BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/22/2011

Rental Home Management Services Inc.

Phone: (407) 261-5610Fax: (407) 267-5609659 Maitland Ave, Altamonte SpringsFL 32701 Send email to Rental Home Management Services Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/22/2011

BBB has determined that Rental Home Management Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rental Home Management Services Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rental Home Management Services Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
09/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have not yet recieve our security deposit. Its been over the 30 day promise. Also unfairly saying we are getting nothing back. We will dispute!
We have rented a home from this company for 7 years. Never once late or missing a payment. Kept the home in beautiful condition and every year at inspection we were told this by the property manager. We vacated the premises on June 29 and it is now August 5 and we still have not recieved our security deposit in the mail. We have called and emailed several times and they say they sent it but we have not gotten it. On the last call today August 5 we were told by the property manager that we were not getting any of it back anyways. Then she began to list off a bunch of claims they made on it which were completely unwarrented. Unfortunately we cant fight the claims until we recieve the info. Legal advice has told us that if they fail to send the deposit within 30 days that we are entiled to the entire deposit. We will look into this further. And we will dispute charges if we ever get the security deposit information.

Desired Settlement
We feel that your company could deduct money from our deposit in having to power wash the grounds and for the removal of the sandbox. Charging a modest amount for both and not overcharging for both. All other chargers are petty and false. We were in this home for 7 years never late in payment and always caring for the home above and beyond the norm. We are only seeking what is rightfully ours. We hope you understand and make the right and ethical decision to return to us what is ours. Thank you!

Business' Initial Response
From: **** ****** (mailto:****@renthomefl.com)
Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 2:50 PM
To: 'Better Business Bureau'
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

I received this complaint and am in the process of researching the issue. I will respond on Wednesday August 21st, 2013.

Thank you,

**** ******

**** A. ******, CPM, MPM
President

Office (XXX) XXX-XXXX x ***
Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX
****@renthomefl.com

Consumer's Final Response
I would like to add quickly that rental homes mgt did reimburse us a small portion of our security deposit. We received it August 31. Although we are happy that they did re-evaluate their claims and reimburse us, we still felt that it was not enough. They were still unfair regarding the charges for the sandbox removal (over charged) and the house cleaning fee( over charged). We understand that they say this is what the company they used charged, not them, But still an extreme amount. At this point though we are willing to let it go and close the BBB complaint. Thank you.

Business' Final Response
Please also see attachment.

This letter is my response to claim number XXXXXXXX in which Ms.******** ******* on 8/5/2013 that Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

Note: I did complete this response on August 21st as previously stated however for some reason it did not go through to you on your system. I did also on that same day send the attachments through email which you did receive.

Ms. ******* did live in the home for seven years and rental payments, as expected, were made on time. We do appreciate her residency and timely payments.

Rental Home Management Services, Inc, did send the security deposit claim within the thirty day time frame as required for F.S. 83.49 and Ms. ******* did respond to that claim in writing within the fifteen day requirement. Once these time frames are met there is not a time requirement for settlement. However, we work on these issues timely so as not to hold funds from either the tenant or the property owner.

In Ms. *******'s complaint and her response to our claim she states she was wrongfully charged for paint and/or kilz of the walls. We did not charge Ms. ******* for either item.

She was charged for the following:
1. Interior Cleaning
2. Pressure Washing: driveway, sidewalk and pool porch are.
3. Replace miniblinds and vertical blind
4. Remove outside furniture and trash
5. Remove sandbox and replace shrubs

Ms. ******* was notified by the property manager that the cleaning was not done well and that she would want to get some refund from her cleaners. We do have photos of the appliances and other cleaning needed. Ms. ******* agreed to pay for the pressure washing in her response to our security deposit claim.

Ms. ******* was previously notified by the HOA that the sandbox was not in compliance and she was notified by Rental Home Management Services, Inc. that she would have to remove it at her expense. She had ample time to remove the sandbox however she did not requiring the property owner to pay a vendor to do it. The amount we charged Ms. ******* was the exact amount the vendor charged.

We do not make bogus charges on security deposit claims. While I understand there may be objections to claims we strive to be fair with both the tenant and the property owner in these circumstances. The property manager is currently reviewing her records and will be responding to Ms. ******* timely. If we find her response regarding the blinds and the removal of the furniture to be correct then we will adjust the claim accordingly.

