BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/23/2003

Acorn Stairlifts, Inc.

Phone: (407) 650-0216Fax: (407) 650-1764

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service36
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints47

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (47)
12/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unavail & insufficient customer serv incl teleph & technicians. Very long wait period to obtain tel. contact for scheduling service let alone repair.
Gold service plan ****** in effect. Chair breakdown on Thanksgiving after maintenance Oct. 13, 2015. 92yr WWII injured veteran and 90yr lady cannot mount 18 stairs to bedroom. Understand it is a holiday but no one at Acorn reachable by tel. for emergency contact. The following work day (Fri), tel. technician unsatisfactory in all respects; I was told no supervisor at work on Friday, not a holiday. Information difficult to obtain from technician. No apology from the technician for the trouble. No one can even talk to me until Monday (4 days later) to schedule a later appt.: not make the repair, ONLY SCHEDULE. Uncaring and uninvolved "service" contact. Users of these chairs need help, not answering machines followed by glib vague responses. They are using these chairs because it is necessary. $2,850 extended service plan means little and would appear to be a device by Acorn to amass capital while providing low cust. serv. Dissatisfied in the extreme.

Desired Settlement
IMMEDIATE QUICK AND THOROUGH REPAIR WITHOUT FURTHER DELAY. Apology from the company. Emergency contact with a live person not an ans. machine. Improved customer service.

Final Consumer Response
This complaint has unexpectedly been resolved: a repair has been made. .

08/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a failure on a stairlift. Acorn wants $250.00 because they could not duplicate the failure. I have a witness and won't pay.
I live in a split level home. I have 2 Acorn stailifts installed in my home and I am in my first year of ownership of these stailifts. When I purchased the stairlifts, I paid for extend service agreements. One day one of the stairlifts stopped in middle of transit of my wife, who is handicapped. I managed to get the stairlift running again and got her off the stairlift. I then tried the stairlift with no no one on it and it stopped midstream several times, but I managed to get it back to its bottom level. This stairlift runs from the upper bedroom level to the mid living room level of my home. I called Acorn and they would send a repair man the next day. In the evening, I got my wife to the bedroom level with the stairlift with no problems. The next day when she was on the stairlift going from the upper level to the mid level, the stairlift stopped before it reached the mid level. I had to lift my wife off the stairlift and carry her to the mid level. At that point, I shut off the stairlift and waited for the repair man. He could not duplicate the problem. He did however do some disassembly of the chair from the motor mechanism to see if he could find a problem. He apparantly could and wanted to bill me $250.00 for what Acorn called an unnecessay repair call even though I have a repair contract with them. I refused to pay for 2 reasons. The problem was real and I have an aide who is assisting my wife that witnessed everything. This all happened a couple of months ago and I have not had a repeat of this failure. Acorn is now verbally refusing to provide additional sevice unless I pay the $250.00. When I requested that they return the money I paid them for the extended service, they indicated that the refund would be minus $250.00. The point of contact for this discussion with Acorn is *************, extension *****

Desired Settlement
I have no problem with the repair service I have received from Acorn, but because of their billing practice and basically telling me that I lied about the problem because they could not duplicate it, I have no desire to do business with them any more. I want a full refund of the monies I gave them for the extended service and I expect them to complete the full year of service that I paid for as part of the original purchase and acknowledge that I do not owe them $250.00.

Final Consumer Response

02/03/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to renew warranty. My runs out 1/15/15. Acorn says state of Florida is the problem but would not direct me to proper gov. office.
1/15/2015 warranty runs out. Will not renew as promised.
Purchased stair lift 01/XX XXXX with Gold warranty. I was promised I would always be able to purchase extended warranties. Model 120, serial number XXXXXXXXXXXX, customer #XXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I would like my gold warranty renewed or if is true the State of Florida is not allowing this, I would like to know how to contact the proper state agency or know why the State of Florida is not approving the warranty. Acorn has advised me many times that the repairs which happen 4 to 5 times a year would be much costlier than the warranty. I am handicapped. The stair lift is useless without the warranty.

Business Response
The complaint has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Consumer Response
From: ***** ****** (mailto:********@comcast.net)
Sent: Wednesday, January 28, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)

Thank you so much for your effort. Because of you the response was completely satisfactory.

