BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/10/2013

Batterbee Roofing, Inc.

Find a Location

(352) 748-63004049 NE 120th Xing, OxfordFL 34484-2919 Send email to Batterbee Roofing, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/10/2013

BBB has determined that Batterbee Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Batterbee Roofing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Batterbee Roofing, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted Business to do a re-roof in March 2016. June 28th the job is not done and not rescheduled. Building roof has severe leak and mold issues
My name is *************, I'm the Treasurer of the ************ subdivision located in Tavares Florida. I am having a problem with a Roofing contractor.

We have an Iconic building at the entrance to the Development. The ********** has an operating water wheel that sets the theme to our Development.

January 2016 we had an insurance inspection prior to the renewal of our Policy. The inspector found the roof to be leaking water into the ceiling and its attendant mold as a result of a few storms that took shingles from the roof.

We contacted three roofing contractors so Quotes could be submitted to the membership to select a contractor. One of those quotes was from a member of the Home Advisor group advertising pre-screened professionals.

A representative of BatterBee Roofing called soon after I filled out the questionnaire. He came out to inspect the building and was shown the extent of the water damage that was caused by the leaking roof, as well he was made aware of the insurance requirement that the roof be repair as soon as possible to prevent further damage to the inside of the building.

The estimate submitted was the highest of the three quotes and was accepted because the explanation of the work to be done was extensive with quality materials.

The contract was signed March 24, 2016. I was then given a date of June 16th for the roof replacement. A procedural call a week before commencement of the re-roof was received and the job was still on Schedule. A day before commencement the Job was cancelled because of weather with a promise of a reschedule. The reschedule call was not received.

I have since contacted them on June 17, 19th,20th,and 23rd.

Our leak is getting worse and our membership is getting concerned about the job ever getting done. I expressed my desire to Jasper to cancel the contract to get another roofer so we can save the building. He response was there is a 20% cancellation fee as well as expenses. No concern was shown for the building and it's worsening condition.

A permit (**********) was pulled online March 29,2016. That permit will soon expire.
They do not respond to my calls and I have not heard from anyone at the organization as of the 28th of June 2016.

I need help getting their attention, perhaps the vigorish was the business plan.

Thank You

BatterBee Roofing
**************
Ocala FL

Office: **********************
Oxford, FL 34484

****************************
***************************

*************
Treasurer ************ HOA
*******************
**********************
*******************************

Desired Settlement
BatterBee should either do the Job or cancel the contract in writing if they are unable to perform according to the contract. They are aware of the continued deterioration of the building do to the roof leaks. In the end our membership will decide what further action to take to satisfy the requirement of our insurance company and preserve our Building.

Business Response
We have resolved the issue personally with the homeowner and have apologized immensely for the inconvenience and frustration he has forgone with the weather delays with this roofing project. Batterbee contacted the homeowner just after receiving the above complaint. Due to weather we were unable to complete the project on the install date of 6/17. It was 50-60% chance of rain that day and due to the weather and being a responsible roofing contractor we canceled the replacement of the roof. We notified the homeowner it would be 2-3 weeks on the 17th. The complexity of his project required a special crew that we had pre-booked and couldn't risk of delaying weeks of scheduled jobs. Due to the weather on the 17th the homeowner wanted to cancel he contract. We informed him if he wanted to cancel there would be a 20% cancelation per the terms of the agreement because we are not held responsible for the weather and we had already purchased his special order shingles and a permit. It took 2 weeks to get the project back onto the calendar. Batterbee Roofing was never made aware that the building was experiencing leaks, had we known as a courtesy we would have temporarily patched the roof as we do with any customers that sign a contract with Batterbee Roofing prior to replacing the roof. We have given the home owner a new install date and plan to be there within next week to complete the job. Thank you for choosing Batterbee Roofing. We appreciate your business.

Consumer Response

I had submitted complaint ******** on June 28 2016. I wish to withdraw that complaint as the issue has been satisfactorily resolved. How do I go about withdrawing a complaint from the BBB.

*************
************
**************************


Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/31/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CCC1326176 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Roofing Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1995, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Batterbee (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Justin Blandford (Manager)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing

Products & Services

This company offers Certified Roofing Contractor services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Batterbee Roofing, Inc.

4049 NE 120th Xing

Oxford, FL 34484-2919

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 333 SE 69th Pl 

    Ocala, FL 34480-6402

  • 4049 NE 120th Xing 

    Oxford, FL 34484-2919(352) 748-6300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Batterbee Roofing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.