BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

A & D Coast To Coast Relocation Services

Phone: (352) 536-9578Fax: (352) 536-9578View Additional Phone Numbers10626 Spring Lake Dr, ClermontFL 34711-7928 Send email to A & D Coast To Coast Relocation Serviceshttp://www.adcoast2coast.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Household and commercial moving company based in Central Florida.

BBB Accreditation

A & D Coast To Coast Relocation Services is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered A & D Coast To Coast Relocation Services' rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised A & D Coast To Coast Relocation Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A & D Coast To Coast Relocation Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
04/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed a contract with this company to deliver my belongings to AZ.And they have not done so yet it was Dec 29 2013 and it is March 1 2014 today
So now I have purchased a Home in San Diego Ca and have no furniture or bed they have it in Florida and I close on my house on March 14th.I just want my belongings they have told me every month since January 14 the orginal date that it would be here several dates have gone by and asked for a quote to see how much it would cost to get deliver to San Diego the doubled the price of what I payed to have it go from Florida to Arizona on top of what I already payed.So I told them to deliver it to AZ then they told me the took it off the truck and I would have to wait until March to get because it would leave in the begin March now they say Mid March and now I will be in San Diego On March 11th signing papers for a mortgage and closing on my home. I have had a storage Unit since January and no belongings to put in it because I was told my belongings would be here Jan 14 2014 and the latest January 31 2014 and still not here March 1 2014 And have a 3 month storage bill with nothing to put in the storage unit.I would like some help

Desired Settlement
I would like my belongings delivered to me and since I will be out of AZ as of March 10 2014 that would nice if they could deliver it to San Diego I would not mind paying a little more for it to be delivered to Ca but not as much as he wanted the last time. Something reasonable I want to work with this company they have be willing to work with me and get my Belongings out to me.

Business Response
Please see below the email exchange between us and the customer which resulted in resolution. The shipment has been delivered and we believe that the issue was resolved.

From: A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services mailto:*************@comcast.net
Sent: Thursday, March 06, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '******* ********'
Subject: RE: Move to AZ - CA from Florida

*******,
We have a deal, it was not my intention ever to put you through hardship but rather possibly some misinformation from many places.
We will bring direct to SAN and I am trying to make the first stop SAN to make it a little quicker.
Just so that I can do the right amount of disciplinary action at our end, please can you clarify the issue of the written date on your copy of the estimate.
Thanks/regards

***** *******
A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services
XXXXX Spring Lake Dr
Clermont
FL XXXXX

Tel: XXX XXX XXXX
www.ADCoast2Coast.com



From: ******* ******** mailto:********@yahoo.com
Sent: Thursday, March 06, XXXX X:XX PM
To: A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services
Subject: Re: Move to AZ - CA from Florida

Dear *****,
Thank your for replying to my letter. I do believe we can come to an agreement. I am willing to meet you half way. Since **** did tell me he was going to reimburse me for the storage here in Az. He told me it was his fault and he would deduct it from my cost of the delivery.
There is just one thing I want to get straight, I never told anyone that I changed my mind for you to deliver to here in AZ. I only asked for price quote. This is water under the bridge now.
How about you meet me half way and I will pay you $175 since you owe me 300 for the storage. You did say you wanted 300, so that is 125 off the $300. You did you say you have a truck going out to Ca.

******* ********


On Thursday, March 6, XXXX XX:XX PM, A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services <*************@comcast.net> wrote:
Dear *******,

Thank you for your email. I also believe that there must be a way to resolve this issue. After our first conversation yesterday evening I was very shocked to hear the content of the second, and rather than to enter into a full flared argument I hung up the line.

There is definitely something wrong on the contract side which is causing the confusion. The original document which I have here definitely shows pickup date 12/29/13 and the delivery date shows 12/31 - 2/31/14. There are some alterations and as we are both aware 3/31 does not exist but we had believed that this was a result of 01/31 being hastily changed to 02/31 meaning 02/28 being the last day of the month. Your lawyer has commented that when held up to the light a one can be seen behind the 2 but this is more confusing because you received your copy at the time it was written directly from Mr. **** ******** - please correct me if I am wrong.
This time span was given because of the few times we actually get to go as far west and by your signature on the document it was interpreted that this was acceptable to you.
If your copy does not show 02/31 please send me a copy so that I may take corrective action at our end and I offer our apologies for the occurrence.
At the time of loading, shortly before the deadline (end of Feb) we received a call from you stating that you wished the shipment to go to CA instead of AZ. The shipment was pulled off the AZ truck and the truck fully loaded with other shipments.
After you were offered an add on price for the CA leg, you advised that this was too high and that you wished that it be once again sent to AZ. You had missed the boat because the truck was fully loaded without your shipment and dispatched.
It is my understanding that in a phone call with Mr **** ********, because of having missed the truck, we needed extra time to wait for the next truck coming to AZ which would be during March. It is in our interest to get you your shipment as soon as possible but we cannot send a truck all that way with just your shipment.
We do have a truck leaving here on March 14th going west, we can route thru AZ and/or extend it to CA. I do concur that the original add on price for PHX/SAN was too high and did offer yesterday to do the extension for first $500 and then in my second call, for $300. I do have to cover the expenses of that extension and we do not add any profit. We too have had the expense of keeping the shipment here in storage at our cost however you did not need to rent your own storage at destination until the shipment was either there or en-route.
If any of the details that I have are incorrect, I stand ready to be shown where and what they are. We would also like to get the shipment to you and away from us.
For $300 we will bring it straight thru to San Diego, otherwise we will send it to AZ. If you have a contract showing 01/31 delivery, please send it to me.

