BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2013

Sustainable Roof Systems of Florida

(407) 900-0840View Additional Phone Numbers1250 Commons Ct, ClermontFL 34711-5349 Send email to Sustainable Roof Systems of FloridaView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2013

BBB has determined that Sustainable Roof Systems of Florida meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sustainable Roof Systems of Florida's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sustainable Roof Systems of Florida

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi since I start the business with the company, at first it was so nice to get my job, after they cashed my check, it was so many problems to finished my interior of the house, is being more thean 6 months , that is bein push to (they can't come ) the day we agreed for them to come to finish. If I am not called them to found out where they are, it is no one can made a called to let me know, they are not coming for the day. I get to the point that I am frustrated because I had all my furniture in one room since they had told me they are coming to finish the job, but every time it looks like it is going to be done. They canceled again. I make many attents to speak with the manager, person who was the one who came to my home to tell me about the roof to be done, but the person who is in the office, is not letting me talk to him, for more than 4 weeks is bean going on the calling to try to speak with the manager, and it be came imposible. so I feel is no way for me to go, So I need your help. and don't know what can I do , for them to finish the job or , to give me the money back for me to get some one else to finish the job . My contact Number is XXX-XXX-XXXX and I really need your help. Thank you for your help ***** *******

Desired Settlement
need my home to be done.

Business Response
Ms. ********
As agreed we completed your roof. It was then time to work on the interior of your home. We completed the interior of your garage, and we have had scheduling issues with the interior rooms because of your work schedule. The office has contacted you to work with your schedule, but you refused to work with any of the multiple dates given to you. We attempted to give you a one week window of the 11th-19th and you have refused.
If you would like to give us a series of dates that you have available we are more than happy to try and accommodate you, but this is interior work and we need access. If there is a neighbor or friend that can get us in we would love to get your interior completed as soon as possible.
If this is not of interest to you, we will happily refund your money for the work not completed.

Consumer Response
See Attached


From: ***** *******
Sent: Monday, September 29, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: *********@centralflorida.bbb.org
Subject: Fwd: Re-open a case # XXXXXXXX



Sent from my iPhone

Begin forwarded message:
From: ***** ******* <*************@yahoo.com>
Date: September 23, 2014 at 12:13:21 PM EDT
To: "<**********@cbbb.bbb.org>" <**********@cbbb.bbb.org>

Subject: Re-open a case # XXXXXXXX

Back on Decembre 2013 I hired . Sustainable roof comp from Clermont . My insurance company had sent the check where it included the inside damages in the house celling. Check was cashed since December, but the company was so irresponsible that they lose my paper work and they delay for months. I give the opportunity to redo the paper work again and almost tante middle of the year 2014 , tha was when they came to replace the roof, unfortunanle I didn't have any luck for the repairs for the inside of the house, every time that I give them the days for them to come to work , it was a problem and they don't even had the courtesy of give me a call to let me know , they weren't coming , making me stay at home all day and if it was because on the middle of the day I give them a called to find out if they are coming or not , they don't call me, In many time I request to speak with the manager , which he never call me back , it came to a point that I got very frustrated I even told the secretary I will report them to a bbb, and her answer was. Ok. I did a writing report and a new lady from the company had call me that they will send me a check for $1,800 dollars , check I never receive. I called her and ask how long I have to wait for the check? Her answer was until I fixed my situation with the BBB , I didn't understand really her answer , but I brought some people in the house for estimates so I finished the job sustainable roof didn't finish, but for my surprise the estimates are not even close on prices of , what Sustanable roof wants to give me , again please I will need your help, I included copy of the check my insurance company had paid to them for a complete job,


Business Response
This customer has been made whole by virtue of choosing to perform her own interior repairs. We have forwarded her the funds provided to us by her insurance company and she is satisfied. Please see attached.

01/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Claimed they were going to take care of rotting facia (agreed to be at our expense beyond the contract). But did not.
Sustainable (****** *** owner) stated at the initial visit with us, and repeatedly in employee emials during the course of the roofing installation, that they would take care of the old rotting fascia (this was agreed to be at our expense beyond contract agreement). They were informed that the new fascia did not arrive with all the roofing materials. They said this was not a problem and would still be able to replace fascia after roof instal. In the end and after shingles and skylights were installed, they chose to ignore their verbal commitment, which in turn raised the cost of fascia replacement, as it was now trapped under a new roof. This cost increase was confirmed by their contracted employee on site. They then demanded the second half of the payment. Went so far as to threaten a lawsuit in writing (have copies of that as well).

Secondary was the attempt to over charge by $500.00 (we have copies of this). Through multiple emails this admitted error was removed from the final bill. Also secondary was the poor attempts to fix the incorrect installation of the 2 skylights (part of the contract). This was never resolved and the skylights still look incorrect. All of this is documented in an attachment provided to BBB. This document was used as updates from us to Sustainable via multiple emails in order to document progress, concerns and even solutions to those concerns and was being updated with each new email sent to them. Dates were always included on the updates provided to them via email (we have copies)

The bottom line is once they were done with what was in writing, they did not keep their word on items that were discussed in detail and just wanted the money. We believe these promises were nothing more then to get us to sign the initial contract. We were lead to believe things would be taken care of even when questioned all the way up to just days before being threatened with a lawsuit via certified mail. All emails from them are available to prove this and have the dates on them.