****** *****


10/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Excessive phone and e-mail pressure to purchase the product.
On approximately September 8, 2014 I contacted Acorn via e mail to inquire about their product and get some approximate pricing if possible. September 10th, they returned the call and explained that pricing varies and they would have to come to the house to see what is needed before they could give a quote. At this time I explained very clearly that I was in the very early stage of a situation with my Mother and that I would call them back when I was ready to set up a meeting. Then they proceeded to call me every few days.

9/10/2014 at 9;18am
9/16-2014 at 10;34am
9/18/2014 at 1;53pm
9/19/2014 at 10;37am
9/24/2014 at 1;51pm
9/29/2014 at 1;20pm
10/1/2014 at 6;45pm

At some point I againd told them I would call them, and please do not call me again. They continued. Then they stared with the e-mails. My last reply to them, via e-mail on 10/5/2014, stated that I was no longer interested due to their repeated pressure. I have not heard from them since.

Desired Settlement
Simply looking for them to back off, and listen to their potential customers when they say, "don't call me, I'll call you"

Business Response
The customer has been added to our Do Not Call (DNC) database. Acorn regrets that the DNC Policy was not initially followed and our agents have been appropriately re-trained.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unreasonable delay in replacing critical needs chair lift motor covered by warranty for disabled senior citizen. Denying initial service call,
Stairlift purchsed in 2011. Motor & drivetrain have lifetime warranties. Service call refused - referred to authorized contractor, then denied receiving the call & making the referral. Will not replace warranted motor/drivetrain until receive & "inspect" broken part. Will not work with me to resolve. 66 year old disabled woman who lives alone now stranded in home with no means of exiting. This is a life safety issue.

Desired Settlement
Expeditiously replace and install the defective parts.

Business Response
Acorn regrets that the customer was incorrectly referred to a dealer for service resulting in a delay in replacing the motor. The complaint has been resolved in a manner that exceeds the customer's desired resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Acorn took action to resolve my complaint to my compleete satisfaction. They are to be commended for their customer service and their expeditious response to this problem. Thank you for your service.

Page 1 of 5
10/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They will not stop calling me.. If I'm in the tub I have to get out and use a cane like today.. Apcorn has called over 4 times each time I tell them to stop calling me and put me on the do not call list... The house was sold... Don't need it don't want nothing to do with these ants that keep calling,,,, is **** there yes this is apcorn stair lift ,, stop calling me ok just stop... I did a call trace today with Cci .... I am asking $200 for the last phone call...

Desired Settlement
Stop calling me ok.. Take me off of your call list... Remove me from your computer system... Do not call again.... I want $200 for the last phone call because I was not to be called 4 times before this now..I did a call trace with Cci soon as I hung up

Business Response
Our records indicate that the client was last called on 9/21 at which time he was placed on the Do Not Call list. We have no records of a call being made 10/6. Acorn apologizes for any inconvenience and can confirm that the client is in Do Not Call status.

08/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Acorn stair lift ran into my mothers door jammed the door, could not open or close for 3 night because a technician wasn't available to repair.
My mother bought a stair lift from Acorn last May 12. It's now one month later and this happened this last weekend: The stair lift was taken upstairs at 11:00 am on Friday, June 13th and on the trip back down the machine ran into the entrance door of her home. The lift is now jammed into the door and the door cannot open or close. Called Acorn for help and was told that a technician would not be able to get there until Monday morning. I then called and complained that not only can my mother not use her bathroom or bedroom because they are upstairs she can't also shut her front door. Her door was unsecured and unlocked for three days. She was scared to death and I was OUTRAGED!!

Desired Settlement
My mother has had this lift for one month and has already paid for 2 technician calls, each $250. After the fact of this terrifying incident, Acorn came into the home and installed a pin that took 3 minutes to put in place. This pin would have stopped the lift from coming in contact with the door and should have been installed the day she got the lift. My mother is 81 years old and has had multiple surgeries and the one place she should feel secure is in her own home. The fact that she had to sleep on he couch and not have a bathroom is one thing but not to have her door secured for three night is outrageous. I am asking for compensation for the technician fees and pain and suffering from not being able to live her life normally in a secured home because of this lift jammed into the door.

Business Response
On May 12, 2015, Acorn Stairlifts ("Acorn") installed a stairlift in customer's apartment. The configuration of the lift, based on the unique layout of the apartment, was agreed to by the Customer. At the time of installation, Acorn provided a demonstration and an explicit explanation on the proper use of the lift including an explanation that the hinged rail needed to be fully extended prior to riding the lift. The Customer fully understood the proper use of the lift and the fact that, given the configuration of her apartment, the lift user could not ride the lift down while the front door was fully open at 90 degrees.