I respectfully request this complaint regarding a security deposit issue not be added to our complaint list as we are governed by statute as to how we handle these claims and also by the property owner for whom we work.

I sent 4 documents in my email of August 21st, 2013 which I request to review in regard to this response.

Thank you,
**** A. ******, CPM, MPM
Broker-owner
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Racked up charges on move out to consume as much of the security deposit as possible. Very unethical business.
We rented with Rental Home Management for 15 months. To start the process was very robotic and cold. For the most part the Property Managers of which we had three, were not very knowledgeable using the tools of their trade. On moving in the issues started right away with the dryer that continued to run with the door open, and the maintenance requests that were answered partially or not answered at all. We had our vehicles damaged in the driveway by the HOA landscaping company only to have the owner of RHM **** ****** tell us that it was not her problem. On move out RHM worked very hard to chip away from the security deposit with bogus charges. There are many options for rental management companies, I would recommend steering clear of this one.

Desired Settlement
$667.96 wrongfully deducted from my security deposit. If not I will be forced to make my case in small claims court.

Business Response
Good Morning,

This response is to case# XXXXXXXX in which the complainant states Rental Home Management Services, Inc. "racked up" charges to consume as much of his security deposit as possible.

This is a complaint involving charges for work necessary to a rental home and charged from the security deposit.

First, the complainant did not terminate his lease timely. He lived in this property and renewed his lease for another year. Then he notified us he had purchased a property and was moving. In this instance, his lease states that the security deposit is forfeited. However, the property owner for this property did not choose to enforce that clause in the lease choosing instead to allow the tenant to move without penalty (not even charging rent until the property was re-rented) and handle the security deposit the normal inspection method.

The tenant moved, the move out condition report was completed and the security deposit claim form was sent properly to the complainant. He then sent an email (not what is required for a proper response to a security deposit claim) however we accepted his email even though he did not specify what he was objecting to except to say all of it.

I have attached the claim form, photos (some before and after) and the actual invoices for work completed. I trust he will and you will agree these are minimal amounts charged by the vendors for this work. If we were trying to "rack up" charges it would seem we would not have such reasonable charges for the work performed.

As to the complainant statement he had a problem with the HOA and he was told "not my problem" let me reiterate I explained that the property owner does not control the vendors the HOA hires nor how that vendor performs their work. I believe the HOA tried to resolve the complainant's issue by paying for some repair. I do not know how that was resolved between the complainant and the HOA.
However, the issue was not a landlord/tenant issue. A person would not call their mortgage company if they were dissatisfied with the work the HOA performed. From that, the complainant internalized the "not my problem" statement.

It is always stressful when we attempt to handle lease and landlord issues timely and with care and the results are not satisfactory to all concerned.

I realize this complainant did not enjoy all of his time at this rental home and for that as I have in the past I have apologized to him.

In an effort to resolve this I will credit the complainant the amount that would ordinarily come to this company. Namely the postage charge of $12.96 and the security deposit claim fee (as stated in the lease) of $150.00 for a total of $162.96.

Please let me know if the complainant responds this would be satisfactory.

Thank you,

**** ******,
************
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

Consumer Response
From: ******* ** ***** (mailto:********************)
Sent: Tuesday, December 16, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Cc: **** ****** (****@renthomefl.com); ****@renthomefl.com; ******** ******
Subject: (SPAM) RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)
Importance: High

*******,

Thank you for your follow-up. I am contesting the full amount of $667.96 that was wrongfully deducted. I do not see where **** the owner of this business has a clue what is going on. Let me breakdown the fees wrongfully accessed by this business. Attached is the conversation on moving out, please note that the maintenance items were documented once again and only addressed when we were completely vacated.

