BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2002

Cypress Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (863) 294-7319Fax: (863) 293-018241 5th St NW, Winter HavenFL 33881-4672 Send email to Cypress Plumbing, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2002

BBB has determined that Cypress Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cypress Plumbing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cypress Plumbing, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cypress Plumbing has been extremely slow to provide a report of our toilet leak to People's Insurance.
We called Cypress Plumbing to repair a slow leak at the base of our toilet. They completely disassembled the toilet and reassembled it in their repair. They told us that there was still a slow leak at the tank because the seal was worn and they didn't have the right one. A couple of days later, they returned and replaced the tank seal. A couple of days after that, my wife came home and the bathroom and hallway were flooded. Cypress returned and vacuumed up the standing water. They told us that the flush chain had broken and gotten under the flapper valve. They recommended we get a new toilet because of the difficulty of getting parts for this one. They were going to give us information about a new corner toilet since a regular toilet wouldnt fit the location. It has been weeks and we have heard nothing. MORE IMPORTANTLY, People's Insurance has gotten no report from Cypress Plumbing, and that is holding up our claim for repair of the water damage. We have since gotten a replacement toilet on our own, and Crosby Plumbing in Haines City installed it. When they removed the old toilet, they showed me

Desired Settlement
We had a small water leak at the base of one of our toilets, and called Cypress Plumbing to repair it. They completely dissassembled the toilet, replaced the wax ring, and reassembled it. The tank seal was worn, but they didn't have the replacement for it and used the old one. They told us it would have a slow drip until they could get the new seal. A couple of days later, they returned, dissassembled the tank and replaced the seal. A couple of days after that, my wife returned home and found the bathroom and hallway flooded. She called Cypress Plumbing and they returned. They found the flush chain had broken and gotten stuck under the flapper valve, causing the water to run continuously. They said that the septic tank had flooded and overflowed the toilet bowl. I pointed out that the shower, on the same drain, had no water backed up in it, so the septic tank couldn't be flooded. They had no explanation for that. Now, weeks later, they have not sent a report to our insurance company, People's Trust Insurance. This is holding up our claim. We have since replaced the toilet. Crosby Plumbing in Haines City installed it. They showed me the wax ring had not been evenly compressed. One area looked like it was fresh out of the box (untouched). They said that was where the leak had occurred, not from an overflowed septic tank. So not only are they being unresponsive to our insurance company and holding up repairs to the house, now it looks like Cypress Plumbing is actually responsible for the flood in the first place.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
We went out to **** ******** on 10-10-2014 and replaced wax ring, and tank bolt kit on two toilets-
on 10-15-14 we replaced gasket on corner toilet, and fluid master.
On 10-16-14 Mrs.******** called and said her toilet was overflowing on the floor. I sent 2 guys out and had them take a wet vacuum to get up the water. When the first guy arrived he from the chain to the toilet was broken and under the flapper causing the toilet to keep running and overflowing. We recommended them to replace the toilet. It is a corner toilet and was a older style toilet.
Mr.******** on 11-13-2014 ask me to call his insurance company and gave me a claim number and said they were waiting on a report from me and this was the first time that I heard that they needed a report from me. I called ****** immediately and she told me at that time she needed nothing from me.
I was out of town from Nov. 14- 24 when I returned I had this letter from BBB. I called the insurance company again and left a message on 11/25/2014 and ****** returned my call on 11/26/2014 and I asked her again if she needed something from me and she said no. I told her at that time the customer said that I was holding up this claim and she told me then that I was not holding up the claim that the adjuster had everything he needed and was proceeding with the claim. I feel I did what the customer asked me to do. You can check with ****** at Peoples Trust Insurance and she will tell you that I called. I am sorry if Mr. ******** thinks I was the problem with him not getting his claimed solved sooner but according to the insurance company when I spoke to ****** that it wasn't me holding them up.
As far as us being the problem with the toilet overflowing I don't know how the other plumber could say that just in case he was there when it took place, and he was not.
I am sorry that he feels I held his claim up but I called insurance company as soon as he asked me too and they said they needed nothing from me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Backflow Prevention Devices & Services, Backflow Testing, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

Polk County Occupational License
P.O. Box 1189
Bartow, FL33831-1189
http://www.polktaxes.com

BBB records show a license number of CFC1426142 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Plumbing Contractor

BBB records show a license number of 14391 for this company, issued by Polk County Occupational License. Their web address is http://www.polktaxes.com.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2000, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gayle Crowell (Officer)Mr. Victor Crowell (Officer)
Business Category

Plumbers, Backflow Prevention Devices & Services, Backflow Testing, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial

Products & Services

This company provides residential and commercial plumbing service including repairs, backflow installation, repairs and testing.

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday: 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
24 hour and emergency service

Methods of Payment

Visa, Master Card, American Express, Discover

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cypress Plumbing, Inc.

41 5th St NW

Winter Haven, FL 33881-4672

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 41 5th St NW 

    Winter Haven, FL 33881-4672

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cypress Plumbing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.