***** *******
A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services
XXXXX Spring Lake Dr
Clermont
FL XXXXX

Tel: XXX XXX XXXX
www.ADCoast2Coast.com



From: ******* ******** mailto:********@yahoo.com
Sent: Wednesday, March 05, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: *************@comcast.net
Subject: Re: Move to AZ - CA from Florida

Dear *****.
In response to your letter of today 3/5/2014 . You were not abused by my father, he was trying to talk to you in my presence while I was talking to you. He never refused to let you talk to me. I was talking to you and you hung up the phone on me and sent this letter to me.
You can deliver the furniture where you want but I am warning, you are already in violation and it is in you best interest to resovlve this amicably. I don't want to go through a legal battle, but if I have to I will. I think I waited very patiently for my furniture to be delivered and all you did was lie to me about delivery dates. You cost me storage fees that you said you would reimburse me because it was your fault you didn't deliver. You also realize that you have breached the contract since 1/31/2014. I really don't want to make trouble for you. I just want my furniture, I am not playing any more games. If I have to come back to AZ from CA. you will pay all my costs.
My father isn't demanding you to do anything, this contract is between you and I. I was talking to you and you just hung up on me. I need a definite date when and where, no more guesses, I have to make arrangements to be available to meet the truck when you decide to deliver

******* ********


On Wednesday, March 5, XXXX X:XX PM, ******* ******** <********@yahoo.com> wrote:

On Wednesday, March 5, XXXX X:XX PM, A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services <*************@comcast.net> wrote:
Dear Mr. ******* ********,

Following receipt of your complaint through the Better Business Bureau and also a letter dated 02/26/2014 (received 03/03/2014) from your legal representative, *********** etc., I have today made contact with you in an effort to resolve the issue.
Being guided by your "Consumers desired resolution" in the BBB complaint, I initially offered to bring the shipment direct from FL to CA for an additional $500 which is a much reduced amount from that originally requested. You appeared to be still unhappy with this so I asked for a few minutes to calculate and come back to you, which you allowed .
After a couple of minutes and calculation, I called back and was met with a tirade of abuse by your father who would not connect me to yourself stating that you were incapable of handling the issue. It is evident that our effort today to resolve the issue has failed.

Your father instructed us to deliver the shipment to AZ and he would take care of it from there. If this is contrary to your wishes please let us know.

The truck will depart FL on March 14th and we expect it to be in AZ for delivery approx. Mar 18th/19th.

We will respond to your BBB complaint and the letter from your legal representative under separate cover.