Certified Mail Charges $12.96
Claim Processing Fees 150.00
Broken Handrail $35.00 (was loose on move in and fell off. We reported the defect to ***** ***** on 1/17/2014 via email and while ***** responded to the email the repair was never made.)
Replace broken closure on back porch door (Broke when my 9 year opened the door. We reported the defect to ******** **** on 5/13/2014 via email and while ******** responded to the email the repair was never made.)
Touch-up paint. $40.00 x 3 = 120 (due to my wife having cancer we requested that the town home not be painted on our moving in. Why are we being charged when we lived in the apartment for over a year and since we saved this owner / management company the expense of re-painting? Prior to us moving in. I did patch and touchup the paint in the entire home prior to move out.
Pressure wash front and rear $110 (this is a town home managed by the HOA, the HOA has a contractor that comes by and provides this service) the tenet is not responsible for the outside of this structure.
Broken towel bar $10.00 (had stress fractures on move in and finally broke. We reported the defect to ***** ***** on 1/17/2014 via email and while ***** responded to the email the repair was never made.)
Scrape & re-do caulk $55.00 (was identified during move in walkthrough. Caulking was stained and indicated pervious mildew)
Supply & Install 20 light bulbs $40.00 (this is a complete fabrication. Bulbs were missing on move in, I stated that I would install my energy efficient bulbs so there was no issue with the missing bulbs. I however would not leave them behind.
Interior cleaning $100.00 (the place was wiped down, trash free and swept out. We were also charged non-refundable cleaning fees and pet deposits ~$400 on move in that more than cover this "cleaning" fee)

This does not come close to addressing the cost to storage the owner's defective washer and dryer for six months before we were given the ok to dispose of them. We reported the defect to ***** ***** on 9/03/2013 in writing in addition to a follow-up in January 2014 and March 2014 via email and while ***** responded to the email the repair was never made.)
Furthermore, we had a vehicle damaged twice by the HOA's landscaping company to add insult to injury here.



Sincerely,

*******


Final Business Response
From: **** ****** (mailto:****@renthomefl.com)
Sent: Monday, March 02, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Sabrena Washington
Subject: RE: Case ID XXXXXXXX

Good Afternoon ******* ***********

I have no further response to Mr. *****. I made an offer in my first response, however, Mr. *****'s response to that was not favorable. My first offer still stands if he would like to accept it.

Thank you,

**** ******, CPM, MPM
President
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

07/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In short, I was charged for repairs that the tenants caused, duplicate repairs, and overcharged for others.

1. Charged $159.58 for plumber- tenant put screw through pipe- Pete's Plumbing 4/3/14 inv. **** 2.A/C mechanix heat & Air 12/6/13 inv XXXXX charged $65 to fix wiring on thermostat tenant improperly installed. 3. JMM repairs inv 016 5/1/14- $100- mgmt co knew prop. was sold, and similar repair was done 11/25/13 for $125 by A Integrity restation and remodeling (no inv. #) 4. A-lumination electric 4/25/14, inv # XXXXX $800 to replace main disconnect panel (I was told I was getting a bargain- checked price of Eaton Cutler hammer 125 amp 816 nema 3 panel- under $40!) 5. R-jae remodeling, inc inv XXX XX/2/13 a. I felt roofer should have repaired bathroom ceiling, and b. was told that repair for laundry room was too costly. Total $2,450.00 6. National quality services inv *** 7/18/12 $1600 to paint 970 sq ft unit- I feel it could have been done for less. I have copies of all of these invoices.

Desired Settlement
Complete refund for first 3 repairs listed, and whatever is deemed fair partial refund for last 3. very poor management ultimately led me to sell the unit to one of those come-in-the-mail offers for under market value; the last 3-plus years have been a nightmare.

Business Response
Good afternoon. This communication is my response to Mr. **********'s complaint regarding Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

I will start with the fact that I am disappointed Mr. ********** would not have picked up the phone and called me if he was dissatisfied as we have worked together since 1999.

I am also disappointed that during my research to respond to this complaint I found that in April of 2014 Mr. ********** expressed dissatisfaction in an email to my property manager and she did not let me know. I am addressing that with her.

I will have several attachments that I will send to your email address. Please review them with my response.

1. ****'s Plumbing bill for $159.58. This was a charge to stop a water leak in the wall from a screw in the pipe. I am not sure how it happened.

2. A/C Mechanix bill for $65.00 was reimbursed to Mr. ********** in February 2014. Attached is a statement showing credit to him.

