BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AAA

Phone: (407) 444-7000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

55 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues10
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service37
Total Closed Complaints55

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (55)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: AAA Website does not support customers who change their address from their original membership state.
I live out of an RV and move from State to State. When I move I change my address and let all businesses know including AAA. I received my bill at my current (Colorado) address. When I attempted to pay it online I was able to login to the AAA South website and recognized but then was denied the ability to pay due to a 'zip code' issue. I then followed the website's directions to use the Colorado AAA website. That website denied my login therefore forcing me to waste my time calling AAA customer service to pay my bill by phone. AAA: I do not believe in auto-payment programs so don't suggest that as a remedy.

Initial Business Response
We apologize for the inconvenience. AAA is a federation of independent club affiliates, each responsible for the provision of member service within its geographic region. You can visit your AAA clubs local web page by visiting***************** . This will redirect you to your correct AAA clubs website. Thank you for your feedback.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I purchased the AAA membership and have not been able to receive the services as indicated by the membership
I relocated from FL to MD. I contacted AAA in April of 2013 and provided my updated MD address. I was contacted by AAA in Florida to pay the annual premium in July. I paid the annual premium but instead of transferring my membership to MD my membership was updated for the State of Florida. 3/27 my car broke down on the way to the repair shop. I called AAA and could not get service. I paid directly for the tow and submitted the receipts. It was reimbursed in full. After multiple calls about the membership and hours on the phone I was told that my membership had been transferred to MD but in fact this was not the case. The representatives receive incentives to get the annal membership... so everyone has been trying to get me to pay for the membership again when it's not really due until July... and this is when the membership will actually be transferred. As a result of the two clubs being under two different umbrellas..


5/22 I hit a pot hole that broke a ball bearing. I called AAA - they came and picked me and my car up.

My AAA Mid Atlantic Membership (which is what I thought I had since I'd been told that the membership was transferred) offers rental reimbursement for Premier members. I rent a car for one day as per my membership.

I submit the receipts and receive a letter that I'm a basic member and that's why they can't reimburse me.

I can't South to pay and I can't get Mid Atlantic to pay... none of this would have happened if when I made my payment last year I was transferred to Mid Atlantic

Business Response
The member did receive follow-up from her AAA club. The AAA club addressed the members concern and applied a reimbursement. Any further questions please call XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Consumer Response
From: **** ********
Sent: Wednesday, August 06, XXXX X:XX AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXX)
Importance: Low

They contacted me and resolved the issue.

Thx

Sent from my iPhone

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Basically this complaint could be filed as a fraud case because, I NEVER approved of the service. An employee at this place signed up to make quota.
AAA agent ******** ***** contacted me back in 2012 trying to get me to sign up for AAA insurance. ******** was working to meet an end of the year sales quota and desperately wanted to push this insurance policy. I advised ******** that was already covered by USAA insurance but if she could offer me something lower than what I was currently paying with USAA that I would consider switching to AAA. I worked with her for a few days and we could never agree on a price.

******** created an AAA policy for me, I signed off on it and she used her own credit card to pay for the policy. She then cancelled the plan (or told me that it was cancelled) and told me that I didn't have to worry about it. So in essence correspondence received from AAA in the mail I considered null and void and was shredded.

On Sunday, March 16, 2014, I received an alert that there were changes to my credit score that I needed to review. When I checked my credit it showed that a new account had been added to my credit history and that the account was in collections and I owed this company $275.00. The collection agency is AWA Collections. I called their contact number: XXX-XXX-XXXX. I spoke with a lady named ******* who advised me that this charge was coming from an AAA account opened in 2012. I told her I did not have an AAA plan and asked how to get this removed. She stated the ONLY way to have it cleared was to pay the balance.

I called the AAA at the Irving, TX location. I spoke to some guy named *******. He advised me that there was a policy created for me in 2012. The policy was created, cancelled, and then somehow reopened? I advised ******* that I did not pay for that account and any notices that AAA had been sending were going to my old address in Frisco, TX. It has been WELL over a year since I lived at this address. I also advised ******* that the credit card used to pay for the policy did not belong to me.

He put his supervisor ****** on the phone and she gave me the last 4 digits of the card and asked if it was my Visa. I explained to her that I do not have a Visa card and the situation as to how this account was created. She advised me that she would speak with ******** and call me back in a few hours.

