BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1986

Fleming Brothers Roofing

Phone: (407) 366-4894Fax: (407) 366-4897

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/15/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company has not sent warranty for work done 5 months after bill paid and multiple calls
August 2015 contract signed to replace leaking roof and deposit paid.
November 2015 roof not replaced until Thanksgiving because of "rainy" season. Threat to cancel may have helped. Total $25,000 paid November.
January 2, 2016 Final $1000 paid with promise to repair damaged carpentry in next few weeks.
Feb.26 Carpentry done. Manufacturers warranty and
Builder's warranty with picture packet promised.
April 2016- manufacturer's warranty received
May 2016 no builder's warranty in spite of multiple calls

Desired Settlement
Builder's warranty with photos as per our original contract.
With current level of customer service, I am not optimistic of the warranty's value, but need it for legal coverage.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Mike Fleming
Contact Phone: 4073664894
Contact Email: fbroofinginc@yahoo.com
On August 10, 2015 Mr. ***** entered into a contract to reroof his home. This contract was entered into under the premise that work would not initiate until the winter months due to the complexity of the installation. The roof installation consisted of custom materials which were fabricated for the home. All materials needed to be fabricated as well as installation needed to commence after the rainy season concluded. On November 23, 2015 the county issued the permit to work and we commenced shortly thereafter. The roof install was completed and inspected in December of 2015. Mr. ***** received his workmanship warranty in hand which is dated December 10, 2015. The material warranty for his metal roofing portion is not something that is issued by us but from its manufacturer. Once we received the warranty from the metal manufacturer is was given to Mr. *****. As for pictures of the roof, no where in our contract does it state anything about providing pictures to customers. As a courtesy, Mike Fleming captured a few photos on his phone from roof top view in order to show the *****s areas of their roof which were not able to be seen from street view. This took place on January 29, 2016 while we were meeting to collect final payment for our completed project. There was never a discussion about wanting any of the photos which were shown to the *****s at that time. The photos that Mr. ***** is referring to have been attached to this response for his viewing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Workmanship warranty not received. If available, please forward. Photos were promised originally and several times thereafter were discussed and requested. Why wait till after hurricane season to replace roof? Winter was not in the discussion.

Final Business Response
Please find the attached copy of the warranty that was previously given to Mr. *****. All photos were uploaded to the previous response. As we stated in our previous response due to the complexity of the installation it was arranged with the *****'s that commencement of work would not take place until after the rainy season. The response to our response does not seem to warrant any additional information and we hope this satisfies the initial complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
FINALLY! This is the first copy we have received. Case closed.

11/26/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a warranty on a roof that Fleming Brothers Roofing repaired and they have not come out to fix it.
In February of 2012, I paid Fleming Brothers Roofing to fix a leak on my back porch aluminum roof. They quoted me around $3000, which was higher than any other quote I received. However, I decided to go with them because they were offering a 3 year warranty. Well, for over 5 months and over 10 phone calls later, they still have not come out to follow through with their warranty and fix the leak. At the times that I spoke to an owner, instead of the receptionist, they would promise that they would be out there as soon as possible but then not call me back like they promised. The one time they did come out to check on the leak and not for a repair, they went an hour before the appointment time so I was not able to meet my renter there to speak to them in person. Luckily the renter was there so they could at least show them the leak. Now, the rainy season is over, so I won't be able to tell if they actually do fix the leak. I think this was their plan all along.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to extend the warranty from February of 2015 to November of 2015, so I can see if the leak is actually fixed through another rainy season. If they really stand behind their work and know that they will do a good job in repairing it this time, then this should be no problem.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********, Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@yahoo.com
Hello Ms. *****,

We have been out to your rental property on a few occasions to ***** your area of concern. However, the weather has not been cooperative in allowing us to do the work we need to do. Now that the rainy season has passed, we will be out to address this area. Once the area has been addressed, I will gladly extend the warranty on that particular area, as per your request, to November of 2015. We will be in contact with you so that you may coordinate with your tenant. As always, we appreciate your business and we will continue to stand behind our warranty.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for standing behind your warranty. I look forward to hearing from you soon to fix the leak in the roof.

01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Shingles, Contractor - Metal Roofing

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.