3. JMM Repairs. This $100 was spent because the tenant notified us on April 24th 2014 they had a break in. It was necessary to secure the door. I consider this a security issue and secured the door to protect the tenant, property and Mr. **********. The timing of this is unfortunate but not something we control. We received the closing statement proving the property had been sold on May 2nd, 2014.

4.************* electric. I have attached a photo of the bad box along with an email from Mr. ********** approving this work and asking for payment in May 2014. I cannot explain his research after the fact. Mr. ********** is given the actual invoice so that he can contact this company directly if he wishes to discuss the cost after the fact. He could have done that prior to approving the work as well.

5. ***** Remodeling I do not understand Mr. **********'s comments regarding this invoice.
I have attached the invoice to this response.
There was remediation work completed along with drywall repair, knockdown texturing and paint in the bathroom. there was also remediation, removal of all drywall including ceiling and insulation in the laundry room. Framing was treated with antimicrobial product, new insulation was installed and M&M Resistant drywall to finish, paint. Exterior door and frame was also replaced and a water diverter was installed.

6. National Quality Services did charge $1600.00 to paint. However Mr. ********** did not describe the work necessary. The full interior including the ceilings had to be primed to remove smoke stains throughout the property. The interior was painted twice and this is fully stated on the invoice. I have attached the invoice as well.

Lastly, Mr. ********** states he had to sell his property below market due to our management. I dispute that statement. His property sold for $90,000.00 for both sides of his duplex. I have attached for your review the sold properties in his neighborhood in 2014. I obtained this information from the Orange County Property Appraiser site. Not counting Mr. **********'s property 4 sides of duplexes sold for an average price of $40,800.00 each side. Mr. **********'s property sold for $45,000.00 per side. I have attached this information for you as well.

While I am distressed by this complaint I do not understand Mr. **********'s request for reimbursement. If he would like to provide me with further information I **** review it.

I appreciate the opportunity to respond to this complaint and I do hope I have cleared up any misunderstandings Mr. ********** may have had about these charges.

Thank you,

**** ******, CPM, MPM
Broker -owner
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response will address Ms ******'s response in order. First, I had 2 long calls with ******** ******* (bookkeeper) regarding last years very poor financial returns. I believe she had been with All american management for quite a few years as well as remaining with the new company with ****. In July,2013 the properties returned $327.48: I got no more rents until January 2014, lost $2,00.00 I had on account with them (Vendor funding program), and had to send them a check (#****) for $599.90 balance account. This was explained to me as being caused by 2 tenants vacating at the same time, A/C water damage, etc... When my January 2014 deposit was late, I called ******** ******* to ask why. She explained that ***** ****** did not understand my message about cancelling my vendor program participation,
so the rents for that month would have been applied to that $2,000.oo balance. If Ms ****** was unaware of this program, she could not have checked to see if any of the vendors would have gotten me the 15% discount.

At the core of this is what the essence of a fiduciary responsibility is, and I don't feel my interests were well-represented. On the 10/9/13 to 11/7/2013 statement, I was billed for a $359.41 utility bill for **** hendren. I caught this, and was refunded the money, but where was the fiduciary responsibility. After such a bad year, why wasn't ******** looking over the statements more carefully. Would this mistake have been caught if I hadn't noted it? Shouldn't a utility bill of that size raise a red flag, particularly after the present tenat had been in the unit for several months? Does anyone reading this really think that my interests were much of a priority? And, is not an employer responsible for the actions of her employees? In essence, am I not speaking to Ms ****** when I am addressing my concerns to her staff?

proceeding through the list in order:

1. ****'s Plumbing- the tenant had been there since September of 2103; the repair was done 0n 4/3/2104. Where could the nail have come from if not the tenant or someone in her unit? Was any effort made to find out if i should have to pay?

2. I stand corrected on this one- i was reimbursed for this repair, but again (like the electric bill previously noted), only after I check statemant against bill, and requested the refund. What if i hadn't noted it?

3.*** repairs- I had been in contact with ******** **** about this, and had requested a copy of the police report so i could determine if this door was the cause of the break-in. And that same door had been repaired 11/25/13 (A Integrity restoration $ remodeling, inc) for $125. And the new owner had already seen the **** tenant before the repair date, ******** **** knew this. So, I had the same door repaired twice..do any of these repairs get checked?