****** never called me back that day. The next day, I called AAA again and again, no one answered so I left a second message for ******. I called the customer service department of AAA and talked to a guy named *****. Apparently no one at AAA keeps a call log because I had to re-explain my issue all over again. ***** then transferred me to an agent named****. ***** did not bother to explain to**** what my issue was because I had to repeat my issue all over again.**** advised me that once AAA sends an account to collections that there is nothing AAA can do and I would have to call and speak to a supervisor at AWA Collections... I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told that ALL the supervisors were in a meeting and that she would take my number and have someone call me back. I told her I had already gotten a promised phone call from another supervisor who never called me back. I asked for a phone number to reach a supervisor and she stated that she did not have the supervisor's direct phone number and she promised someone would call me back. That call back also never happened...

I ended the call and called first AAA number where ******* and ****** worked This time I spoke to someone named *****. I asked to speak with ****** and ***** advised me that she was working in the Lewisville office and transferred me to ******. ****** was on a call, so ***** took my name and number and said ****** would call me back. ****** did call back later that day and advised me that her supervisor was going to "backdate" the charge in their system which would remove it from the collection status and that I would receive a notice in the mail letting me know about the changes made. Never heard from ****** again.

Business Response
The AAA club did make contact with the customer and resolved her concern.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: AAA adopts unethical marketing and charges credit card even after cancellation 6 years ago
I have cancelled my membership with AAA in 2006 when I bought a car at that time with car assistance program. AAA initially sent 'regret' letters and marketed to provide me membership with discount prices. I did not call back to renew.
Recently when I saw my credit card transaction details(which coincided with an issuance of new credit card number recently), I saw AAA charges for the year for 2014. When I called AAA, they say they do not have any record of cancellation!

Here is the two questions:
1. What happened to my original cancellation and why would I be offered promotional prices and charged automatically without my consent and when I did not give any permission to re-enroll?

2. AAA charged my new credit card number which was never shared with AAA and how did they become arrogant to charge new credit card numbers without my verbal or written consent?

I am not sure how many people were charged AFTER they expressly cancelled membership and had good faith that AAA will stop cancelling. Obviously they have marketing and leading to gimmicky practices of regret and charging the customer when not looking. Considering some of the vulnerable members they might have, who do not look at statements for sometime are a perfect bait for these type of yearly charges.


Business Response
Response was posted on 3/20/14. Per the AAA club policy, there will be no refund of the member dues. The membership will cancel at the expiration date. If Mr. ***** wishes to discuss further, please refer him to his local AAA club, AAA Mid-Atlantic XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/02/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of services

Complaint: I moved from FL to CA an paid AAA to renew my membership in CA. I have called 4 times over a month and I still don't have my new membership card.
I have paid for my new membership, but I still don't have a membership card. I paid for this back in early February. I had moved from FL to CA in September, and they explained that they transferred my membership from FL to CA. Three separate agents promised to mail out a membership card, yet I still have not received one. each time i call back, they tell me that my membership is showing up as expired in their system, despite me having a receipt of payment. I also submitted a request for reimbursement for an auto locksmith back in early February, and each time I call they say they never received it. each time i call I am put on hold or transferred 3-5 times. this is a really simple request - just mail me my membership card and $60 reimbursement check please.

Initial Business Response
The AAA club spoke with the member and apologized for the negative experience. The member has received the reimbursement check and is satified with the resolution.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I finally received my membership card and check. thank you

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 8
03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: My Vehicle had a corroded battery terminal, which needed simple onsite cleaning. Instead, I got damage to my starter and frame damage from a bad tow.
I called you (AAA) when my vehicle would not start. You (AAA), then hired********* Towing to assist me, they are under contract to you and work for you. After the fact. it was determined by a professional mechanic who has been in business over 30 years, that all I needed was basic battery repair. I had a corroded positive terminal which was interrupting the connection between the battery cable and battery terminal. A simple on-site cleaning and re-tightening of the cable fixes my problem in less than 5 minutes and I am on my way without a tow. Instead, an inexperienced tow truck driver responds and takes a metal pipe and beats my starter to death. Then after he disables my starter, which was in perfect working order, he hooks the tow truck up to the wrong locations on my vehicle's frame. I now have a bent frame and was the victim of a bad tow.

