BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Darden Restaurants, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (407) 245-4000Fax: (407) 245-4844

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

78 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 26 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues14
Problems with Product / Service59
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints78

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (78)BBB Closure Definitions
03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm allergic to shellfish, shrimp, crab meat etc...
On 11/13/14 I went with my family to celebrate a special occasion. During the course of the evening I made sure that the staff knew that I am allergic to shellfish. It turned out that the staff didn't pay attention or didn't know and I got mushrooms stuffed with crab meat. The staff was not too concerned, I had to load up with medications to avoid an allergic reaction. I wrote to Olive Garden corporate office via their website...to this day I had no response.

Desired Settlement
At this point I don't expect much from Olive Garden management, but an apology would be nice, they are playing with someone's health - so to me this is serious.

Business Response
We responded to the guest in November 2014 via email, but did not hear back from him.

We take allergen information very seriously, which is why we disclose common allergens on our Allergen Guide. This is updated with every menu change, and is always available on our website and in the restaurant.

I've followed up with this guest by email and regular mail. We apologized for his experience and directed him to the allergen information we make available.


03/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NATURE OF DISPUTE
Yesterday Feb. 14,2015 me and my husband were at this establishment mind you Im a ex army soldier and my husband a retired fireman /paramedic and we witnessed a server have a seizure not only did it look like none really cared on top of that our waiter as well as other employees were making rude comments about the incident which was serious in nature. One comment made was well i hope you enjoyed the show laughing at the young girls expense,on top of that the manager totally by passed us and went to another couple behind us t o get an account of the events when they didn't even see them we did because it happened right in front of our table but i guess cause were Hispanic and comments were do they speak English we weren't even accounted for as well as apologized to like the white couple behind us which again didn't even see the incident. I'm a mother of a disabled child which suffers from seizures and the comments and laughter was disgraceful to say the least she suffered a grand mal seizure nothing to laugh at. The wait staff is young and rude management isn't any better very disappointed for a brand new location close to home i will never go to again if the brand period. Other locations further away have better service and overall ambiance. Very disappointed!!!


Desired Settlement
DESIRED RESOLUTION
(\fs16 DesiredSettlementID: Refund I don't know if anything can be done for the young girl but our service was horrible food was cold and its unfortunate but this restaurant isn't like any olive garden I've been too very disappointed a refund for our food and maybe a day off with pay for the young girl would be sufficient. )

Business Response
Our director of operations for the area spoke to this guest by phone today. We appreciate her feedback and have mailed a gift card for her to enjoy Olive Garden in the future.

The manager in the restaurant did see to this team member's well being. We are troubled by the impression the guest took away from the incident. Team members on site did express caring and concern to the employee. We strive to create a family atmosphere among our employees and guests at all times.

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This complaint goes at Olive Garden Italian Restaurant in Eugene Oregon. They sold me tainted breadsticks today. The bag of twelve breadsticks smelled and tasted foul, stunk up my car and made me sick...
I will never go back to that restaurant.

Desired Settlement
A letter apologizing for such bad service would be a helpful resolution. That way I will not feel like Olive Garden overlooked me.

Business Response
We were sorry to hear about this guests experience. We have reached out to him with an apology and a complimentary gift card.

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am writing this complaint in regards to my recent visit at one of your Olive Garden restaurants. This restaurant was in Snellville Ga in Gwinnett county. My visit at this store was less than what I expect or receive from any of your sites. The waitress that served me was very rude and dismissive. I cannot speak for the whole staff, but this waitress visited my tables three times. Once to take orders, once to drop off our orders, and once to ask us if we were ready for a check WHILE still eating halfway through our meals. I have never felt so rushed while eating at an Olive Garden. She then proceeded to speak to another waitress about her needing to go home, I'm not sure if she wanted me to hear it so we can leave or what, but at that point I just paid and my wife and I just left our unfinised meals. I feel like I spend good hard earned money, money that goes into her pocket. The least she can do is respect my time and the fact that I am trying to enjoy her place of work even if she does not. I wasted almost $60.00 on a dinner that left both of us upset and hungry. As for the other people in the restaurant they seemed to be enjoying themselves, it seemed as if we got the one bad apple in the crew serving us.

