BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2009

Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc.

Phone: (321) 255-2778Fax: (321) 255-9657View Additional Phone Numbers2911 Dusa Dr STE E, MelbourneFL 32934-8100 Send email to Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2009

BBB has determined that Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The aluminum used in the construction was/is defective.
Housman's Aluminum installed a white aluminum screen enclosure on my existing wood porch in February 2014.

Within a year, the surface of the aluminum framing began to "bubble up," and one of the aluminum wrapped porch posts began corroding. The manufacturer of the aluminum has offered to replace the aluminum at no cost, but will not pay for the installation labor. Housman's Aluminum wants $1150 to replace the defective aluminum.

The manufacture supplied a defective product, and Housman's Aluminum installed the defective product (for which I payed $2376). How is it fair that I am being asked to pay $1150 to correct a problem that I did nothing to create?

Desired Settlement
I want the defective aluminum replaced at no cost to me.

Business Response
Housman's Aluminum & Screening installed a Screen Enclosure for this customer on 02/18/2014. Customer called in April 2015 and complained about bubbling in the metal. Housman's Aluminum & Screening has a one year warranty from date of installation (02/18/2014) so warranty has definitely expired. We set up an appointment with the homeowner and manufacturer to come out and take a look at the metal on 04/14/2015, however the homeowner did not show up but the manufacturer representative did.

Per Manufacturer - several sprinklers are pointed directly at the metal, several electrical outlets and the fact that the customer lives on the river all contributed to the bubbling that the customer is describing. Per the manufacturer, the material is not defective but offered to replace the metal free of charge but would not pay for the installation to reinstall the metal. Customer was notified about the manufacturer visit and told that they would replace the metal free of charge but the labor to reinstall would be $1150.00. Customer stated he would get back to us.

3 weeks ago the customer called and said he was very upset that he had to pay for the labor and did not think he should have to because he believes we installed defective metal. It was explained to him again that the metal was not defective according to the manufacturer and that they will replace the metal free of charge but not the labor. His warranty has expired.

Customer was also told that we could have the manufacturer come back out to have the metal analyzed but if it came back as an environmental issue, the manufacturer would not replace the metal free of charge. Customer has stated that he wants to have the metal analyzed. We were in the process of setting this up to be done when we received the BBB complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My rebuttal to Housman's response:

1. Warranty: The "bubbling" of the metal obviously had started before the 1 yr warranty had expired.
2. Per the rep, "several sprinklers are pointed directly at the metal." In fact there are no sprinklers in our yard (nor in both adjacent yards), and there are no electrical outlets near the
aluminum structure (and how would an electrical outlet "bubble" the porch from one end to the other anyway?). I think it was the rep that didn't show up at this address.
3. Yes the metal can be analyzed, but why? There is still no guarantee the manufacturer would pay for the installation.

Housman's Aluminum needs to stop blaming (non existing) sprinklers, electrical outlets, the river, etc., and stand behind their work. The material is defective!

Their website says - " We care about the materials we use because we pride ourselves with only delivering the best quality products in the area. We look forward to building lasting relationships and guarantee your satisfaction!"

To guarantee my satisfaction, FIX IT (at no cost to us), and actually use the "best quality products" this time.

Please see attached photos of Housmans's "Fine quality aluminum extrusions" installed on our porch.




Final Business Response
As noted before, homeowner did not notify Housman's Aluminum & Screening under the terms of the warranty. The terms of the warranty are as follows: Buyer will notify Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc. of all claims of warranty. Buyer understands that minor claims deemed a service call will be billed accordingly. Any defect discovered in material or workmanship must be reported to Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc., within 15 days of the discovery. The above warranties are effective only if buyer has complied with all terms and conditions, payment, and other provisions of the contract. Buyer did not abide by the terms of the warranty, however Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc., did contact the manufacturer who has stated that the material was not defective but offered to replace free of charge or if the customer wished, they would test the metal. If they test the metal and it comes back that it is not defective as the manufacturer states, then they will not replace the metal free of charge. The customer has been offered both options in either case Housman's Aluminum & Screening Inc., is not responsible for the cost of labor as the warranty was not followed by the customer (see previous response). Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc. has done everything possible to assist the customer in rectifying the situation.

10/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor repair service. Incomplete job. Not as advertised.
We were scheduled for at least a month to have our screened pool enclosure re-screened on the 17th of July. Before then we did not receive any call confirming arrival time. On the morning of the 17th no one showed up. After about 10:00 we called to find out what was wrong. They explained that they ran late on another job and asked if they could do the job Saturday.

We declined because we had plans for that day that would interfere. We scheduled for the following Monday, July 20th.

On Monday, the workers did not show up until after 10:00 to begin our re-screening. The worked for a few hours before taking what would appear to be a lunch break. After returning they only worked until 15:30 before leaving for the day. The next day, Tuesday, was pretty much a repeat of Monday. Arriving late and leaving early.

During the job I discussed with the workers as well as on the telephone with the person in the office that we would require additional tapcons (Screws) around the base of the structure. It was abundantly clear this would be done before the job was complete. In addition we discussed replacing the end caps on the gutters.

On the second day, before preparing to leave approximately 15:30, without the additional screws being installed or the gutter caps replaced, the workers began asking to be paid. We refused to pay before the work was complete. The person from the office called the next day to inquire about the non-payment. When I explained about the incomplete work she acted as if we never discussed the additional requirements and stuck with the original estimate.

As a matter of fact, the original estimate was not even complied with. Many of the screws specifically identified were not installed where the estimate detailed. Even though we were kind enough to provide beverages and music (They lost their radio) in the pool area, the workers disrespected us by leaving their cigarette butts throughout our patio area and yard.

One of the reasons we contracted with this company is due to the references they site on the advertizing material. The BBB, Angie's List are two of their references. From our experience, this company does not deserve to use these references.

Desired Settlement
Stop using the BBB and Angie's list as references. Complete our work, ie: gutter caps.

Business Response
Received Fax from BBB on 9/18 (which was the first time we received the complaint). BBB had multiple email addresses on file but kept sending the complaint to our old email address which hasn't been monitored in over a year.

Management was never made aware of this issue and we wish it was, because it wouldn't have gone that far.

We immediately reached out to the homeowner after receiving the Fax on 9/18 and left a Voice Mail. I offered to come to their house on 9/19 Saturday to evaluate the job and what was lacking. Did not get a response in time.

We made finally made contact on 9/21 Monday and are currently awaiting a customer response to further schedule the work. (As of 9/22)

We are trying to resolve the matter as quick as possible, as this is not how we usually leave our customers.

We have served over 4,000 customers this year alone.

Kind regards,

Robert H******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Screen Repair, Screen Enclosures, Shutters, Screens - Door & Window, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Concrete - Custom, Concrete Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 10/01/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2004, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Housman (President)Mr Alex Colton (Genral Manager)
Business Category

Screen Repair, Screen Enclosures, Shutters, Screens - Door & Window, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Concrete - Custom, Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers Pool Enclosures, Patios and Sunrooms, Glass and Screened Room Enclosures, Foyers and Entranceways, Decorative Doors, Garage Screens, Carports, Hurricane Shutters, Concrete and Resurfacing services for residential and commercial customers.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Mark Housman Screen Repair Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc.

2911 Dusa Dr STE E

Melbourne, FL 32934-8100

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2911 Dusa Dr STE E 

    Melbourne, FL 32934-8100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Housman's Aluminum & Screening, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (321) 255-2303
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Screen Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.