BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2006

Plumbing Masters of Central Florida Inc.

Phone: (321) 632-5063Fax: (321) 632-8463

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Gas line installed inadequate and not up to code.
We contracted with Plumbing Masters to install a gas line to our heater for our hot tub. The heater would not work so we had the pool contractor out today. He told us that Plumbing Masters had not put in the proper size pipe, did not put the double regulator in that it needed, nor a sediment trap that is required, and the pipes were not lined up properly. It also has the pressure set too high which is a danger issue.
So far an employee has argued that this is what we contracted for but since we have no knowledge of gas piping, we were going by what Plumbing Masters told US we needed. We have a pipe that does not work now and no indication of remorse or an attempt to rectify the situation. I am going to have the City of Titusville come back out on Monday to take a better look. They do not know what they are doing obviously and should not be installing gas pipes.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for your reminder. This issue has been resolved with the customer.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Plumbing Masters were called to remove roots from pipes, charged for service but did not remove roots. They only removed paper blockage and left roots
Plumbing Masters were called on March 20, 2014 to remove rooting in plumbing. $150 was charged and plumber told customer roots were removed. Plumbing became blocked again one week later. Plumbing finally over flowed after another 10 days. Wife (**** ******)called plumbing masters again April 30, 2014 without knowing about the March 15 service call made buy husband (**** ******). Plumbing Masters came and again preformed work and claimed that roots were again removed. Plumbing was still clogged after the plumber completed his service call on April 30 2014. On May 1 2014 a different plumber with pipe camera was called to the home and stated that roots had never been removed by Plumbing Masters on either service call. Roots had been allowed to grow for approx 3 months when inspected. Plumbing Masters only cleared toilet paper and left roots so that further calls would be needed on more and more occasions. Plumbing Masters saw that customer was a senior and very old and conspired to preform faulty service so that more service calls and more money would be spent by unknowing, naive and aging customer.

Initial Business Response
See Attached Also;

16 May 2014
Nicholas Edwards, Consumer Affairs Representative
BBB Complaint Department
BBB of Central Florida
1600 South Grant St.
Longwood. Fl 32750 Re: Case ********* - ******* ******
Dear Mr. Edwards.
in response to your letter, l pulled the files on Mr. ******* ****** and am sending copies
of the Sales Receipts for your review. Mr. ******' dates and facts differ from ours.
On the 14"' of April (not March) we were called out to his home for a W/C (water
closet/toilet) blockage. Our Technician **** found roots on his drain cleaning cable line
when he reeled it back in. I know the sales receipt says "he removed roots" but he only
removed what was in the immediate vicinity of the drain cleaning cable. The cable DOES
NOT clear all roots - only the ones in the path of the cable. Roots continue to grow until
the sewer line is repaired or replaced,
**** recommended a camera inspection for $175.00 to locate the problem area and
provide an estimate for repair and/or replacement of the sewer line.
Two weeks later we were called out again for another blockage in the downstairs
bathroom. Kevin was our Technician for that service call and it was the exact same
scenario and the exact same recommendations were made.
We are_sorry that Mr. ****** chose not to go with Plumbing Masters for his camera
inspection. Not once did he address his complaint with us.
At no time did Plumbing Masters conspire to deceive the ****** Family. We did not take
advantage of their Senior Status etc.
We are a service company that prides ourselves in our work ethic and being forthright and
honest with all customers. We do not work for free and therefore we feel the fees charged
were appropriate and we **** not be refunding Mr. ****** for sen/ices rendered.
Our charges were fair and customary and a refund is NOT warranted.

Respectfully,

****** *******

Customer Service Representative

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Work performed and stating completed, charged me $394. was not completed, came out charged me another $225 and is still not fixed.
10/7 Plumbing masters came out to fix a sewer back up located in bldg. #8 and charged me $394 on the invoice it reads: "I hereby acknowledge the satifactory completion of the above" then signed by the technician. 10/14 called them back up because the problem is now worse. They charged me another $225 and the problem is still not fixed...they said they would come out again, but that I would have to pay again. I explained to the office personel ***** and she was very rude to me.

Initial Business Response
Dear Sirs:
First and foremost it should be understood that **** ****** is a manager for the **** ***** ********* ******* at **** ** ******* *** in ********** This complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau refers to an ongoing problem at that Complex.
The first call came in was for a kitchen line backing up. This line services three units. As there was no access for this line to snake it out, we proposed to cut in a clean out in the attic. This would allow us to snake out the line from attic to clear out the blockage. It is not in our customary scope of work to snake a line from an attic but we did this to help the customer. When we snake a line and the water drops we cannot see anything inside of the pipe. All we know is that the blockage went down and the immediate problem is solved. This work was done at a cost of $394.00.
We were called back a week later and informed that the line was backing up again. This is common with kitchen lines especially in apartment buildings with multiple families. Owners have no control over what is put down drain lines. We informed the customer it would be better to pressure jet clean the line to help remove any build up in the line from grease, food etc. We advise owners to set an appointment and jet the line at a cost of $225.00 for the first two hours and $98.00 for each additional hour of work performed.
In this case we found signs of heavy grease build up in the line and recommended we camera the line to ensure the line was clear of debris and there were no other problem areas in the line. To camera a line ranges from $225.00 to $325.00 for the first two hours depending on access to the line. We offered to do this work as a continuation of jetting at a cost of $98.00 per hour. The customer refused. They wanted the work done for free. They were not happy when they were informed we would not do the work for free.
The customer was offered deep discounts in order to get to the bottom of their problem and at rates well below market standards for the amount of work that was to be performed.
I understand everyone wants a quick fix at discounted rates. We are NOT responsible for what tenants put down their drain lines nor can we control it. When we get a call such as this we do our profession to best to asses an issue and provide a solution. As I mentioned earlier, we cannot see into a drain, not can anyone else.
This customer became unreasonable. I can sympathize with their problem. We are here to help. However, we did not create this problem. Therefore, we cannot work for free nor will we offer any type of refund for the work performed.
Thank you for taking the time to assist this customer.
Respectfully,
**** ** *****
President









Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We accept their apology even if it is weak and not sincere. I will pray for them...

Final Business Response
26 November 2013
BBB of Central Florida
1600 South Grant St.
Longwood, FL 32750
Re: Case #XXXXXXXX, **** ******
Dear Mr. ********
Thank you for your prayers. We are" all" in such grave need of guidance.
We are truly sorry you did not have a positive experience with Plumbing Masters
as so many of our customers do.
Good Luck to you and once again God Bless.
Respectfully,
**** ** *****
President
e

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Water Heaters - Dealers, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail, Water Leak Detection, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.