***** *******
A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services
XXXXX Spring Lake Dr
Clermont
FL XXXXX

Tel: XXX XXX XXXX





03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** ******** breached the verbal and written content of the contract on several issues and FRAUDULENTLY charged my card without my knowledge.
12/30/13-**** (last name unknown) came to house for quote.
**** was very personable and was competing hard to win our business. He stated we would get three men & estimated it would take about nine hours to complete the move.
During the walk-through we mentioned that we were donating quite a lot of household and clothing items to charity. He said they support a women's shelter that could use the donated items, and that after the move was complete, he would send the truck back to the house to take the donation items. After notating the details of what the move entailed, **** gave us a flat rate of $965.84, which he said covered everything including six mattress bags, and 5 loaner wardrobes, as well as picking up the donations. After we agreed on the price, he discussed & wrote on the contract that the cost of going up stairs would normally go up although the most we would pay in total would be $1300. However, he stated several times in front of my husband & daughter that because he wanted our business, he would not charge us the extra if I ended up going upstairs as long as we "took care of the boys." I told him that I hoped to get something on the ground floor, but that if we did go upstairs, I would take care of them. He reiterated several times that it was a FLAT rate, & no additional charges would be made.
1/16/2014-On moving day only 2 men arrived. Only 1 of the 2 movers, ****, had prior moving experience. It was the 1st day on the job for the 2nd one, *****, & he had no prior moving experience. It took them nearly SIX hours, from X:XX-X:XX just to get from the house to the apartment, which is a distance of about 5 miles. When they got to the apartment, my daughter who was coordinating the move, bought them lunch at a cost of $30.
As they were offloading, ***** dropped my daughter's large flat-screen TV from the ramp to the ground. Since this item went directly into storage, we still do not know whether the TV was destroyed or not. Several other boxes that went into storage were smashed, & put into the unit upside down, even though they clearly stated that fragile items were inside. In addition, the storeroom had been crammed together, with sharp edges pressing hard up against a soft leather sofa.
**** and ***** did not finish the apartment off-load until around 8:30PM, & finished the storage units at 10:30, although they had to bring 1 piece of furniture back to the apartment because it would not fit into the units.
Once they finished we gave them each a tip of $90. They were very pleased with this and said it was very generous, and were also grateful for the lunch we had brought.
That night, before they got to the storage unit, I discovered that a box was missing. This box was not found so I phoned **** the next day. He was upset about the time it took to do the move & that they had to go up 2 flights of stairs (3rd floor). I pointed out that he had promised us 3 men who were experienced! I mentioned his promise that if I moved to an upstairs unit he would not charge anything extra as long as I took care of his men. He acknowledged this and said I had been very generous in paying the additional $180! After some time he agreed to have the men come back the next day to help us search the storage unit for the missing box, & clearly stated he was not going to charge me anything extra, because I had lived up to our agreement & that he wanted me to be happy. Instead of them coming, on 17th, without my knowledge he had fraudulently charged my credit card an additional $334! This drained my account causing me to go overdraft. I called ****, who then told me that they were not coming back, that I had signed the contract that said he could charge that extra money if he wanted to. When I brought up what he had said about taking care of the men, & that only 2 movers were sent, He stated that he did NOT jot down the agreement to me taking care of the men, or the fact that he promised me 3 movers.

Desired Settlement
Like a child, all he kept repeating was "look at your contract, look at your contract, look at your contract". He would not discuss anything else, nor would he say more. When I suddenly realized that he had done this on purpose, he laughed at me and told me again to look at the contract! He is a professional con man on behalf of the company!
In support of what I am saying, the movers abandoned a significant amount of moving equipment in the form of many still packaged moving blankets, plastic film, and moving boxes, including the "loaner" wardrobe boxes, which we had not used because we had our own. Additionally, all of the donation items were left behind. This caused me additional distress because I was not able to locate a charity to pick the items up in the time left before we had to vacate the house. (The donation items ARE mentioned on the contract). I ended up having to pay a company $117 to pick up the large items, and then rented a truck to remove all of the rest of the donations.
Because of ****** breach of contract, and NOT including the fraudulent charge for $334, the move cost me an additional $357! With the fraudulent charge, I spent $691 ABOVE the cost of the FLAT RATE I was quoted!

I am seeking a refund of $700.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *************@comcast.net
Here is a reprint of the email exchange referring to this complaint which is felt to be self explanatory. We have received no claim for missing or damaged items from this customer and can offer no further input other than that contained herein:

Original Message
From: A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services mailto:*************@comcast.net
Sent: Sunday, January 19, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: '****'
Subject: RE: New contact form received

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your email which we will make use of in our training sessions.

It is very clear from your writing that things can be viewed very differently from other perspectives.

Please find herewith, as pdf attachments, copies of the "Estimated Cost of Services" document and the "Bill of Lading". Both of these documents state very clearly that whilst the rate quoted for the job was $965.84 it would rise to a maximum of $1300 if either the destination residence or storage was on a higher floor level than ground. Both of these documents have been signed by the shipper/consignee. These documents constitute the contract and any discussion between the workers and yourselves regarding the size of their tips has no bearing on the case. In fact it hints of devious practice to cheat the Moving Company.

The delivery apartment proved to be on the 3rd floor and the storage units (very small/too small for the load) were a very long carry from the access point with numerous turns and corridors. A lady, thought to be a daughter of the consignee checked each and every piece and box at destination to assure that each was received to the correct facility.

At the end of the move, it was proven that despite all efforts, the storage units were too small and a sofa was unable to be put inside. At this stage, it was decided that in the interests of customer service and in an effort to actually go the extra mile, that the sofa would be taken back to the 3rd floor apartment, even though the hour was extremely late and there was a risk of disturbing other residents.

Had the storage units been of sufficient capacity, we are sure that the items would all have fitted in and that the stacking of items would have been possible with some order and with corridors left for access. As it was, thrift had been a determining factor in the size choice as it is been in the furor over the contracted additional charges.