4.************* electric repair. Yes, i did approve the repair- ******** **** told me i was getting a bargain. Isn't it their responsibilty (acting as my agent) to investigate tese matters, and to determine if the charges are fair? Does anyone reading this feel that $800 to replace a box ($40, at most- Home depot and Lowes) is not way out of line. How were my intersts protected here?

5. First, part of this repair bill was ceiling repair in a bathroom which I felt was due to a leak in the roof (which was eventually checked by the roofer- 7 year warranty) And the rest of the work really wasn't that comprehensive- Laundry room is not large.

6. In 2011, A friend and i went to paint **** ******* (following a costly eviction!), as well as the whole exterior of the building. We painted the unit for quite a bit less,and were told that the work was quite good. And our costs included meals, transportation, supplie4s, and a generous wage ($20 per hour) for my friend, including travel time. And the unit is 870 sq ft, not 970, as i previously mentioned.

In summary of all above,it seems that not very much care was taken to protect my financial intersts. This is also noted by the insuffcient security deposits ($500 and $550). If the tenants had only paid $16.50 more monthly, my intersts would have been protected in case of a problem (as in the 2011 evictionn, where the security deposity was only $400). I did receive a $93 credit, but the rent was $625 (a $132 deficit).

Finally, in response to the prices of the units sold, I had been told taht the duplexes in the area were going for around $135K- no documentation for this.

Thanks to the BBB for handling this so promptly! If ther is no financial remuneration sent me, please note these issues as unresolved. it is tiring to look over all of this paperwork, and seems like it might be an exercise in futility to spend any more time on these issues in this venue.

******* ***********

Final Business Response
Good afternoon BBB,

I have read Mr. **********'s rebuttal and it seems he and I are repeating our positions.

The fact that his investment property did not provide a good financial return is a result of work necessary to this older duplex and not the management of RHMS as proven by the sales price being above average market pricing.

I have no further response on this issue except to say if after so many years of managing his property he would like to give me a very reasonable number I would consider reimbursing him in order for his narrative to be that he complained and received something back. This is my effort for Mr. ********** to understand he is being heard, his comments have been researched and resulted in some discussions with staff at RHMS.

I will restate that over the years Mr. ********** and I had many conversations. I still reiterate that I don't understand why he didn't call me when he was seemingly so unhappy.

Thank you,
**** ******, CPM, MPM
Broker-owner
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

01/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rental Home Management failed to return security deposit within 30 days due to staff misspelling correct address provided.
The certified mail that was sent out on September 26, 2013 was not forwarded to my address that was given to your company because of a spelling error. My new address was given numerous times via email, phone, and letter correspondence which there has been no issue with the new place of residence according to Rental Home Staff they did not understand why I haven't received it when they had the same address I gave them since the end of August 2013. Because one the staff misspelled the city on the envelope I did not receive it in 30 days by law. It is the landlord responsibility to spell out the tenant address correctly. The second letter city on the address was corrected by another staff member and therefore received by me but unfortunately, past the 30 days allotted by law. It is no reason for the address to be misspelled. I am disappointed in this company and they need to find a system to prevent this from happening to other tenants. I have both letters for review.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking my security deposit of $395.00 to be return to me due to neglect of business practice.

Business Response
Good afternoon,

The following is my response to the complaint made by Mr. ***** *******.

Mr. ******* did rent a home from us. He did move from the property and we did mail the security deposit claim within 30 days of his vacating the property. Mr. ******* is not disputing that.

We have attempted on more than one occasion to explain to Mr. ******* that we are required to mail security deposit claims certified mail within 30 days of his vacating as stated in Florida Landlord Tenant Law. We have on numerous occasions cited the section of the law for his review. There is no requirement that the tenant receive the claim within thirty days of vacating the property.

Further, Florida Landlord Tenant Law states that the tenant shall have fifteen days from the date he received the claim to object to any portion of that claim. Our claim form even explains on its face that a person has fifteen days from the date they receive the claim to respond if they wish to object to any charge on it.

