BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2012

Rizzo Roofing, LLC

Phone: (407) 884-7663Fax: (407) 889-80823050 Holliday Ave, ApopkaFL 32703-6632 Send email to Rizzo Roofing, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2012

BBB has determined that Rizzo Roofing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rizzo Roofing, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rizzo Roofing, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: To Whom this may concern

I would to report to the BBB about Mr. ******* ***** the owner of Rizzo Roofing LLC.
My name is **** ****** and my husband *** *******. We decide to hire Mr. ***** because was the medley prize range.
Second of all he was recommended to us from our Chub House *********** in Williamsburg.
The roof was done since January 2014 in our house is on *********** in Williamsburg.
The roof was done we paid immediately.
I paid the Insurance Company here in Orlando that is Accent Brokers in full for the all year.
After that when I started to have a problem with Mr. *****.
Took a long time for him to send all the information to our Insurance Company Universal Property and Casualty Insurance Company.
By March 12/2014 I received a letter from Universal Property saying that our insurance was "Cancel for luck of documentation from Rizzo Roofing LLC.
He sent to us 2 sets of pictures about the new roof during the working ben done. I sent to Accent Brokers.
By May 29/2014 I received another letter from Universal Property saying that my insurance was cancel again.
I call Accent Brokers and she ask me the date on the letter, I gave the information and ********** ***** told me that she was going to contact Mr. ***** again.
A day after the date that was cancel June 11/2014 ********** ***** call me saying that he didn't.
On June 12/2014 I request her to do a three ways phone call to him.
Mr. ***** answer the phone saying that was on vacation and he won't be available until a week later. She told him I will send to your office the documents that we need from you. He said I have to provide his documents and I have it.
But he mention on the phone that he had those documents and ********** ***** told him I will send you the form that you need again by e-mail.
Has been since 6/12/2014. That he didn't answer her e-mail.
By the way the mean time I don't have Insurance in my house after I paid in full.

By 0615/14 I contact a Lawyer form Pre Pay Legal and the send him a letter notifying him about my situation. No answer.
I have been calling ********** ***** to see if he answer until today no answer from Mr. *****.
********** ***** call me today to see what we going to do about my insurance.
Today in the morning my husband call him and he said he never received any information from the insurance company and he doesn't have an Engineer because cost a lot money.
After I paid the new roof and the roofing company and the insurance company I don't have insurance after six month.

I will forward you the e-mail that was sent to him and the option that he has but when the Insurance Company call him he doesn't answer the phone .
About 4:00 PM I call his office again, after I call several times his cell phone and no answer, and his son answers saying that Mr. ***** was in the meeting.
I left a message for him to call my husband.
Please someone from your office contact me to have some idea what can we do about this irresponsible call business man.
Thank you very much for your attention.

Sincerely,


**** ****** & *** *******

Final Consumer Response
From: **** ****** (mailto:********@**********)
Sent: Friday, July 11, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: 'Better Business Bureau'
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

To whom this may concern

Yesterday I went to see Mr. *****. The address that he shown for his business is in his house. Yes we talk and the promise to send the documents.
He had to have a signature from his contractor to be able to send the documents to me.
Finally 6:19PM he sent the documents necessary signed.
Please dismiss the case.
Thank you very much

**** ** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: cleanup of surrounding home of roofing nails.
End of June 2013 new roof, clean up of roofing nails surrounding our home is unacceptable. Today, September 2, 2013 is the 4th time I have stepped on a old roofing nail. My complaint is this, company should have walked around our home with a medical detection device to located all the roofing nails in our mulched areas. I hope my wound will not get infected! Nail penetrated my footwear. My brother in Michigan just got a new roof and the company scanned his property around his home with a metal detecting device to ensure all debris was collected!

Initial Business Response
We have been there several times to pick up nails. Your grass is very thick and I apologize for any we may have missed. I am send out another wind mitigation report for you and going to have your yard checked again.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: They don't answer any phone calls about damage to our bushes, and they didn't provide a contractor signature for the Wind Mitigation discount.
They don't answer any phone calls (or email) about damage to our bushes. They burned these bushes to a crisp by laying a tarp over them for a whole day in the sun.

