BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2013

Total Enviro Services, Inc.

Phone: (407) 841-0400Fax: (407) 841-60333003 40th St, OrlandoFL 32839-8624 Send email to Total Enviro Services, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2013

BBB has determined that Total Enviro Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Total Enviro Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Total Enviro Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
07/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Services not performed reliably as per the agreement. Demanding more money and refereed to the collection agency.
I have been a loyal customer of this company since 2011. I called this company in July, 2013 when my septic alarm went off and a red light was lit on the alarm. They were at my home located at XXXXX ****** **** ****** *********** Florida to fix the alarm and also suggested to do the septic pumping and placement of two manholes. They gave me an estimate of $1770.00 for all this work to be completed. After the work done I paid them the total amount of $1770.00 on 7/9/2013 as per the agreement. However, the next day the alarm light came back again. I called them and asked to fix it as they said they will stand by their work. They sent a technician and fixed the alarm light and started demanding additional $125, which was never discussed and/or agreed either orally or by a written agreement. Instead of standing by their work, they invoiced me for this additional amount and sent the account to a collection agency called *******, ****** & ********.

I dispute this amount and don't owe any money to them as they have not completed the work reliably as agreed the first time.

Desired Settlement
Withdraw their case from the collection agency and cancel the invoice for an amount of $125

Business Response
On 6/3/14 our company met and discussed this case. The leadership determined that in the interest of customer relations it would be best for all parties to just waive the JUSTIFIED service call charge from Ms. *****'s account. Two correspondences were dispatched, one in the form of a letter to Ms. ***** stating our decision to waive the JUSTIFIED service call and the other was an email to the collection agency requesting they remove the account from their rolls.
We assumed Ms. ***** would withdraw this complaint upon getting her resolution as requested but it would seem that character of nature is lacking and we must respond to not only a matter we resolved but to the misrepresentations in the statement.
As to the complaint Ms. ***** requested our service for a non-warranty issue and took it upon herself to assume that any service after our original work would be free. Correspondence were mailed to her requesting payment to which she promptly ignored and failed to even contact our office to discuss hence her account was placed into a collection action as per normal business practice.
At this time we consider the matter closed. As stated before in the interest of good relations we performed the resolution requested. As from the very beginning had Ms. ***** simply responded to that which is sent to her none of this would be necessary.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They did resolve the matter as requested and it was promptly informed to BBB. However, I don't agree with their statement that it was a JUSTIFIED charge. Also, even in their reply their condensing tone towards their customer. After a major repair, if something goes wrong, any customer would expect that the vendor would fix it. Since they now resolved this issue, this matter now can be closed. Thanks for BBB for taking up my case.

11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Replaced a outlet that did not need replacing. Replaced outlet still did not solve problem. Did not return call.
Tech was sent to home (10/30/2012) to troubleshoot septic tank pump issue. Tech thought the outlet needed replacing. Tech thought that fixed the problem. The problem was still present. The tech should have determined that the pump and alarm switch were defective and replaced them. After a call the company thought the pump should be replaced. Even though the pump works fine.

Desired Settlement
Due to lack of troubleshooting of the problem, replacing a part that would only cost an electrician $25 to replace and diagnosing the problem to the pump which is fine the service is worthless.

Business' Initial Response
The complainant did call for service and there was a miscommunication between our tech and home owner. He was to knock and announce his presence, however with his busy schedule he was under the assumption that he was to perform a specific job assignment and move on. While this was unfortunate it was only a simple miscommunication.

What the complainant FAILS to submit is that our general Manger apologized for the confusion and DID NOT CHARGE the customer anything for the service call. Total Septic Responded to the customers and puts forth effort to correct the situation. In this case the solution to the difficulty was to waive the service call fee and apologize. It is in the best interest of both parties to acknowledge that a difficulty did happen however Total Septic was the only party that paid for this mistake.

In closing Total Septic would like to address the other inaccuracy stated in this complaint, "...replacing a part that would only cost an electrician $25 to replace..." . This statement has NO basis in fact but rather is assumed by the complainant for multiple reasons. 1) Quality Alarm packs to support septic pumps and keep them in COMPLAINCE are far more than $25, 2) Labor hours for qualified technicians cost more than $25 per hour, 3) electrician rarely work on alarm packs and pumps and typically refer the work to a licensed septic company, such as us, because they fear the COSTS from improper work that caused sewage to back up into and flood someones home.