Mr. ******* has never provided us with any objection to the security deposit claim made against his deposit except to misinterpret the Florida Landlord Tenant Law in an attempt to receive his funds back from us. In fact, in this complaint he makes no mention of the condition he left the home in and/or that he has an opinion of the charges made. He only states that he didn't receive it in thirty days and wants his money returned.

Unfortunately I cannot comply with his request.

I respectfully request that this complaint not be added into the numbers of complaints against my company as it is unfounded and on its face misrepresents the facts as stated in the Florida Landlord Tenant Law.

We sent by certified mail the security claim to both Mr. ******* former address (rental property) and to his new address. We did in fact misspell the city as Culter instead of Cutler however the zip code and all other aspects of the address were correct. We received the envelope back from the post office with a label stating:

Return to sender
Attempted - not Known
Unable to forward.

We also received back the envelope we certified mailed to his rental property address. That one was returned with a label that reads:

Return to Sender
Unclaimed
Unable to Forward

I have made note that in this complaint form Mr. ******* shows his same street address and zip code as we now have however, he shows the city as Miami, FL rather than Cutler.

Through communication with Mr. ******* we did resend the documents to him along with copies of the envelopes as returned to us.

Finally, Mr. ******* had fifteen days from the date he received the security deposit claim to dispute any charges he may have wished to make.

However, he did not, he is simply trying to receive his money back by stating we made the claim incorrectly which is untrue.

I am always concerned when a rental relationship ends on this kind of note. Our goal at Rental Home Management Services, Inc. is to begin and end the rental process in a positive way.

However, where security deposit claims are concerned I understand no one wants to lose any of their money however, they have the opportunity to leave the property in a condition that we do not have to make any claims and in this case, he did not.

Copies of documents as outlined in this response will be made available to you upon request.

Thank you for you time. I appreciate the opportunity to respond to Mr. *******' complaint.

**** ******
Broker-owner
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, **** ****** is misinformed and confused because the claim of intent was not mail in 30 days of vacancy to my address given. There has never been a forwarded address with Miami, Florida given on behalf of my new address which Megan Sanz assured me numerous of times she had the correct address so this is new information. The staff was confused because they thought everything was done properly. The problem is simple time has elapsed. Maybe the company need more time to investigate their documents. However, I hope we can come to compromise.

Final Business Response
Good Morning,

This is my response to Mr. ******* rebuttal to my answer to his original claim.

Mr. ******* extended his lease through August 2013 and notified us he would be moving at the end of August. He turned the keys into his property on August 30th, 2013. The certified mail claim was mailed on September 26th, 2013. That is less than 30 days.

The Miami address is shown on your documentation of this complaint.

I have emailed to you a copy of the following:

1. Tenant's return of possession signed by Mr. Shreve.
2. Copy of both envelopes certified mail receipts stamped by the post office Sept. 26th, 2013.
3. Copy of the face of both envelopes returned to us. One shows unclaimed and unable to forward.
One shows attempted - not known - unable to forward.

Landlords are required to give written notice mailed by certified mail within 30 days of the tenant moving from the rental home.

We did follow that requirement. We do not have the requirement to ensure the tenant receives the mail timely or actually at all.

Recent changed to the Florida Landlord Tenant Law make this even more clear.

Thank you for your time working on this complaint. I understand the tenant may not accept this information however, we did fulfill our time requirements in sending the claim.

Once Mr. ******* received the complaint he had fifteen days (according to Florida Landlord Tenant Law) to respond with any objections he may have had at the time. The only objection Mr. ******* made was to the timeliness of the claim being mailed. I believe I have shown we did send the written notices within the time frame required.

Thank you,
**** A. ******
Broker-owner
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After vacating a rented property and leaving it in the same condition as when I moved in, Rental Home has refused to return my security deposit.
I rented a property from July 10, 2012 to July 31, 2013. I paid all of my rent, gave 60 days written notice of my intent to move,provided a forwarding address and left the home in good condition. I received a settlement statement dated August 8, 2013 informing me that not only was my deposit not being returned, they wanted an additional $103.76 to cover repairs and cleaning. I sent a written objection. I then received a "revised" statement in which they admitted errors on the first statement and proceeded to change details of other charges. They sent some photographs of very poor quality to substantiate the alleged "damages" but no receipts for disbursement of funds from my deposit account. On September 6, 2013 I sent (via certified mail) another request for the return of my $595 security deposit. As of today, they have not responded at all.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the return of my $595 security deposit.