I am very disappointed in the customer service that I have received reference this complaint. I am now being harassed by********* Towing at my work, which is totally unacceptable. There is absolutely no reason for them to be calling my Employer. They could have only received this info from you (AAA).

In closing, I want this resolved now. This is absolutely ridiculous, and dates back to last July 2013.

Initial Business Response
AAA Carolina's has spoken with the ******'s regarding their concern. The AAA club asked the ******'s for more information on 1/21/14 to resolve their concern. The ******'s have not followed back-up with the AAA club. Please advise Mr. ****** to contact AAA Carolina's at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please tell me what I have to do to get this matter resolved. I feel that I have been more than patient but I have finally reached my limit. I have been in conversation with AAA Carolinas since last July and I have provided them with all the requested information over and over again. I am stuck in a vicious cycle with them and it needs to be stopped. I have emails from AAA Carolinas in which they accept liability for the damage, please see below. Again, I have provided statements, estimates, photos, and paid receipts. Please, for the final time, who in the AAA Network on the Planet Earth, can help me?


Regards,
*** and ****** ******

From: ****** M. ****** ********@mailaaa.com
Sent: Monday, July 29, XXXX X:XX AM
To: Cheryl ******
Subject: RE: AAA Claim

Mrs. ******,

*** ***** owner of *******'s Towing, has advised AAA Carolinas that he will take care of the frame damages as they appear to be towing related and has agreed to pay for the repairs. Please let me know what mailing address I can have the check sent to in order to resolve this matter.

Thank You,
****** ******

Final Business Response
AAA is a federation of independent club affiliates, each responsible for the provision of member service within its geographic region. AAA Carolina's would appreciate the chance to address his concern futher and are requesting that he them at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: AAA has very underhanded service practices. I have a complaints that occurred with them and they are shocking! Beware! AAA does not honor agreements.
I had to have a tow for my vehicle on 7/12/2013. Since I purchased the expensive 100 mile tow limit AAA Club card,I expected them to honor this. Oh 7/23/2013 I called AAA Emergency Road Services to tell them I need a tow. I told them the address it needed to go to and they checked in their system and the customer service rep. told me I was WELL within my 100 mile limit and would send out a tow truck. They sent ****** Towing to pick up the car. I even verified with the tow truck driver "****" or ********* that to leave my car in my NORMAL driveway and I verified my address with him. He said "Oh I can handle that...that's about 70 miles away right?" I said "yes". My realtor was waiting for him. My realtor calls me and says "the tow truck driver wants more money since it took him over the 100 miles to get here." I was livid! Any map will tell you it is a maximum of 80 miles no matter what route is taken as well as the verification of AAA itself upon my original call. I told my realtor to tell the tow truck driver I am not paying as it is well within my 100 miles. He drove as far as possible and circled back so he could say it was over 100 miles. What a scam artist. I then called him directly and said I am not paying and that he was going to have my car impounded. I called AAA, at first they backed him even though they told me that it was well within my 100 mile limit. After me complaining to AAA by telling them this incident is a sham, they finally came to their senses and said they would tell the driver to put my car in my driveway. The driver was very mad he couldn't carry off his scam. So what does he do? He dropped my car in the MIDDLE of the street where children are playing and blocked all traffic. This is unacceptable criminal activity. Luckily I have very nice neighbors and realtor and they moved my car out of the street by pushing my car out of the street. When I wrote a complaint letter to AAA Complaints. I received a pathetic letter stating they apologized but they still basically sided with Klings Towing (as not to appear incompetent) and suggested I hold the towing drivers hand and ride with him to where it needed to go. Considering I have a little dog, it is Klings Towing policy they do not accept pets in the truck, (which is another incident that happened to me previously with Klings Towing. I was basically stranded back in May 2013 when ****** Towing was going to leave me and my dog to die in the 97 degree heat and not tow my car since their policy is to not allow animals in the truck. Luckily my husband finally got it started and didn't need a tow after all I was furious!) AAA's response letter was unacceptable. Not even offering to pay for my future membership, they gave me an paltry extra day for towing for my membership year which expired one week after that. I then wrote to the gentlemen responsible for Member Relations at AAA Headquarters in Heathrow, FL to hopefully find an intelligent individual. I did not receive a response to my letter and feel that AAA just practices UNETHICAL business practices and don't care one iota about their customers! They just want your money. By not receiving a response from AAA Headquarters proves this. I am forewarning all who deal with AAA Roadside Services. especially if they send ****** Towing to you. You WILL be stranded or have damage to your car, put it in jeopardy and try to scam you out of more money. I have been with AAA for over 15 years and these two incidents are the first complaints I've had with AAA. Obviously, they have gone downhill and are not what they used to be where they actually cared about their customers and didn't put them in harms way or not care about your vehicle and what happens to it due to their contractors. Beware to all AAA Roadside Customers. I want a rightful letter from AAA Headquarters and doing the right thing by compensating me for my troubles.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent service request. AAA strives to provide the highest quality service to our members and we regret when that goal is not achieved.

