BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/27/2010

Pinch-A-Penny #25

Phone: (321) 453-1986Fax: (321) 454-3483950 N. Courtenay Pkwy., Ste 16, Merritt IslandFL 32952 Send email to Pinch-A-Penny #25View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/27/2010

BBB has determined that Pinch-A-Penny #25 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pinch-A-Penny #25's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pinch-A-Penny #25

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
************************************************************************************************************************
The motor for my pool pump has gone out again. It had been replaced on two (2) other occaisons; 1/26/2010 and 12/8/2010. After checking with three (3) other Swimming pool businesses (including two (2) other Pinch a Penny locations) all say the motor should last 5-7 years unless the Company used on off brand motor. On each previous occasion this Pinch a Penny charged me over $300.00. Now they want over $380.00 to replace it again.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a equitable resolution to this issue as I feel 3 motors in 3 years is very excessive unless the equipment the Company has provided in the past is an off-brand manufacturer. In the past it has been my experience, if a Company wants to provide an off-brand piece of euipment for a repair project they bring that to the Consumer's attention and discount the price accordingly. In this instance that was not the case. The repair in December of 2010 did receive a discount due to the length of time between repairs but I would have thought the motor would have been under warranty, which I was told it was not.

I am very dissatisfied with the service of this Company and I will be communicating that through all social media available.

Thank you

Business Response
To whom it may concern;

I am writing in response to case # ******** (***** *******). Mr. ******* had a motor replaced on his
pool pump on 1-22-2010 and when that same motor went bad it was replaced on 12-06-2010. The
problem was the shaft seal was leaking and had not been reported by Mr. ******* for quite some time,
therefor ruining the bearings in the motor and voiding any warranty. The motor is warranted against
manufacturers defects only, it does not cover shaft seal failure. Most of the time when a shaft seal goes
bad it is from the pump running dry because the customer neglected to add water to his or her pool. I
felt bad for Mr. ******* and sold him a new motor for our cost to try to help him out any way we could.
The new motors carry a 1 year warranty, and during that time if the motor should go out, it will be
replaced if it proves to be defective, however the warranty only covers the motor for the remainder of
the original 1 year warranty. We replaced the motor on 12-06-2010, so the warranty on that motor ran
out on 12-06-2011. The motor that Mr. ******* is complaining about is now over 2 years out of warranty.
Mr. ******* also stated that we use off brand motors. Absolutely not truer We use the same brand
motors as the original equipment manufacturers use (AO Smith).
The REAL problem with Mr. ******* started when we installed a timer on 9-02-2012 that totaled
$169.79. Mr. ******* told us he would stop in that Saturday and pay his bill. He did not. In fact after over
9 months of sending invoices, phone calls and several broken promises to pay we decided to take back
the timer. So when Mr. ******* called and wanted us to replace the motor in question he told my service
manager he would not pay us that day, he would pay us at a later date. When) heard of this I told my
service manager to let Mr. ******* know that we would not be willing to extend him credit. This is when
Mr. ******* started with the threats of contacting the BBB and of course telling everyone he knows not
to shop here.
The real issue is not the motor, it is the fact that we refused him credit. Our bills are do upon completion
of the job, we do not extend credit to anyone in the first place, and if we are told by a customer who has
a bad payment history that he does not intend to pay us upon completion, I feel we have the right to
refuse him credit.
I hope you will agree with our logic and close this issue soon.
Sincerely
*** *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am accepting the resolution to my compliant. Please have the business respond to when I can pick up the payment as I have a new motor.

Thank you

Final Business Response
I have spoken to Mr. ******* this morning (XX-XX-XXXX) and even though I believe there is no validity to his complaint I told him I wanted to resolve this issue and asked what he wanted from our company. His response was that he wanted nothing from Pinch A Penny. I offered Mr. ******* a new motor or $100.00 and stated that was as far as I would be willing to go. Mr. ******* said he would think about it and get back to me. I ask that you consider this case resolved. Thank you....*** *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Saltwater Pools - Equipment & Supplies, Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1979Business started locally: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

Brevard County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of RP252554819 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Registered Pool/Spa Contractor

BBB records show a license number of 200430377 for this company, issued by Brevard County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Ahern (President)Ms. Monique Ahern (Owner)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Saltwater Pools - Equipment & Supplies, Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts

Products & Services

This company offers swimming pool supplies: automatic pool cleaners, swimming pool chemicals, swimming pool equipment, swimming pool pump motors, swimming pool liners, swimming pool covers, above ground swimming pools, solar blankets and reels, patio accessories, swimming pool and spa maintenance equipment, swimming pool accessories, pool floats and games, spas and hot tubs.

This Pinch A Penny offers swimming pool equipment, automatic swimming pool cleaners, swimming pool heat pumps, patio furniture, pool service, above-ground swimming pools, pool stain removal chemicals, outdoor kitchens, big green egg grills and accessories, portable spas, and water features

Hours of Operation

Regular Hours
Monday - Friday 9am - 6pm
Saturday 9am - 5pm
Sunday 11am - 3pm

Alternate Business Names
Ropatco, Inc., Pinch-A-Penny Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pinch-A-Penny #25

950 N. Courtenay Pkwy., Ste 16

Merritt Island, FL 32952

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 950 N. Courtenay Pkwy., Ste 16 

    Merritt Island, FL 32952

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pinch-A-Penny #25 is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.