BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1996

Full Sail University

Phone: (800) 226-7625Fax: (407) 678-0070View Additional Phone Numbers3300 University Blvd Ste 160, Winter ParkFL 32792-7435 Send email to Full Sail UniversityView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1996

BBB has determined that Full Sail University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Full Sail University's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 42 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

42 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues17
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service20
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 42

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Full Sail University

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (42)BBB Closure Definitions
10/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Insists I use overage money found from 2013 while in another degree program to pay for different degree program of this year, 2014.
Hello,

September 2, 2014 - After finally reaching a solution of paying for the rest of my tuition for the 2014-2015 of the amount of $4,747. My financial advisor, *** ****** ********* informed me that I was approved to have the Student Support Scholarship cover for the remaining of my tuition. I was very happy with this conclusion and proceeded to follow the steps in signing the award letter to move forward with this process.

September 3, 2014 - *** ****** ******** informed me via email that there would be a change in how the tuition was going to be paid for. That they had found out that I had extra living expenses money that was not awarded to me rightfully in May 2013. (Please also keep in mind that in May of 2013 I was previously in the Music Production program instead of the Creative Writing Program which I am currently in.) At first I did not clearly read the email and assumed that he met I had extra money from my last academic year in which I was in the current degree program. At this point I was not in the right state of mind while agreeing to go through with this, within that day I also found out that I have a brain tumor. So of course my mind is occupied with that and my stress was with finding out about this horrific diagnoses that I failed to recognize that the money was from my last degree program which took place in May of 2013. I wanted to immediately speak with the higher up of the financial aid office since my financial advisor, *** ****** ********* had told me that he was advised by his team leads and manager of this procedure.

September 17, 2014 - I was directed to speak to *** ****** ********** one of the financial aid team lead, but was unable to get a hold of her on the phone, so I left a message for her to get back to me at her convenience. She had claimed to have called me although I did not get a call from her at all that day. She then via emailed me to basically tell me everything I already knew in regards to what route they wanna take with me using my living expense check to pay one part of the tuition while the scholarship pays for the other.

I emailed her back stating how I strongly felt that it was unfair that they decided that I should use the money, that they failed to provide for me before, to pay part of the tuition and that why they could not just go with their original plan and pay the whole tuition with the scholarship like originally planned before the overage was found. I emphasized about my recent Brain Tumor Diagnosis and how I would prefer to use the living expenses money to go towards my medical bills that this diagnosis is bringing me instead of the tuition. Because if I cannot treat this Brain Tumor accordingly, it may get to the point that I will not be able to attend school. I also volunteered to provide medical documentation proving my diagnosis.

September 18, 2014 - *** ****** ********* wrote back stating that "At this time I'm afraid due to the stipulations to the scholarship, the funds from the previous program will need to go towards your tuition for this program."

Going back to *** ****** *********** email, I believe the stipulations *** ****** ********* is referring to is that living expenses cannot be rewarded to the student once the Student Support Scholarship is given. Well first off they are contradicting their rule by sending me the check in the first place. Obviously, the extra money is not meant for them if they aren't able to touch it in the first place. They are forcing me to hand it over.

Secondly, It was their mistake for not catching the extra money earlier, I signed a contract stated that any extra money left over from loans I wanted sent to me for living expenses. School tuition does not qualify as a "living expense".

Today, September 19, 2014. I tried reaching out to Ty Clark but have not received a response.

It is also clear to me that Full Sail University does not care if their students have life threatening diagnoses.

Desired Settlement
I would like Full Sail University to stick with their original plan, and use the Student Support Scholarship to pay for the whole remaining tuition balance of $4,747. Or even waive the whole amount, I know that this is possible because I have seen greater amounts waived in other complaints against the school in BBB. I would like for Full Sail University to allow me to keep my living expense check of $1,980, as they rightfully should. I should be able to use this check to go towards my medical bills. The whole excuse about me not being able to keep my living expense because of the scholarship rules doesn't cut it. My living expense check that was suppose to rightfully go to me in May of 2013 during my attendance within another degree program should not interfere with the scholarship because the scholarship is being applied to THIS YEAR! I understand that I will not obtain living expenses from THIS YEAR'S LOANS because of the scholarship for THIS YEAR. I should be able to try and fight this brain tumor so that my academics aren't affected. This isn't fair that I am stressing about this while trying to deal with my horrific diagnosis. I am also trying to still mourn and cope with the recent loss of my father, even then I had another issue with the school with that situation. Full Sail, I hope that you can make this right.

Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau's email of September 23, 2014 regarding Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

The complainant stated her discontent with the University's financial aid packaging process. As with all complaints, the University took the student's concerns seriously. We reviewed the facts of this case, the student's circumstances, and the scholarship eligibility requirements in order to reach a final determination.

The student was originally awarded a Student Support scholarship to assist with an owed tuition balance. The reduction in her scholarship award amount was caused by a change in her financial need. Due to the timing of the circumstances affecting her financial need, the University has determined to reinstate the original Student Support scholarship award amount ($4,747.00).

We appreciate the student bringing this matter to our attention, and we wish her the very best in her continued enrollment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I deeply appreciate and am satisfied with Full Sail University's decision.

09/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The school has deceiving grading and program practices. The professors are not providing cohesive teaching practices.
I ******** ***** am submitting a complaint against Full Sail University. I attended their Masters in Creative Writing Program. I feel that I was used for my student loan funds. All of my writing material and grades were satisfactory until 9 months into the program. After nine months in the program my "grammar" started becoming an issue. After this issue I noticed a significant drop in my grades. I tried seeking help through the student-writing center. However I was paired with a student that was not familiar with my coursework. Therefore she could not help. Next my script "edits" became an issue. I had 8 different professors read my script. Each professor had there own edit and review process. None of the professors agreed on each other's edits. Therefore I ended up spending half my time revising previous edits. When I got to my second to last class. My portfolio professor asked me to redo a year's worth of work in 4 weeks to pass *** class. I did it to the best of my capability. However the professor still gave me a poor grade. Even after I made the professor aware that there were too many conflicting edits. The professor told me that was the ropes. I also let my student advisor know about these issues. Ultimately I was told that I could not graduate due to my low GPA. When I asked if there was anything that I could do, I was told "no". My student advisor led me to believe that I could only withdraw from the school. Which is what I thought happened. Now I find out that my student advisor terminated my student status on the grounds of inactivity on my part. My last professor gave me an F. I was told that I would be withdrawn from this class when I was asked to the leave the school. I feel that if my grammar were an issue, then it would have shown several months prior. I also feel that without consistent teaching practices each professor was undoing the previous professors work and confusing many of us students. I do not see how someone would have been able to graduate under these circumstances.