Briefly, AAA is a federation of independent club affiliates, each responsible for the provision of member service within its geographic region. We forwarded your complaint to management at AAA Auto Club Group. The AAA club followed-up with you on 7/31. They have taken your comments seriously and addressed your concern with the contractor. The AAA club has removed the service entitlement and refunded your over mileage fee. The AAA club considers this matter closed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this answer from AAA as an adequate response to my complaint. AAA is saying ******** Towing was correct. There SHOULDN'T HAVE BEEN ANY OVERMILEAGE==look on any map or look it up on any MapQuest, Yahoo maps, etc. The driver was WRONG and I or, supposedly AAA, shouldn't "pay" an "overmileage" fee when there shouldn't have been one in the first place and not my responsibility!!! It is well within my 100 mile limit that I PAY FOR and the drive is only MAXIMUM 85 miles by SEVERAL different routes and AAA even cleared it by Roadside Service when I called to have the car picked up as phone recordings will show. *****'s Towing was outright WRONG trying to pull a scam and AAA should acknowledge this fact and not go along with it. So, AAA hasn't given me ANYTHING for my trouble!! Not to mention, I had just received in the mail that the tow truck driver from ******** Towing, "****/*****" (the Supervisor at that!!) flew thru toll booths without stopping to pay, which is ILLEGAL and it took a picture of MY CAR's tag instead!!! I received a letter from the state saying there were unpaid tolls and citations could be issued as well as my registration could be suspended if not PAID!!! We straightened this out by the toll booth printing out a picture of the illegal toll pass *** the attendant agreed it showed *****'s Towing Truck as the perpetrator in the enlarged picture, license tag ******* and this information will be forwarded to the state. So this was another hassle brought upon by AAA and it's incompetent contractor *****'s Towing. So, besides the previous complaint, in light of this NEW disturbing blunder of AAA, I believe there is only ONE way to resolve this matter by giving me my free membership for this year. Anything else is unacceptable and will have to be taken into criminal action upon AAA and ******** Towing since this is a contractor of AAA and AAA is accepting what the driver did. Not only did ******** towing ILLEGALLY drop my car in the middle of the street blocking traffic (with plenty of witnesses), try to pull a scam by going basically in a circle so he could try to rack up extra mileage (again illegal but AAA is involved by saying he was right when no court will say he was--LOOK at a map!!!) but also illegally flew thru unnecessary toll booths and putting the blame on MY car!!! AAA obviously contracts with companies that practice criminal activity and they accept the illegalities and unethical business practices of *****'s Towing. AAA should own up to these hardships and pay my membership. Period!!!