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement meal so we can visit our usual Olive Garden site and enoy dinner there isntead. Thank you

Business Response
I emailed the guest today and followed up with a gift card. Not sure how this BBB complaint from 2013 was overlooked, but I have followed up and invited the guest to return with a gift card.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

01/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor customer service and performance of expected duties at resturant and or food service unacceptable
food portions and server inattention
#112

It was a complete lsck of failure to serve for the itemized reasons listed below:

1. ice water request
2. Additional napkins request
3. Additional black olives
4. Additonal salad dressing request
None of the aforementioned was addressed!

Further the lasgne portion was small and hard and cold waitress came about twice with out our requested items. upon paying bill which we had to wait twenty additional mnutes and then get anothr waitress to reteive our waitress to get our change and leave. Twelve years we have been customers at Olive Garden never had a problem we are livid and not planning on returning at this juncture. we sent a detailed memo via survey and requested a followup contact no response We waited patiently!

******** ***** *********** MBA.

***** store check #XXXXX date 11/13/2014 *******

Desired Settlement
Corporate Apology And Notice This Service Problem For Customers Who Have Good Money For Twelve Years At OG

Business Response
We were sorry to hear about the dissapointing service. I mailed the guest a letter of apology and a complimentary gift card.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company addressed the complaint in a proper and expeditious manner and stated it is a isolated incident

Page 1 of 14
08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** was RUDE & put my 3 dinners in smaller containers swearing the 9" container doesn't exist anymore contrary to recent purchase & what I was told!
Please take action on the manager **** of Darden owned Olive Garden - XXXX XXX ********** **** *********** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please submit complaint and corrective action to their owners ******** **** *** Darden Restaurant **** ****** ****** *** *******, ** XXXXXPhone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Website: ************** **** harassed me concerning accepting a coupon which was on my phone and NEVER I was harassed by *****, Francesca and others many other times at this location with the same exact scenario! He then put my 3 dinners in smaller containers and claimed Darden and Olive Garden has done away with 9" containers! He swore there are no such containers anymore when I heard otherwise and was given them very recently! **** was VERY rude to me a Military Veteran who has ALWAYS been treated respectfully at this location!! The food was cold and didn't taste right after eating it many times I know. He was smirking at me shrugging his shoulders rudely and smiling sarcastically like someone who was deranged and/or unstable etc...Please investigate trough his corporate officers why I was SWORE to there are no such 9" containers anymore when in fact I believe along with his harassment he is misleading or committing fraud against me! Please take action! Thank you! Sadly! ***

Desired Settlement
I want my money back and **** REPLACED and removed from this position and location! I cannot trust his as stated in above complaint and the food was cold and didn't taste right! I have eaten in many times and I know! I cannot trust him directing the cooks etc to tamper with my food anymore then what has apparently occurred!

Business Response
The consumer contacted us directly, and this situation has been resolved as he requested.

We were sorry to learn about his dissapointment. The General Manager has been in touch and issued a refund for the guest's visit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want administrative action taken against **** for swearing and lying about there being no more 9" containers and olive garden getting rid of them nstionwide and the CEO ******** **** advised for a follow up!

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad, spoiled food!
April 5, 2014 my daughter and I celebrated my birthday at RED LOBSTER. After ours dinner, approximately, one hour I started feel myself sick (diarrhea, nausea). Next day Sunday I dialed to this restaurant and complained about bad food. I was sick for almost two and half days. Due to diarrhea I even could not go to hospital. Today I called to restaurant again and made official complaint to the Manager (I spoke to him between 1:45 p.m. and 1:55 p.m.). He asked me lots of questions necessary for him, my personal information ... So far I strongly feel that my birthday is spoiled!

Desired Settlement
Like I said my birthday already spoiled! I want my money back!

