BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/2007

B & D Roofing

Find a Location

Phone: (386) 734-6663Fax: (386) 738-74451955 S Spring Garden Ave, DelandFL 32720-4470 Send email to B & D Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/2007

BBB has determined that B & D Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised B & D Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on B & D Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/19/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Roof leak not fixed correctly. B&D called back several times. Came back 3 times. Still not fixed. B&D will not respond to emails or phone calls.
On 3/25/2013 B&D Roofing hired to fix a roof leak. After multiple calls saying the roof was not fixed, they did come back 3 times to attempt to fix the leak. The leak was never fixed satisfactorily as there is now extensive damage to inside of the house. I have multiple pictures to show the extent of the damage. Since then I have called B&D several times every month, leaving a voice mail message concerning my situation and asking them to call me back. No one has ever responded to my 2 years of phone messages . On 1/26/2015 I went on the website for the company. There was a section where you could contact the company by email. I wrote an email again explaining my situation and asked them to please contact me to fix my roof leak that was never properly fixed by their company. As of this date, I have not heard from anyone from the company. I feel they are responsible for fixing the leak they were hired to do and now fix the drywall of my ceiling. As stated, I have many pictures showing the damage and the original warranty signed on 3/25/2013 stating their work is covered by a three (3) year warranty.

Desired Settlement
B&D hired to fix roof leak. Not done satisfactory as it contained to leak. B&D called multiple times, finally came back 3 times. Roof leak was never fixed. Extensive damage done to inside ceiling from rains.

Business Response
I'll start this response by saying I've been a member of the BBB since 1997 if my partnership with my uncle of B & D Roofing of St. Augustine counted. I myself have been a member since 2007 and in those 17 years I've never had a complaint filed...there's a good reason for that...we try and do quality work.
With that being said and being in business for myself for so long I've come to the conclusion some people just don't want to be satisfied.
Yes we did a chimney repair for this client and it did leak again. We went back out at least 2 or 3 times at which time we told the client what we did isn't leaking but the chimney siding needed to be replaced. 2 years later the client still hasn't chose to reside the chimney. The leak is not going to stop today or in the future if water can get behind the siding which I might add has no waterproof barrier behind it for some reason.
As far as not calling back or returning emails in my defense I'd like to get phone records to prove otherwise..totally not true. I have a block on the clients emails because her son sent me a virus over a year ago.
With all this said I'd have to say I'm very sad I didn't make this owner happy. I've lived in this town for 34 years and never want a dissatisfied customer. This has been very stressful especially when I sent 2 employees to the clients home within a day of the complaint and the client told my guys you are wasting your time I'm going to take your boss to small claims court. So much for getting the BBB involved if the client is only interested in taking me to court. We tried once again to let the client know we were willing to help but if the problem isn't addressed the problem will still be there.
At this point I'm willing to give a complete refund of $980 and pay $500 for drywall damage that already existed. I think this is more than fair. . If this is agreeable I consider the case closed. I will have a check to the client within 10 days of confirmation of agreement.
I hope this will satisfy both the client and the BBB. It's unfortunate it had to come to this but life is short and we move forward.
Regards, **** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I believe this shows good faith by the company to keep his customers satisfied. Since apparently there was never a leak in my roof, I will use the refunded money to have the siding fixed where the company feels the leak is located. Please have the company send the check to my home address. Thank you for resolving this matter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Commercial Roofing

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1997Business started locally: 06/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395

Volusia County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of CCC1328290 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is

Type: Certified Roofing Contractor

BBB records show a license number of 200709260017-01 for this company, issued by Volusia County Occupational License.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William C Glenn (President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Commercial Roofing

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial roofing contractor services, including re-roofs, repairs and maintenance.

Service Area

Volusia County, Seminole County, Orange County and surrounding areas. Cities include but not limited to: Daytona Beach, Port Orange, Holly Hill, Ormond Beach, Ponce Inlet, Daytona Beach Shores, Osteen, New Smyrna Beach, Edgewater, South Daytona, Flagler Beach, Debary, Orange City, Deland, Deltona, Lake Helen, Sanford, Lake Mary, Orlando, Winter Park, Maitland, Longwood, Winter Springs and surrounding areas.

Alternate Business Names
B & D Roofing of Central Florida Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for B & D Roofing

1955 S Spring Garden Ave

Deland, FL 32720-4470

To | From


2 Locations

  • 1955 S Spring Garden Ave 

    Deland, FL 32720-4470

  • 813B Flight Line Blvd Unit 22 

    Deland, FL 32724-2062

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*B & D Roofing is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.