08/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: AAA so called Cruise & Tour Specialists do nothing but take your money. You could pay for the Cruise or Tour yourself and get the same service.
In September 2012, we were looking for a travel agent and we went into the local AAA store because they advertise as travel specialists. We were told that we would have to join AAA road service for a year to get the discounts offered through AAA for travel. We did join AAA for a year even though we already have road service through our auto insurance. We were given a few brochures to look at. We wanted to Cruise to Alaska and to do a land tour that sounded amazing. The brochure said the land tour would include spending the night in a 'wilderness retreat' and a trip to Denali National Park. We picked the Cruise and Land Tour because I am a huge bear fan and was trilled to be going to Denali National Park to hike and see wild life, especially a bear.
We were told that the 'Cruise & Tour Specialist' worked out of the Cedar City office, which is about 40 minutes away from us. This 'specialist', ***** E ****** called us and asked us what we were looking for in a cruise package. He told us as a Triple A member, we would be automatically be put in for any upgrades or discounts if they became available, and he said they almost always do, but ofcourse we never got any.
We never even met Mr. ******* When things were sent to us, we found out that he actually works out of the Murray Utah office which is over 4 hours away.
After paying an initial deposit, we were encouraged to purchase travel insurance as well, which we did. Then, we heard nothing from Mr. ****** until it was time to pay the rest of the tour cost off.
We were sent confirmations and such via email. We were booked to fly out of Las Vegas on Air Canada. As our tour neared, our inital flights were changed.
We were given basic information about our flights, such as time and seat numbers. We missed our flight out from Vegas to VanCouver. LV airport had opened a new terminal and we had no knowledge of that and ended up going to the wrong terminal. By the time we got to the other terminal and through the air canada line, we missed their hour cutoff by 15 minutes. Even though it was still 45 minutes before take off, they would not let us on the flight. A frantic call to the AAA office resulted in with us having to leave a message because Mr. ****** was not in. We ended up paying $1,100.00 for an Air Alaska flight to Seattle a transport from Seattle to VanCouver. We then had to pay a cab to get us to the Cruise Ship. We got on the ship 2 minutes before it was set to sail. It was a frantic, stressful ***. After, the cruise, we were disappointed to find out that the 'delux motor coach' we were suppose to have for our land tour was simply a cruise ship bus. The land tour consisted of 6-8 hours a *** on the bus. Other passengers **** mailed more information and knew this when they booked the land tour. We only got basics and received no timeline showing how long we'd actually be on a bus Had we known, we would not have purchased it. The first *** was 6-8 hours on the bus from Seward Alaska to Talkeetna. We arrived in Talkeetna after 4pm and had to wait for our luggage. We slept in a hotel and had to be out at 6am to get back on the bus and travel to Denali. The night in the wilderness advertised was a hotel room to sleep. No time to explore. After hours into Denali, we road another bus for a 4 hour ride that barely entered the park. The first hour was spent in the parking lot. We saw no animals and almost nothing of Denali National Park. Then, it was one night in the hotel there and a bus ride back to anchorage for a night in the hotel and then flight home. We were bitterly disappointed.
We contacted Mr. ****** when we got home about our travel insurance and being reimbursed for the missed flight and he informed us that AAA is not involved in that. We would have to file claims ourselves.
We cruised 10 years ago and had a wonderful experience. Our travel agent, at that time, informed us well and we had no such unpleasant surprises. AAA did nothing for us but take our money.

Business' Initial Response
The AAA club has reached out to customer. The customer has requested that the AAA club speak with her husband. The AAA Club is currently waiting on the follow-up from the husband. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have not received any check yet. We will wait until it is received. Today is the 31st.

Business' Final Response
July 19, 2013

Better Business Bureau, Inc.
Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ****** ***


Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding ****** ***'s complaint against AAA Northern California, Nevada, & Utah. We appreciate the opportunity to clarify our position.

The members were advised, on the flight itinerary, to arrive at the airport at least 2 hours prior to departure. Unfortunately, AAA is unable to alter the boarding or departure rules of the airline. We were unable to have the flight delayed for the members. Due to those factors, we will decline the member's request for reimbursement of the $1100.00 for airline tickets.

The Royal Caribbean Cruise itinerary was reviewed by AAA. It did not contain detailed departure and arrival time for the Denali excursion. The amount of time spent travelling by motor coach was not detailed on the itinerary. Due to those factors, we will reimburse the members $500.00 as requested. A check for that amount will arrive at the member's home shortly.

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to clarify our position.