Desired Settlement
I would like either the a portion of the tuition refunded or to be allowed to finish my degree program.

Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau's email of September 9, 2014 regarding Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

The complainant stated her discontent with the Creative Writing MFA program. Specifically, she stated that grading and feedback from her professors was inconsistent. As with all complaints, the University took these claims seriously and investigated the circumstances of this case. In a creative writing program, proficient use of Basic English, formatting, mechanics, and editing are parts of the expectations of each course. From the outset, each course's expectations and objectives are clearly disclosed to students. The student must integrate those skills into his or her assignments. In this case, the student in question, failed to meet course requirements and the University's GPA requirements for graduation.

After reviewing the facts, it became evident that the student struggled throughout the Creative Writing MFA program. She was placed on Academic Probation three times during the course of her program. Ultimately, she was unable to meet the 3.0 minimum GPA requirement for graduation and was withdrawn from the program.

During her enrollment at Full Sail, the University maintained constant communication with the student regarding her academic performance and the GPA requirements for graduation. In addition to our policy statements in our Catalog, Student Manual, and in the Enrollment Agreement, she was informed of the consequences of her low GPA. Our goal for all students is that they graduate and go on to have successful careers in their chosen field of study. It is always regrettable when this does not occur.

We hope this response clarifies any misunderstandings, and we wish the student the very best in her future endeavors.


09/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Full Sail University has failed to correct errors in billing. They have charged complainant for fees that the Yellow Ribbon Program should cover.
I began my enrollment into Full Sail University in April of 2013, my main point of contact being Full Sail's VA Department. The representative I worked closely with during my enrollment was ******* ******** During my enrollment I was required to fax/email many different forms and letters from the Department of Veterans Affairs including, but not limited to, my eligibility for classes and certificate of eligibility to receive the Post 9/11 GI Bill.

I attended online courses from May 2013 to February 2014 and had no issues up until January 2014 when I was informed that I was in debt to the school and that my COE (certificate of eligibility) was now missing (******** ********* Financial Aid Deparment was my point of contact). This happened to be around the same time when I was deciding to change my major so I took a break in training. At the time I had just assumed that the VA had failed to send a payment or there was an error on the part of the University, and that was what was leading to the notifications I was receiving claiming that I had a debt.

I was enrolled continuously in courses until February 2014 when I asked for a break in training, as I was informed I could not change majors until June of 2014 ********** ************, Student Advising was my point of contact). During my break in training I was repeatedly enrolled into classes even though I had asked for the break in training. I was also listed as WP (withdraw passing) for a course that began on March XX XXXX, that I never attended. This class having a status of withdraw passing *** caused me to also obtain a debt with the Department of Veteran Affairs due to "dropping a class while passing". After 3 months of doing breaks in training I was informed in May 2014 that I was going to be dropped from the school all together. I immediately asked what I could do to avoid such, as I did want to finish my degree with Full Sail (******** ********* POC). I was told that I would need to obtain a new Certificate of Eligibility from the VA and send it in to have my drop reconsidered and my debt removed. I immediately contacted the VA and was informed that I had a COE being sent and to expect it within 10 business days. Upon receiving the COE it was immediately forwarded to ******** ********* I was never contacted after June 2014 by anyone from Full Sail. I ended up calling the school and asking if my COE and tuition issues had been handled and was informed I had been dropped and that it could take 3-6 months for issues to be resolved before I could even consider returning to school.

In July 2014 I contacted student advising, change of enrollment, and financial aid at Full Sail. I was given the run around and forced to call in approximately 3 to 5 different times to get any sort of relevant response on how to pursue re-enrollment. I was finally told that I would need to send an email explaining my situation to an individual named ****** ********* who apparently handles all of these type situations. I asked to speak to him multiple times and was always forwarded to a voicemail. Apparently, Mr. ******** does not speak directly to students, but instead decides their fate via email.

At this point I have decided to file a complaint based on the irregular and inappropriate practices of Full Sail University. The amount of time that it has taken to resolve simple issues. The debt that I have with the with the University despite my full eligibility for the Post 9/11 GI bill and Yellow Ribbon Program and lastly the debt that, because of Full Sail, I have outstanding with the VA.

I have also been informed by the VA that it is possible and may be necessary to initiate a lawsuit against Full Sail if these debts are not covered. By using the GI Bill and being promised Yellow Ribbon, it is against the law for an institution to deny the benefits of Yellow Ribbon.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the debt of $11,376.69 to be cleared from my name, as this is the debt that should have been covered by the GI Bill and the Yellow Ribbon Program

I would like the status of the class that was listed as Withdraw Passing *** March XX XXXX) to be reclassified as a Withdraw, as I never took any class after January of 2014

The school to cover the debt that THEY created due to the status of the above mentioned class. Payment to the VA or to myself to make reparations to the VA

Full Sail to cover at least the next 3 months of classes that I will take at their university, since this the amount of time Ive had wasted while going through the run around and hoops being thrown at me while simply trying to re-enroll

Immediate enrollment into the Mobile Development class that I requested months ago

A written apology for the issues that I have had with this school (preferably from a high ranking individual with this company) and reassurance that my personal information (COE) is not in hands that could use my information for identity theft, as I have no idea what the status of the first copy that was "lost" is

Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau's email of August 22, 2014 regarding Complaint Case #90135390.
Full Sail University takes all student complaints seriously, and we appreciate the opportunity to respond. The complainant expressed concerns with the charges that were posted to his account in relation to his veteran's benefits. After reviewing his student file, the University found the following.

When the student began at the University, he applied for Veteran's Affairs (VA) funding. The VA documents that he submitted in order to obtain the funding were his DD214 form, VA Online Application, and the packaging policy. However, the student also needed to submit his Certificate of Eligibility (COE) in order for the University to package his full VA funding. Since the student attended a previous university, the VA would not send him a new COE until he was certified for his enrollment at Full Sail. Once the University certified his enrollment, the student did not provide Full Sail with his new COE documentation from the VA. The student was advised that his COE document and previous college transcripts were required to package his Yellow Ribbon benefits. The student was advised over a two month period that these documents would be needed to package his VA benefits in order to cover the tuition charges he was incurring by attending the University. Since the University did not receive these documents, we were unable to package the benefits at that time.

The student requested an Interruption of Training (IOT) in order to change his program of study from the Game Art, B.S. program to the Mobile Development, B.S. program. During this time, he was advised that the University still needed his COE documents to process his funding. However, at the conclusion of his IOT, the student was unable to provide the documentation necessary to package his VA funding in order to continue attending the University. When a student is withdrawn from the University, a refund calculation is processed according to the University's Institutional Refund Policy as published in the catalog and in the enrollment agreement. Prior to the IOT, the student had completed 9 weeks of the semester, which resulted in the full tuition charges for that semester.

