BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/15/2004

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/15/2004

BBB has determined that Oviedo Roofing Enterprises Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Oviedo Roofing Enterprises Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Oviedo Roofing Enterprises Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oviedo Roofing damaged my home, negligently installed materials, used "bait & switch" tactic to charge 30% more, and did not fulfill contract terms.
Regarding our contract dated August 25, 2014 and job completion date Sept. 30, 2014 (supporting docs included):
1. Oviedo Roofing's negligent, faulty, lackadaisical application of roofing materials during an extreme downpour on 9/26/14 resulted in flood damage to my master bathroom. Installers refused to stop installation during the downpour (despite best practices and repeated admonitions), removed flashing, and did not replace in time to prevent a deluge from cascading down the wall of my bathroom and soaking insulation, walls, shelving, floors, and construction material. Immediately following, owner ******* ***** was aware of damage and insisted he was fully responsible.
2. On a daily basis installers would apply roofing materials in extreme downpours despite direct orders from foremen (and often from me) not to.
3. Oviedo Roofing implemented "bait and switch" tactics used to secure my business and then increase our agreed-upon contract price by 30% (from $12,490 to $16,490).
4. Oviedo Roofing failed to provide me with regular updates of the escalating price before work was completed.
5. Oviedo Roofing unnecessarily removed and replaced en masse roofing deck without my authorization (in large part resulting in the surprise 30% price increase).
6. Upon completion of work, owner ******* ***** visited my property, acknowledged negligence and unfair business practices, and agreed to accept $15,901 (a 28% increase from agreed-upon contract price) and agreed to reroof my boat dock. After prompt payment in full (see supporting doc), Oviedo Roofing never returned to reroof boat dock.
7. Mr. ***** and Oviedo Roofing refuse to return my calls. I spoke with office staff (*****) 4 times during the week of 12/8/14 (I can provide supporting docs) requesting to speak with Mr. ***** to no avail. On 1/7/15, I notified via email Mr. ***** and Oviedo Roofing of my intention to file this complaint (I can provide supporting docs) and still did not receive a response.

Desired Settlement
Cost of master bathroom damage repair and cost of boat dock reroof.

Business Response
Our attorney has been communicating with
The business responded to this complaint but asked that its response not be published.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept Mr. *****'s response. Mr. *****'s use of the word "extort" is offensive and an attempt to tarnish, taint, slander, misrepresent facts and harm my otherwise spotless reputation. If Mr. ***** wanted to "resolve any concern" he would have responded to my numerous attempts to contact him last year (as detailed in my original complaint) and resolve this dispute amicably. Mr. *****'s attorney has not been "communicating" with me; he issued me one email/letter on January 19 inviting me to discuss the matter with his office and insisting Mr. ***** is "open to discussion." Despite this offer, I have since received no communication from Mr. ***** nor his attorney, even after my reply (copied and pasted below). I am a reasonable person. My intention from the beginning was to have a reasonable conversation with Mr. ***** about the inconvenience, damage, and unexpected additional cost caused by this project. I will settle this dispute for the cost of repairs to my bathroom which Mr. *****'s attorney admitted occurred during the roofing process which, as I detail in my response below, were not "acts of God."

From: **** **********
To: **** ** *********
Cc: "*******.*****"
Sent: Thursday, January 29, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: Re: Oviedo Roofing Enterprises, Inc.

Mr. *********,
Thank you for your correspondence. It is refreshing considering my many unsuccessful attempts to contact Mr. ***** and Oviedo Roofing over the past month via telephone and email to discuss this matter. It is also refreshing and frankly surprising that Oviedo Roofing remains, as you say, open to discussion despite Mr. *****'s unwillingness to return my phone calls and emails. I enjoyed meeting with and spending time with Mr. ***** at my residence in September, appreciated his willingness as a business owner to appear in person and "make things right," gained respect for his character for taking full responsibility for the sub-par workmanship and his admission that the unsatisfactory service I received was highly unusual, and accepted his conciliatory offer to slightly reduce the increased invoice price and to re-roof my boat dock. He even repeatedly thanked me for my "grace." That said, it confounds me and truly disappoints me that Mr. ***** chooses to no longer communicate with me and instead has asked you to correspond with me.

Mr. *********, let me ask you directly - your position is that Mr. ***** denies his promise he made to me at my residence with witnesses present to re-roof my boat dock as compensation for the inconvenience, damage, and unexpected additional cost caused by this project?

Perhaps Mr. ***** has not made you aware that he and my contractor, for a reason undisclosed to me, could not come to terms on the second phase of roofing at my residence (a newly completed addition). I suspect Oviedo Roofing not securing this second phase contract is largely the reason Mr. ***** has chosen to ignore my calls to which he should be reminded that my contractor's decisions are his own and have no bearing on the agreement that I entered into with Oviedo Roofing on August 25.

The damage caused to my master bathroom resulted not from an act of God, but rather from the installers' lack of diligence to properly and hastily reinstall flashing material before the severe downpour. My contractor's appearance or lack thereof is immaterial as the problem resulted not from stucco that had been removed, but rather from flashing that had been removed by Oviedo Roofing installers. My contractor can testify to this. Incidentally, this explanation was also provided to me by the onsite foreman who observed the damage as it was occurring. He admitted fault as did Mr. *****. As I'm sure you know, Mr. *********, stucco is not waterproof - flashing, when properly installed, is. Furthermore, as soon as the flashing during the downpour was properly installed, the water intrusion ceased. Regardless, assuming your claim is correct, no roofer employing best practices should remove any material that makes a home vulnerable to water intrusion during the rainy summer season when severe weather is forecast with the expectation that a "general contractor was to redo the stucco the next day."

