Motor Vehicle Repair.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2011, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jesus Rivera (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Alex Rodriguez (Shop Manager)Ms. Sonaly Rodriguez (Vice President)
Related Businesses
TransPro Transmission & Auto Repair - 18768 E Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Towing - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Clutches

Products & Services

This company offers Automotive Transmission services, Brake services, Air Conditioning services, Belts and Hose Inspection and Auto repairs.

Alternate Business Names
Orlando Transmission Repair
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Shops

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Quality Transmission and Total Car Care, Inc.

18768 E Colonial Dr

Orlando, FL 32820-3000

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 18768 E Colonial Dr 

    Orlando, FL 32820-3000(407) 568-4271
    Fax: (407) 568-4272

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Quality Transmission and Total Car Care, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 822-4447
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Transmissions - Automobile

Auto Repair Shops
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.