BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gilligan & Ferneman, LLC

(800) 720-4152111 E Monument Ave Unit 509, KissimmeeFL 34741-5779 Send email to Gilligan & Ferneman, LLChttp://www.gilliganandferneman.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Gilligan & Ferneman, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gilligan & Ferneman, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gilligan & Ferneman, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/01/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PER COMPANY AD I ORDERED ON 3-3-16 ONE SET (BLUE) & ONE SET (WHITE) SHEETS, 2 DAY SHIPPING. I RECEIVED OLIVE GREEN SHEETS ON 3-23-16.
I ORDERED WICKING SHEETS FROM************* @ ************************************** ON 3-3-16 AND PAID ADDITIONAL CHARGE FOR 2 DAY SHIPPING. (ORDER #*******) FOR $69.99 PER SET. A FOLLOWUP WITH ***************************** INFORMED ME THAT THE SHEETS (PLEASE SEE ADDTIONAL SUPPORT AREA)WERE BLUE AND MY OPTIONS WERE TO KEEP THEM OR RETURN THE FOR A REFUND AT MY OWN EXPENSE.
MY COMPLAINT IS: IF YOU REVIEW ************ WEBSITE THE SHEETS ON THE ADVERTISING PAGE ARE A TRUE BLUE (THAT WAS MY APPEAL TO ORDER) YET THE PRODUCT DELIVERED TO ME WERE A LIGHT OLIVE GREEN AND (TRUE WHITE) YET THE PRODUCT HER AGAIN WAS OFF WHITE. THE ADS DISPLAYING SHEETS ARE DECIEVING, THEY ACCEPTED MY ADDITIONAL PAYMENT FOR 2 DAY SHIPPING, YET DELIVERED THE ITEMS 20 DAYS LATER.
CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSONNEL DISPLAYED A LACK OF FLEXIBILITY TO UNDERSTAND MY VIEW POINT; AS A LOYAL CONSUMER AS I HAVE PURCHASED SEVERAL ITEMS FROM THEIR COMPANY IN NORTHERN FLORIDA OVER THE PAST SEVERAL YEARS. THE OPTION OF RETURNING THE PRODUCT AT MY EXPENSE THOUGH ********* ADS ARE MISLEADING WHICH CAUSED THE ERROR AND THE ACCEPTANCE OF ADDITIONAL FEES FOR 2 DAY DELIVERY WHEN THEY FAILED TO COMPLY FEELS A LOT UNFAIR TO ME.
(NOTE AS OF TODAY 3-28-16) THE COLOR SELECTION HAS BEEN ALTERED ON THE ORDER PAGE...THE COLOR (SEA BLUE GREEN) WAS "NOT" AN OPTIONS AT THE TIME OF MY ORIGINAL ORDER.
I PAID FOR THE PURCHASE THROUGH A VISA ACCOUNT OF WHICH I HAVE CURRENT RECORDS.

Desired Settlement
ALL I WANT ARE TRUE BLUE SHEETS. SEND ME THE BLUE SHEETS THAT I ORDERED....OR....
IF ********* DOES NOT HAVE BLUE SHEETS AS WAS ON THEIR ADVERTISEMENT PAGE, A REFUND SHOULD BE APPLIED AND IF THE RETURN OF OLIVE GREEN SHEETS IS NECCESSARY AFTER THEY HAVE BEEN OPENED...THEN THEY SHOULD PAY FOR THE RETURN SHIPPING AND A REFUND OF MY 2 DAY SHIPPING FEES....AS THE SHEETS WERE DELIVERED 20 DAYS LATE WITH NO CONTACT EXPLAINING THE DELAY.
FAIR BUSINESS PRACTICES SHOULD BE ADHERED TO; THEY ACCEPT MY MONEY YET DID NOT DELIVER IN 2 DAYS THE PRODUCT I ORDERED FROM THEIR AD....

Business Response
Hi,
My apologies for the issues that have arisen.
The manufacturer of the sheets apparently changed the color - even though the packaging indicates "Blue".

We strive to make our customers lives better - and to this end I have requested accounting to issue you a refund for the cost of the blue sheets as well as your shipping charges on the order.

I do need to make it clear however that you did not purchase "2 day shipping", but in fact requested and paid for "USPS Priority Mail" which is not expedited shipping. I was also unable to find any additional orders for you in our system.

Your refund will be:
80.99 (paid product price)
+7.16 (paid shipping)
========
$88.15

There is no need to return anything, and we hope you will shop with us again.

William G*******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As 9f today 3-31-16 the refund has not been applied to my visa account. The conclusive response from Gilliland & ferneman is satisfactory, but most of all greatly appreciated! I'll continue to monitor my Visa account for the amount of 88.15 (refund)
After this transaction the complaint can be closed, thank you for the correction..**********

02/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I returned a product to them on 12-4-15 and they have not refunded my money and will not respond to my calls or emails.
On 11-18-2015 I ordered a cooling mattress pad from this company and was charged $144.49. The product did not work for me as advertised. Pursuant to their advertised money back guarantee, I shipped the product back to them on 11-27-2015. It was shipped via USPS tracking number *************************** and paid $30.56. According to USPS the item was received back to Gilligan on 12-4-2015. I inquired about my refund and received an email back from April G******* on 12-21-2015 saying she was going to check on it. I have never heard back, they have not refunded my money and will now not respond to my emails or phone inquiry.