They also didn't provide a contractor signature that is required for the Wind Mitigation insurance discount.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******/*****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@rizzoroofingllc.com
I supplied a wind mitigation for the homeowner (when he paid me) with my signature that is accepted by 99% of insurance companies.His insurance company wouldn't accept my signature.I informed him that I would see what I could do.Since then have talk to Mr ****** several times about the issue just haven't found anyone to help him.He has not contacted us about the fee that he had to pay.I would of gladly helped him with the $75 and still well but I did provide a wind mitigation with my signature like I do to all my customers that I do complete reroofs on.I hope that he will call us so when can assist him in the $75.We have had no messages left by him either with our phone mail box.


Also I explained to the homeowner befor we signed about our process of laying tarps around property to collect all debris that falls from the roof.He liked that like most homeowners do.He metioned it to me when he paid me(was very happy asked for cards and referrel fee for him on others)I told him sorry about that we were trying to protect everything.He agreed said he just wanted to let me know and that it was ok.In all the times that we talked after completion trying to help him with wind mitigation he NEVER metioned it again.
thanks

****** ******
*****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can show you at least 10 emails that were sent to ******, without any reply. My phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX and this phone is answered 24/7 and 375 days a year. ****** has only returned (2) calls and he promised to help, but nothing was ever done, and further communications were ignored.

It's ironic that the roffing job was so well done, and yet "after the sale" communication just went unanswered. What if I had as problem with our roof. What does it take for him to return a phone call? I had to pay $75. for what ****** said he would take care of. I also have (2) bushes that were fried when they were covered (for 8 hours) in the sun. I sent pictures to ****** in my emails. No reply.

I would never treat my customers this way!

Business' Final Response
I have just spoken to him about this issue's.He had the wrong email address so I have given him the correct one(same one you had that was wrong)and my cell phone number to ensure he could contact me at anytime.We also agreed to split the price of the bushes at $100 each so I told him I would send out a check for $175 to him to cover the bush and the wind signature.thankyou for you assistance.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/23/2012Billing / Collection Issues
09/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: I paid for replacement of 2 J-Vents. This was never done as confirmed by 2 independent roof contractors.
Got proposal 3 May 2013 and visit to roof,23 May. I was very involved with landscaper so I did not check on the roof people. I did ask if they are sure they did it right as they were up on the roof for less than 10 minutes. This was justified by the owner as they were 4 people - the reason why it took such a short time. After confirmation - I paid. My house went on the market - sold within 7 days. Home inspection I disclose Rizzo proposal. After home inspection - I got feedback that no Vent was replaced and that the original flashing was still on the roof. I got 2 independent roof contractors - both confirmed that it was not done. I reported it back - owner insisted that service was done and promise to send photos about the repair. I suggest that owner meets with the roof contractor who claimed no service done. He was not prepared to do this. Next day- my husband phoned and said that Rizzo Roofing is at our house. They told him that they want to take photos. I asked him not to allow them on the roof - needless to say after 20 minutes after I got the phone call - I got home. Rizzo Roofing on my roof, with silicone sealer and paint in the hand. I told Rizzo about the feedback. The employee requested then to see the paperwork. In the presence of my husband he admit that he inspected the vents but did not replace it. I asked him why did they let me pay for it.
I emailed the Rizzo management regarding the confirmation of employee and requested my money back. He continued the dishonesty - sent the the pictures of the previous day and a receipt for the paid account. The pictures are clearly for cover up - and is definitely not proof for replacement. He did not get back to me as I was requesting a refund. I am shocked that the owner insist on doing the service while the employee openly acknowledge that no vent was replaced - he even sent a receipt repeating that the vents had been replaced. I can accommodate mistakes/misinterpretation of a job - but this is blatant dishonesty - to send me pictures of their second visit to the roof and set it up as if it was the first visit - should not be tolerate at all. I feel the fact that I did not watch them as I was busy - they took advantage to get paid for a job not done - as acknowledged by the employee doing the original visit.