During the phone calls which were reportedly disconnected by us, the manner and use of inappropriate language was extremely shocking and not what we are used to hearing from ladies. To hang up the phone seems to have been the most appropriate course of action.

Following the move, we were notified that you were missing a box said to contain a firearm. We were unaware of a firearm having been present in the load and would point out that it is an offense for you to have included this in your load and in fact to transport it in this manner. The items was not pointed out to us and we had/have no knowledge of it. Neither of our loaders recall the item going in to the storage and your representative was checking each item into the destination. We would suggest that you contact the local law enforcement to report this missing item. You also comment on stolen items, please advise us full details and we would also suggest that these also be reported to the law enforcement, as indeed we will when, full details are known.

Following the verbal tirade on the telephone, it was decided that the level of behavior did not warrant the offer of extra free service in returning to help find your items. The insulting behavior was enough already.

You will note on the "Bill of Lading" there is a clear receipt that the shipment was received in good order and there were no comments to the contrary. It is also noted from your email that you did provide the workmen with tips, which indicate that you were satisfied with their level of service.

We regret that you are unhappy with our service and hope that your next mover will not have the same experience that we have had.

A & D Coast to Coast Relocation Services Clermont FL XXXXX

Tel/Fax: XXX XXX XXXX
www.ADCoast2Coast.com

Original Message
From: **** mailto:***********@gmail.com
Sent: Sunday, January 19, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *************@comcast.net; **************************@gmail.com; *************@comcast.net; **************************@gmail.com
Subject: New contact form received

You have received a new contact form message.
Name : ****n
Email : ***********@gmail.com
Message : I\'d like you to be aware of my review and how unhappy I am with your service.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

When we chose A&D Coast to Coast Relocation Services, we were moving to a 3rd floor apartment. We went with this company because the manager made a verbal agreement to not charge us extra for the 3 floors as long as we tipped the movers well - and we did, tipping them $50 each. Later, when the movers began to put boxes in our storage units, the boxes were thrown like trash, stuffed to sides, squeezed to the roof, making it impossible to get to any of them. I had spent hundreds of dollars to help pay for these movers because my mother (5\'4, 110lbs) and my sister (5\'5, 110lbs) were the only ones in my family who were in the state of Florida to move a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom, 2 car garage house into a third floor apartment. I not only trusted the word of the manager and the company but we were inexcusably taken advantage of. After the movers finished with the storage units and the apartment, my mother finds out that we were charged an extra $350 \"for the 3 floors fee\". When my sister called, she was met with an aggressive and dishonest business man. He not only screamed at my sister, he hung up. Not once, not twice, but several times. He called my sister a liar and did not have the integrity to admit a business mistake. Instead of coming back the next day, as promised, he then ignored the rest of my mother\'s and sister\'s phone calls - leaving them with two full storage units of a mess they caused. Now on their own and after spending hundreds of dollars on movers, my mother and sister had to do the job we hired A&D Coast to Coast Relocation Services to do. After hours of work, the mess left by the untrustworthy and cheating company that we mistakenly hired, the units were organized by my mother and sister. The most concerning part is the nature of these boxes. They were piled to ceiling; many of them being very heavy. My sister and mother could have been injured due to the negligence of this moving company\'s slimy business practices.
3 days gone, more than a thousand dollars wasted, and over $300 stolen I am more than willing to fight for compensation. Anyone else thinking about using this company needs to know who they are dealing with.
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

NB: Copies of the Bill of Lading and Estimate Order of Service are available but we were unable to attach them to this note.

07/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company has not repaired and replaced damaged and lost items. It has been 3 months.
During our move from Florida to Texas, A&D Coast to Coast movers damaged and lost items (an itemized list has been provided to the company complete with estimated cost and photos). They have consistently delayed compensation, requiring additional information. We have responded in a timely manner to each request. We were promised replacement cost of some items and repair of others. Their excuse is that each person we have dealt with is no longer at the company. I have requested to speak directly with ***** ******** the owner, but he does not respond. We were charged for additional insurance. We completed the claim form requesting replacement and repairs for damages totaling $3624. We were told that it may take up to 30 days. It is now 3 months since our move. Their staff is highly unprofessional and inexperienced. **** ******** is particularly rude and verbally abusive. We were told that someone would be out to see us, made arrangements to be available, and there were no-shows. We are told to stay home for a weekend, then told that they can't make it and they want to schedule yet another weekend. We are told a check is in the mail, then we are told that we need to produce more documents. Yet the company does nothing in the form of corrective actions. We paid our moving charges in full immediately and were "100% Guaranteed" a "smooth move." Additionally, we were told they had their own trucks, but on the day of our move they arrived with 2 rental trucks.

