BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Massey Services, Inc.

Phone: (407) 645-2500

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

112 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 47 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues23
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues10
Problems with Product / Service75
Total Closed Complaints112

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (112)
07/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 5th, we contracted with Massey Services for pest control based upon their Money Back Guarantee, http://www.masseyservices.com/commercial/quality-assurance/. We actually prepaid a year for services, a total of $555 dollars. After having them out to our home, three times, which is included in the prepay total, we were completely unsatisfied with their services. On June 29th, we initiated a request for a refund, which took over two week to occur, and when it finally did, they returned $293.08. They explained that we had to pay for the services that were rendered, the first quarter and a $95 fee for coming back out to the house. I agreed that we should pay the full quarter, even though services were for less than 2 months, but I didn't understand why I needed to pay the additional 95$. I was told on the phone, that because they were not given the opportunity to rectify the issue within 30days, that I would not be refunded the money. I said if i gave them a chance to come back out, fix the issue and then cancelled, would i be refunded, to which he responded yes. Why offer a money back guarantee....
Product_Or_Service: Pest Control
Order_Number: XXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
They offered a money back guarantee as stated here : "If you are not satisfied with the results of your program, we'll provide corrective service at no additional charge. After 30 days, should your problem persist, we?ll continue to provide service at no additional charge until you are satisfied, or we'll refund your money." All we are asking for is they honor that, a refund of the money we paid for services we were not happy with.

Business Response

We are in receipt of Mr. ****** complaint and the following will serve as our response.
After review of Mr. ****** account we will be refunding the $95 plus tax tor the additional
service.
Massey Services has been in business since 1930. Our service reputation, integrity and
commitment to our community are considered to be the best. We value Total Customer
Satisfaction and are committed to Building Long-Term, Trusting Relationships with
our Customers and Team Members.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Honoring the money back guarantee that the salesman who stood in our house and explained to us was all we were asking for. Thanks for finally honoring that.

07/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was billed for services not performed
I was billed in late March 2015 for services not performed. I was billed for sprinkler service maintenance that was supposedly done on3/31/15. This was a day which I was home the entire day. The service typically involved them making an appointment with me to enter my garage and use the sprinkler control panel. There was no appointment made and nobody entered my garage. I was home all day and there was no massey service personnel at my house or on my property. I received a bill for a sprinkler service that was performed that day. I called and spoke with the service manager ***** who said he spoke with his field service person. The service person said he accessed my outside valve box. I have photographic proof that the valve boxes have not been accessed in several months as they are buried under decay mulch and branches which have not been moved. ***** agreed that the service was not done. I have received three bills since then for this service. Each time I have received the bill I have called to try and fix this issue and each time I am told the bill has been voided as they did not perform the service. Today I was called by Massey saying they would send me to collection if I did not pay my bill. I paid the $70.00 **** for services NOT provided to prevent any credit issues for myself. Fraudulent billing to me is next to thievary and this should be investigated.

Desired Settlement
I would like to file a formal complaint so that other consumers are not fraudulently billed. I have never filed a complaint on a business before so I am up to any suggestions for remediation by the BBB.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr. ***********'s complaint and the following will serve as our response:

I have spoken with Mr. *********** regarding his concerns. We have cancelled his accounts and his balance is $0.00. Also the Tampa address that was inadvertently merged with his account has now been removed.

Massey Services has been in business since 1930. Our service reputation, integrity and commitment to our community are considered to be the best. We value Total Customer Satisfaction and are committed to Building Long-Term, Trusting Relationships with our Customers and Team Members.

Sincerely,

Mike *******

Mike *******
Regional Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The attachedetter from Massey states that I would like to continue pest service (covers roaches and bugs) with Massey Services. I do not wish to maintain pest services with Massey Services. I ask the manager for them to not cancel my termite bond which has already been paid in advance. I didn't want my house to go without termite coverage until I could find another suitable vendor. I ask that all other accounts including pest services to be closed and cancelled with only the termite bond coverage to be maintained

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
i was not appreciative of the additional phone call

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr. ************* complaint and the following will serve as our response:

I called Mr. *********** upon receiving your latest letter to discuss why he contacted the BBB again. He stated his concern was that the letter dated June 9, 2015 to the BBB responding to his first complaint mentions that he would like to keep his pest coverage with Massey Services when in fact he does not want to keep his pest coverage. I explained to him that, as per his request and as outlined in our BBB response dated July 7, 2015 to his second complaint, we have cancelled all of his accounts except his termite coverage and his balance is $0.00.

