BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2006

Property Management Specialist Inc.

Phone: (407) 898-9010Fax: (407) 898-0706View Additional Phone Numbers1900 E Robinson St, OrlandoFL 32803-5936 Send email to Property Management Specialist Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2006

BBB has determined that Property Management Specialist Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Property Management Specialist Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Property Management Specialist Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is a complaint by ****************, **************., Altamonte Springs, FL 32701 against *************, and her company Property Management Specialists of Central Florida, Inc (PMS) 1900 East Robinson St. Orlando, Florida 32803, Phone: 407-898-9010 Fax: 407-898-0706 for the following:Failure to provide all agreed upon servicesBackground: Complainant **************** (**) of Altamonte Springs contracted with PMS on 18 Jun 2010, to provide property management services, including PMS prepared leases, collection of rents, and property maintenance, on two properties. The relationship was terminated by ** on 17 Nov 2014. During the course of the contractual relationship, PMS failed to perform a large number of agreed upon services. A list of the discrepancies is attached.A copy of the contract of 18 Jun 2010, and two leases for property at****************, Altamonte Springs, FL 32701 will be provided later.Complainant requests reimbursement by PMS for the services not performed.
Product_Or_Service: Property Management Services

Desired Settlement
I have a list of the damages I have incurred do to non-performance of services totaling $1209.88. PMS has a copy of the list. I would like a refund in that amount.

Business Response
This response is in regard to an owner ************* who does not understand the relationship between the owner and the management company. We manage his property for several years. Only in the past year did he request some late fees and a penalty amount that we have the option of charging. The management company would get any late fees collected and the 8% was a couple of months that the owner and the tenant were in negotiation for rent amount and other issues. I do not charge when the tenant is being cooperative on the process. I do not have to. I had two invoices for repairs both under the the $150 I am allowed to order work. I do not owe Mr. ******* anything.
He tried to extort money from me and had succeeded in an amount of $350 just to keep it out of court and I signed the agreement and it had a confidentiality clause which Mr. ******* obviously violated. So that agreement was cancelled with him. The agreement was made under the witnessing of my attorney and Mr. ******* knew our position. He is unreasonable and I hope that he will stop trying to abuse this agency and everyone involved with his unwarranted accusations.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
** response to PMS 030715

PMS response is simply untrue. My complaint is true in all aspects.

As to Lease contracts:

I ALWAYS expected PMS to enforce the terms of the leases. THEY WROTE THE LEASES! I expected PMS to collect all late fees and the proper amount of rent as stated in the leases. PMS did not enforce the terms. PMS never informed me they were not collecting late fees and the proper amount of rent.

As to extortion: PMS makes an untrue statement that is libel or slander.

As to Negotiations to settle the dispute:

During negotiations which began in Nov 2014 and ended 6/25/15, PMS appeared to be rigid and rude, while I remained flexible and polite. I reluctantly agreed to PMS settlement offer of $350. PMS never paid the money, never returned a signed agreement to me, and disputed the terms of the agreement.

I believe PMS did not bargain in good faith.

I violated NO confidentiality clause as the settlement agreement was NEVER consummated.

I would have been happy to complete negotiations, but PMS did not meet the deadline of 6/25/15 in my final compromise offer of 6/21/15, so I filed this complaint, among other actions.


Final Business Response
Obviously, our company and Mr. ******* do not have the same prospective of the situation. I still concur with my response prior which is that we agreed to pay Mr. ******* the $350 and sent the signed agreement back with a widely accepted confidentiality clause and he refused to sign it and then decided to complain to the BBB.

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I rent a house managed by Property Management Specialist.To say that this company has NO customer service is not enough.My issues with this company started when I first contacted them for the rental property I currently rent. Just to set up a viewing of the property it took several phone calls.When we moved into the property, it was dirty and not well maintained.A month after I moved in, I called the company to inform them that the air conditioning wasn't working properly. I received a call back stating that they had contacted the maintenance company the home owner had to fix the issue. A day later, since no one had contacted me, I went ahead and called the home owner direct to find out that they had cancel the maintenance company. Property Management Specialist was not aware of this information. I had to reach out to the owner my self!!The house was infested with ants and when I called the Management company, they never returned my calls, so again I called the owner my self and they sent an ***** man to spray the outside of the house.On Thursday May 7, 2015, the refrigerator stopped working. I called the management company on Friday morning at 10am and all they said to me was "We are working on getting another one and will be contacted as soon as we have made the purchase". This email was received on Friday May 8, 2015 at 2pm. Didn't hear from them all weekend, Mother's Day weekend! On Monday morning, May 11, I called to find out what was going on and only then I was told to call the company that was going to deliver the refrigerator to set up a delivery day and time. A new refrigerator will be delivered on Wednesday May 13. That is 6 days with no refrigerator and no calls from Property Management Specialist. This company has the worst customer service I ever experienced, and I would like to let them know that while they all enjoyed their Mother's Day, my wife didn't have a great day. We also $300 worth of food.

Desired Settlement
I want to be refunded $300 worth of frozen meats and other foods that was lost because of the broken fridge, along with an apology.

Business Response
The tenant is incorrect about the condition of the property when he moved in. We are well known for having properties cleaned and painted before tenants view or certainly move into a property.

Regarding pest control, The lease is clear that pest control is the responsibility of the tenant.
The lease is also clear that tenants are not to be contacting our owners. The problem is that this tenant will call something in and we have to approach the owner. He has no patience and no sense of realty of a time frame that it takes to resolve a problem. He called in a refrigerator and we had someone out that day. Unfortunately, it had to be replaced and this was told to us late on Friday. A new one was purchased but delivery could not be arranged before Tuesday after the weekend. The tenant is not telling the truth about being made aware of the new refrigerator and we have emails to show it. Again we do not have a magic wand and sometimes when you do your best some tenants still do not appreciate it. The lease clearly states that the owner is not responsible for lost food do to a power outage or in this case the refrigerator going out. There is no basis for his $300 figure for food.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The management company has no idea of what is going on and I have emails to prove it.
The management company had no idea that the home owner didn't have a maintenance contract until I brought it up to their attention, and I have emails to prove it.
Today is Tuesday May 12th and the fridge is still not delivered. As I stated in my complaint, the fridge will be delivered on Wednesday May 13th and I know that because I called the company myself.
Is it fair for me and my family to be 6 days without a refrigerator?

I do want to thank the Better Business Bureau for their attention to this matter.


Final Business Response
There is no legal requirement for a reimbursement for groceries. I asked the owner if they wanted to reimburse the tenant anything and they are not in the financial situation to afford to do that. They purchased the refrigerator as quickly as humanly possible and had it installed.

12/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate Rental Service, Leasing Service, Property Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 04/25/1988
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah L. Alder (President)Mr. Fritz Alder (Director)Ms. Rebecca Hall (Marketing Manager)Ms. Dawn Hartman (Maintenance)Ms. Terri Selsor (Leasing)Ms. Mayra Sotomayor (Bookkeeper)
Business Category

Property Management, Real Estate Rental Service, Leasing Service, Property Maintenance

Products & Services

This company offers property management services of homes, condos, and town homes.

Service Area

Orlando and the Orange, Seminole, Lake, Osceola and Volusia Counties.

Alternate Business Names
The Property Management Specialists of Central Florida, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Property Management Specialist Inc.

1900 E Robinson St

Orlando, FL 32803-5936

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1900 E Robinson St 

    Orlando, FL 32803-5936(407) 381-2704
    (407) 898-9010
    Fax: (407) 898-0706

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Property Management Specialist Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 381-2704
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.