BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2008

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Phone: (407) 905-0014Fax: (407) 656-6509View Additional Phone NumbersAddress on File with BBB, OrlandoFL 32811 Send email to Benjamin Franklin PlumbingView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2008

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Benjamin Franklin Plumbing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The plumber installed a garbage disposal, is leaking from the seal. I had placed several calls, the Manager ******, has refused to call me back. just need a plumber to come to my house, fix the seal. The disposal is working, but continues to leak. I do not want for the plumber, to expect to be compensated, when the previous plumber, did not install the disposal properly.

Desired Settlement
Just need a plumber to come to my house, fix the seal.

Business Response
Issue has been resolved with the customer and the customer is happy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The problem was fixed

07/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On 6/20/2014 I gave a $500 deposit to **** **** to do a septic tank rejuvenation. They were NOT able to do the job and refuse to refund my deposit.
On 6/20/2014 I received a visit from the company's representative, **** ***** who came to give me a bid to connect to the sewer as my septic tank had a bad drainage field. He suggested a lesser expense in a septic tank rejuvenation, saying it would be less expense and could potentially save me a lot of money by rejuvenating the septic tank drain field. He asked for a deposit on a $2500 job, so I agreed to give him a $500(first mistake on my part-one should NEVER pay a dime until the work is completely done).He returned 3 days later prepared to do the work. When they dug up the area he was planning on rejuvenating, he discovered growing roots all around, and he very frankly explained that it would be very difficult to proceed and that they would issue a refund of the deposit minus the pumping of the septic tank, which they had to do because it needed to be empty before they did the work anyways. So he told me the company would reimburse me for $ 250(500 minus their pump out fee of 250=250). Up to that point I had never paid more than $200 for a pump-out, but agreed to the 250 because it was part of the whole price of $2500 for the entire job. I never heard from the company for 2 days. I finally called them. Someone named **** called me back and after I asked for my refund, he calmly explained that they had done some work on the septic tank and that they needed to be paid for the digging they had done so they would be keeping my money, in essence charging me $500 for a pump-out and no rejuvenation.What crooks!!!I am amazed this company is still in business. I want my entire money returned as the contract stated the full charge of $2500 was for the WHOLE work.They made me sign to the amount that was due as soon as the work was complete. And it is important to note they have no ethics when it comes to the fact they were not able to do the job, so why not refund the monies that went toward the whole job??It is not my fault they did not do what the job entailed. I will NOT be happy until they refund the full amount.They dishonestly are inventing reasons to not return my money...instead of calling their company Benjamin Franklin Plumbing,. they should change it to ****** ****** to represent their dishonest and unethical practices.

Desired Settlement
I want the FULL amount of the deposit I paid, $500. They broke the deal in not doing the job. They need to give me my full monies back.

Business Response
Benjamin Franklin Plumbing does not feel that we broke the contract but we did refund the customer the full amount. After first attempting the quoted "repair" could not be performed and we explained to the customer that we would apply the monies to the replacement of her drain field. Customer declined.

Consumer Response
From: ** ***** (mailto:***********
Sent: Tuesday, July 22, 2014 10:49 AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

I have received a full refund of my deposit. Many thanks!

Final Consumer Response

06/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

trusted employee for suggested needed equipment-purchased equpment and not sufficient for the house-repairs/home left in mess w/eexposed wires & holes
The plumber on duty suggested that i get tankless heater and explain that it will be suffice for the house. Since the tank was installed we have had 3-4 calls on it for service. I then requested to be removed. As well as me get a refund for my money. I also had to purchase on my own someone to put electrical wiring in. My other main problem is I had a perfectly normal working heater with no problems and I had to have that removed in order to put in the electrical water heater. I was told that they will leave in the temporary water heater that they gave me in the price of that is about the same as what paid for the electrical service so we should be all squared even. I do not like that offer because I'm paying for heater that I did not need and I am also left with wires hanging out of my ceiling holes in my wall and I cannot continue to get my salon up and running because of the delay. I am trying to attach pictures but cannot so I will send an email to ******** at Benjamin Franklin Plumbing so you can see what I'm talking about as well as how it looks.I have been making phone call and informed the company that once school starts, it will be very hard for us to get this stuff done swiftly. But the rate of returning phone calls are ridiculousas well.