The lift worked exactly as intended following installation, and it has never malfunctioned. Although the lift has not malfunctioned, Acorn agreed to complete two service calls to repair the Customer's lift due to clear misuse of the lift. The first call was the result of the lift being operated without fully extending the hinge causing the carriage to be driven into the hinge resulting in a blown fuse. The second customer service visit was the result of the lift getting jammed into the front door when the landlord rode the lift down with the hinge fully extended while the front door was open causing the carriage to make contact with the edge of the open door and blow a fuse on contact. In both instances, the lift operators admitted to operating the lift improperly and thus both service calls were chargeable services as the issues were caused by the users, and not by any lift malfunction. The landlord and/or another gentleman present at the time offered to re-hang the front door so that it could be closed, and offered to pay for the service call since he had misused the lift, however the Customer's daughter declined both of his offers. After each service call, the Acorn representative again reviewed with the Customer the proper way to use the lift.

On Friday, June 12, 2015, the Customer's children reported the second incident to Acorn and Acorn responded and advised that a technician was available on Monday (6/15) to inspect and service the stairlift. This timeframe was not satisfactory to the Customer's children so they sent a flurry of calls and emails to Acorn on Friday and Saturday.

On Monday, June 15, 2015, an Acorn representative responded to the Customer's apartment and worked on the lift. Because Acorn did not have a technician available on Friday, Acorn offered, as a courtesy, to refund the service fee for the work performed on the lift. Acorn also made several suggestions, prior to installation and at each visit, on ways to resolve the issues caused by the close proximity of the front door to the stairs and the repeated misuse of the lift. These suggestions included:

Adding a door hinge pin so that the front door would not swing open a full 90 degrees and be in a position to clash with the rail when a user rides the lift to the bottom;
Reverse the swing of the front door to swing out so that Acorn could adjust the rail and allow users to ride down to the bottom of the stairs without the need for a hinge;
Reverse the swing of the front door to the opposite side so as to eliminate the need for the hinged rail;

Acorn informed the Customer they were willing to help with the cost to make the necessary adjustments to the front door if needed in order to provide the Customer and any other users with the safest solution. Despite Acorn's numerous efforts to satisfy the Customer's issues, the Customer's son has been unwilling to reach a resolution. In fact, he has launched an online campaign against Acorn, asserting numerous misrepresentations and threating to publish further complaints to the general public. In response to his harassing and threatening emails, and to avoid further repeated misuse of the lift, Acorn offered to remove the lift and fully refund the Customer. The Customer did not respond. Instead, her son filed the instant Complaint with the BBB.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What an INSULT to elders!!

Acorn Starlift should have installed the PIN on the first day of installation. They knew the configuration of the apartment when they installed the lift. This disastrous, unsafe and unsecured situation would never happened to begin with and my mother would not have to go through the trauma of her door being jammed for three solid days and nights.

It is not the responsibility of the landlord to fix a problem that was caused by Acorn. My sister didn't want the landlord to take the door of its hinges because she thought that Acorn would send a technician to repair the lift being jammed into my mother's entrance door.

This is an insult to elders! HOW DARE YOU BLAME THIS ON MY MOTHER MISUSE!! These are people who are disabled and some on multiple medications and they have been through ENOUGH. There only concern should be press a button and the lift activates. Acorn should take all precautions and safety measures so these things don't happen.


Ps. This is a direct quote form their National Legal Counsel for Acorn!!

"Your insistance on copying acorn executives is pathhetic. I again invite you to call me so we can discuss any concerns you have

Acorn Stairlift.. SHAME ON YOU!



Final Business Response
To date, Acorn Stairlifts ("Acorn") has taken several steps to try and resolve the Customer's son's concerns. Acorn has waived one of the service fees, offered to refund the June 15 service fee and covered the cost of making adjustments to the front door. There has been no productive response back to Acorn from the son. Instead the Customer's son continues to threaten to "publish" his experience without a meaningful dialogue on resolving his differences. In an effort to see if there is in fact a middle ground, Acorn spoke directly with the Customer and she confirmed she is satisfied with the response by Acorn.