Recently, the student submitted his COE document on 7/11/2014. This enabled the University to certify his Yellow Ribbon benefits, which will cover the entire $11,376.69 charges he had previously incurred. If the student had submitted the COE document prior to being withdrawn from the University, he would have been packaged and certified for his Yellow Ribbon benefits, and this situation would have been avoided.

Additionally, the University reviewed the student's academic transcript and recognizes that the WP grade for the course in question was marked incorrectly. The student's transcript was updated to reflect a W for the course; however, this does not affect the tuition charges for the course.

The University's goal is to support our students in their academic journey. We share in the complainant's desire to successfully complete his academic program, and we hope this response clarifies any misunderstandings. The University looks forward to assisting the student with initiating the re-enrollment process.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to have the school amend its decision to include what I requested in my original complaint. The school has forced a debt of $471.57 on me by listing the class in question as WP.

I also would like the school to consider taking care of at least 2 months of schooling without charge. As this process has taken valuable time from my degree progression.

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau's email of September 10, 2014 regarding Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX.
Full Sail University understands the complainant's concerns. The debt the student owes to the VA ($471.57) was not affected by the WP or W status. The charges were incurred correctly according to the school tuition and refund policies, as published in the Catalog and enrollment agreement. The tuition and refund policies are provided to prospective students prior to enrollment at the University. In addition to the enrollment agreement, each student is required to read the Catalog and Student Manual before enrollment. The refund policy is included in all three documents. Once the student has signed the enrollment agreement, a copy of a countersigned agreement is provided to the student.

The University's goal is to support our students in their academic journey. We share in the complainant's desire to successfully complete his academic program. As an act of good will, the University has decided to cover the $471.57 charges owed to the VA so that the student may continue in his academic program without further barriers. Arrangements will be made directly with the VA administration on the student's behalf. We hope this response further clarifies any misunderstandings.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do accept Full Sail's second response to my amendment in regards to their first. I would appreciate prompt resolution within the business office so I may draw my transcripts. Thanks for your cooperation and understanding.

07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Full Sail has & continues to repeatedly create false alarms-ultimately affecting the graduation date and/or balance due...
Before beginning the program in January 2014, I had numerous discussions/communications with Admissions and Veterans Affairs Officers to ensure all of the tuition would be covered and my son could attend to get his AA degree in 12 months with no further costs since we had Post 9/11 GI Bill benefits and the Yellow Ribbon program would cover the remainder of the balance due. On more than one occasion, I verified that this was correct prior to relocating my son to FL (from Texas) to attend. From Jan-April 2014, the Academic Advisor never contacted me except to tell me my son was on "Academic Warning" because he failed a class. She went on to state that he would be fine because they developed a "plan". He stayed on course and has been bringing his GPA up since & just last week (12Jun2014)Academic Advising notified me my son was "immediately placed on Academic Probation" although he is currently maintaining a "B" in his current class. I am extremely concerned that Full Sail will continue to find ways to create additional billing during the remainder of my son's program, to include holding the degree until they are paid additional tuition (created by Full Sail University Academic Advising without prior coordination or approval with any other entitities, including me; the veteran billpayer.)After seeing the complaints here at the BBB,I felt compelled to post as well since there seems to be a disturbing trend that can lend itslef to a class action lawsuit and perhaps
de-accreditation of Full Sail to receive Federal Aid and/or Veterans Benefits in the future.

Desired Settlement
Full Sail should ensure that my son is afforded every opportunity to excel. Full Sail should also ensure that all tuition is covered by the University, Veterans Administration and Yellow Ribbon programs since his schedule was extended without prior coordination or approval by the veteran billpayer. Upon graduation (Jan-Mar2015), my son should recieve his diploma without having to pay any additional costs/tuition. As it stands, Full Sail is costing me much time, worry, aggravation and 3 months of additional rents, monies and arrangements (all my expense) despite being created and the responsibility of Full Sail LLC.

Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau's email of June 19, 2014 regarding Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX.
Full Sail University takes all student complaints seriously, and we appreciate the opportunity to respond. The complainant is concerned that the University will have charges, in addition to the pre-approved tuition. After reviewing this file, the University found the following.

The student in question failed two courses, thus extending his graduation date beyond the original date of December 2014. As a result of his academic difficulties, the University placed the student on academic probation. The academic probation status is geared to assist students who are having difficulties with the curriculum. When students fail a course, this naturally pushes back their original graduation date. In this case, due to the academic difficulties, the student's new anticipated graduation date is March 2015. The complainant was advised correctly and appropriately that the VA funding would cover the entirety of the program's anticipated tuition. However, due to the additional months required to complete the program, living expense funds will be exhausted in December 2014. Unfortunately, due to course retakes, the expected number of instructional weeks for the program has changed.

The University's goal is to support our students in their academic journey. We share in the complainant's desire to see his student's successful completion of his academic program, and we hope this response clarifies any misunderstandings.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Full Sail, although they purport that there will not be additional charges, continues to create correspondence that would indicate otherwise. This "academic probation" comes a month after the course was completed and passed, with the Academic Advisor citing that she was late in receiving the grades. Other BBB complaints would support that Full Sail is negligent and bordering criminal in their methods to extend curriculums & extort money.

Full Sail also would lead you to believe that the failures are the cause of the extended curriculum and thus later graduation date, however this is not the case. After two failures, Full Sail only chose to put my son on "Academic Warning" versus "Academic Probation", but without contacting or consulting me, the Veteran parent/billpayer, the school decided to only enroll my son half-time without consideration of the ramifications. Only then was I notified, but the school states there is no other way to catch-up.
Since this first notification, I have been in constant contact with the school, and despite supposed academic advisor involvement and additional required seminars for my son, there only continues to be negative reports coming from the school with escalation now into "Academic Probation" without explanation and blatant disregard for the student's success or the family's distress caused by school correspondence.
It is my sincere hopes that Full Sail does not attempt to charge us at the completion of my son's course or hold his degree until further payment is received by the institution Full Sail LLC known as (dba) Full Sail University.
I have had to spend countless hours writing to Full Sail and must go on record to protect my interests and ensure that they do the right thing by us and all future students and veterans' who utilize benefits to follow their dreams at this institution operating/dba Full Sail University.