Desired Settlement
I would like exactly what I was promised - full replacement value for my damaged and lost items. This totals $3524. We no longer trust their ability to repair our items, and expect full compensation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* - VP/Co-own
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *************@comcast.net
Timeline:
Household shipment loaded in FL 01/05/2014
Shipment delivered in TX on 01/10/2014
Customer signed for receipt with no notations
Driver reported some damage.
Customer contacted us on 01/28/2014 reporting some damages
Forwarded claim form with instructions 01/29/2014
Received "draft" claims form and photos from customer on 02/03/2014 unsigned and without any receipts or information with regard to model/serial numbers/estimates as requested
Despite the incomplete claim, evaluation was initiated and attempts were made to locate a qualified furniture appraiser/repairer in the area of the customer's new residence. This proved very difficult and many with whom we made contact either did not cover this area or proved to be unwilling or unreliable and did not accept the assignment.
Numerous phone calls were exchanged with the customer during this period in an attempt to keep the customer informed.
Eventually, on March 6th, we confirmed an order for a furniture repair specialist to contact our customer and set up an appointment to inspect the reported damage.
On March 17th, we followed up with the specialist as nothing had been heard either from him or the customer.
On March 20th, we received the specialist report and his quote for the job.
On March 28th, the customer called and spoke to our coordinator and the conversation degenerated into a tirade of verbal abuse from the customer. Attempts to establish a mature conversation failed.
Following this exchange, an email was forwarded to the customer summarizing the position at that time with regard to the claim.
a)The customer was again reminded that a signed claim form was still awaited, as were supporting documents such as invoices and/or details of dates of acquisitions.
b)A list of items that were agreed to be repaired by the specialist at our cost.
c)A request for substantiation of value was requested for 3 items.
d) Claim for broken marble pedestal base was disputed due to evidence of previous repair attempt, and the quoted value of the item was thought to be excessive and there was no invoice proof of purchase date or price.
e) Claim for damage to the "Kitchen Aide" appliance was refused because the photo provided proved that the item had been placed inside a plastic bag up-side down, inside a box. The packing had been performed by the customer and not the mover. The cause of any damage had not been proven and items containing fluid would have been declined for carriage if known. Additionally, value had not been substantiated and it is unclear how the drainage of lubricant would have caused any damage to the appliance provided the said fluid was replaced before and attempts to use it.

We advised that the items needed for further processing were, a signed claim form, receipts and information with regard to purchase of the items.
The customer opened a case file with BBB on April 1st 2014.
April 1st, 2014 BBB contacted us.
April 3rd, 2014 the customer forwarded us a signed claim form.
We are at a loss as to how to proceed further. We have not received the information that we feel is necessary for us to correctly evaluate the case and therefore we have some reservations as to how legitimate the claim is. The reluctance to provide either a signed claim or substantiating information only serves to feed our doubts.
The increase in the movers level of liability was not charged for as stated in the complaint, it was provided at no additional charge on a complimentary basis. The customer chose the level of $250 deductible on behalf of the customer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Re: Customer signed for receipt with no notations and incomplete form:
When A & D's (rented) moving trucks arrived in Allen, the two drivers noted how poorly the trucks were packed and how the contents had all shifted and caused damage. The drivers told us that the person who was in charge of packing the truck has since been fired for poor performance and stealing items that were donated to charity. We were asked to sign for the delivery and then make a complete list of damages, which we did, within a reasonable unpacking window.

As per directions from Todd, who acted as our main contact, we completed claim forms provided. As the directions to complete the form were incomplete, we sent **** a draft copy, with pictures of the damaged items. We followed up with a phone call to clarify how to complete the form. Todd told us that the draft was fine and there no need for any changes. Since this time, Todd's telephone number is no longer working, and we have been told he no longer works for the company.

When the excuse of an unsigned form was used by the movers to explain their inactivity to take corrective action for our damages, the form was signed and returned immediately. Unfortunately, receiving a signature on the form did not result in the movers completing repairs.

Re: Repair of items:
A & D had several people, whom they found on Craig's List, contact us to repair the damaged items. We were told that the repair costs were $450, and that the repairs were approved. We were to be contacted by *****, who would make the repairs. We were also told that ***** had already been paid. To date, there has been no contact from *****, and no repairs made. It is astounding that the movers claim that a report and quote were given to them by a "specialist" on March 20th, without the specialist ever visiting our residence to assess the damages.

In the movers' response to BBB, it was stated "attempts were made to locate a qualified furniture appraiser/repairer in the area of the customer's new residence. This proved very difficult and many with whom we made contact either did not cover this area or proved to be unwilling or unreliable and did not accept the assignment."

