BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/27/1998

Tripod Aluminum, Inc.

Phone: (321) 729-9695Fax: (321) 729-9507View Additional Phone Numbers6915 Vickie Cir, MelbourneFL 32904-2252 Send email to Tripod Aluminum, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/27/1998

BBB has determined that Tripod Aluminum, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Tripod Aluminum, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Tripod Aluminum, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tripod Aluminum, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THE WORK AND MATERIAL THAT WAS AGREED UPON TO BE INSTALLED AS PER MY CONTRACT WAS NOT DONE!
MY CONTRACT WAS TO INCLUDE 66 SIXTY FEET OF 12 INCH METAL KICK PLATE ALL AROUND MY SCREENED IN GROUND POOL, THAT WAS NOT DONE,AS PER THE WRITTEN/SIGNED AND PAID FOR CONTRACT!

Desired Settlement
COMPLETION OF AGREED UPON CONTRACTUAL WORK INCLUDING MATERIALS!

Business Response
TRlPOD ALUMINUM, INC.

Dear Better Business Bureau of Central Florida:
In reference to the above mentioned case, contractually, on August 7,2013, we replaced Mrs.
*****'s old pool screen with new pool screen and added the 12" kick plate to be uniformed around her entire enclosure. It was never noted on the signed contract that she wanted
her kick plate increased in height at the step up in the corner.

We received a call from Mrs. ***** on August 12,2013, stating that one of her screens were loose.
Once the installers finished the job they were on (August 20,2013), they went back to her
place of residence to address the issue. The kick plate issues were never brought up.

Around the 1st week of September I received a call stating her concerns about the kick plate. Her
Sales Associate happened to be in the office at the time of her call. He made arrangements that
day, to meet her at her house to take a look at the issue. He stated he would need to talk to our
owner and would address the issue as soon as possible.

Mrs. ***** contacted our office on or around September 10-12, I stated that a work order was
created and that as soon as a crew was available, we would have them come out and raise the
kick plate per her request.

Please know we take great pride in customer satisfaction. We are sorry for any inconvenience
this may have caused her.
Sincerely,

******* ******

04/01/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to perform work, contract signed and 50% deposit made 11/23/15. Advised work would be done early January.
No work performed as of 2/15/16
Tripod has refused to give any information regarding our screen enclosure installation. Will not give any idea when job will be scheduled despite informing us it would be done right after the holidays.

Desired Settlement
Get this job scheduled this week and completed by 3/1/16

Business Response
We at Tripod Aluminum understand the frustration that the consumer maybe experiencing, and understand how important their project is to them. Delivery days are approximate and the contract stipulates that delays may occur that maybe beyond our control. Since this communication, we have since removed the old enclosure and moved forward with a final measure. Mr. *****'s project should be completed prior to months end.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We will accept the response when the job is completed, as "delays beyond their control" Lasted over two months. That is a very significant delay. We have no communication regarding the final installation and will reserve final judgement until this project is fully completed.

Final Business Response
We appreciate the patience of the customer and his project is now completed.

02/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Entered contract #***** on 10/23/15, with a 5-7 week delivery. As of today 1/13/16, no delivery.
When we call to follow up, no commitment to perform.
On Oct. 23, 2015 we entered into a contract with company for a screen patio enclosure. Gave them a $1,000.00 deposit with a 5-7 week delivery date. We are now at 12 weeks and no delivery. When we call to see what the problem is they never make a commitment to when they will complete the job. We are always told oh, sorry next week and another week goes by and we get the same run around. We always have to initiate the follow up. Zero customer service.If they are that busy they need to stop taking new jobs or hire more people. We are required to give a substantial deposit, but they need to be held accountable for non performance.

Desired Settlement
Finish the job within 7 days or give to another contractor who will at no cost to customer. Time is important. Also get a reduced balance due by $325.00.

Business Response
We understand the concerns of the consumer and had an over and abundant amount of contracts that came ready at the same time. Only skilled employees are hired as we only provide professional installation.

The customers screen patio has since been fully installed and completed.