Business Response
See attachment also.

Rental Home
Management Services, Inc.
December 16,2013
Better Business Bureau of Central Florida
1600 S. Grant
Longwood, FL 32750
Re: Case#XXXXXXXX
****** *******
Good afternoon,
I am in receipt of the complaint case referenced above. This letter and attached documents
shall serve as my response to said complaint.
****** ****** ******* did execute a lease for the property located at *** ** ****** Ave.,
Longwood, FL XXXXX beginning July loth, 2012 and ending July 31St, 2013. He did vacate the
property. I have provided a copy of the lease including an addendum specifically addressing
smoking at the property. I have also included a copy of the guarantor's executed document.
The property manager did send a security deposit claim on August 9th, 2013 to Mr. ******* at
both his new address and his last known address, the rental property. I have included a copy of
said claim. Mr. ******* did then respond, I have included a copy of same. The property manager
after reviewing Mr. *******'s response did send a revised claim on August 2gth, 2013. 1 have
included a copy of the revised claim.
The revised claim is the actual cost of the work done whereas some of the items on the original
claim were for the estimated amount. The property owner hired some of this work directly
however we were provided with the actual costs incurred by the property owner.
I have also included a set of photos showing the move in condition and the move out condition
of the home. I believe if you review and compare these photos you will find our charges to be
fair. I also have both a move in video and a move out video if you would like to preview those I
will make them available.
I respectfully request this complaint not be added to the complaint total for Rental Home
Management Services, Inc. as the security deposit complaint process is governed by Statute 83
Landlord Tenant Law. The property owner and/or Rental Home Management Services, Inc. did
complete all of the work listed at these costs to the property owner.
Some of the work necessary was due to smoking in and/or around the unit. Please review the
non- smoking addendum to the lease. Mr. ******* states he did not smoke in the unit however
he is responsible for his guests and/or family who may have smoked in the home. There was
definitely a smoke odor in the unit.
Mr. ******* did send a letter that stated that if I did not return his claim in full by a date certain
he would file a lawsuit. Since we had communicated our response to his security deposit claim I
did not restate that by answering a second time. As of this date, to my knowledge he has not
filed a lawsuit.
When we evaluate a home after the tenant moves we start with the full security deposit in the
tenant's column. We then unfortunately have to make deductions from that security deposit to
bring the home back into its original condition, normal wear and tear excepted.
I hope this answers sufficiently the complaint filed by Mr. ******* with the Better Business
Bureau of Central Florida. Mr. ******* has also filed a complaint with the Florida Department of
Agriculture and Consumer Services. I do not know if he has filed with other agencies as well at
this time.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint,
**** A. ******, CPM, MPM
Broker-owner
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do NOT accept the response from Rental Home Management. Once again, their story is different. If you review the two claims that were sent to me, you can see the blatant inconsistencies between the two. I have noticed that the company did not include my response to the second claim in which I addressed these inconsistencies and the failure of their photographs to support their claims. As I previously stated, there was no smoking in or around the unit. To substantiate that, there was no odor noticed by family, the property manager upon her random inspections during my tenancy, nor the professional carpet cleaner who shampooed the carpets before I vacated the property. The company also said in the revised claim that "No one stated that guests smoked in the house", however, their response to my BBB complaint says "Mr. ******* states he did not smoke in the unit however he is responsible for his guests and/or family who may have smoked in the home." Evidently they have decided to go back to their original story that someone did smoke inside the house, which is unfounded. Other examples of their unprofessional and vague claims include attempting to charge me for alleged damage to paint on the back porch by stating "you did something" to cause damage and that there was "a mark in the tub" in the master bathroom. The pictures that they sent don't appear to show anything but the falling down porch ceiling that was falling down when I moved in and a picture of the tub in the second bathroom. The absurdity continues with such claims as a light bulb being out and a smoke detector chirping. As I stated, they were working when I vacated the property, at least 8 days before the property was inspected. Considering the finite nature of light bulbs and batteries, I believe it is obvious that those issues arose after I left the property. Given the obnoxiousness of a chirping smoke detector, I don't believe it feasible that anyone would live in a house with one going off. Finally, after I challenged their statement of my painting walls, they revised their claim to say that they were incorrect, but because the paint was faded (the very definition of normal wear and tear on a clearly inferior paint job which I documented at move-in), they had to paint, and I should pay for that. It was also in my letter not included in their documentation that I stated my intention to sue Rental Home if necessary. I have not filed as of yet because I felt that reasonable people would attempt to resolve conflicts at the lowest levels prior to involving an already over-crowded court system. Unfortunately, it seems that may be the only way to get my money back from this unscrupulous company.