Desired Settlement
I would like assistance in getting my refund and if you receive no response would like to know what my next step of action is.

Business Response
Refund (Unique Transaction ID # *****************)

Sent to:
We are sorry that your refund was delayed. I am not sure why, but I have located the info showing that it was completed on January 13, 2016. Here is the information provided by our merchant system:
====
***********
Total amount:-$144.49 USD
Fee amount: $3.18 USD
Net amount:-$141.31 USD
________________________________________

Invoice ID: ******
Date: Jan 13, 2016
Time: 23:24:49 EST
Status: Completed

Consumer Response
Thank you. The refund finally showed up in my bank account today, 1-29-16.

03/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gilligan and Ferneman, LLC, is refusing to provide me with a credit of $50.53, and is ignoring requests for a detailed breakdown of the transaction.
The firm of Gilligan and Ferneman, LLC, has refused to provide me with a credit of $50.53, claiming that it was shipping charges. Although I have asked for a breakdown and a basis for my responsibility for paying shipping charges, those requests have been ignored (correspondence and credit card transaction details are attached).

Moreover, when the items were returned, I paid for the shipping charges.

As you can see from the e-mails, this Gilligan and Ferneman firm has been reluctant to communicate, provide answers, or even respond to my inquiries.

The partial credit that was accorded to me occurred only after weeks, and there still has not been a response as to why it took so long to credit my account.

At this point, I will be happy to be finished with these people, but I am not going to let them get away with stealing $50.53 of my money. I wonder how many other people are victims of these practices.

Desired Settlement
I want my account immediately credited in the amount of $50.53, as well as an itemized statement of the transaction charges.

Business Response
We have issued a full and complete refund in accordance with our longstanding written and publicly available return policy as stated here: *************************************************************

We're sorry Mr. ****** is not happy, but next time he should not expect to have any company ship multiple shipments to multiple addresses, expedited at our cost - just to make him happy - only so he can return everything and then have something to complain about.

Mr ****** stated to us on Feb. 13, 2016: "Nor am I responsible to read, or am I bound by whatever you display on your website." - regarding our shipping and return policy. If he is not bound, neither are we - however we did take the high road and issue a full and compete refund above and beyond our written word - as we keep our word.

Should Mr. ****** require a full refund according to our policy he will in fact receive less and we will issue a complaint against him. Our shipping costs were higher than we charged him and as far as we are concerned the issue is closed... unless he would prefer a lower refund.

No further refund will occur.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. There is absolutely no response to why it took several weeks to even get acresponse from these smart alec scammers. The partial refund was credited after several threatening phone calls and emails from me.

2. They continue to take the low road because when I placed the order, I was told by Mike, that there was a thirty day FULL REFUND POLICY. THERE WAS NO MENTION OF A CHARGE FOR OUT GOING SHIPPING. Our order was not placed on the internet. But, try to go to the cited link-you can't even get there. Nor, was there any question or conversation about where items were being shipped. In fact, not mentioned by the wise guy scammer who wrote this response, several of the items had to be shipped from a different warehouse facility-so we asked that those items be sent to our home because we were traveling and the cool pad was shipped to a marina where we were staying. I'd love to know how many other people have been ripped off by these thieves.
I WANT AND DEMAND A FILL REFUND!



Final Business Response
Our refund policy is stated here:***************************************************************
The link has been the same for 5+ years, and the present policy in effect for at least 1 year.

Thank you for reaching out to us.

11/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I just want my refund. Their website states customers receive the full refund within seven days. they've had my money and the returned items for weeks now. I would like some help getting my money back before this escalates further. Thank you.

Business Response
As stated in our reply to your PayPal complaint - you have received your refund in full.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Retail Stores, Mattresses, Mens Clothing & Furnishings - Retail, Pillows, Womens Apparel - Retail, Clothing - Retail, Online Retailer

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/25/2007Business started: 09/04/2007Business started locally: 09/20/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Osceola County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 123244 for this company, issued by Osceola County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Ferneman (COO)Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Gilligan (CTO)Ms. April Gilligan (Human Resource Manager)
Business Category

Retail Stores, Mattresses, Mens Clothing & Furnishings - Retail, Pillows, Womens Apparel - Retail, Clothing - Retail, Online Retailer

Products & Services

This company offers on-line retail services for sleep accessories, pillows, mattresses, women and men's clothing.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gilligan & Ferneman, LLC

111 E Monument Ave Unit 509

Kissimmee, FL 34741-5779

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 111 E Monument Ave Unit 509 

    Kissimmee, FL 34741-5779

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gilligan & Ferneman, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.drinights.com
  • www.feelcooler.com
  • www.coolingmattress.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Retail Stores

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.