Desired Settlement
We feel the installation of the roof shingles, roof cap and drip edge were done adequately and with in a reasonable time frame. However, they have significantly increased the cost of replacing the rotted fascia board by not replacing it before the roof installation and have now trapped the rotting fascia under new drip edge. This was an item they agreed to replace at the initial visit at our expense beyond the contract. They said during the course of the roof instal that this would not be a problem even though it was trapped under drip edge (have emails). They, decided at the end of the contracted work to just demand the second half of the payment, threatening law suit, left us with the rotting fascia on our home.

We feel it is reasonable to request one of two options,

1. The $$$ difference (in labor costs only) between what it would cost to replace fascia without drip edge installed vs with the new 3" dip edge installed, that is trapping the fascia. This would be based on the lowest of 3 estimates in labor cost difference.

2. Sustainable can keep their word and come out and do the job of replacing the rotting fascia. We will pay for materials and cost of labor less the estimated difference.

Option one is preferred and the trust with Sustainable has been highly compromised.


Business Response
Although the customer has included some truth in his complaint, there are certain statements that lack veracity.
The roof was replaced based on a contracted price. It was inspected by the municipality and passed.
The skylights were installed correctly. Mrs. ******* actually complimented the new skylights for their sound reduction during torrential rain storms. She went further to say that they knew the roof and skylights were water tight because of the amount of rain that they had experienced. A skylight that is installed incorrectly leaks.
There was a contract for the roof and an agreed upon price. There was never a contract or price for fascia. The customer implies in his statement that we should have simply ordered materials and done the work on his fascia without a contract. If it was difficult for us to get paid for the contracted work, it is laughable to imagine how we would have gotten paid for non-contracted work.
The customer was correct in stating that once we completed the work we wanted to get paid. The concept of getting paid for work done is a basic tenant of business. Although this concept is alien to this customer, we rely on it with other customers. Our suppliers rely on it from us. The manufacturers rely on it from them. It forms the basis of capitalism, which is a founding principal of our economic and political system.
The customer states that we did not keep our word. This statement is coming from the person who admittedly refused to pay us for completed contracted work. ******** tells us it would be at best unwise to do business with this customer again. While I am sure that there are small business owners who are more adept at dealing with this sort of client, "Let the contractor beware".


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will take each opinion in Sustainable s response point-by-point as most of their statements are misleading and opinions at best.

1. Sustainable admits truth to the complaint.
2. Never said the roof was not done under contract.
3. Never said it didn't pass inspection.
4. Never said roof or skylights leaked.
5. In fact, if they had read the complaint in its entirety they would have seen that I said the roof was installed well.

6. Skylights being "quiet", which my wife did mention, has to do with the materials and construction of the skylight itself, and has nothing to do with installation. So what they suggest is misleading.

7. A skylight that is incorrectly installed does not mean it will leak and they do not. But, if I install a front door to but neglect to trim out the frame around the door leaving unsightly gaps and exposed door framing, that door is incorrectly installed or at the very least the install is incomplete even though it closes and opens properly. Misleading again to say the skylight was installed properly as they grossly cut away at the ceiling drywall inside the home in order to install the skylight and then decided to just leave it that way until we brought it to their attention. They then made two poor attempts to repair it on two separate occasions essentially admitting to the failed completion. See initial attachment for details.

8. Never stated there was a contracted element for fascia. That was never suggested by Sustainable as something we should put in writing. If a contract was so important to Sustainable regarding fascia work and they wanted the extra job then I see no reason why that did not happen. Instead, during the initial meeting with the owner of Sustainable, ****** ****, there was a walk around the home with me counting off the number of boards needed to replace the rotting fascia. He referred to them as "sticks" and how many he needed. He also said they are not available at the big box stores, such as ***** down the street, as they are true 2x6 rough cut cedar and would have to be special ordered. It was also discussed that this would be outside of the contracted job and at the very least implying we would pay separate for this. We never said at any time that it was part of or we wanted it to be part of the initial contract work. Once again, misleading. If he did not want the work, he should have declined before counting sticks and telling me they would need to be special ordered. If he did not want the work, why was it suggested in multiple emails (attached) from employees to us that it would be taken care of. If he did not want the work, why, on two separate occasions, was the rotting fascia measured (email re this attached). The only conclusion would be the use of a bait and switch tactic on the part of Sustainable.

9. As to the payment accusations, we paid Sustainable 1/2 the total amount before any materials were delivered. At their request, when the job was completed, we would pay the remaining balance. The Skylight issues took several attempts to repair taking several weeks (email attached). So in reality, the job was not complete. Not to mention they implied through emails (attached) and actions that the fascia could still be taken care of despite being trapped under the new 3" drip edge. These items extended the project and was recognized by us as a possible inconvenience for them. So, in good faith we offered, in a written email, to pay an additional significant amount towards the balance to cover this (email attached). This is a detail they conveniently left out of their response. So if that is considered "...difficult for us to get paid" as Sustainable suggests, I suspect they use the bully lawsuit tactics often (attached). Also the attempt to over charge us $500.00 was conveniently ignored and not denied in his response. He will say it was a clerical error but it took an email from me to explain, in detail, how and why it was an error before it was corrected.