Final Business Response
Full Sail University understands the complainant's concerns. We hope this response further clarifies any misunderstandings. The complainant's son was placed on academic probation after three failed courses. As described in our Student Manual, academic probation is used when students fail multiple consecutive courses or fail to maintain Satisfactory Progress. To maintain Satisfactory Progress, students must achieve an overall GPA of 1.0 by the first 25% of the program, 1.5 by the midpoint of the program, and 2.0 by graduation. The student in this case was placed on academic probation when the advisor became aware that he had failed three courses. In order to be removed from academic probation, students must show that grades and attendance warrant such an action.

Student was scheduled to repeat two of his failed courses by themselves in April and May. Student failed Overview of the Audio Arts (February course) and was scheduled during the month of March to repeat it in April. Student failed Music Theory at the end of March, but grades are not available before the April class start, therefore, he was scheduled to repeat Music Theory by itself in May. This is not uncommon when students fail courses in an accelerated program.

Additionally, the complainant has concerns that his son will face additional charges or that a financial hold will be placed on his son's transcripts upon graduation. As described in the catalog under the Repeat of a Course policy, there is no charge for additional months of classes due to excused absences or poor academic achievement (second attempt); however, students who fail a course due to poor attendance or who retake a course for a third time must repay the course tuition. Since the University cannot know if the complainant's son will need to retake a course for a third time, it is impossible to provide verification that there will be no additional charges for the student's degree program.

The student failed Audio Foundations course in June for insufficient grades and attendance. Additional charges for this course will be applied to student's ledger. If student feels there are extenuating circumstances for these absences, the student may appeal the repay charges to his Academic Advisor.

The University's goal is to support our students in their academic journey. We share in the complainant's desire to see his student's successful completion of his academic program, and we hope this response further clarifies any misunderstandings.

07/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The following complaint is regarding billing for classes never attended, misleading student advisement, and questionable ethics.
In April and May of 2013, I made several attempts to visit academic advisors but was not able to secure appointments in a timely matter. When I did get seen, I was not meeting with my assigned advisor (one more familiar with my intentions to withdraw). I explained many times that school was conflicting with my employment and Navy drilling schedule and that I would like to withdraw. I was misled throughout Semester 4 and charged despite my desire to withdraw and lack of attendance throughout the semester. Course instructors and the advising team clearly refused to acknowledge my schedule issues with the exception of allowing me to retake a failed course due to absences. I was also advised to manipulate my lab schedules, which even after considerable effort, proved unsuccessful.

In June of 2013, I visited Ms. ****** ******* (my assigned student advisor) and directly stated my intention of withdrawing from my course of instruction and my frustration with the delay. My particular dissatisfaction was not entered into record on counseling documentation. I was advised that the term was ending on July 2013. Ms. ******* informed me that I could attend an online course to complete the term (which was already paid for) and that my withdrawal would take effect after the term ended. I did not attend any classes for the following term. This, of course, was documented.

On January 23, 2014, I received an invoice for $6416.46 from Full Sail University dated October 29, 2013. I contacted a representative from the university several times on January 8, 2014 around 9:45AM to discuss the conditions of my previous request for withdrawal.

I felt that Ms. ******* intentionally failed to inform me that additional withdrawal procedures were necessary at our meeting and that I would not just be automatically withdrawn (which is what I was led to believe). I left the meeting feeling assured that my withdrawal would take place after that term and any signatures that I provided that day would be sufficient. Months later, I still had access to the Full Sail online portal and still received e-mails from instructors informing me of my enrollment in particular courses. I contacted the school regarding this issue and I was informed that I was NOT withdrawn formally. Needless to say this upset me and I felt manipulated. I proceeded to file the necessary paperwork which I was NEVER informed of in the first place.

Even 6 months after my official withdrawal I have had access to the school's online portal. It shows a clear lack of effort on the university's part to timely handle official student administrative action.

On a positive note, at this time no more funds have been paid by the Veteran's Administration on my behalf and I believe all withdrawal procedures are complete. I have requested my attendance records prior to my withdrawal date but have received no response.

After making my initial request by letter to the university I received this response in an e-mail:

"After a thorough review of your appeal with faculty and staff members, we regretfully deny your request.

The withdrawal calculations will indicate October 29, 2013 as the date of withdrawal determination. However, you were actually billed tuition based on your last date of attendance which occurred July 28, 2013.

Your account balance is a direct cause of the stipend received on August 27, 2013. Full Sail removed the entire Semester 6 tuition charge and made appropriate refunds to the VA and Direct Loans even though you were issued a stipend in August."

The last I knew, I was notified by the financial aid department that all of my financial responsibility had been covered by timely VA payments. I would like to know specifically where this was fouled up. All my conversations with the VA have pointed to something not being right on the university's part so I am following up with the BBB to ensure documented response.

Desired Settlement
Despite an obviously flawed or misdirected counseling program, I am respectfully requesting that a portion of this payment be considered for review and that it be stricken from my debt to the university.

Based on the above actions, specifically how long it took the advising team to recognize my true intentions without misleading me into further accrued tuition charges, I am seeking to have all or some of the assumed debt eliminated based on my attendance both prior to my withdrawal date or to come to an agreement on costs that should be incurred. I would like to correspond with someone via e-mail to discuss attendance during Semester 4 of 2013 and to see if my attendance clearly reflects a delay on the part of the administration to acknowledge my intent to withdraw.

I would like to request a detailed report of the billing I incurred from stipends in the past that kept me from owing any funds. The last I knew, I was notified by the financial aid department that all of my financial responsibility had been covered by timely VA payments. I would like to know specifically where this was fouled up.

I also would like to set up a payment plan on agreed costs as quickly as possible to avoid this charge from being sent to collection despite my attempts to resolve a billing dispute.

Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau's email of June 25, 2014 regarding Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX.
Full Sail University takes all student complaints seriously, and we appreciate the opportunity to respond. The complainant takes issue with the University's response to his tuition appeal. After reviewing the specifics of this case, the complainant did receive a stipend check on August 27, 2013. The University followed its refund policy by returning the VA and Direct Loan funds for Semester 6; however, the stipend check had already been disbursed and then cashed by the complainant. These funds remain due to the University. The University's Business Office would gladly work with the complainant to set up a payment plan as quickly as possible. The complainant may contact ***** ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX or by email at ******@fullsail.com.

We hope this response clarifies any misunderstandings, and we look forward to working with the complainant to resolve this issue.

Page 1 of 8
03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Instructor, ******* ******* retaliatory behavior.
I emailed the instructor, ******* ***** to inform him that I did not find his notes useful. I requested that he no longer provide them to me, as he complained about the time it takes him to write students notes in a prior email. He claims that the note process is time consuming and that is why he takes a long time to issue grades.