Mr. *********** is appreciative that I called and satisfied with the information he was given.

Massey Services has been in business since 1930. Our service reputation, integrity and commitment to our community are considered to be the best. We value Total Customer Satisfaction and are committed to Building Long-Term, Trusting Relationships with our Customers and Team Members.

Sincerely,

Mike *******
Regional Manager

07/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
March I emailed my back yard photo to Massey asking for additional treatment and recovery to my lawn. Nothing has been done.
March I emailed my back yard photo to Massey asking for additional treatment and recovery to my lawn. Nothing has been done to date. I was promised to have "plugs" placed in my dead back yard to help fill it in. At the beginning of June I called to inquire if they were going to come out, again promised plugs. I have received zero visits from the services managers. I cancelled my service last week and asked that the remaining balance on my account be voided since they have done nothing to help with my dead backyard.

Desired Settlement
Remove the remaining balance on my account since March since no one has been to my property to correct the situation.

Business Response
Dear Ms.*********.
We received your email regarding the complaint from Ms. **** and would like to respond to her
concerns.
Our General Manager and l met with Ms. **** on Tuesday. July 7"'. l assured her we would take care
of the S6600 balance on her account as she requested. Also our General Manager relumed on
Wednesday. July 8"'. to install grass plugs in the area of concern in the backyard. Ms. **** was
happy with our resolution.
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond and should you require anything further. please
do not hesitate to contact us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


07/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Massey Services has been providing pest prevention services at my residence since 9/27/2013. Unfortunately, pests have regularly come back before the next treatment, mainly due to a neighbor to the west that does not take care of his yard. I continue to have to call or E-mail Massey to request that they send someone back to my property in order to address the problem. Unfortunately, this is not acceptable. The treatment on the website states that the service is designed to prevent pests from entering the residence, but this is not happening. Pests regularly appear before the next treatment is scheduled to occur.
Product_Or_Service: Pest Prevention Service

Desired Settlement
I would like Massey to refund my last regular service payment, according to Massey's Money Back Guarantee. I would also like the problem to be addressed so that it does not continue to occur. The west side of the property regularly has this problem and I would like it to be addressed so that I do not have to continue to ask Massey to come out and address the pest problem. I believe this is in the best interest of both parties.Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr. ********'s complaint and the following will serve as our response:

I spoke with Mr. ******** regarding his concerns. He stated that he wanted extra attention paid to the issue he was having with big headed ants. I assured him that we would take care of the problem. I also agreed to credit his last service as requested. Mr. is pleased with our timely response. I also gave Mr. ******** the name of the General Manager at our local office so that he may contact him directly if need be in the future.

Our General Manager and Service Manager will be on Mr. ********'s property on Tuesday, June 30th, to inspect/treat and discuss other options as necessary.

Massey Services has been in business since 1930. Our service reputation, integrity and commitment to our community are considered to be the best. We value Total Customer Satisfaction and are committed to Building Long-Term, Trusting Relationships with our Customers and Team Members.

Sincerely,

Maurice ******* *******

Maurice *******
Regional Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I very much appreciate the response. Massey has agreed to provide more regular treatments, specifically during the summer when the pest activity is generally highest. After this period, we will meet again to discuss how best to proceed. I was very impressed with the response from Massey, definitely better than I expected! Thank you!

06/26/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor service and not keeping their advertised guarantee.
We signed up for monthly lawn/shrub care for one year with advance payment. One month prior we installed about $7,000 worth of new sod so everything was green and in good shape when Massey took over. After nine months of Massey service, the yard is in bad shape. About 20%-25% of the new sod died off with plenty of bare spots and bunch of dry shrubs. We didn't complain to Massey earlier as we trusted them thinking that they knew what they were doing, but decided we had to complain to Massey's headquarters as we have three month left on the contract and the situation will not improve after that. After severe damage to the yard, it gets much worse. Massey sent so-called technician which gave us different opinions and the run around putting the blame mainly on us such as not enough water, too much water, shade, old age, etc. There was no shrub damage when Massey took over. We discussed with them their plan to correct the situation, but get the run around from one technician to another. Also, have been unable to get the area manager to come to see what action needs to be taken and the plan for correction. After three weeks of run around we forward our matter to our lawyer to deal with Massey as we don't have the time to fool around with them. We realize they're just another lawn care firm that's full of promises, but lack in the delivery of them. We decided to take legal action. We hope that other unsatisfied customers with Massey or other lawn care firms will do the same action to promote better service weed out the false advertising.