08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Total Septic Enviro services located at 3003 40th st., Orlando,fl. 32839 refused to come out to my house to fix a problem they caused unless I paid a 250.00$ pump out charge. I believe Ken, a manager I assume, called me Tuesday morning ( they were supposed to come out Monday morning) and snapped I had to pay for them to come out and fix anything, which is not what there rep. Jesse A***** told me the week earlier. Problem is the tank pump out is only necessary at this time because the tank lids were improperly seated/sealed on the previous job they did, a job where I paid 3,000.00$. My yard over time was washing into the tank until a recent severe rain created 2 sinkholes in my yard. Both Jesse (there rep. who came out to look at the problem) and Sam ( the total septic employee who dug up and fixed the improper lid placement), called the mistake "lazy and poor workmanship". I call it incompetent, and I have pictures of the lawn sinkage and lid gaps. But the tipping point is another manager, Chris, refused to allow for even a discount, and threatened not to fill the hole they left in the yard, another item Jesse said would be taken care of. After I back- paddled a little about complaining on the work that had been done so I could get the hole filled, Chris basically hung up on me. He sent out what I would not call topsoil, or even dirt, since I have pictures of a bucket of rocks, sand, and GLASS. I think he sent the drudge of his dirt on purpose because I complained...who sends glass and rock to put in your front yard. Kids could get hurt and I cut my hand digging in the dirt to place my sod. This was the worst customer service I have ever received. This even after I had a riser put on the 2Nd lid with the same defective workmanship as the 1st lid. A riser I was TOLD I needed, though after reading about them might have been a way for them to be compensated for the 2nd lid fix...another full charge of 350.00$. As stated earlier, the 2 supervisors Ken and Chris are the worst at following up with problems and their attitudes towards a long time customer are pathetic. There should be no warranty duration on crappy work that costs the customer more money and certainly no excuse for poor service and misleading advice. My name is ************ @ ********************. Orlando, fl 32836. Email ******** and phone # **********. Service invoice # *****

Desired Settlement

Business Response
In response to this complaint we would like to state that Total took multiple steps to try and appease this customer and regrets any difficulties experienced with any of our staff. Total takes all customer complaints seriously and at NO TIME does not allow its employees to furnish inferior product (including its dirt). Total also takes the appropriate action, disciplinary or otherwise, against its employees for less than professional behavior.
With this in mind Total Septic apologizes for any discussions in which our former employee Chris may have engaged in heated exchange.
As to the complainants description of funds paid for what was received we would like to point out the following:
In 2013 for the $3000 paid the drain field was rejuvenated, 6' of main sanitary line was replaced, 30" of piping from the tank to the distribution box was replaced, the distribution box was replaced and ALL with a one year warranty of which almost $2000 going to the replacement of the drain field "IF" the rejuvenation failed. This was $1500 more than our standard warranty but was granted in good faith as to the quality of our work. It is important that all persons understand that which was granted above and beyond what is our standard and is forgot in the complaint, and also that NONE OF THAT WORK HAS FAILED almost three years later.
Tank lids, especially the older hexogen in this case, sometimes degrade over time, have pieces and chip which erode with rain, have many other issues that cannot absolutely be predicted or diagnosed prior to or after three years. It is irresponsible for any of our employees to call into question work performed 3 years in the past when they are not aware of what has occurred in the 1,095 days (give or take a month) since a lid has been removed...and then put back.
The above issue with this and other types of lid is exactly why the riser was recommended and agreed to by this customer. Please note we did not force anyone to buy a riser. And when the riser did not meet the customer standard, we removed it in place of another at NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE. Again this was not mentioned in the complaint. In fact we placed labor, material, tools and equipment on that site three separate days in an attempt to satisfy this customer. When the 12x36 riser was not good enough, AFTER we installed it, we returned and replaced it with a 6x36.
In closing we again apologize to the customer however we have responded to this persons concerns and he has received the labor, materials, use of tools & equipment, sewage transport with disposal for funds paid. He also received warranties beyond that which is normally granted as documented on all our invoicing and contracts.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A full rebuttal has been faxed to BBB, but here is a quick response to total... First, the bullying tactic of calling us early the day of the repair and demanding payment to fix their mistake is unacceptable - especially with ONE FULL WEEK before the repair date to call me. 2nd, I still have not received ANY call from ANY Total employee/manager to this day, and no response from my emails to Dave. 3rd, the extra days of work to appease me were because employee Sam didn't measure for the riser correctly, and then employee Jeremy blindly installs a riser that looks totally stupid sitting above the lawn, needing a second day to fix their mistake. That is not my fault. 3rd, forgetting to admit original poor workmanship by FORMER employee Shaun, which was stated by both employees Jesse, who told me it would be taken care of at no cost, and Sam, who sealed/seated the tank lids properly, noting work was "just plain lazy". I repeat, THEIR workers stated/agreed the WORK FAILED, not the tank lids. 4th, another Former employee Chris telling me "we'll just leave the hole in your yard and lets just go our separate ways" after the riser was placed and I complained a little about the cost. There was no "heated" discussion as was stated, and I backed down so he would finish the job and send dirt. Then I get the worst drudge, I believe on purpose = sand/rocks/even some broken glass...again, totally unacceptable. 5th, since the respondent brought it up, the credit on the original work was because the problem was misdiagnosed. Former employee Shaun said it was a $2500 drain field fix, it was just a simple $500 main line blockage that should have been obvious to a septic pro, evidenced by the fact the toilets still backed up after the rejuv. So, asking for a credit of $250 for lack of customer service and the mishaps caused by Total themselves should be an acceptable compromise for a 5+ year customer who has spent $3600 + dollars over several yrs. Making it sound like I'm unreasonable paired with an insincere apology from them after I complain on a BBB public forum is just not good enough for the time, money and inconvenience, not to mention the disrespect and the time wasted filing this complaint.