This statement is in direct contrast with what we were told regarding ***** and the repairs. It is also quite unbelievable that in the area of our new residence - Dallas, Texas - the movers found it so difficult to find a qualified appraiser/repairer!

Re: Broken Marble Pedestal:
The pedestal was dropped by the movers before it was loaded onto the truck. ****'s mover glued the pieces of the pedestal together. We did not try to repair the pedestal. It was only attempted to be repaired by**** personnel.

If A & D can find a comparable marble pedestal that costs less than our estimation, we would be happy to adjust the estimate. Simply claiming that they do not agree with our estimates does not constitute a clearing of their responsibility. Again, this is why an objective insurance appraiser was to be involved.

Re: Kitchen Aide Appliance:
The Kitchen Aide Appliance was clearly market "This End Up." It was in the poorly packed truck, and the drivers admitted that all the contents shifted during the move. When the contents were unloaded, **** the**** driver, noted that the box was upside down. She had seen this situation before and said that the appliance's motor oil leaked out. We opened the box together and the motor oil did leak. She assured us that it would be replaced. **** seems so confused in their response, since they make it sound like we packed loose fluid (which is clearly not done). The appliance is made with motor oil, and the motor cannot be opened to remove the liquid. Hence, the box containing the Kitchen Aid was clearly marked and packed carefully.

Re: Numerous Contacts:
On March 24, 2014, we were told by *****, another A & D representative, that *****, the owner, was going to send us a check for the items that could not be repaired.

On March 27, 2014 we spoke to ****, another A & D representative, who told us she needed to file a claim with the insurance company. She was to have everything done within the hour and would send us a check the next day.

On March 28, 2014 we spoke to **** again. She needed to refile the claim with the insurance company. We were also asked to sign the original claim form and send it back. We completed this in a timely manner.

Upon originally soliciting our business, we stated that we had several cherished items. We paid for the movers to build crating. Other items were packed as per the packing instructions of the movers who were on location to pack our house for 1.5 days. Some were packed by us with their guidance, others were blanketed and packed by the movers. When the damages were revealed during unpacking and we were patiently awaiting some form of corrective action by the movers, we explained that we could not furnish receipts for several of our items. **** told us that they would arrange for an insurance appraiser to appraise those items that had no receipts. No visit has been arranged. We were also instructed to go online to provide reasonable replacement values.

We have not received any further information from A & D regarding our compensation and repairs. A & D no longer answers our calls.

On****'s website ************************ it states 100% Customer Satisfaction. This is not true, as we are not satisfied.

With constant turn over in personnel, always placing blame on personnel who are no longer there, A & D is very difficult to do business with. **** is particularly offensive and believes that it is better to bully clients than to provide appropriate customer service. *****, the owner, seems unable to deal with clients on his own. When it was clear that the company was attempting to take no corrective actions for the damages incurred, we requested to only deal with *****. He has never had the courtesy or the professionalism to contact us. In the response to BBB they accuse our claim as not legitimate. They have shown their true colors as a fly-by-night company, even acknowledging that they do not know how to proceed. It seems they believe that they should simply be relieved of their responsibility to adequately compensate us for our losses. It has been close to 4 months now.

We are confident that BBB will know how to deal with this travesty.


Final Business Response
We would like to move along with this claim. We do still require information with regard to date of purchase, evidence of purchase price, model numbers where applicable and year of manufacture. With this info we can move along. These requirements have been previously requested and are indeed standard requirements to process a claim. With requested information can proceed further.

Consumer Response
From: ********* ***** *******
Sent: Wednesday, June 04, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ***********@centralflorida.bbb.org
Subject: Case # XXXXXXXX - re-open

*******:
Please re-open our case #XXXXXXXX. It was erroneously closed since we were out of town on a business trip and were unable to respond. The business has taken so much time in resolving this case that we did not know BBB would close our case so quickly. Here is our response to the business' latest comment:
We are "ready to move along with this claim" as well, and have been since January. As we have provided (and has been accepted by business' representative) several times in the Bill of Lading #XXXXXXXX, a list of the articles damaged, nature of the damages, present values, and amounts claimed is on file. The business is claiming that it is "standard" for families to provide the date of purchase of every article in the moving trucks? We have researched the articles in question and have submitted model numbers and styles for items that were available. As the business originally directed us when some items did not have original receipts (as most families do not have for every piece of their belongings), we were told that an appraiser and repairer would be sent to our home to assess the values that are in question. This seemed reasonable and frankly the best way to proceed. We were then told that there are no appropriate appraisers or repairmen available in the Dallas, Texas area. Perhaps BBB can suggest a legitimate appraiser and repairmen in Dallas? It appears that this excuse is just another delay tactic on the part of the business. We would be more than willing to "google" our items once again to furnish proof that our claimed values are reasonable. Why not refer back to the many documents and emails that we have already provided? If the business does not accept our estimates, they are free to send out a legitimate and objective professional. But to continue to delay equitable compensation for our losses and damages is not an option.


