BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1992

White Sands Pool Plastering

Phone: (407) 699-6811Fax: (407) 699-6847505 Plumosa Ave STE 1001, Altamonte SpringsFL 32701-2000 Send email to White Sands Pool Plastering



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1992

BBB has determined that White Sands Pool Plastering meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised White Sands Pool Plastering's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on White Sands Pool Plastering

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
09/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have had a terrible time having White Sands come back to repair an issue which resulted from having them refinish our pool.
We contracted with White Sands to have our pool refinished last summer/fall. Our sales rep was **** ****** and we have no complaints regarding ****. The work was completed last fall. We were totally happy with the results except our pop ups in our pool were sealed shut during the refinishing process. As soon as we realized this we called White Sands on Oct. 31st and explained our situation to Jin. They sent someone out to fix the problem on 11/14. When the employee was sent out he didn't have the right tool and the water was too cold so he asked if this could wait until it warmed up some. We said that was fine. We have not heard from anyone at White Sands and have continued to call them with no one returning our calls. Mid June I started calling them again and finally got through to ***** (I believe). We again scheduled a time for someone to come out and fix the pop ups this last Tuesday 6/23. The employee was here for 10-15 min and told me that his tank was out of air. I asked if he could come back the next day, Wed. and finish. He said he would call ***** from his truck and she would call us and let us know what the plan is. Today is Thurs 6/25 and we have heard from no one. I started calling this morning and left a mess asking to be called back ASAP but no one called. I called again around 1:30 pm and got the answering service. I finally decided to call our sales person **** and see if we could get some help from him. He did answer and happened to be at the White Sands office. I explained what was going on and he had me talk to ***** (?-not sure) so I again explained the situation. She asked me to hold and tried to contact the repair person to see what was going on. As of 1:45pm she said he was picking up his tank and on his way to our house. This has been a horrible experience. What started out as a very positive experience has turned into us having to repeatedly contact White Sands to fix something they were responsible for. This is something that probably could have been fixed in less than an hour. We have had to be the initiators for 8 months only to be jerked around with no returned phone calls and unprofessional business practices. I told the gal I spoke to on the phone this afternoon that we would NEVER refer White Sands to any of our friends and/or neighbors looking to refinish their pool. Their unprofessionalism and treatment towards their customers does not warrant any referrals. Prospective customers need to hear this and it is a shame as they seem to have a great sales staff but their follow through suffers.

Desired Settlement
We simply just want our pool pop ups functioning again and repaired properly.

Business Response
We apologize that it did take several trips to repair the floor heads. IF you still are having issues please don't hesitate to call the office. Sometimes it does take several trips due to weather or other issues that arise. We appreciate your business and will do everything we can to serve your needs.

06/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
White Sands completed an egregious, incompetent tile installation job on our pool and the owner is not taking any responsibility or dealing with it.
We contracted with White Sands to renovate our pool on 02/03/2015 which was to include a pebble surface, new tile installation and a wall built in place of glass block. It should be noted that we did all of our homework, checked out several companies thoroughly, including checking licenses reviews and their BBB ratings and complaints. Though White Sands had a few complaints, we know that you can't please everyone, their rating was still A+, and they appeared to respond to and resolve the past complaints. They also were recommended by the local pool tile supplier and the decking company. Work began as stated on 03/05/2015. It is now 04/14/2015 and our pool is still sitting devoid of surface, damaged in several areas by contractor negligence and the only thing completed is an egregious, improper tile job. We have had a couple of professional opinions of the work done as well which confirm the improper, incompetent installation. During this ordeal, phone calls nor emails have been returned many times at their whim as they already have our money. Workers have arrived sporadically for an hour here or there thru most of this in an effort, we feel, to show us their disdain and our lack of importance to them as they have bigger, more important jobs to concern themselves with. They subcontracted out our tile work (though they claim otherwise and state otherwise in their advertisement) which began with problems on day one due to improper techniques being employed to cut/ space tile and starting at the wrong place. The wall was also never prepped, mudded and leveled. After a near week of denial and disregard by White Sands management, the work being done became so shoddy that the project supervisor came out to the site for the second time and had to acknowledge that the tile was not being installed properly and ordered the worst portion be redone. This is not done as the subcontractor seemingly takes offense and walks off the job. Mind you, White Sands is still insisting that this is a company employee and not a subcontractor. After days of no one showing up or calling, we call them and they attempt to send the same tile installer back out again. We disagree to this and after being put thru another waiting game, a different tile person is sent. It should be noted that during this and all contact, the company and its representatives make it painfully clear that they are unconcerned and dismissive about the turmoil they are causing in our lives. All but one, the second tile installer who was very nice and apologetic about our experience thus far. In the end, this installer delivers a final product rife with problems and shoddy workmanship since, by his own admission, he simply tries to "patch" the most egregious of the first installation. Though we make our displeasure known to him, he continued to be respectful and polite to the end. A request is made to see the owner in person for the second time who appears barely announced four days later. The owner at this point arrives to state that the tile installation is just fine for a remodel in his professional opinion and insists that it is normal for tile to be jutting out past a cantilevered deck, for tile not to be level anywhere, and for the wall they constructed with different widths on either side to be leveled out by adding more than an inch of extra grout behind tiles to attempt to make up the difference amongst other issues. Mr. Liljenquist , the owner, stated that we were just awful people, could not be satisfied and that his solution was to deduct his expenses from our deposit and terminate our contract. The owner was advised of our intention to seek equitable resolution through all agencies applicable and advised us to go ahead and file what ever we wanted as he is sure it is our intent to try and ruin his good reputation and impede him from being able to feed his family.This meeting took place on April 06, 2015 and no contact has been made from or to White Sands since then.