I asked him if he could grade my work fairly, after I shared my thoughts about his notes, and he responded negatively. He ended his response with the following quote:

"Just don't come back later to ask me how I arrived at the "fair grade" I
give you."

I responded that I would if I do not agree that the grade he gives me is fair.

His next email he told me he would deduct 10 points from my grade because I expressed my opinion on his style of teaching. I find it disturbing and unprofessional for a college instructor to use their position to bully the students they are paid to teach and encourage. I do not trust this person as an instructor, with my grade, nor with my academic future.

Desired Settlement
There must be an alternative to this instructor, one that would allow me to complete the master's program into which I have invested my time and money.

If we cannot reach a solution that works, I request a full refund of all tuition cost and fees.

Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau's email of January 31, 2014 regarding Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.
The complainant stated her discontent with an instructor in the Creative Writing MFA program. Specifically, she stated that his grading of assignments was unfair and she no longer wanted his feedback.
After receiving this complaint, the University discussed this case with the instructor and his supervisor. In a creative writing program, proficient use of Basic English, formatting, mechanics, and editing are parts of the expectations of each course. From the outset, the course expectations and objectives are clearly disclosed to each student. The student must integrate those skills into his or her assignments. In this case, the student in question, failed to do so. In addition, the student failed to complete an assignment by only editing 59 pages of a 106 page script. The assignment called for the student to edit the script in its entirety.
After reviewing the facts, it became evident that the student did not follow specific and clear instructions and as a result, she received negative feedback on the assignment in question. The student did not adhere to grammatical rules that are expected of graduate-level work and this was noted in the instructor's feedback. This was done to help the student achieve the objectives of the course, not to embarrass or upset her. It is the instructor's job to provide feedback on all student work. We hope that the student will take the instructor's feedback and will begin to incorporate these concepts into her work moving forward. All of our faculty want their students to be successful. However, the instructor must hold each student to the same standards. After a review of this case, it was found that he did.
The student also took issue with a 10% Global Professionalism Standard (GPS) deduction. At Full Sail University, a portion of a student's grade is determined by his/her professionalism. These standards are published in the Student Manual. The student also agrees to abide by the GPS when they sign their enrollment agreement. During her interactions with the course director, the student did not display professionalism and points were deducted accordingly.
We hope this response clarifies any misunderstandings, and we wish the student the very best in her future endeavors.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Full Sail University does not provide the career focused education they advertised. The student support staff does not advocate for student success. At best the administrative team is unresponsive. I expect more from an educational institution.

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau's email of February 27, 2014 regarding an additional comment sent by the complainant in Case #XXXXXXXX. We appreciate the opportunity to respond once again.
The complainant stated that the University did not provide the education that was advertised. We are sorry that the complainant feels this way, but the University disagrees with this assertion. The University goes to great lengths to ensure that all of its programs are described accurately. The University Catalog provides detailed information regarding the University and its offerings including programs and course descriptions in order to provide prospective students with the information they need to make informed enrollment decisions.
We hope that this latest response addresses any misunderstandings. We wish the complainant well.

01/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misinformation about program led to my withdrawal. Exorbitant fees charged. Amount sent to collections with more fees despite being told it would not.
I was enrolled in Full Sail University's Creative Writing MFA online program in April of 2012. My student ID was XXXXXXX.

My decision to enroll in the program followed in-depth questioning with Full Sail recruiters regarding the content of the program. Specifically, I asked how I, as an aspiring novelist, would benefit from the Creative Writing Masters MFA program. I was assured the program would meet my needs and that I would get to decide which type of literary project I would work toward completing at the end of the program.

However, once I began taking the courses it became clear that the program was for Film Writing and did not focus on novel writing. In my first course, with Maylen Dominguez, I brought up my concerns and was urged to continue with the program, being told that later courses would be more in line with novel writing.

Partway through my second course (about my 7th week in the program), led by *********** ***** I had a discussion regarding the disconnect between the program's content and what I expressed to the recruiters was my goal in joining the program. *********** revealed to me that novel writing would not be a direct career path or outcome from Full Sail's Creative Writing program.

The Full Sail recruiters should have been able to correctly describe the content of the program prior to enrollment. Instead, I felt as if they were simply trying to make a sale. There are ethics involved in sales practices, and I do not feel they were applied correctly in this situation. I would not have enrolled if I had been properly informed of the specifics of the program. As with any sale, the product should be accurately described if the transaction is to be legitimate.

After my discussion with Mr. **** I consulted with my Student Advisor, ******** ***** regarding the withdrawal process. I was informed that since my student loans and grants had already been applied toward my tuition for the entire semester, the balance would remain paid through August and I would be able to continue the courses for that particular semester at a later date. Following my decision to withdraw, however, this was not the case. The financial aid portion for the remaining courses was retracted and I was billed $6551 for the unattended courses.

If I were aware that I would subsequently be directly billed $6,551 (an exorbitant sum) for courses that were not provided to me, I would surely have finished out the remainder of the semester and left my balance owed in the form of student loans. Upon receiving the bill, I spoke with Full Sail's Business office and was provided information regarding how to file an appeal. I was not given a timeline for the appeal, and was told that the fees would not be sent to collections during this process.

In late November 2013, I received a letter dated in October 2013 from the General Revenue Corporation (GRC), a collections agency. In addition to the $6551 Full Sail was originally requesting, the GRC added additional charges bringing my total owed amount to over $8000.

Recently, I corresponded with Full Sail University's Compliance Auditor, ****** ******** regarding an appeal I had mailed in October 2013. I had not received a response, so I sent a follow-up appeal letter via email. On December 5, 2013, Mr. Lindblom informed me that after a thorough review of my appeal, Full Sail had agreed to revise my withdrawal calculations and charge 50% of the semester 1 tuition, which would leave a balance due to Full Sail of approximately $2201.

I was also later informed that unless I could pay the balance off in full, the charges would still be held by the GRC (which will likely result in additional charges for the collections action that was not to be taken). Mr. ******** did not address Full Sail's decision to turn the fees over to a collections agency despite the Full Sail Business Office informing me they would not be while going through the appeal process.

Desired Settlement
While a revision of my withdrawal calculations certainly is a step in the right direction regarding Full Sail taking responsibility for the mishandling of my enrollment and subsequent withdrawal, I do not believe it is sufficient enough to resolve the situation ethically.

A portion of my financial aid had already been applied toward my cost of tuition and supplies (e.g. the Full Sail Launch Box), so the seven weeks I attended courses should already have been covered. My absence from subsequent online courses did not prevent other students from being able to attend, as Full Sail offers courses in the program on a month-by-month basis, with a new class beginning the first course in the program each month.