Business Response
We were sorry to learn about Mr. ********'s experience. We filed a claim with our insurance company who have been in touch. We have also mailed a gift card and letter of apology.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I deal with particular restaurant not with insurance company. Practically every single insurance company always right. Also, I do not need gift card because I never will be there!
Again I want my money back!

Business Response
We have emailed the consumer, but have not heard back. A phone number was not provided. Our protocol is to involve our insurance carrier in complaints of this nature. Additionaly, we have mailed a complimentary gift card.

We will need to speak with the consumer in order to take additional action.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I already mentioned that I spoke to the manager of the restaurant and gave to him my personal information including my phone number. Please read a little bit more careful my statement. Just in case, my phone number: XXX-XXX-XXXX.Thanks.


Business Response
Our regional director has not been succesful reaching the consumer. We have attempted since April. We cannot provide the requested refund without direct contact.

Given our unsuccesful attempts a second gift card was mailed by our local Red Lobster. This is an additional to the gift card mailed from Guest Relations. We hope the consumer will enjoy the gift card at Red Lobster. If not, we have a number of other Darden restaurants in their area.

We appreciate the feedback, and regret the poor experience.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is easy enough to check... I can to call to my cell phone's provider and ask them how many times somebody tried contact me. By the way, I did not get gift card(s) from the company. Thanks.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My daughter, grandson, I ate lunch @ Olive Garden. I got food poisoning from my meal. My grandson had a kid's portion of pasta shells in butter, said that it tasted bad, and threw it back up @ the table onto his plate. My daughter ordered the Italian salad, which we all shared. I ordered try-color penne in oil & garlic sauce w/spinach & mushrooms, which I was going to share w/my daughter, but it came w/o the garlic. She tasted it and said it tasted bad, so she just filled up on salad and bread. I thought it tasted weird but figured it was just because it didn't have the garlic. Since I could only eat some of it, I took the leftover portion home in a box. The meal, with a coupon, cost $24.64 with tip. After I ate the rest of the pasta for supper, I went to bed early because I didn't feel well. Around 2 a.m., I woke up with terrible burning from my stomach up through my esophagus, a terrible lurching feeling and cramping in my stomach, and the feeling that I needed to vomit, which I did more than once, as well as being wracked with diarrhea throughout the night. By the morning, I was so sick that I called the Fayette County Health Dept. to report the incident. The person I spoke with said that a health inspector would be sent out to the restaurant on Monday, but he doubted that anything would be found because 9 times out of 10, no cause could be pinpointed. He suggested that I see my doctor to be tested for salmonella and/or e-coli. My daughter took me to The Little Clinic urgent care center, where I saw ****** *********, APRN, who examined me, diagnosed me with Gastroenteritis NOS 558.9, and prescribed RX # ******* (Ondansetron ODT 4 mg tablets to be taken under the tongue every 8 hours, which cost me $16.79, since it was not covered by my Humana/Wal-Mart Prescription Drug Plan. The side effects listed included headache, lightheadedness, dizziness, drowsiness, tiredness, among others. Of course, I experienced headaches and had to stop taking the medicine after the 3rd tablet. I was also told to stay on a bland diet like bananas, applesauce, saltines, and Gatorade, as well as to stay hydrated by drinking lots of water. I cancelled my reservations w/Lextran Wheels to take me to my aqua therapy yesterday or to the post office and Kroger to go shopping today because I was still feeling a little queasy. I called the Fayette County Health Dept. (XXX-XXX-XXX) and was told that ***** ********* had inspected Olive Garden and would call me regarding his findings. I am still waiting to hear from him before deciding whether I need to make an appointment with my primary care doctor to be tested for whatever bug I picked up @ Olive Garden. I have faxed copies of the receipts for expenses incurred as a result of this illness, as well as a copy of my visit to The Little Clinic, which was billed to Medicare and Bankers Fidelity, to ******* *******, Mgr. Guest Relations Analysis Systems, and to **** *****, General Manager of the Olive Garden where this incident occurred. I have also sent e-mails to Mr. ******* via the BBB website, as well as filing a complaint on Olive Garden's website, and e-mailed Olive Garden several times. I am waiting for the charge to post to my credit card before I dispute it with my credit card as a "defective product" so that I won't be charged for Olive Garden's bad food. When my daughter told my son about my contracting food poisoning, he said that the same thing happened to him, so he hasn't gone back because he doesn't think that their employees wash their hands, or something like that. If I don't hear from the health dept. by this afternoon, I'm going to try to get a further diagnosis from my doctor, which I expect Olive Garden (or Darden Restaurants) to pay for.