Sincerely,


****** *******
Member Relations - Executive Office
AAA Northern California, Nevada, & Utah

01/14/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Misdiagnosing a battery issue and having to diagnose it on our own. Then when confronted with the issue, was asked to wait additional 3 days for fix.
In Jan 2011, car battery was replaced by AAA mechanic with 3 year warranty. On Nov 07, 2012 (not even 2 years later)battery died. AAA rep came to location to diagnose the problem and advise it was the alternater. Car was towed to a safe location and not driven (wouldn't even start). Alternater was tested and was reading fine. Called out another AAA rep out on Nov 10, 2012 to test battery again.AAA rep advised battery said "recharable" and advised needed to have car towed to local mechanic to recharge battery and then wait additional 24 hours to see if battery took the recharge. Will not be able to pick up car until Nov 13, 2012 as the mechcanic was closed on Sat and Sun. This brings the total time not able to use car to 6 days. If diagnosed correctly, would have only been out of use for 2-3 days. The cost of a new battery is around $124.99 at local auto store. The cost AAA has incurred to diagnose the car twice, hire two tow drivers, pay the local mechanic to recharge the battery (labor and supplies) would total a lot more than $124.99. This does not appear to be a profitable way of doing business. Yes, there is a warranty on the battery of 3 years and yes, it does expire if a third party removes the battery. Which we did comply with up until was advised not be able to pick up car until Nov, 13 2012. But having no mode of transportation for 6 days because of a misdiagnosis, no mechanic service on the weekends and waiting to see if the battery will charge, should trump the policy. Many AAA customers have jobs and agendas that require a mode of working transportation, that is the whole reason behind AAA marketing, to make sure the benefits and protection are there. In this case it wasn't.

Business' Initial Response
From: *****************
Sent: Wednesday, December 19, 2012 4:33 PM
Subject: ********************

Response for this file:

The AAA club spoke with *********** regarding her concern. The AAA battery was tested and the test results came back as battery is good. The member had a family member remove the battery and replace it with another battery. Under the terms of the warranty, removal by a third party will void the warranty. The AAA club apologized to member but declined her request.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The battery was tested and read it "could" be rechargeable. AAA then insisted to have the car towed to a local garage to see if the battery will hold a charge which would be a 24 hour test. After 24 hours, if the battery didn't hold a charge then AAA would replace it. Since it was Saturday afternoon the garage was closed and wouldn't be able to begin the test until the following Monday. So essentially it would take 48 hours for this test plus paying the tow truck. Customer couldn't be without her only car for more then 48 hours. If this problem would have been diagnosed correctly in the first place, this situation wouldn't have to include non-business days. The reason why the family member removed the battery and replace it was b/c the customer couldn't wait 48 hours to see if her battery could hold a charge. This is unacceptable

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

12/12/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I ordered service for a stranded driver. The man they sent out demanded cash only for the mileage differential
I called AAA to order service for my step daughter stranded on 417 in the dark i purchased the program and paid the additional 25.00 for immediate service and the lady assured me we could pay with credit card or a check. 15 minutes later the tow truck driver called my daughter and said his machine was down he wants cash only. In tears she called me back and i called AAA and they again said a check was fine but the driver only wanted cash i sent my step son to get her at this point and a private tow guy to remove the vehicle i think that demanding cash only from a stranded young lady is a strong arm technique used by shady characters and businesses. In this day and age it is all too easy to accept multiple forms of payment and honor those guidelines set forth in contracts. My daughter was so scared braking down on a dark busy road she was crying and she had an epileptic episode as my son got there! I am so upset at AAA for hiring this man who is supposed to help and provide a service not try to strong arm people and take advantage of an already tense situation

Business' Initial Response
The AAA club in Mr.******'s area has resolved his concern. For more information please contact the AAA club at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It's been a little more than three weeks and still haven't got my refund. However they did call me and said all the right things

Page 1 of 2
08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: AAA National didn't respond to CASE: XXXX-XXX generated after I contact CEO ****** ********* about***** ******* and a AAA branded auto shop.
After two visits over two consecutive days to a AAA branded auto repair shop I was out of $638.60 and no repaired brakes. I subsequently took the vehicle to Sears, Roebuck, and Co., Leesburg, Fl, who did the work correctly that the AAA branded shop said they had done on the first visit there on September 3, 2013. Sears charged $223.06. So after only needing my brakes repaired I was out of $861.66. There is no way for this auto shop to not have known that when my vehicle left their shop on September 3, 2013 and September 4, 2013 the brakes were not working, they had not been fixed. I contacted AAA South for arbitration and***** ******* was suppose to help resolve the problem. ***** ******* was always irritated with me. He seemed like he and the auto shop were good friends. ***** ******* flat out told me that he didn't think I needed any brake pads (from Sears). ***** ******* kept saying all I had to do was take it back to the AAA branded shop because it was under warranty. There in nothing in America under warranty unless the warranting party agrees that the warranty item is the problem and***** ******* himself said, "You don't need any brake pads." So even based on his statement, there was no warranty. This shop would have to admit that they did not do the work correctly on September 3, 2013, but with***** ******* leadership, they had no need to. I would like to know when***** ******* exam the brake pads, when***** ******* drove my car, when***** ******* last socialized with this auto repair company. I believe***** ******* is the reason the company offered me $62.83. He made them feel like they didn't have to do anything better. He told me in regard to this auto shop, "No one else has complained."