My contractor did not state it was merely a baseboard that was damaged. Also, the amount of water that flooded my master bathroom was sizable. I can provide numerous photographs illustrating the damage caused to the drywall, insulation, walls, shelving, floors, and construction material due to the large amount of water that penetrated. I can also provide the cost to repair all materials.

With regard to the increase in price, I think you'd agree a 30% difference from the contract price to the final invoice is not reasonable. I know this because I've consulted with several roofers and contractors who agree that a 30% increase is highly unusual and far from reasonable, especially on a roof that had last been replaced only 10 years ago. Mr. ***** himself agreed the increase was unusual. More so, it's bad business and a bad business practice. Florida law, as you know, provides protection for consumers from unreasonable "up" charges. Oviedo Roofing staff could have and should have kept me abreast of the extreme increase especially because, fittingly, it is Oviedo Roofing's policy to do so. Initially, office staff did inform me daily via phone call of the amount of wood that had been removed. After the first several days of work, those phone calls ceased leading me to believe the further replacing of wood had ceased.

All of the details in my email to Oviedo Roofing are factual and honest, far from attempts to slander or defame. My attorney has reviewed this response and I can certainly engage him in further discussions and to vigorously defend my rights as a consumer.

Let me be clear - I am not a satisfied customer with good reason. If it is truly Oviedo Roofing's intention to include me among its list of satisfied customers, Mr. ***** should have responded to my numerous attempts to contact him without having to lodge a complaint. Satisfying a customer begins with the simplest of customer service etiquette: returning a phone call. Mr. ***** had infinite opportunities to return my calls, email me, or visit me in person as he had done in the past. In fact, had Mr. ***** communicated with me in the same forthcoming, humble, professional manner in which he'd made the boat dock re-roofing offer in the first place, and had he explained his reasoning for suddenly retracting his request (i.e. financial hardship, not being selected by my contractor for the second phase), I might have accepted his explanation and might have continued to hold him in high regard.

I, too, remain open to discussion. My numerous attempts at contacting Mr. ***** were aimed at resolving this dispute amicably. I'm still hopeful this is possible.


Final Business Response
Oviedo Roofing and Mr. ********** have reached an amicable confidential resolution.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oviedo Roofing was hired to repair our gravel roof after a leak. They replaced the entire roof for $18,000 but failed to stop the leak.
Oviedo Roofing was hired to repair our gravel roof. The replaced the entire roof but failed to stop the leak.

Desired Settlement
Fix the leak.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@oviedoroofing.com
We were called about a potential leak and customer requested we meet with their tennant ***** as we must see inside to determine area & origin of reported leak.
After several calls to tenant **** set an appointment to meet. Upon looking at the leak it was determined the top of masonary chimney was deterioted and needed to be repaired so on 1/13/2015 an estimate was emailed to the owner and a response was received the same day but there was a question about why we had not forseen this deficency.
We have determined the masonary chimney must be re-pointed or re-stuccoed by a masonary contractor we do not perform this type of work so the owner will have to provide them as our original contract states, we may assit with this if needed but this was not part of our scope of work.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The answer does not explain why the leak was not identified by Oviedo Roofing when they inspected the roof in response to the same leak in July 2014. Following the July inspection Oviedo Roofing recommended roof replacement and gave an estimate of $15,485 on 7/7/14. They completed the job on 8/27/14 for a final charge of $17,068.75. As of 12/24/14 the leak remained a problem and has not been repaired. When asked to address the problem Oviedo Roofing submitted an estimate for an additional $675.

Final Business Response
To clarify as a roofing contractor our rep made an assesment and provided an estimate for roof replacement based on the age and condition of roof. Upon initial site visit our rep looked at roof , exposed wood, roof componets, & best material for for roof type, this is tenant occupied and we were not provided access to interior until a possible roof leak was reported.
As we have stated this leak is related to the top of masonary chimney and cracks on the side of masonary Chimney that is held together with metal bands and pathched so it must have been a previously know problem before we ever replaced roof.
We will assit owner with this if need but a masonary contractor or stucco contractor must do chimney as the roof is not the issue.
We permitted this re-roof project with City of Maitland follow building codes and passed the required in progress inspection and dryin inspections.
Maitlands records show this chimney was built in 1958 and all exterior components even masonary need periodic maintenence.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Roof Decks, Roof Structures, Roofing Materials, Commercial Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Contractor - Flat Roof

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/15/2004Business started: 01/31/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CCC1326813 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Roofing Contractor

BBB records show a license number of HI1082 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Home Inspector

BBB records show a license number of MRSA282 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Mold-Related Services

BBB records show a license number of MRSR381 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Mold-Related Services

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2005, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Patrick Scott (President)
Contact Information
Mrs. Rebecca Scott (Operations)
Related Businesses
Clermont Roofing, Inc. - 802 S US Highway 27, Minneola, FL
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Roof Decks, Roof Structures, Roofing Materials, Commercial Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Contractor - Flat Roof

Products & Services

This company is in the business of Residential and Commercial Roofing, specializing in Repair and Re-Roofing of all types of roofing materials. Other services include New Roof Installations.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Oviedo Roofing.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Oviedo Roofing Enterprises Inc.

569 Lagoon Dr

Oviedo, FL 32765-6219

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 802 S US Highway 27 

    Minneola, FL 34715-2703

  • 569 Lagoon Dr 

    Oviedo, FL 32765-6219

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Oviedo Roofing Enterprises Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 849-7663
  • (407) 849-4005
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.