Desired Settlement
I want the cost of the lunch ($24.64) refunded to me, as well as the $16.79 which I spent for the prescription, all other medical expenses associated with this illness, as well as the cost of transportation to medical providers and pharmacies because of this food poisoning incident, and I want to be compensated for my pain and suffering. The medical practitioner @ The Little Clinic told my daughter to keep an eye on me because I was quite ill, looked pale, and had to be careful not to get dehydrated, or I'd have to go to the Emergency Room. My stomach still feels queasy, so I may decide to see my doctor tomorrow regardless of what ***** ********* of the Fayette County Health Dept. reports to me.

Business Response
We were contacted directly by the consumer. We were sorry to learn about their experience. At Olive Garden we take any report of illness very seriously, and have confirmed there were no other reports of this nature.

We have refunded the meals for Ms. ********** and filed a claim with our insurance carrier.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will be satisfied when I find out that Darden's insurance company will pay ALL my illness-related medical bills, including dr. visits, OTC medicine recommended @ my dr. visit, and additional compensation for my pain and suffering. I have received a refund for the meals charged to my credit card on 4/12/14, as well as receiving a check for $16.79 as reimbursement from Liberty Mutual Insurance Co. for the out-of-pocket expense I incurred from the RX prescribed for me @ Kroger's ************* @ ***** Creek Centre on 4/13/14 to combat the symptoms of food poisoning which I experienced after eating @ Olive Garden on 4/12/14. Darden has made a "good start" in compensating me for monetary and emotional trauma from this incident; I want to "wait and see" whether all my requests are met.

Business Response
We have filed a claim with our insurance carrier, and the the consumer is working with them at this time. Resolution is still in progress.


Consumer Response
From: ******* ****** (mailto:*************@*********)
Sent: Thursday, *** 22, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

Yes, resolution is still in process I have been reimbursed for my out-of-pocket prescription expense of $16.79 and Olive Garden has refunded the cost of the lunch on 4/12/14. There has been no reimbursement of medical expenses from The ************* @ Kroger on ***** Creek Rd. or for New ********* Clinic, where I visited my primary card dr. on 4/16/14 in connection with this illness, or for the OTC medication which I bought @ my dr.'s recommendation to combat the side effects of the prescription which I purchased on 4/13/14 to combat the symptoms of food poisoning which I experienced as a result of eating # Olive Garden on 4/12/14. I have faxed these receipts to both the local and corporate offices of Olive Garden, as well as faxing them to Liberty Mutual, which is Olive Garden's insurance carrier. I will keep the BBB apprised of any progress in this case. When the medical issues are resolved and resultant expenses paid by Olive Garden and/or their insurer, then and only then will I be satisfied. Please keep this case open while the business and their insurer attempts to resolve my issues.

Thank you.

**** **********

12/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello BBB staff in Killeen,Did I just got ripped off by Red Lobster????I bought 2 $50 gift cards and received 2 $10 bonus cards which have conditions: Valid off the purchase of two(2) adult dinner entrees, valid for 1/1/14 and 2/9/14The bonus card on Sunday Newpaper Flyer picture doesn't show fine prints and I felt this advertisement is malicious and misguided. I heard the restaurants staffs were asked by other customers as I did. This is NOT GIFT CARD and should say COUPON. This is the 1st time I am writing the concern to you and I appreciate your effort. I hope this email stops the national franchise restaurant misguiding people in my community. **** *****
Product_Or_Service: 2 $50 Gift Cards
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I really like to return the gift card to get my money back and have no intention to spend another $50-$100 with bitter feeling.