08/05/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tripod Aluminum, Inc., is failing to service product+labor under warranty for eight-months-old screened enclosure, in place since September 2, 2014.
I signed a contract to purchase a screened pool enclosure from Tripod Aluminum, Inc., on April 4, 2014, paying $1134 in deposit. Intermediate payment was $4,500 on July 10, 2014. Final payment was made by me on the day the job was inspected, on September 2, 2014, in the amount of $4350. Tripod's contract, No. *****, states: "Seller warrants all products of its manufacture to be free from defects in workmanship and material at the time and point of delivery, and Seller will, at its option, replace, repair or render a credit to Buyer for any item furnished by Seller and proved to be defective or nonconforming to Buyer's specifications within a period of twelve (12) months from its installation." Two pieces of the white frame are oxidizing/corroding, one horizontal piece laid on the paver deck, and one vertical piece, part of the doorway and attached at the paver level to the horizontal piece. In addition, a contractor pointed out to me that one screen attached to the same doorway was crimped at installation. The crimp caused the screen to form a hole. As there is no problem with drainage, two third-party contractors have rendered the opinion that the aluminum pieces which have oxidized were not completely coated at manufacture, causing them to rust.

I contacted Marlene J****, Tripod employee, by telephone on May 1, 2015, to report the warranty issue and to request an inspection. Marlene told me that Tripod's office manager, Penny G******, would return my call on May 1 or May 4. When Ms. G****** failed to return my call by May 7, I contacted her and Ms. J**** by email. Office Manager, Ms. G****** scheduled an appointment with me to have a Tripod tech meet me at my home to inspect, and possibly repair, the oxidizing pieces of the frame and the damaged section of screen on May 14 between 3:00 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. Tripod no-showed that appointment without advising me of any change of plans. When the Tripod tech failed to show on May 14, I phoned Tripod to find out the status of my appointment. Ms. J**** informed me that Tripod had had made two appointments in the Vero Beach area for May 14. The other appointment had cancelled, so Tripod elected to cancel my appointment as well. I contacted Ms. G****** by email the evening of May 14, requesting a scheduled appointment that would be kept. Ms. G****** offered me another appointment date and time, May 19, again between 3:00 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. On the morning of May 19, the date of the appointment, I phoned Ms. G****** to reconfirm the appointment. She confirmed that "Matthew" would keep the scheduled appointment. For the second time in less than one week, I left my place of employment early in order to keep the appointment to which I had committed. When no Tripod employee arrived by 3:30 p.m. on May 19, I phoned Ms. G****** to find out the status of this second no-show. She told me that the tech, Matthew, had been delayed by 20 minutes, but would still keep the appointment. When no Tripod employee arrived by 5:13 p.m. on May 19, I emailed Ms. G****** informing her that she had given me no choice but to hire a third-party contractor to replace the defective parts and sue Tripod Aluminum, Inc., by way of Small Claims in order to recoup my warranty losses. I am doing that now.

I discovered that Tripod Aluminum, Inc., is a BBB member, so decided to take the time to contact the Organization to try to provide a warning to other consumers. I have no hope with Tripod Aluminum's warranty as I waited from April 4 to September 2, 2014, five months, for my screened enclosure to be finished while Tripod's owner, Mr. Thad *******, promised a completion date prior to June 1, 2014, at the time I signed the contract. Tripod's behavior during the installation phase was exactly the same as what I've experienced since May 1 of 2015. Delay, delay, delay, maybe he'll go away.

Thank you for your time.
*********
**************
Vero Beach, FL 32960
*************

Desired Settlement
Since there is no hope of Tripod keeping any appointment made to inspect the screened enclosure, let alone repair the warranted parts, I request that the company reimburse me the costs that I will owe to the third-party contractor that I hire to replace the defective parts.

Business Response
Communication has been sent to the customer requesting contact regarding his concerns and to attempt to satisfy any complaints. A staff change resulted in a delayed response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Michelle L****, Tripod's Office Manager, contacted me the morning of June 25 to say that she was sorry that my request for warranty service, originally made on May 6 and repeated over a period of exactly two weeks and after two no-showed appointments, had fallen through the cracks. She made no explanation, but did request that I send her information detailing the problems with my screened enclosure. I sent the information to Ms. L**** within 90 minutes of her having made the request. Ms. L**** then requested a copy of the "cost/estimate on what exactly was contracted by others as a result of said warranty." Less than 20 minutes later, I sent Ms. L**** a copy of ***************** bid to complete the work on my screen. After having received the copy of the bid, Ms. L**** responded, "Thank you," so I know that she received the information. I heard nothing further from Ms. L**** throughout the day on June 25. To be absolutely fair, since Tripod is claiming that one employee, Ms. Penny G******, thwarted Tripod's practice of immediately resolving all warranty issues with its customer, I allowed Ms. L**** 24 hours for additional contact before filing this response. At no time during the commications on June 25 did Ms. L**** state that she wanted to satisfy my complaint. She simply requested information, then ended the commications.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated on 7/31/15, Ms. L**** did *NOT* email me on 6/7/15. If Ms. L**** agrees that Tripod should inspect the oxidized parts, the photos of the sagging screen and *********************** work, why did she not respond to that effect either in this forum or in the email that I sent to her on 7/31/15 immediately after I filed my response to her in the BBB forum? The answer is clear. It is because Tripod has no intention of honoring its warranty.