Final Business Response
Total stands by its initial response to this complaint and reminds all readers that we made multiple attempted to rectify issues brought to our attention including sending personnel to the site at no cost. It should be noted that Total never stated that anyone was being unreasonable and our apology was sincere in the very fact that we printed it. In closing Total is not the one using words such as "blindly" or "stupid" or 'drudge" all of which are used to describe our personnel and products and if there is any "disrespect and the time wasted filing this complaint" then that too like those descriptions was unsolicited.

11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/25/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Water Leak Detection, Grease Pumping, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Drainage Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 10/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Health
(850) 488-0595

BBB records show a license number of SR0911006 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Health.

Type: Septic Tank Registration

Type of Entity


Incorporated: November 1998, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Nichole Margeson (Chief Financial Officer)Customer Contact: Mr. Ken Muroski Mr. James Lapin (President)Ms. Marie Neer (Chief Executive Officer)
Business Category

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Water Leak Detection, Grease Pumping, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Drainage Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers septic contractor services for residential, commercial and industrial customers.

Services include Septic Tank Pumping, Repair, Replacement or New Installation, Drain Cleaning, Video Camera Inspections, Sump Pump Repair, Replacement and Installation, Aerobic Treatment Unit Installation and Maintenance, Drain Field System Repairs and Installation, Permits, Site Plans and Soil Analysis, Rejuvenations for Drain Field Systems, Tank Abandonments, Replacements, Repairs and Installation, Tank Lids/Risers Repair and Replacement, Waterproofing Tanks, Slabs, Buildings and Homes, Certified Inspections, French Drain Repairs and Installation, Repipes, Diversified Plumbing, Miscellaneous Tractor Work and Troubleshooting Wastewater Problems.

Plumbing services include Pipe Replacement, Repair/Unclog Toilets, Slab leak detection/repair, Wall leak detection and repair, Line Jetting, Video Camera Inspection,
Water pressure problems, Dye Test, Kitchen Floor drain cleaning, Underground Pipe Detection and Sewer Cleaning.

Repairs and installation services include Laundry Drains, Water Heaters, Washing Machine Hoses, Garbage Disposals, Sewer Lines, Tub/Showers, Faucets, Tankless Water Heaters, Energy efficient water heaters, French Drains, Shower Drains, Leaks/Breaks in Pipes and Boilers.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Total Enviro Services, Inc.

3003 40th St

Orlando, FL 32839-8624

To | From


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Total Enviro Services, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.