Despite Acorn's numerous efforts to satisfy the Customer's issues, the Customer's son has been unwilling to reach a resolution or engage in any fruitful dispute resolution discussions. He has instead pursued an online campaign against Acorn, asserting numerous misrepresentations and threatening to publish further complaints to the general public. He has also rejected Acorn's counsel's invitation to discuss his concerns. In response to his harassing and threatening emails, and to avoid further repeated misuse of the lift, Acorn even offered to remove the lift and fully refund the Customer. Acorn received no response. Instead, the son filed a Complaint with the BBB and continues to send emails to Acorn entitled "I'M BACK", yet refuses to engage in any meaningful dispute resolution. Given the Customer's confirmation to Acorn that she is satisfied with the lift, Acorn does not believe there is any merit to this complaint filed by the Customer's son.

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Battery depleted while not in dock. Chair is suppose to be able to lower to bottom of lift w/o power. want to charge $500.00 to get the lift down.
Our chair is stuck 3/4 way down the stairs. Battery should be able to charge when in the dock again. But they want to replace the battery for 250.00 and chrg 250.00 for serviceman to come out to replace. We dont need a replacement just need the lift sent to the dock. When we bought this lift we received at least 7 calls a week from real people to buy extended warranty. Now I know why. Paid over 14,000 dollars for**** and treated like they gave it to us. Very disappointed and will never recommend them to all my friends with disablilities.

Desired Settlement
want what was advertized that the lift can be lowered to dock without the battery charged. Dont mind a reasonable service charge.

Business Response
Customer was improperly parking the lift off the charge point thereby completely depleting the batteries. When the batteries are completely depleted the only option is battery replacement. Customer was charged the usual and customary rates for the batteries and service to replace them. Customer was re-educated on proper parking of the lift.

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
stairlift unusable. asked for refund next day.
purchase date 3-16-15, installed 3-17-15
problem date X-XX-XX as could not be used by either wife or myself. INSTALLER, ***, was here & seen was useless. MODEL, ORDER & ACCOUNT # MISSING ON ORDER FORM. SALES REP WAS ***** ********* PAYMENT $3200.00. PAYMENT METHOD, CHECK # 7048. WAS A # ON STAIRLIFT OF G49. ALSO A BAR CODE WITH # XXXXXXXXXXXX. I PHONED SALES REP,ASKING FOR REFUND, ON MORNING OF 3-18-15. SHE DID NOT GET BACK TO ME UNTIL 3-20-15.

Desired Settlement
WANT A COMPLETE REFUND AS BOTH OF US CAN NOT USE.

Business Response
The complaint has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction

04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
See attachment

Business Response
The service plan clearly states that it does not cover misuse or abuse. It takes considerable force to break the upper safety cover and it does not typically break without outside pressure being applied. This is the second time that the upper safety cover has been damaged- the first time by the customer's foot and second time not only had the safety cover been broken but the diagnostic display wire had been unplugged. In Acorn's expert opinion both of these issues were caused by misuse or abuse. As a courtesy to the customer the first service fee in December 2014 was waived.

The customers lift is mot properly maintained by him and at the last visit the technician had to ask the customer to remove a layer of dog hair from the unit. As a final courtesy Acorn will again waive the service fee with the understanding that future service visits involving misuse and abuse, including failure to properly maintain, will be chargeable. Customer has "rambunctious" dogs that may be compromising the lift and causing the upper safety covers to break so frequently.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Acorn must take sole responsibility for the stairlift's malfunction. At 66 years of age and of limited mobility, I am the only person who uses that stairlift, and I can assure you that I always have treated it with care. That a portion or portions of the unit's structure had detached and precipitated further damage is due solely to the stairlift's faulty construction, not to my allegedly errant foot. I bought this stairlift in good faith, I subsequently purchased a one year warranty extension also in good trust, and I expect Acorn to live up to its own responsibility without impugning my ownership and care of this stairlift unit.

Final Business Response
It is not possible for an upper safety cover to become disloged once let alone twice without applying considerable force. Acorn has hundreds of thousands of lifts installed globally that function as intended when properly operated and maintained. The installation and service reports, checklists and pictures of the lift in the customers home show that the stairlift did not malfunction. Furthermore, the stairlift operated without incident for more than a year prior to the first upper safety cover issue. We have already waived both of the service fees for the customer even though it is our expert opinion that the issues were caused as a result of user error.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Stair Lifts, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Manufacturers & Producers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.