Desired Settlement
We want a refund of monies paid and for White Sands to take financial responsibility for repairs needed to correct the damage to the deck, damaged/ missing fixtures, the repair of the deep gouges made in our concrete pool shell by their workers and equipment. The extent of the cost of having the extra layers of mortar material ground off behind the tiles and in the fountain where concrete was left to dry as they constructed the wall and failed to remove extra gobs of material before it dried is unknown. Our pool light, jets and fountains worked prior to their arrival and, should those items not work properly after their handling or leaving them sitting out not functioning for the last forty plus days, we feel that White Sands is responsible and should bare any added expense beyond the $7150.00 of returning our pool to the state it should have been in if they had done the job properly and in reasonable time. As a result of their actions, even if they gave us back our deposit, we would need to start from scratch with contracting another company and cannot know how long it would take to get started and in the interim our pool sits empty and compromised. We are not willing to let White Sands off the hook for liability for our pool structure and any undue, added costs that may be incurred due to their incompetence, disregard, arrogance and egregious workmanship and customer service. This ordeal has taken over our lives emotionally, psychologically, physically and financially and sickens us to know that most of it was done at their arrogant, self inflated whim as they appear to be too well established to be bothered with our plight. They have no appreciation for the sleep lost, the tears shed, the worry and fright induced by their actions or the sadness imposed on our 5 year old child who suffers from seasonal allergies so badly that his only outdoor activity he can engage in at this time of year is swimming in the screen enclosed pool that sat empty thru spring break and beyond while he sits inside for fear of the safety hazard presented by the pool being drained all this time. They have wrought despair on our whole household and every aspect of our lives as we have been immobile by not knowing when or if work would be done, waiting for return calls that don't come, being maligned by the owner in person for respectfully stating our position and discontent with what is, no less than, incompetent work and then continuing the arrogant stance of deciding to ignore our existence and simply wait us out with no correspondence since the owner's declaration more than a week ago. White Sands owner has made it clear that filing this kind of complaint is of no consequence to his bottom line as he taunted us to file whatever we wanted, and though that may be the case, we feel compelled to do all we can to be remedied. From our research, most consumers are very happy with the work done for them by White Sands which is why we decided to contract with them and we don't doubt that others after us will be content as well. But because we rely on honest, objective reviews and substantiated information to make most of our decisions, we must recount our experience.

Business Response
I am ***** ***********, one of the owners of White Sands Pool Plastering. We contracted with the ********'s to remodel their pool.
We began with draining the pool, removing existing tile and prepping the interior of the pool to receive the new tile and new interior finish. This cost is approximately $850 for a typical pool prep. This work is complete.
We installed tile to the perimeter of the pool and fountain and received a call from the ********'s stating that it was done improperly. I inspected the tile job and saw their concerns. On a remodel job, there are always imperfections that are common because of previous deck elevations set and pool shells are hand shaped which make walls and corners imperfect. Industry standards usually apply and are accepted. The ********'s were very displeased with this first attempt and wanted the tile removed and replaced. We had another tile installer replace the tile and we received a call from the ********'s asking me to come inspect the tile job. I went and inspected the tile job again and found it to be what I felt was within industry standards for a remodel. I felt that the expectations of the ********'s were unrealistic and that my company would not be able to satisfy them.
We received a deposit from them of which all monies have been returned.
We wish them all the best, along with the new contractor who inherits this job.

Consumer Response
We wish that we had gotten to meet and deal with the Kevin Liljenquist who wrote this response and that the response were an accurate representation of the events as they actually took place. Mr. Liljenquist failed to mention that he failed to contact us following this complaint and that he decided to send us a check for $2500.00 of our $3575.00 which we received on 04/24/2015 with no explanation whatsoever. We were aware that this was another way to say, "You are nothing. I don't need to explain myself to you or acknowledge your existence." As the complaints got underway, it became clear that state agency intervention caused White Sands to have a change of heart and return the remaining $1075.00 that was being mailed on the same day that the BBB response was filed by Mr. Liljenquist. So did we get our deposit back? Yes. Did Mr. Liljenquist return it because it was the right thing to do as an upstanding businessman? No. Did the deposit get returned under duress to avoid impending substantiations of bad and fraudulent business practices? Yes. So, good luck to Mr. Liljenquist and his sense of self and to the next small time homeowner who contracts with White Sands for a pool renovation that includes tile installation and wall construction.

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/26/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pools - Public, Swimming Pools - Private

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 09/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CPC044954 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr. Certified Pool/Spa Contractor.

Type: Certified Pool/Spa Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1992, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Kevin Liljenquist (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Kim Liljenquist (Vice President)Ms. Mary Doyle (Office Manager)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pools - Public, Swimming Pools - Private

Products & Services

This company offers Commercial and Residential Swimming Pool Remodeling Services. Other services include: apply Final Finish to New Pool Construction. A Licensed Pebble Tec Applicator.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for White Sands Pool Plastering

505 Plumosa Ave STE 1001

Altamonte Springs, FL 32701-2000

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 505 Plumosa Ave STE 1001 

    Altamonte Springs, FL 32701-2000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*White Sands Pool Plastering is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.