There are are even more inconsistencies in Rental Home's stories between the communications to myself and now to the Bureau. In their revised claim to me, they stated that the amount of the claim had been reduced due to their own admissions of errors in the original claim and that the only work that had been completed for less was from the HVAC company at a difference of $12. In their response to this complaint, they state that the revision was due to the cost of the work being done for less than their original estimates. If that is the case, by their own admission, I would have overpaid for these supposed damages if I had not objected to their original claim and I feel certain I would not have received a refund. Also, this is the first mention of any videos that Rental Home may have of conditions before and after. They have never mentioned any videos to me or offered to provide them to substantiate their claims. I would be very interested to see these videos because the pictures they provided showed no proof of any damages. I also find it noteworthy that after perusing the previous complaints logged against Rental Home, there is a common theme among many of them. One of the complaints actually specifically mentioned the carpet cleaning scam. That complaint stated that they had actually had the carpet cleaned by the very company that Rental Home recommended, yet Rental Home still attempted to charge that lessee for carpet cleaning after the fact as well. I find it to be very ironic that the revised claim with the "actual cost" of work done just so happened to be the exact amount of my security deposit that is being disputed and look forward to seeing receipts totaling $595.

In closing, I would like to note that during my tenancy, I was consistently disrespected by my property manager. She sent a "repairman" who replaced a window in the house with one that didn't fit and led to an infestation of fire-ants. When I called her she told me to "Buy a can of Raid and email me" so she could send the same repairman out to "look at it." I fixed that issue myself. She once arrived unannounced at 8 AM for an inspection and rang my doorbell nonstop while beating on my door with the other hand until I woke up, got dressed, and answered the door. When I noted that my lease stipulated I be given at least 12 hours notice of inspection, her immediate response was "You must have lost the letter" and it was therefore my fault that I didn't know she was going to be there. When my lease ended, I left the house in the same condition I found it in after living there and abiding by my lease for the full tem. Dealing with Rental Home Management has been extremely frustrating as they seem incapable of conducting business is a professional manner or keeping their story straight from one moment to the next. Yet we are still unable to part ways due to these absurd and unfounded claims of my tenancy leading to damages. I hope prospective renters review these complaints on the Better Business Bureau website and go elsewhere for their housing needs.



Final Business Response
Good afternoon,

I have read Mr. *******'s rebuttal and it does not change my original response. We made a claim, the owner completed the work we charged Mr. ******* for and more. I don't believe my information nor Mr. *******'s rendition of the situation will change.

Mr. ******* also filed a complaint with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. I responded to them with the same information I provided to you. They also had Mr. *******'s statement of events. I have received a letter from that department stating they have reviewed my response and believe it to be a satisfactory effort on my behalf to reach a resolution. I will email a copy of this letter to you for your records.

It is terribly unfortunate that I have no leeway in this situation. However, I believe the security deposit claim to be fair and accurate.

Thank you,

**** ******, CPM, MPM
Broker-owner
Rental Home Management Services, Inc.

05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Tents - Rental, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service, Home Owners Associations, Association Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/29/2009Business started: 01/21/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

Seminole County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CQ1033484 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Board of Real Estate

BBB records show a license number of 166807 for this company, issued by Seminole County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gail Moncla (President)
Business Category

Property Management, Tents - Rental, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service, Home Owners Associations, Association Management

Products & Services

This company offers residential real estate property management services.

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 659 Maitland Ave 

    Altamonte Springs, FL 32701

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rental Home Management Services Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.