Desired Settlement
please do as the general manager **** stated. -clean/patch up my wall, refund the electrical price that I payed.

Business Response
Good Morning,

After researching the complaint notification above, our company has no record of such customer or employee names referenced. As we are a part of a nationwide franchise, our suspicion is that this complain was sent to our business location in error. We appreciate the BBB's efforts in resolving consumer concerns. But would like to respectfully request that any record of this complaint be removed from our company profile as we are not the offending company.

Thank you,

Consumer Response
Good morning,
I have called and they have agreed "again" to come out. This is the same thing they stated they will do prior to the complaint. The repair date is set for 4/23/2014 between 3-5 pm. I have provided him information of the original message that has the price of the electrical bill which they stated they will reimburse me for.
I am also going to forward you the pictures of the problem areas. I was not able to do so on the complaint page due to it being the pictures came from my cell phone.

thank you.

Final Business Response
Benjamin Franklin Plumbing has refunded the electrical reimbursement. Also our drywall sub. has tried to call and schedule for the repairs. On May 5th 2014 BFP office manager text the phone for the sub to ****** ******* so she could call him to schedule. As of today BFP does not know of any unresolved issues.

Consumer Response
Good afternoon, I did not recieve a letter like the email,status stated. They came the following Saturday they came and painted the area. Everything is done and the wires wiring for the heating were left out and not upto code but I want this case to be done with. Thank you for your help with me getting this resolved.

12/18/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Dissatisfied with amount charged and charging was incorrect. I have called numerous times to get resolved and have received no resolution.
On 11/20/12, I had a plumber (******) come to my home to install a kitchen sink faucet and disposal. I had purchsed both the facuet and disposal, and all he had to do was hook it up. The amount charged was $533 (which seems outrageous to me) plus a $59 fee to come out to the home, which should have be deducted as we had services performed. Additionally, the technician did not turn back on the water running to our dishwasher, and when we ran our dishwasher after he came, it ruined 3 **************s (warped them) due to the extreme heat of the dishwasher with no water.

I called that afternoon to question the high rate, and was told a manager would review it and get back to me. I called again the next day (11/21), and was told the manager still needed to review it. 11/22 was Thanksgiving and I called again on 11/23 (Friday) and was told that the Technician had submitted his paperwork that day and that the manager needed to talk to him about it. I called again on Monday 11/26 and Tuesday 11/27 and still no resolution. On Thursday, 11/29, someone named Eddie called and left a message saying, "I guess you had a problem with our pricing" and to call him. I did so 20 minutes later, and he had just left, and I have yet to hear back from him.

I am very dissatisfied with their lack of responsiveness and attention to detail. I called this company because they had a A+ rating through the BBB, and have been less than impressed. I would like to file a formal complaint and I am hoping this will help me get this resolved. It should have been resolved earlier this week (at the latest) and I am still waiting.

Desired Settlement
I would like the bill corrected with a REASONABLE amount of money to install a faucet and disposal.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Water Heater - Tankless, Garbage Disposals - Household, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 05/13/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395

BBB records show a license number of CFC056690 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is

Type: Certified Plumbing Contractor

Type of Entity


Incorporated: May 1988, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William E. Heichel (Managing Partner)Customer Contact: Ms. Jenny Stephenson (Bookkeeper)
Business Category

Plumbers, Water Heater - Tankless, Garbage Disposals - Household, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing for residential, service and repairs and remodel installations.

Hours of Operation


Alternate Business Names
Heichel Plumbing Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Address on File with BBB

Orlando, FL 32811

To | From


1 Locations

  • Address on File with BBB 

    Orlando, FL 32811

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Benjamin Franklin Plumbing is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 867-5309
  • (407) 712-2202
  • (877) 689-9660

Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Plumbers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.