Initial Business Response
AAA National received Ms. ******'s concern in January. A formal concern was placed with the AAA club and management followed-up with her. The AAA clubs are independently owned and are responsible for the members and services within their areas. Ms. ******'s concern was addressed and there will be no futher reimbursement for her request. The AAA Club, AAA Auto Club Group XXX-XXX-XXXX, considers this concern closed.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is not true, "MANAGEMENT FOLLOWED UP WITH HER".

After the case number was issued, no one from management contacted me.

So beyond issuing me a case number, AAA National and its Club have been silent in regard to my formal complaint and they are still silent.

They want you to believe that they have nothing to do with the use of their brand on auto shops and that they have no enforcement ability in regard to their AAA Approved Auto Repair shops.

In the July/August issue of AAALIVING on page 18, a section titled, BOTTOM LINE, AAA National is encouraging members of AAA to use what they call an AAA Approved Auto Repair shop.

This is why I went to the shop referred to in my complaint, because of previous references I had read over the years in AAALIVING about their AAA Approved Auto Repair shops.

They are saying independently owned clubs use their brand and they do not enforce any standards regarding the "AAA" brand. AAA National is saying to you each club sets their own standards and enforces the standards.

When an organization of this magnitude is being so disingenuous what can you say?

It is like being in a room with a very powerful person, say one of our past or current Presidents and 12 lemon cookies are on a plate and you and he sit and talk. Later he says you ate five cookies and you didn't even eat one cookie.

What do you say?

Management never contacted me. I guess I would say their response is incredible.

And I am not satisfied.

06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: In NYC- hit pot hole. Two blown out tires. 5:30pm until 11:30pm no help or assistance from AAA. Stranded. Had to search for a tow truck myself in NYC.
5:30pm two blown tires. Called AAA to explain. Sent a man to fix 1 tire, no tow truck. Told 2 hrs flat bed tow truck. 2.5 hours, no tow truck. I call AAA, inform me , "sorry maybe 9:30pm". I flagged down a AAA truck paid him cash to assist me and tow me to get tires in NYC . i was told to wait only for NYC Tire and Tow. Never saw them . According to NJ AAA they supposedly arrived at 11:3o0m with a flat bed. DISGRACE, Left stranded for 7 hrs in NYC. NO HELP FROM THEM. spent $400 to get a cab to NJ, tow the car and get two new tires. Returned to NJ 11:00pm . No follow up. nothing. Why should anyone pay a yearly fee for this disgusting lack of servcie and safety.

Initial Business Response
A representative from AAA Northern New Jersey has made contact with the member and resolved her concerns. We apologize for the negative experience.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
AAA offered to reimburse me $50.00. The only response that was communicated to me was the following," NYC is the worst for tow trucks, don't go into the city". This is an acceptable response for 7 hrs of being stranded in the street? I DON"T THINK SO. then AAA should contract with another server to tow vehicles when stranded!!!!!

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: I'm member of AAA road assistance service already for few years.
Unfortunately they are become to be scam artists!

My name is **** **********.

My AAA member number is: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Count 1

Saturday, April 19th 2014 about 8p.m. I accidentally locked my keys inside trunk of my automobile.
I called to AAA roadside assistance for help.
Dispatcher told me, what locksmith will contact me in 1 hour - 1.5 hour.
In 1.5 hour I received call from locksmith, who told me, what he is not able to open my car only Monday, April 21st 2014.
I found it not acceptable.
I called in local aria locksmith and paid him $50 to open my car.
AAA suppose to provide me this service for free.

Count 2

Monday, April 21st 2014 about 11a.m. I've got involved in auto accident and called to AAA to request tow truck.
Dispatcher told me, what truck will be between 1 and 1.5 hours.
When truck arrived, operator told me, what I have to pay $150 plus $5/mile.
I found it not acceptable at all.
According my agreement with AAA, they are has to provide me free towing up to 5 miles and $4/mile I'll be responsible for.