My absence from the courses did not cost Full Sail money; rather, it saved them money. They did not mail me any of the textbooks or additional tools for the remaining courses and course directors did not spend time teaching me, answering my questions, or grading/evaluating my work. I would argue strongly that my absence allowed the course directors more time to focus on students who did not withdraw, and I should not be paying for saving the company money; let alone for services that were not provided to me.

Ultimately, I made decisions based on the information of people who should be well-versed in their own procedures and policies. The misinformation provided has led to thousands of dollars in fees for services that were not provided. At this time, I wholeheartedly believe it would be appropriate and within Full Sail's means to forgive any remaining balance and to withdraw the balance from the General Revenue Corporation. I have faith that Full Sail will make this situation right and that we can move forward amicably.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your email from December 9, 2013 regarding a complaint filed by Mr. ****** *********, a former student at Full Sail University. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.
Mr. ********* is disputing the amount owed to the University. He appealed his account balance using the University's published grievance procedure earlier this month. Although Mr. ********* was originally charged appropriately, and in accordance with the enrollment agreement he signed, the University decided to reduce the amount owed and charge him 50% of his original tuition balance as an act of good will. When students attend beyond the third week of the semester, as per the University's published refund policy, they are charged 100% of the semester's tuition. Since Mr. ********* attended well past the third week of the semester, he was charged 100% of that term's tuition. Mr. ********* agreed to the institutional refund policy when he signed the enrollment agreement.
An additional review of Mr. *********'s student account found that all calculations were performed correctly. As a result, we believe a 50% reduction in tuition is more than fair considering he attended nearly two months of the semester, which justifies a 100% charge of tuition.
As with all delinquent accounts where the individual makes no attempt to setup a payment plan with the Business Office, the University turned the account over to the General Revenue Corporation and is no longer involved with the collection of these fees. All individuals are warned before their account is sent to collections. Mr. ********* may contact the General Revenue Corporation at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX to discuss a payment plan option. If Mr. ********* would like to make a payment of $2,201.29 to the University, we will pull the account from collections and he will avoid all collection fees. If he would like to arrange this payment, please have him contact the University's Business Office at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Mr. ********* also makes a claim the University misrepresented the goals and objectives of the Creative Writing MFA program during his enrollment. All of the University's programs and the courses that make up the programs are described in detail in the University's catalog. The University's Admissions Representatives undergo an ongoing, rigorous training program to ensure they are providing prospective students the most accurate information. Prospective students are required to read the catalog before they sign the enrollment agreement and all students attest that they have done so when they sign the enrollment agreement, so the goals and objectives of the Creative Writing MFA program should not surprise any incoming student.
We hope this response clarifies any misunderstandings, and we wish Mr. ********* the very best in his future endeavors.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Full Sail continues to allege that it is impossible that their student advisor or recruiters could have provided misinformation. I have indicated from the start that misinformation was provided by the Student Advisor. That point has been addressed time and time again both through my official appeal process with Full Sail and in each of my contacts to the BBB. To pretend as though I brought up brand new information is insulting. As any member of the public could tell, it was not simply brought up in my last contact to the BBB. Not to mention, Full Sail seems to have no qualms about portraying me as naive and confused. I will not be characterized as such when it is absolutely not the case. Full Sail seems to allege that they are perfect and that the training their recruiters and advisors go through makes them perfect (in theory). To believe so is silly. I consulted with Taragon Horn (my previous student advisor) extensively prior to my decision to withdraw. Whether Ms. Horn was in clear understanding of the procedures and policies or not, her failure to clearly communicate the impact (especially financially) of the decision is exactly why we are involved in this dispute today. One person's mistake is leading to a lot of wasted time for myself, the BBB, and Full Sail. For Full Sail to deny any responsibility is unacceptable. I know my rights and I will pursue them unwaveringly until this issue is put to rest. I attempted to settle the issue with Full Sail first, through their formal appeals process. Now I have done my due diligence by following procedure for a complaint to the BBB. I am not concerned with Full Sail forgiving the entire debt out of "good will." I am concerned with them doing so because it is absolutely the appropriate thing to do. It is evident to me through these communications that Full Sail does not wish me the best in my future endeavors, as they claim. They're hope seems to be that they can bully me into giving in and paying the balance so that they can go on making a profit. I will not be profited from when I'm dealing with a company without the integrity to engage in honest and moral business practices. I have given Full Sail the opportunity to resolve this amicably and the opportunity has been spat upon by constant attempts to manipulate and force me into concession. In conclusion, I would love to review the copy of the fully-signed enrollment agreement; however, indicating that the email was sent does not mean it was actually received, nor does it mean that I will accept that my enrollment and subsequent withdrawal from Full Sail were handled with any level of professionalism, accuracy/attention to detail, or concern for my development and/or wellbeing. With all due respect, I ask once again that Full Sail forgive the balance. Full Sail may be Goliath, but I am a very steadfast and resourceful David. I do not appreciate being bullied; rather, I resent it strongly. In moving forward, if we are unable to reach any type of amicable agreement, I will have no choice but to further escalate the situation with the appropriate organizations. To be transparent, I plan to write to the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges in the near future to express my concerns regarding Full Sail, as it does not seem as though the mediation of the BBB has inspired any ability by Full Sail to acknowledge and accept the appropriate accountability for the mishandling of my enrollment/withdrawal. The ACCSC is a private, non-profit organization which provides national accreditation to post-secondary educational institutions, including Full Sail. Full Sail will receive a copy of any written communication I submit regarding this situation, so as to remain transparent. I do not seek to engage in dishonest or slandering practices; however, I will continue to raise awareness of the issue until it is resolved. To the BBB, thank you for your time spent mediating this complaint.