10. In addition to the above payment offer, in an email to them, we suggested we pay them the FULL amount for ALL the work they had done less newly encountered labor costs of replacing rotting fascia trapped under 3" drip edge. This was for the amount in LABOR ONLY for the difference of what it would cost to have replaced the fascia BEFORE the roof was installed vs after with trapped rotting fascia. This amount may also be something we seek in the future. We clearly had intentions of paying them in FULL. We clearly offered significantly more then the initial half as a good faith gesture while the process was extended by their own falt. We clearly had intentions of paying for the fascia materials and installation BEFORE the roof was installed. Clearly Sustainable lead us to believe the fascia would be done right up to the threat of litigation. So it is truly "laughable", to use their word, that we had any intentions of not paying them. What they chose to do with the initial half of the payment when it comes to suppliers and employees is their business. Why they chose to turn down a significant amount in further payment well beyond the half already paid, is beyond me.

Yes we were pleasant to him and his associate when they came to collect and my wife did compliment them on what they did correctly as any reasonable person would do. But it was obvious that after being threatened with a lawsuit stating we have X number of days to comply or else (attached), that we were dealing with an irrational and reclus business owner and it simply was not worth the energy to get upset as they were there to collect and little more.

Our experience has been that Sustainable will do, say or promise anything to get you/us to sign on the binding (contract) bottom line, and then ignore quality of work or any verbal word/promise given. Then demand and threaten for payment, collect and walk away smiling.

Funny thing is, they state "contractor beware" in their reply. At the same time as this roofing debacle was taking place, so to was a full replacement of our air and heat system. This was also contracted. Half paid upfront and half paid on completion. The difference is the Heat and Air contractor kept his word, even ones not written AND came back out on two separate occasions to make sure all was well. He, the owner, even tweaked the system for better efficiency at our request (not part of the contract with them). The balance was then paid without complaints from the contractor regarding payment. The owner was a big part of the install from start to finish. Will recommend them to others. The only time Sustainable contacted us after the threat of a lawsuit was to collect. The only time we saw or heard from ****** ***, the owner of Sustainable, was to sign contracts, draft and send a lawsuit threat and to collect. Never saw or heard from him otherwise. It is clear that he would rather blame the costumer in every way possible and deny what is fact and in writing. This alone should give anyone pause if considering business with Sustainable. So I will use his terminology at the end of his reply wher he attempted to dump the blame back on us..the customer. Only the words I use have facts and evidence to back them up...So...."Let the buyer beware".


Final Business Response
We stand by our original statement.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Remodeling Services - Foreclosed Property, Construction & Remodeling Services, Waterproofing Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - General, Building Restoration & Preservation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/22/2010Business started: 08/08/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Lake County Occupational License

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of 84582 for this company, issued by Lake County Occupational License. Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CCC1329259 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Roofing Contractor

BBB records show a license number of CGC1505205 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified General Contractor

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Mack (Manager)Customer Contact: Robert S. Mack (Manager)Ms. Andrea Mack (Manager)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Remodeling Services - Foreclosed Property, Construction & Remodeling Services, Waterproofing Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - General, Building Restoration & Preservation

Products & Services

This company offers insurance based roofing and general contractor services for roof insulation, seamless roofing and shingles.

Service Area

Aloma, Apopka, Azalea Park, Bay Hill, Bay Lake, Belle Isle, Bithlo, Christmas, Clarcona, Conway, Doctor Phillips, Eatonville, Edgewood, Fairview Shores, Gotha, Holden Heights, Hunters Creek, Lake Buena Vista, Lake Butler, Lake Hart, Lockhart, Maitland, Meadow Woods, Oak Ridge, Oakland, Ocoee, Orlando, Orlovista, Paradise Heights, Pine Castle, Pine Hills, Sky Lake, South Apopka, Southchase, Taft, Tangelo Park, Tangerine, Tildenville, Union Park, Wedgefield, Williamsburg, Windermere, Winter Garden, Winter Park, Zellwood, Altoona, Astatula, Astor, Clermont , Eustis, Ferndale, Forest Hills, Fruitland Park, Groveland, Howie In The Hills, Lady Lake, Lake Kathryn, Lake Mack Park, Leesburg, Lisbon, Mascotte, Minneola, Montverde, Mount Dora, Mount Plymouth, Okahumpka, Paisley, Pine Lakes, Pittman, Silver Lake, Sorrento, Tavares, Umatilla and Alafaya.

Alternate Business Names
Nakitare Builders, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sustainable Roof Systems of Florida

1250 Commons Ct

Clermont, FL 34711-5349

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1250 Commons Ct 

    Clermont, FL 34711-5349

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sustainable Roof Systems of Florida is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (352) 857-0000
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.