Since I filed the BBB complaint against Tripod on 5/20/15, Ms. L**** sent me three emails on 6/25/15 and one on 7/6/15. In the three emails sent on 6/25, Ms. L**** requested description of my problems with the screen, requested that I provide "cost/estimate on what exactly was contracted by others as a result of said warranty," and thanked me upon receipt of an email in which I did provide her with that estimate. On 7/6/25, incorrectly assuming that I still had not had the repairs effected, Ms. L**** requested an opportunity to inspect the product. I immediately replied that the work had been finished and that if Tripod wished to work with me, the best way would be to compensate me for the cost of repairing the work that was warranted by Tripod but of necessity was finished by another company. I have not received any further communication from Ms. L**** since 7/6/15, even though I emailed her on 7/31/15, subsequent to reading her response in this forum and replying to it, "If you would like to set an appointment to examine the oxidized pieces that were installed by Tripod and those replaced by another company, I am happy to make time available to you." I received no reply to that email.

My ititial request to Tripod dates back more than three (3) months, to May 1, 2015. This case has dragged on all that time with absolutely no effort by Tripod to keep an appointment to inspect the oxidized parts and sagging roof panel or to communicate with me in any meaningful way. As I have stated multiple times, if Tripod wishes to honor its warranty and end this complaint, it has only to contact me to make an appointment to examine its failed product and to compensate me for repairs that Tripod should and could have made at any time between May 1, 2015 and July 3. 2015.

Final Business Response
As indicated previously contact was made to the customer as follows with date and time stamp:

From: ********@tripodaluminum.com mailto:********@tripodaluminum.com
Sent: Tuesday, July 07, 2015 3:20 PM
To: ****************
Subject: RE: Tripod Aluminum

Good Afternoon Mr. ******,

Since the work is now completed by others and you have in your possession the oxidized material, when can I schedule someone to come out and inspect the old and new so the requested compensation can be considered.

Thank you.

Michelle L****
Office Manager
Tripod Aluminum, Inc.
Baby Guard of Indian River
6915 Vickie Circle
Melbourne, Florida 32904
321-729-9695

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My screen porch was made an installed by tri pod. I have never such poor work in all my years. Have many pic to show if needed.
Want my deposit back an have the screened porch removed

Desired Settlement
deposit $435.00

Business Response
We have made arrangements with the customer to address his concerns. Our goal is to be sure that all customers are 100% satisfied.

12/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Screen Enclosures, Storm Shelters, Screen Repair, Windows, Fence Contractors, Railings, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 02/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Brevard County Business Tax Receipt

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of 885059985 for this company, issued by Brevard County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of SCC131151011 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr. Certified Specialty Contractor.

Type: Certified Specialty Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1999, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vincent Tripodi (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Michelle Leach (Office Manager) Vincent T. Tripodi Mr Thad T Tripodi (Owner)
Business Category

Screen Enclosures, Storm Shelters, Screen Repair, Windows, Fence Contractors, Railings, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Products & Services

This company offers Screen Enclosures for pools, patios, porches, and screen rooms, including Railings, Aluminum Fences, BabyGuard, Vinyl Windows, Acrylic Windows, Glass Windows, and Hurricane Protection.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tripod Aluminum, Inc.

6915 Vickie Cir

Melbourne, FL 32904-2252

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6915 Vickie Cir 

    Melbourne, FL 32904-2252Fax: (321) 729-9507

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tripod Aluminum, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 529-9695
  • (772) 234-7235

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (321) 729-7507
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Screen Enclosures

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.