BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/2000

Prestige Metal Roofing, Inc.

(407) 290-6203View Additional Phone Numbers6061 Cinderlane Pkwy Ste 100, OrlandoFL 32810-4781 Send email to Prestige Metal Roofing, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/2000

BBB has determined that Prestige Metal Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Prestige Metal Roofing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Prestige Metal Roofing, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rusted screws on metal roof
Problem is with rusted screw on metal roof.Manager named **** inspected the problem in May 2013.He left his business card in the door and upon contacting him again was assured that while they were busy,they were trying to find the correct color screws.Since then after numerous phone calls and emails, I have not been able to get a response!

Desired Settlement
Just replace rusting screws on roof.Paint beginning to stain.Roof has a lifetime guarantee and 25 year paint fade warranty.Screws should last at least that long.Company agreed it must have been a bad batch.Three other roofs on my block that were sold from the sign in my yard are ok.

Business Response
Mr. ******* did contact this office in the spring of this year complaining of rusted screws on his roof. He was informed that we would inspect his roof and take appropriate action. Our service department's policy is to prioritize service calls by need. We typically handle leaking roofs first, then other issues depending upon the severity and the possibility of continuing or exacerbating damage to the property. In Mr. *******'s case, his work was deemed to be able to wait until the more pressing repairs were completed. Upon clearing up other repairs we were completing Mr. *******'s work on the same day as we received this claim. He should not have any further issues.

One of the potential causes of this type of screw finish malfunction is an over aggressive cleaning regimen and also exposure to caustic or abrasive cleaning agents such as bleach or acid. Mr. ******* has been made aware of this and we have also sent him detailed instruction on the proper care and maintenance of his roof. We don't anticipate any further action being needed at this time on Mr. *******'s roof but stand by if necessary.

Consumer Response
From: ****** ******* <***********@live.com>
Date: Tue, Sep 3, 2013 at 12:28 PM
Subject: National Homecraft of Central Florida, Inc. (ID XXXXXXX)
To: ****@centralflorida.bbb.org

I have tried to resolve a problem with rusted screws on my metal roof for months. After a visit by ***** a supervisor, acknowledging the problem I have not received a response after numerous phone calls to the company and ***** cel phone. Emails have gone unanswered! I understand problems can arise and my problem is not a big concern, but a response would be warranted. Thank you for any help you can offer.

****** *******

XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
******************* with Mr. ******* at approximately 9:34am. He apologize for his computer issues he thought the BBB was receiving his emails that the complaint was resolved.
Mr. ******* indicated he had computer problems and been away for about a month. He stated the complaint was resolved and he was extremely please with National Homecraft of Central Florida, Inc.

09/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roof work completed in 2003 with Lifetime Warranty. Roof is leaking, caused significant damage and company stated it was out of warranty.
On August 5, 2003 I entered into a contract with National Homecraft to install a metal roof on my house. The metal roof came with a "Lifetime Warranty" with lifetime labor and 30 years manufacturers material warranties. The work was completed and I completed a payment to total $12,865. National Homecraft merged with Prestige Metal Roofing as it is a father/son company. I received communication from Presige Metal Roofing offering me referral rewards for referring customers.
On 06/29/2015, I noticed that there was something hanging from the underside of my roof that extends over the side of the house. When I looked closer, I noticed that the wood under the eave and the bottom of the roof was rotten, as were other areas along that side of the house and in the back of the house as well. I contacted a contractor to come and see what was causing the rotten wood.************************ came out and advised that my roof was leaking. On 6/30/15 I contacted Prestige Metal Roofing and advised them that I had a roof installed in 2003 by National Homecraft and had a leak. At 1055 AM, Joe from Prestige called and requested to met me at the house. I met him and he inspected the roof and took pictures. He advised that the roof was leaking and that he had not seen that type of roof and indicated that the area with a significant amount of damage had an aluminum roof, which I was not aware and it does not appear to state that on my contact. He stated that he would send the pictures to Bill in the office. By 7/1/15, I had not heard anything back so I called Prestige and left a message. Within an hour, a female returned my call and advised that Bill was out of the office and would return my call tomorrow, 7/2/15. I did not hear anything back from Prestige, so on 7/7/15 I called and left a message due to the fact that no one answered the phone. On 7/8/15, I called again, as I had not received a call back. A man answered the phone and asked to call me back, which he did within a few minutes. I identified myself and the reason for my call. He stated that Bill was out of town, but he would call him and either himself or Bill would call me back. Bill called me back within 30 minutes. He advised that he was out of town tending to a family emergency but that he had pulled my file prior to going out of town. He stated that the flat roof that was built up only carried a 10 year warranty and that after 10 years it needed to be resealed and that was written on my contract. I advised him that I would check my contract. When I arrived home, I located my contract and read it several times. I could not find anywhere on the contract that would indicate a 10 year warranty. I called Bill back at the number he had previously called me and left him a message indicating that I checked my contract and did not see what he was referring to and requested he call me back as soon as he got back into town. On 7/09/15, I called the office and spoke to Cindy. I advised her of the conversation I had will Bill the previous day and she indicated that Bill would be in later. I was confused and advised her that I thought he was out of town on a family emergency and she said he was back and at the Building Department. I requested an email address for Bill but she would only give me her email address. ***********@tampabay.rr.com. I requested that the document that Bill spoke about showing a 10 year warranty be sent to me. I additionally sent an email requesting the document, but did not hear back from the company at all. I have not attempted contact again, but feel that I have given them ample time to process my request and get back with me.

Desired Settlement
The resolution I am requesting is that all damage to the wood caused by the leak in my roof be corrected and replaced with weather resistant wood and primed and painted to match the color of the house. That the build-up that was completed in 2003 be done correctly; with wood and re-roofed to match the rest of the house. Re-roofing of the built up area may jeoprodize the integrity of the remainder of the roof (attempting to tie in), I request that the entire roof be removed, checked for damages,any damage to an underlying area be repaired and that the entire roof be replaced with a new metal roof that also carries a Lifetime warranty.

Business Response
I have reviewed customer's complaint. I have had my office leave message with her that I would like to meet with her to assess options, and resolve this matter.
G. McKinney II

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Metal Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Orange County Business Tax Receipt
http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of 0508679 for this company, issued by Orange County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 1806-0508681 for this company, issued by Orange County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CCC033709 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr. Certified Roofing Contractor.

Type: Certified Roofing Contractor

BBB records show a license number of CGC058169 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr. Certified General Contractor.

Type: Certified General Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2000, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerald W. McKinney II ( President)Customer Contact: Ms. Cyndi Doyle (Office Manager)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Metal Roofing

Products & Services

This company offers residential metal roofing: sales, installation and services.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Prestige Metal Roofing, Inc.

6061 Cinderlane Pkwy Ste 100

Orlando, FL 32810-4781

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6061 Cinderlane Pkwy Ste 100 

    Orlando, FL 32810-4781

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Prestige Metal Roofing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 807-6511
  • (321) 254-3400

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (407) 290-6316
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.