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of your email from December 27, 2013 indicating that Mr. ********* had provided additional information in this case. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.
In the subsequent communication, Mr. ********* reiterated his dissatisfaction with his balance with the University. In his first point, Mr. ********* claimed that he never received a fully-executed enrollment agreement, thus nullifying the terms of the contract. The enrollment agreement was signed by Mr. ********* on March 29, 2012 and was countersigned by a designated school official on April 9, 2012. The terms of the agreement were agreed to by both parties before Mr. ********* began his first class, which was April 30, 2012. Additionally, a copy of the fully-executed enrollment agreement was sent to Mr. ********* (*********@gmail.com) on April 9, 2012. A copy of this email is available if he or the Bureau would like to review.
Mr. ********* indicated in the follow-up response that his student advisor gave him incorrect information regarding his student account. A student advisor would not have communicated that a student's semester's tuition was 100% covered by loans and/or grants unless that was the case. Mr. ********* may have misunderstood what his advisor was telling him. Mr. ********* had a balance of $1,360.00 balance before he withdrew from the University, so it was impossible for his obligations to be covered by nothing but student financial aid. When he withdrew, the University was required by Federal regulations to refund a portion of his loans, resulting in a larger balance due.
Mr. ********* also stated that he was not warned before his delinquent account was sent to collections. This is untrue. He was sent a final notice on August 30, 2013 warning him that his account was about to be sent to collections if payment arrangements were not made. The account was sent to collections on October 14, 2013. His appeal was not received until December 5, 2013. After his appeal was reviewed, the University decided to reduce the amount owed and charge him 50% of his original tuition balance as an act of goodwill. As we stated before, if Mr. ********* would like to make a payment of $2,201.29 to the University, we will pull the account from collections and he will avoid all collection fees. If he would like to arrange this payment, please have him contact the University's Business Office at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Mr. ********* restated his displeasure with how the program is portrayed in print and/or by the University's admissions representatives. We stand by our previous response that the University properly describes the goals and objectives of the program. Students gain knowledge that can be directly applied to writing novels-character development, storytelling, story arc & development, portfolio creation, etc.
We hope this response clarifies any misunderstandings, and we wish Mr. ********* the very best in his future endeavors.

12/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unprofessional Staff; Poor Handling of Students
I have had issues with the curriculum provided having unreasonable demands, instructors grading unfairly, and advisers refusing to resolve legitimate issues with instructors and the curriculum.

Also, my current adviser holds me to educational standards wrongfully in our communications instead of helping me resolve these legitimate issues. She takes a biased side with the instructors, course directors, and chairmen who refuse to be professional in their dealings in providing me with a valid education and/or a fair grade in my studies as a Game Design Student.

I have experienced three such incidents in major severity, one of which is within my current class as of posting this complaint.

Desired Settlement
I demand no less than what Full Sail promised when I enrolled. A promise that my assignments will be graded fairly, the course materials will be applicable to my course of study, and the Student Advisers will be impartial and attempt resolution instead of blaming me for the problems the instructors, educational chairmen, and course directors are in fact responsible for.

The alternative I am offering is that the GI Bill benefits I invested in this course are repaid in full so that I can attend a college whose staff follows it's own rules about professionalism instead of visiting a constant fallacy upon me and providing fallacies instead of resolutions.

I am within my right as a consumer to file a complaint. I am more than a student in this case.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your email from November 29, 2013 regarding a complaint filed by Mr. ***** ******, a current student at Full Sail University. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.
Mr. ****** brought his concerns to his advisor last month. As per the University's normal procedure, these allegations were reviewed and Mr. ****** was later notified of our findings. The input of the department chair, along with the instructor in question and students in the class was sought. No wrongdoing was found after this review. After the complaint from the Better Business Bureau was received, this information was reviewed again to ensure this incident was handled properly and again, no wrongdoing was found.
Full Sail University takes great pride in preparing its students for success. Mr. ******'s adviser has sent him several communications with suggestions on how he can better interact with his instructors and classmates in a more professional manner. Mr. ****** is an outstanding student and we wish him continued success as he progresses through his degree program.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not appreciate or respond well to bureaucratic, passive-aggressive replies.

The events that sparked my complaints after the Game Design 1, Statistics, and Usability classes were a total betrayal of my trust as a student. I stand and accuse Full Sail University of handling these incidents unprofessionally and failing to intervene on by behalf when I was wronged.

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of your email from December 20, 2013 indicating that Mr. ****** had provided additional information in this case. Unfortunately, there was no new information provided, only a restatement of Mr. ******'s dissatisfaction with the University's grading and curriculum. As we indicated before, Mr. ******'s concerns were taken seriously and were investigated. However, no wrongdoing was found.
We wish Mr. ****** continued success as he progresses through the Game Design Bachelor's program.

03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I just recently finished my program at Full Sail University and I have had nothing but problems from the start. Communication is terrible.
I was an online student with Full Sail University. Throughout the start of my program I didn't notice a lack in effort from the instructors because the classes I was taking were general ****** classes. Those typically were easier and I didn't have a reason to reach out for assistance with questions.

As I started my core classes for my programming portion of the degree, I started to notice a very disturbing trend. I would not hear back from instructors for several days. Every class the instructors post something to explain that it may take up to 24 hours to get a response back, which is fine until it starts to be 2,3 or 4 days to get a response. It makes it very difficult to get help to answers you have and then understand the material and continue on.

I spent an entire month trying to get a hold of one of my instructors for my Mobile Development class. I had to contact his boss and they both ended up calling me to apologize for not getting ANY help for the entire month. I was told that this instructor was being put on a performance plan to make sure he was doing his job.

I also made the effort to visit the school and spend some time with the instructors there. He informed me that he didn't have the resources and tools he needed to help students online because they have to teach on campus as well. This is a major injustice to the students online paying thousands of dollars to go to this school.

I completely regret my decision to attend this school but once I got into the core classes I was stuck because I had already spent too much money. I don't want others to have to deal with all of the problems that I had to deal with. Full Sail University oversells themselves and they don't live up to the standards a university should live up to. I believe the for profit mentality of this school has allowed them to take advantage of their students while not providing the same quality of teaching. I also learned later in the program most of these people are not nor have they ever been teachers. They were in the industry they were teaching but most only have a BA degree, while most universities require a Masters just to lecture and more professors have their Ph.D.

I am just beyond frustrated with how this has all happened and now I will have to pay for it for 30 years.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking some sort of refund from this school. At times they flat out didn't provide the service they I was paying for. In any transaction in life if the product wasn't provided or was of extremely poor quality like this entire experience has been then a refund should be given.

Business' Initial Response
We are in receipt of your email from February 6, 2013 regarding a complaint filed by Mr. ****** ******. We took Mr. ******'s complaints seriously, and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to his concerns.

Mr. ****** states that, "As I started my core classes for my programming portion of the degree, I started to notice a very disturbing trend. I would not hear back from instructors for several days. Every class the instructors post something to explain that it may take up to 24 hours to get a response back, which is fine until it starts to be 2, 3 or 4 days to get a response."

Full Sail University prides itself on offering a quality, online education. Our faculty follow the policies outlined in the institution's Faculty Manual. Our online faculty are expected to provide proactive and responsive communication to our students. Instructors are asked to respond to students as soon as possible and within 24 hours at the latest. We expect that our faculty followed this policy throughout Mr. ******'s educational experience. Mr. ****** never filed a formal complaint the university's internal grievance process.