Business Response
Our gift card offer was honored as advertised.

We appreciate the feedback regarding the offer, and sent a gift card equal to the value of the coupons as a gesture of our concern.

Final Consumer Response
Please also see attachment.

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because the original flyer I have shows there was no condition on the gift bonus card and different. The wait peoples in the restaurant said several customers express same confused questions to them who brought the issue to the management who instructed the workers to explain the gift bonus card has conditions to use. This is misguided and ugly business activity and the company shall be accounted for. I may use the social media to alert the public on this kind of deal. Thank you in advance. **** *****

Final Business Response
We are sorry to learn our guest is not happy with the offer. We have honored our committment and additionally provided a goodwill gift card for his displeasure.

11/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Waiter entered their own tip onto my receipt and forged my name after already adding gratuity without my consent.
On October 5th, I visited the Olive Garden 1557 in Sterling, VA for one of my friend's birthday. During my dining experience, my water glass was empty the entire time- and the only way I got a new one is because my friend's grandmother had a full one that she was no longer drinking. Other people in our party had horrible tasting Sprite, which took forever to get replaced. The waiters that were assisting with our table were also very rude, and had an attitude the entire time. One African American man, and one younger girl with darker hair (mixed skin, I believe). After finally receiving our checks, I placed my credit card in the sleeve to pay and so did everyone else in our party.. Fifteen minutes went by and I went to the front desk area to ask where our server had went with our credit cards- he introduced the manager to me and I explained what was going on, he then said he would find our server. By the time I reached my table, the server had came back with our cards and our receipts to sign, however, he had already added his own gratuity without consenting anyone.. He didn't even deserve the 18% $2.61 tip that was added- the service was beyond unacceptable. People in our party complained and he then went back to reverse the transaction and give us new receipts without the added gratuity. He then brought back our cards and new receipts again, with gratuity still added (his second trip was pointless, still didn't remove gratuity.).. Extremely upset at the way my experience was, most of our party got up and left and left. I left my store copy on the table and left no additional tip and did not even bother to sign- I was very upset. Today, I went online to look at my credit card statement and I see that the final charge for my visit was $20.96.. I have the final receipt given to me by the restaurant saying that my total was $17.96 (I left no additional tip, so it should not have been any more than this).. This leads me to believe that the waiter signed my receipt and added his own tip of $3.00.. This is a posted charge. Not only is this fraud, but he did not deserve the $3.00 tip that he gave himself, nor did he deserve the gratuity of $2.61 that he also added himself and refused to remove.. This is fraud and If a resolution is not made within a few days I plan to take further legal action.

My Table was 3:3-4 , Check #: XXXXX , Waiter: **** * , Transaction: XXXXXXXXX. Check Amount: $15.35 + 18% Gratuity ($2.61) Total: $17.96 -- Total on my Credit Card: $20.96 ..

Olive Garden 1557
XXXXX Waterview Plaza
Sterling, VA 20166-6556

Desired Settlement
A refund of all charges posted to my credit card on the day of my visit.

Business Response
We issued a credit for the disupted amount and mailed a complimentary gift card to the consumer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told by the restaurant manager that I would receive a copy of the receipt in which the waitress had forged my name (fraud).. I feel that this is my right... I was told by guest relations via email that this is not possible.. I'm pretty sure the manager would not lie about something like this. I would also like to know the status of the employee's employment that did the fraudulent activity.

Final Business Response
We are not in a position to provide a signed copy of credit card receipts. We regret that our guest was misinformed. Additionally, we cannot share the circumstances of our team member's employment.

We can assure our guest this situation has been addressed and taken very seriously. We have issued a refund and mailed a complimentary gift card as goodwill gestures.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Restaurants

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.