BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1990

Mike Scott Plumbing, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 314-4443Fax: (352) 237-0836View Additional Phone Numbers668 E Overdrive Cir, HernandoFL 34442-9601 Send email to Mike Scott Plumbing, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1990

BBB has determined that Mike Scott Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mike Scott Plumbing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mike Scott Plumbing, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ON SUNDAY 09/14/2014 I FOUND WATER IN MY SPARE BEDROOM.I COULD NOT FIND ANY LEAKS. I LOOKED IN THE PHONE BOOK AND SAW MIKE SCOTTS ADD FOR A FREE INSPECTION.I CALLED THEM AND LATER A MAN CAME OUT. HE HAD A CONTRACT WHICH I SIGNED AND HIM THIS IS FREE AND HE WROTE ON IT WILL NOT PAY. HE LOOKED AT THE BEDROOM FLOOR FOR LESS THAN 5 MINUTES, DID NO WORK. BUT, SAID MIGHT BE YOUR FOUNDATION. HE FURTHER STATED, HE HAD NO TOOLS OR EQUIPMENT WITH HIM AND I COULD CALL IF I WANTED THEM TO COME BACK OUT. HE THEN ASK FOR $65.00 WHICH I REFUSED TO PAY AS THEIR ADD SAID FREE. HE DID NO WORK OF ANY KIND. I CALLED THEIR OFFICE AND THE LADY SAID YES THIS IS FREE. I RECEIVED A PAST DUE BILL IN THE MAIL FOR $65.00 I CALLED THEIR OFFICE, BUT, NO ONE RETURNED MY PHONE CALL

Desired Settlement
JUST HONOR THEIR FREE INSPECTION AS I HAVE NO INTENTION OF PAYING

Business Response
on 9-14-2014 at 8:56 we received a call from Mr. ******** that he had water showing up on his bedroom floor and was not sure where it was coming from.We told him we would have a plumber there before 2:00 pm.
at 10:58 we dispatched a plumber. we could not tell where the leak was coming from possible leak under the slab. we refered him to **** ************ gave him a bill for $65.00 which is our standard service charge.
he refused to pay. we do not advertise free inspections only free estimates on items such as remodel work ect. I believe Mr. ******** misunderstood the add. we have since removed his outstanding bill from our records.the dispatcher does not remember if he told Mr.******** that there would be a service charge.Hopefully Mr. ******** found the cause of the leak and has resolved his problem.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Propane Gas Plumbing, Grease Pumping, Water Heaters - Repairing, Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CFC057802 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr. Certified Plumbing Contractor.

Type: Certified Plumbing Contractor

BBB records show a license number of CFC1426202 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr. Certified Plumbing Contractor.

Type: Certified Plumbing Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1988, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patricia Scott (Secretary)Ms. Tracy Dollar (Vice President)Mr. Shawn Scott (Vice President)Mr. Michael Scott (President)Mr. Jason Scott (Vice President)
Business Category

Plumbers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Propane Gas Plumbing, Grease Pumping, Water Heaters - Repairing, Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial

Products & Services

This company offers Certified Plumbing Contractor services, specializing in Whole House Re-pipes, Water & Drain Lines for Kitchen and Bathroom Additions, Slab Leak Repairs, Water Heater Service & Replacement, Tankless Water Heater Repair & Replacement, Dripping Faucet or Hose Bib Repair & Replacement, Additional Hose Bib Installations, Water Softner Installation, Toilet Repair & Replacement, Sewer Line Repair & Replacement, Sewer Camera Services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mike Scott Plumbing, Inc.

668 E Overdrive Cir

Hernando, FL 34442-9601

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 668 E Overdrive Cir 

    Hernando, FL 34442-9601(866) 314-4443
    (352) 448-4881
    (352) 448-4880

  • 5950 Signature Dr 

    Wildwood, FL 34785-9501

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mike Scott Plumbing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (352) 344-4774
  • (352) 344-3047
  • (352) 237-2888
  • (352) 748-9111
  • (352) 563-9976
  • (352) 344-0322
  • (352) 448-4881
  • (352) 448-4880
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.