Business Response
It is our aim to conclude this matter in a complete and final matter accepted by both parties. We will not settle in part and leave open items. We have to conclude a total package.
When assessing compensation, it is necessary to establish approx. dates of purchase, full details of items such as model/type/size (where applicable) and amount $ of purchase. A food mixer is sure to have a make/model/serial number on it and a marble pedestal must have a certain height and size. A plant stand of this reported value would normally have information available with regard to point of purchase/date and purchase price. It was necessary to have a signature on the claim form which is an affirmation of a truthful claim.
At an early stage it was established what could be done for the furniture however the withholding of requested information has caused the delay. If the efforts that have been made to complaining to the various bodies had been directed into answering our legitimate enquires, the claim would have been finalized a long time ago.
We do not need information on the complete load only the items we have under query from the claim.
If we can obtain information on the mixer, plant stand and the "Guitar stand", we will be in a position to make a settlement proposal.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to the business' most recent remarks: "If we can obtain information on the mixer, plant stand and the "Guitar stand", we will be in a position to make a settlement proposal."
1. Mixer -KitchenAid Artisan 5 Qt Stand Mixer Onyx
Serial # WPXXXXXXX
Model # **********
$349.99
2. If by " Plant Stand" they mean MARBLE COLUMN PEDESTAL FOR BRONZE STATUE
Dimensions H 39"
circumference 21"
Top/base 13" x 13"
Paid $600 at private art sale/comps $750.00
3. CUSTOM WOOD MULTIPLE GUITAR STAND
Gift $150 value/ comparable replacement
THE CLASSIC 6 - $199.00
As per other remarks by business: "It was necessary to have a signature on the claim form which is an affirmation of a truthful claim."
I refer the business to the email with attachment dated April 3, 2014, containing a second mailing of the claim, complete with signature.
Photos of all damages were also sent to the business, along with estimates of replacement value and repair estimates. The company was to send out someone to assess our estimates and see all the items in question (all of which are still sitting in storage waiting for their inspection.) The repairs were supposedly being settled with a $450 check that was in the mail several months ago - perhaps that was not "truthful."
Now that we have furnished the business' requested information (in yet another form)for the 3 items remaining in question, our claim for the loss and damages of our 12 items can be settled once and for all. If this information is still unsuitable to the business,they may send out a legitimate and objective appraiser. If they had sent out an appraiser and repairman 6 months ago, this would be settled and "concluded." We certainly hope there will be no more delay tactics.


Business Response
I am currently in Seattle, WA and will return t the office 07/11-12 and will respond ,ore fully when I return.
The provision of the mixer model/serial details has allowed us to obtain further detail with regard to the problems relating to this item. I will respond fully upon my return

09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to complete the move without customer's help.
Upon contracting with ***** ******* to move my parents from The Villages, FL, to Atlanta, I paid the 25% deposit on invoice 0044 on 6-17-14. In his estimate, he agreed to pick up from 2 locations on 7-7-14 and deliver to 2 locations on 7-7 and 7-8. The morning of 7-7, ***** called to say his team would be there around 10:30 instead of 8:30 or 9:00. When they arrived, they didn't know how to disassemble the grand piano and were looking is up on the internet. This finally was accomplished. Then the driver said they were not going to Atlanta until 7-8 because ***** had given him no money for a room. This was also resolved. The truck got on the road around 2:30. My sister meet the driver at the nursing home at 8:30 on 7-8, but he had no crew to help him unload. ***** was unable to resolve this and the maintenance man at the nursing home suggested going to the local gas station and hiring Mexicans. My sister did this, hired 3 Mexicans, and the move was successfully completed. There was a scary moment when the grand piano almost got dropped on the driver when he was switching out a leg. My sister requested a $100.00 discount on the bill to cover her cost of hiring the Mexicans. Of course, ***** was quite agreeable with that.

Desired Settlement
I feel that ***** ******* should refund $1000.00 to us because of his total lack of management of his "moving crew". My sister did better with Mexicans and his driver. While it's a funny story and the move got done, she could have been robbed or raped.

I also want people to know about his poor performance so they don't make the same mistake that I did hiring him.

