BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/2012

Quality Assurance Painting, Inc.

(352) 483-6915Address on File with BBB, LeesburgFL 34788 Send email to Quality Assurance Painting, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/2012

BBB has determined that Quality Assurance Painting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Quality Assurance Painting, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Quality Assurance Painting, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/06/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not meet the agreed expectations I have emails to prove this


Once I placed a review on how bad quality service and sloppy job I ve received from the the owner keeps sending emails offering to fix the mess up. No thanks I don t want nothing to do with such a poor quality and service company. Most of all over priced for the service in other words a rip off

Desired Settlement
$2,500.00

Business' Initial Response
November 21, 2012

Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX
Case Opened: 11/12/2012



In June 2011 the customer contacted me to do a proposal for the painting of the exterior of her home. I outlined the scope of work in the proposal for a sum of $2,400.00 and she signed the proposal for us to begin work. Upon completion of the work, I personally walked around the home with her twice, explaining what we had done, and making sure she was satisfied. She stated she was and paid me $2,000. I told her to hold $400 due to the fact that she ordered a new front door which had not yet come in and we were going to come back and paint it. We then painted the front door and received the final $400 payment.

Several days later, she sent an email stating she was unhappy with the appearance of the front door. It took me 2 days to respond due to computer issues, because I was unable to check my email, also at that time I did not own a smart phone.

On July 13, 2011 she began writing negative reviews on various business listings sites on the Internet, including Google Places and CitySearch, and the reviews have since spread to other sites. I tried to contact her (via email) in order to resolve the door issue and discuss the reviews but there was no response.

Having no telephone number for the customer and no email response, I decided, several months later, to visit her home to address the situation personally. We agreed that I would take care of the issue with the front door that she was concerned about. I also did speak with her about the reviews, asking if she was satisfied with the results of the door, would she consider taking the reviews off the Internet. She did agree that we should fix the door and she would remove the negative Internet reviews.

On April 7, 2012 (a Saturday), we took the door off the hinges, stripped off all the paint in order to start from raw metal. On April 9, 2012 (a Monday), we sprayed 2 coats of Behr Lifetime Warranty paint on the front door. She mentioned she had to leave for work, and would take a better look at the door once it dried, but that she was going out of town and would contact me when she returned.

I never heard back from the customer. On July 23, 2012 I emailed her and asked how she felt the door looked and that if she was still not satisfied I would take care of any additional concerns. I did again ask if she would take the review off the Internet. The reason I had waited to contact her was 1) I considered the issue resolved since I did not hear from her, and 2) I did not want her to feel the only reason I was contacting her was in regard to the Internet reviews.

This past month I noticed the review still on the Internet, and sent an email on November 7, 2012. I respectfully asked if she would consider removing the review since I completed the door, and I also stated if there were still any unresolved issues in her mind to please let me know. I have attached the emails for your review.

On November 12, 2012 I received an email from the Better Business Bureau stating a complaint from the customer. The complaint is stating harassment and leads one to believe the painting issues were never corrected. She is also asking for a monetary resolution of $2,500 stating my prices are too high.

I believe my prices are very competitive, if not often lower than my competition, and she was certainly able to gather several estimates before making a decision. She agreed to allow my company to paint her home and signed the contract. It is for this reason I do not believe we owe any monetary resolution. I stand behind the workmanship of my company, and she has a 3-year written warranty, and I am still willing to resolve any issues in workmanship she might like to address. It is my belief that Quality Assurance Painting, Inc. did a thorough and quality job on her home and that anyone in the industry would agree.

I have been in business since 2005 and my livelihood is here in Lake County Florida. I plan to continue to grow my business here and certainly would not antagonize any customer intentionally. Quality and customer service are a must in the painting industry and I give my customers a 100% satisfaction guarantee along with a 3-year written warranty.

I would never harass a customer and do not believe the email I sent last week was in any way a form of harassment. I was merely following through to see if 1) she was completely happy with the resolution agreed upon, and 2) if she would remove the review as we discussed since it is appearing on other Internet sites and could be negatively affecting my business reputation.

I would like to emphasize our only means of communication was through emails. You will note in the email dated 3/29/12 (which will be faxed), I asked for her phone number and she never gave it to me. Due partly to this I believe the situation extended longer than necessary and I certainly did not want to go to her home in person again and make her uncomfortable.

I am faxing copies of emails and the original proposal for your review. Please call me with any additional information you might need. I look forward to a timely and satisfactory resolution of this issue.

****** ****** -Owner
Quality Assurance Painting, Inc.
Leesburg, Florida XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It took several attempts to try to make the door look half way descent not meeting my expectations. When we spoke and agreed gore the painting job I was told my ****** that the gutters where gonna be taken down and sprayed properly it was his employees decision not to do so when I question the employee the gutters where already sprayed in place. I had an inspector/not another contractor come and look at the painting job and according to his walk around I was told I was overcharged since the paint job quality wasn't met. He said he will give me his report in writing. Other contractors had given me lower quotes to paint my house I decided to go with quality assurance cause ****** went above and beyond my expectactions when he came to give me an estimate but that's all it was words and not done to match what was offered and paid for.



******/customer

Business' Final Response


It is my intention to resolve this customer complaint issue. Quality Assurance Painting, Inc. strives for complete customer satisfaction. I again would like to reiterate that the customer has a 3-year warranty which is still in effect. I would like to personally offer to address any and all issues the customer is still unhappy with and fix them myself. If it will make the customer more comfortable, I will bring a female staff member with me to discuss and take notes on what she would like done. We will then put the issues that need to be corrected in writing and both of us will sign-off on the paperwork. From the complaint notes, I am assuming she is still unhappy with the door and downspouts. I would like to mention that yes, the downspouts were sprayed in place, but after bringing this point to the attention of my employee, were taken down and the backs were sprayed. It would be helpful for me to see the report from the inspector which she hired, so together we can address and correct the problems the inspector pointed out.

My position on pricing is that the customer was not overcharged and I still stand by the fact that my prices are competitive, if not often lower than my competition, here in Lake County Florida. Certainly other painting contractors may have estimates which are lower, but I would question exactly how much lower. I have been in business since 2005 and work not only as an independent contractor but as a sub-contractor for several General Contractors here in Lake County FL that will attest to my reputation in both honesty and workmanship.

I am asking the customer to allow me to personally review and correct any workmanship issues. This can be done quickly and efficiently and I will get the work done on the customer's schedule.

****** ****** - Owner
Quality Assurance Painting, Inc.
Leesburg, Florida XXX-XXX-XXXX

09/12/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Pressure Washing, Drywall Contractors, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting - Faux Finishing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/23/2012Business started: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Lake County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of 87444 for this company, issued by Lake County Occupational License.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Grubbs (President)Mr. Kenneth Bierlair (Director)Mr. Marlon Green (Director)Mr. Ryan Kenyon (Director)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Pressure Washing, Drywall Contractors, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting - Faux Finishing

Products & Services

This company offers Interior and Exterior Painting, Waterproofing, Pressure washing services, Epoxy floor coatings, Decorative concrete staining, Wood staining, Texturing/Knock-down, All phases of drywall, Window frames, Rotten wood replacement, Roof and gutter cleaning, and Stucco repairs for residential and commercial customers

Service Area

Serving: all of Lake County Florida and surrounding areas

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Quality Assurance Painting, Inc.

Address on File with BBB

Leesburg, FL 34788

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Address on File with BBB 

    Leesburg, FL 34788

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Quality Assurance Painting, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.