In addition, our academic records indicate that Mr. ****** was successful in his academic program. While he had to repeat several courses, he was never billed additional charges for those classes. Our records also indicate that he had timely and consistent interaction with our staff including his academic advisor, financial aid advisor, and our business office.

Mr. ****** is requesting "some sort of refund" for his Web Design & Development, B.S. program expenses. After considering the facts of Mr. ******'s complaint, Full Sail University asserts that there has been no wrongdoing. As a result, we are denying Mr. ******'s request for a refund.

We hope this response clarifies any misunderstandings with Mr. ******. We are proud of his accomplishments and upcoming graduation (2/08/2013) from the Web Design & Development program, and we wish him the very best in his future endeavors.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still haven't had the answer to a simple question. That question is, Is it ok for an instructor to not return any e-mails or messages to a student? How can you say that no wrong was done? I find a substantive issue with not getting responses from instructors and something needs to be done. My GPA has nothing to do with it. You're responses are full of fluff that doesn't address anything. The reason you can boast such high numbers is that your classes are a joke. There is no way this program stands up against a respectable school. Fix the problem. I am also disappointed with the performance of this school. I am more than happy to send you my new address for where you should send the reimbursement. Thank you

****** ******

Business' Final Response
We regret that Mr. ****** was dissatisfied with one of the courses in the Web Design & Development Bachelor's degree curriculum. He successfully completed the requirements for the degree and graduated on February 8, 2013. We stand by our previous communications on this issue and will not be issuing a refund in this case. We wish Mr. ****** success in his future endeavors.

02/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Student who came to learn that the school broke the Enrollment Agreement (contract) by distributing/selling the unauthorized use of the student work.
Graduate student from the Creative Writing Master of Fine Arts Degree Program - Online, who came to learn that his work during his time as a student was disturbed/sold for commercial purposes without consent, credit or monetary compensation. The student's work that appears in such high profile motion pictures states that such production companies have infringed and/or plagiarized from the student's Thesis Portfolio and by the timeline of such incidents is indicative Full Sail University is accountable for the distribution.

In trying to come to an understating the student brought forward a complaint with the Department of Education whom forward the student to the school's compliance manager. After several writing letter in where he requested an in person meeting, copies of all the assignments that were submitted during his time as a student and finally a refund on the tuition he was denied from all of the requests. Instead he was sent a letter from their attorneys office to "Cease and Desist" from making further actions and to not present himself by the school or make any type of contact with the school's management. Staff whom he has never met, an unethical and rude approach to a recent graduate who professionally approached the school in trying to resolve this continues issue.

After reviewing the contract made with the school it came to the student's awareness the school has breached their part of the agreement as described in the perpetual licensing section and for such reason the student is following-up the dispute with the Better Business Bureau in trying to come to a mediation as requested in the contract.

Desired Settlement
A refund on the tuition made to his name and certified copies of all of the work produced, including discussion board posts, during his time as a Creative Writing student with the date and time of submission sent to the address on file.

Business' Initial Response
This letter is Full Sail University's ("Full Sail") response to case # XXXXXXXX filed by ****** ******, a former student of Full Sail, in which he alleges that the University distributed and/or sold his student works to Disney and other well established movie studio companies without his authorization. Specifically, Mr. ****** alleges portions of his student works were used in the films of Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, Captain America and Transformers: Dark Side of the Moon. As but one example, Mr. ****** alleges that the "x" shaped scar on the face of Johnny Depp's character Jack Sparrow in the Pirates of the Caribbean was taken from his student work. Mr. ****** has made the same claims for more than a year now, and same as in all his prior complaints, Mr. ****** presents no factual evidence to support his claims, nor could he because they have no merit. Accordingly, Mr. ******'s request for a tuition refund will not be granted.
Mr. ****** has submitted this identical complaint to Full Sail and the Florida Department of Education (FLDOE) on separate occasions. In both cases, these claims were found to be baseless. Mr. ****** received a copy of the FLDOE's "no cause" finding and is available to the Better Business Bureau for review, if requested.
We are disappointed and dismayed that Mr. ****** feels that Full Sail sold his intellectual property to an outside entity, but the facts simply do not support his assertions. Therefore, his request for a tuition refund will not be granted. We wish Mr. ****** the very best in his future endeavors.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
During the time of the student's enrollment the school was being promoted by the same production companies that had infringed on the student's work. I will repeat the school is not cooperating in helping the student protect his Intellectual Property. Please initiate the refund process on the tuition made to the student's name plus certified copies of all of the work produced, including discussion board posts with the date and time of submission sent to the address on file. 

Business' Final Response
As we have stated many times, Full Sail University investigated Mr. ******'s claim and determined that no one at the University distributed his work to any outside organization, as he has claims. He has been told this verbally and in writing several times. Full Sail has fully responded to claims he has made to the Florida Department of Education and now the Better Business Bureau. He has put forth no evidence to the contrary other than bald, unsupported assertions that Full Sail must have done so. His claims are completely frivolous and a refund will not be issued. In addition, Full Sail has not retained any of Mr. ******'s student work, including discussion board posts, so this request cannot be completed.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Business & Vocational, Schools - Academic - Special Education, Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Education
(850) 245-0505

BBB records show a license number of 2616 for this company, issued by Department of Education.

Type: School

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1981, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shayne Cade (Director of Compliance)Customer Contact: Ms. Shannon Sheppard (Compliance Manager)Mr. Garry Jones (President)Ms. Debbie Magruder (CFO)
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational, Schools - Academic - Special Education, Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Products & Services

This company offers a total of 37 Associate, Bachelor, and Master campus degree and on-line degree programs including: Computer Animation, Creative Writing for Entertainment, Digital Arts & Design, Digital Cinematography, Education Media Design & Technology, Entertainment Business, Film, Game Art, Game Design, Game Development, Graphic Design, Internet Marketing, Media Design, Mobile Development, Music Business, Music Production, New Media Journalism, Recording Arts, Recording Engineering, Show Production, Sports Marketing & Media, and Web Design & Development.

Alternate Business Names
Full Sail Center For The Recording Arts, Full Sail Real World Education, Full Sail Recordings Inc, Full Sail, LLC
Industry Tips
Businesses Benefit by Heading Back to School
Choosing a Reputable Online Degree Program

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Full Sail University

3300 University Blvd Ste 160

Winter Park, FL 32792-7435

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3300 University Blvd Ste 160 

    Winter Park, FL 32792-7435(800) 226-7625
    (888) 993-7338

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Full Sail University is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 679-0100
  • (407) 679-6333
  • (888) 993-7338
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.