Business Response
We regret that Ms.******** was dissatisfied with our service and did apologise for any inconvenience suffered on the day of the move. I was unable to have direct and timely contact with her during the move because I was driving in the mountains of Wyoming and Washington and my service was intermittent at best.
The quote was given and accepted for a load from 2 points in FL on 07/07 and delivery to 2 points in GA on either 07/07 or 07/08. The Order of service did not specify any times for either pickup or delivery however during telephone conversations, a time for the first pickup was estimated at being between 8.30 and 9 AM. Early on 07/07 it was established that the crew was running late and the shipper was notified at 7.45 AM that they would be there at around 10.30 AM. Approx 1 hour later than had been previously estimated.
The crew arrived and were confronted with a piano of a type which they had not previously experienced. The leg fixtures were very different to those they had seen before. I am pleased that they took the time out to consult the internet for more information before causing damage.
The customer had been previously advised by myself that the delivery would take place in GA on 07/08 because we did not wish to attempt delivery in the dark which it would be after loading and driving. This had been accepted and was in accordance with the contract. The driver had not received his expenses prior to loading because there was no need. He was wired his travel money that afternoon before he departed to GA.
It is industry practice for the driver to go to destination on his own, especially in long distance trips (FL - GA - IL - MI - FL) as it is cost prohibitive to have helpers sitting for days in the cab and being paid wages/expenses just for looking out of the window.
It was established between the driver and the shipper that she desired an 8 AM delivery. This would be difficult because the supplier for the manpower in GA had already left for the day and would not open again until 7 AM on 07/08.
On 07/08 at promptly 7 AM the manpower company was contacted and they promised to have men at the customers address at 8 AM. Their services were confirmed and paid for. 8 AM arrived and in fact so did midday without the manpower arriving despite numerous attempts to chase them up and actually find alternatives. The contract/order of service or the Bill of Lading did not give a specific time for delivery other than 07/08. At around midday the customer elected to supply their own manpower to assist in the offload and requested a reduction in the rate and their proposed reduction was accepted. The driver had been unable unload by himself due to a couple of heavy pieces.
The customer arranged the manpower and the load was offloaded. There was an incident when this inexperienced manpower came close to dropping the piano on top of our driver but luckily both the driver and the piano escaped damage. The customer was lucky that their employment of casual Latino labor did not result in any costly claims/damage. The offload was accomplished.
We would have liked to have delivered the load in a time span which suited the customer better, especially seeing as there was an elderly person involved, but our efforts were in vain. We were however within the dates specified in our contract and the requested (at that time) reduction in charges was given. We are unable to offer anything further and than the advice of checking the legality and experience of casual labor before hiring, this can avoid severe problems.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

If you use A&D Coast to Coast, I would make sure you have EVERY DETAIL in writing. I had a verbal agreement with ***** ******* that the truck would be driven to Atlanta on 7-7-14 for a morning delivery on 7-8-14. The fact that his driver was not given any money for a motel room and was not expecting to drive to Atlanta until 8-8 makes me think that ***** had no intention of delivering on Tuesday morning. I needed the morning delivery because I had to drive back to Cincinnati on Wednesday to get back to work and my sister needed help unpacking our parents at the nursing home.

***** was also not accurate about when we found our own manpower for the Atlanta delivery. That happened around 10:00 Tuesday morning, because my sister showed up at her house after the nursing home move in around 11:30 with the driver and her hired help as I was leaving to take our parents to the nursing home.

The driver tried to do a good job and seemed very frustrated with *****, but the way I see it, the purpose of hiring a moving company is so you do not have to manage the move yourself. By hiring day laborers in Florida, we could have rented a U-Haul and done this move ourselves.

I didn't really expect ***** to reimburse us anything for his company's poor performance. My advice to anyone checking this complaint is to spend a little more money and find a reputable mover.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Relocation Service, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Movers - International, Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Ave SE
Washington, DC20590-0001
(800) 832-5660
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of MC504517 for this company, issued by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Their web address is http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov. Interstate Moving.

Type: Interstate Mover (State to State)

BBB records show a license number of IM1167 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service. Intrastate Mover.

Type: Intrastate Mover (Within the State)

BBB records show a license number of DOT 1299976 for this company, issued by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Their web address is http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov. USDOT Number.

Type: Interstate Mover (State to State)

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2000, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Karin Blackie (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Terry Blackie (Vice President)
Business Category

Relocation Service, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Movers - International, Movers

Products & Services

This company offers relocation services.

Alternate Business Names
KTA Enterprises (USA), Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A & D Coast To Coast Relocation Services

10626 Spring Lake Dr

Clermont, FL 34711-7928

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10626 Spring Lake Dr 

    Clermont, FL 34711-7928

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A & D Coast To Coast Relocation Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 213-6068
  • (352) 272-4687
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.facebook.com/pages/A-D-Coast-To-Coast-relocation-services/276173772472060
  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e6MUwyyIMcU
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Relocation Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.