Desired Settlement
Honor their advertised guarantee by correcting, repairing and replacing all damage to the lawn and shrubs to the condition before Massey took over in September 2014.

Business Response
We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau case number XXXXXXXX, from Mr. ******* *********, regarding the condition of his lawn. I, as the Regional Manager, have spoken to both Mr. ********* and his attorney and we have come to the conclusion that there is an irrigation issue with the lawn that needs to be addressed immediately. This problem was brought to Mr. ********* attention several times and we offered to adjust the irrigation heads and put our irrigation maintenance program into effect which Mr. ********* declined. He stated that he has an irrigation company he uses and he would contact them to make the repairs.
****** Services also offered to replace the grass in the declined areas only after Mr. ********* gets the irrigation repaired and ****** Services comes out to verify that these repairs have been done. The sod is scheduled to be installed by Thursday, June 25th provided that the irrigation is working properly. It was also explained to Mr. ********* that by declining our irrigation maintenance program, ****** Services **** not be responsible for the new sod or any other areas of the lawn if it dies due to drought. Mr. ********* has agreed to sign off on this once the irrigation has been fixed and the sod has been installed. ****** Services considers the matter resolved.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Massey repaired damage to the lawn by installing new sod and replaced the damaged shrubs as we had requested through the BBB in our complaint. All installation work meets with our approval.

Page 1 of 13
06/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I signed up for Massey lawn service in June 2014 I was told they would treat the front yard and all rock garden areas. Back was never done.
I signed up in June of 2014 for Massey lawn care. I signed an agreement that the front yard would be treated as well as the backyard rock beds. I had been suspicious that the rock beds were not being treated since my wife was continually having to go out and pull weeds from those areas. My suspicions were confirmed when I happened to be home during one of the service days and I noticed the gentleman never entered my backyard. When I called to complain I was told the Field Manager would come out and look check on my concerns. He did arrive and explained that the drivers never carry Roundup on their trucks, therefore I should never have been promised the treatment for the rockbeds. He then told me he would personally come out the next day and spray those areas. He never called or came back.For almost a year I have been paying for a service I was not being provided. After many unreturned phone calls and broken promises I finally called to cancel my service. Unbelievably, even after canceling, the driver came out to again spray my lawn (as my son was home). After hearing from my son I quickly called (5/28) to confirm my cancellation. It was confirmed and I was told to not pay for that treatment. I, once again explained that I expected some sort of resolution for never getting part of the service I had paid for (for nearly 12 months) and was told the person I needed to talk to was in the field and would call me later on. Again the call never came. This business has the worst costumer service and inter department communication of any business I have associated with. My expectation is that I will be reimbursed for the total amount of undelivered services that I paid for.

Desired Settlement
I have paid for nearly a year of services that were never provided. The dishonesty of the initial gentleman who promised the service would include the spraying of the rock beds (obviously knowing the drivers didn't carry Round-Up) is inexcusable. The field manger personally promising to come spray the rock beds and NEVER SHOWING UP is ridiculous.Multiple unreturned phone callscompletely unprofessional.I would like at least half of the total amount I have paid over the past year returned to me due to services not being rendered. I would also like Mr.******* to be aware of the Oviedo area office's lack of professionalism and competence. Selling services under false pretenses is a serious issue!

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr. ******'s complaint and the following will serve as our response:

I spoke with Mr. ****** and he does not wish to continue his lawn service with Massey Services. He stated that there has been too many unfulfilled promises and he feels it would be best to cancel service. He has requested that we refund him half of the money he has paid for lawn services to date; we are processing a refund to him in the amount of $270.00 which he should receive shortly. His account is closed with $0.00 balance.

Massey Services has been in business since 1930. Our service reputation, integrity and commitment to our community are considered to be the best. We value Total Customer Satisfaction and are committed to Building Long-Term, Trusting Relationships with our Customers and Team Members.

Sincerely,

**** *******
Regional Manager


05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/10/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 10

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.