Initial Business Response
A representative from the AAA club attempted to speak Mr. ********** to resolve his concern. Mr. ********** stated he wished his membership to be canceled and to have no further dealings with AAA. The membership will be canceled at the expiration date per the AAA club policy.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I guess, I was right.
They are taking my money...
Did not execute there promises and obligations.
No customer service satisfaction or your money back!
They are ************!

04/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized repair

Complaint: AAA recommended an "F" rated repair shop to me for minor repair. That shop "National Auto" charged me $1941+ for repairs they did not do.
AAA approved auto repair shop "National Auto", an "F" rated business was recommended to me for minor repair work. On Sep 10, 2012, National Auto billed me $1940+. They said they worked on my car (not authorized), did not give me any of the old parts (always requested) and did not advise tires were 10 yrs old and dry rotted. Windshield wipers were sun rotted. I was charged for all this. Charges for balance and alignment..that was never done...I took my car to another shop a few weeks later when all the problems were identified to me. AAA has told me I was hitting curbs and potholes...they supported National Auto and criticized me. AAA suggested I use National Auto for future repairs...they must be joking! I want a refund of charges made for non existent work by National Auto. AAA refuses to return any calls or communicate in any manner. Must note: I am a retired FRAUD INVESTIGATOR....so I know it when I see it.

Business' Initial Response
The AAA club has spoken with *********** about her concern. All of the items that Ms. ****** had concerns about and that she paid to have repaired, that could be inspected, were and no issues were found. The items that could not be inspected were the wiper blades and alignment as they were done/redone by Tires Choice. The old parts were not able to be inspected because Ms. ****** did not request they be saved.
As part of the mediation, an agreement was made to have the vehicle towed to National Auto for additional repairs that Tires Choice suggested. AAA agreed to act as a third party quality control consultant to ensure that all the work performed was necessary and done correctly The member agreed at the time of the meeting but later on wished not to have the repairs performed. The member filed a complaint with the Department of Agriculture. They reviewed the claim and did not find the claim to be valid. We consider the matter closed.

Consumer's Final Response
From: ***
Sent: Sunday, April 07, 2013 12:37 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(********************************)

This case is not closed. The businesses, National Auto and AAA (Auto Club) have NOT made a good faith offer to settle the case. I do not know where you get your information from, but I can honestly tell you, you have been taken advantage of. Those businesses want me to have future repairs done at National Auto. Are they kidding? Go to the same garage that charged for work they did not do, charged for work that was not authorized, falsified records.....are they kidding?

Please do not be a victim of these businesses as I am. They told me no one would do anything about it when I tried to get this matter resolved. So far, they are right. I will be saddened to see the Better Business Bureau in the same league with National Auto and Auto Club.

Don't you believe the citizens, especially the Senior Citizens of Tampa Bay have a right to know that these two business are ripping them off? Please, join us in fighting this type of crime....we need you on our side when this hits the TV and newspapers...

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: AAA refused towing service
I was left stranded tonight b/c my car broke down but after waiting two hours for the tow truck to arrive I was told they would not tow it without a release from Sears because it happened to be sitting in the parking lot of a local shopping mall near a Sears Automotive Center. I explained to everyone--dispatch supervisor, his manager, AAA call center employee, his supervisor, etc.--that Sears didn't do any work on the car so I had no paperwork to give them. By the time they arrived 2 hours after my call, Sears was closed so no way they could verify. Now I'm told I have to wait until Sears opens in the morning so they can verify with Sears that they didn't do any work to the car which means to add insult to injury I have to now miss time from work. I pay $110/year for AAA Roadside Assistance and the first time I call them in a year they refuse service. I expressed concern about my car being vandalized or stolen because it is not in a good area but it fell on deaf ears; however, AAA will certainly be held responsible if anything happens to my car.

Business' Initial Response
The AAA club in Ms. ******'s area spoke with her regarding her concern. The AAA club said that her concern has been resolved. If Ms. ****** has any further questions, please have her call XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for Member Relations.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I wanted a full refund of my membership dues and was offered less than half even though I had 7 months left on my membership. So, NO, I am not "satisfied with the outcome." I will not be renewing my membership.

Business' Final Response
Member spoke with club representative on 2/1/13. The AAA club advised that the member is satisfied with the outcome. Any further questions from the member can be directed to XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Road Service - Automotive, Online Travel Agency, Towing - Automotive, Insurance Services

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.