Business' Initial Response
Ms. *******,
I am very sorry you feel this way but we did perform service and material use at your property.We removed the vents,fixed dry-in and seal vent from undervent,cleaned out, reinstalled, sealed lead and painted.We also performed a maintanence on property(cleaned valleys of debris,resealed header wall, and inspected o'hagans and sealed were necessary. I was actually able to save you money and future leaks . I thought this would benefit you more. I will be happy to replace those vents for you and GIVE you the maintenance for FREE. I am not in the business as you can tell from my record on *****'s list and the BBB of giving an unfair product to my customers. If I would of replaced those only and not did your other maintenance issues you would be having more future issues and that would of been unfair of me to replace something instead of maintaining it if possible and saving my customers money. If anything we could of handled this communication of service better before we performed work and tried to save you money. I will have your vents replaced at no extra charge. As far as the pictures we never said they were from the first visit. I specifically instructed my employees to take pictures so I could document what we did. I told them that you said they didn't do anything so I told them to show get me pictures of what they did. I was ready to terminate(1 of them was a 13 year employee and never ever had a complaint on his onsite work order change to help out customers) them for non work as I take my business very seriously. The customer always comes first. I would like to be there when they change out your vents to assure that you are 100% satisfied and to personally apologize for the misunderstanding. Please contact me on my cell(XXX-XXX-XXXX) or office(XXX-XXX-XXXX)so I can schedule something to fit your convenience or I will be happy to refund you $250 as a rebate for your inconvience. I will also issue a 5 year warranty instead of 1 year on those vents to a new owner with no problem for they have been properly done.
thanks for your patience and understanding.
****
RIZZO ROOFING LLC,
CCCXXX-XXXX
PRESIDENT

Consumer's Final Response
From: ********* *******
Sent: Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:26 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#9*******(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

Dear BBB

This is really unsatisfactory - I do not expect any free work. But I have paid for nothing. What service did they do that I ask if they need to do it for free. I have provided you with email that the employee of the provider himself admit that they did nothing. Now to let me pay for visiting but not doing anything is quite bad. Unfortunately I will be contacting Action 9 now as last resort. I am of cause very disappointed that your association just accepting the provider's answer that he cannot do anything for free. The value of being a member of BBB does not offer any protection.

Thank you for your time.

********* *******
XXX XXX XXXX

Business' Final Response
Rizzo Roofing Lllc, has tried to compromise the situation. The owner would not at all demanding a full refund for work that we performed. I offered a rebate of $300 but she will have no part of it unless she gets it all. I can not survive doing work for free. I am more that willing to work with her at any time(call our office anytime) and continue to extend an extended warranty to her to ensure her problems have been fixed.
thanks

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Polyurethane Products, Coatings - Protective, Siding Contractors, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Contractors - Gutters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/05/2005Business started: 09/01/2004Business started locally: 01/01/2005
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 North Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com

Orange County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of CCC1326452 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com. Certified Roofing Contractor.

Type: Certified Roofing Contractor

BBB records show a license number of 595158 for this company, issued by Orange County Occupational License. Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Rizzo (Manager)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Polyurethane Products, Coatings - Protective, Siding Contractors, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Contractors - Gutters

Products & Services

This company offers Certified Roofing Contractor services of Roofing Replacement, Roofing Repair, Roof Inspections, Design and Build for commercial and residential customers including new construction.

Residential services include gutters, heat block, siding systems and tile.

Commercial services include coating systems, flat roofs, liquid rubber, metal roofing and Polyurethane foam.

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday: 9AM - 5PM
Saturday: Closed- by appointment only
Sunday: Closed

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rizzo Roofing, LLC

3050 Holliday Ave

Apopka, FL 32703-6632

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3050 Holliday Ave 

    Apopka, FL 32703-6632

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rizzo Roofing, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.