BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/2009

Alpha Moving & Storage

Phone: (407) 816-6644Fax: (407) 856-0586View Additional Phone Numbers1750 Cypress Lake Dr Ste 200, OrlandoFL 32837-8450 Send email to Alpha Moving & Storage

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/2009

BBB has determined that Alpha Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Alpha Moving & Storage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alpha Moving & Storage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Showed up a day late. Business only had one person to unload entire household furniture and boxes. Took 8.5 hours to unload even with my help.
Company moved my mother's household from Orlando FL to Marion OH. They told me the delivery would be anytime from September 23 to 26. They called and said the delivery would come on the 26 at 3pm. They called at 5pm to say the truck broke down and would deliver Saturday at 8am. The driver did not arrive until 9:10am. The problem is they only had ONE person to unload my mother's entire household furniture and boxes. I asked the driver if someone was coming to help him and he stated he called and someone should arrive soon. I helped him unload the truck since I had my bridal shower to attend along with my mother. I helped the driver unload from 9:30 to 12:10 but had to leave to get ready for my bridal shower. My mother could not go since she had to stay behind and log boxes and furniture. I came back at 3:45 and the driver was still unloading without help and did not finish until 4:30. I paid Mayflower who contracted with Alpha Moving and Storage $4,935 certified check for the move. I believe that since I helped unload and my mother missed my bridal shower that I should be compensated $1,000. **** ***** is the sales rep for Alpha Moving and Storage and Chaundi Parham is the relocation counselor. Safety is also a concern to let one person unload an entire household.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $1,000 back for my time helping the driver unload and my mother missing my bridal shower.

Business Response
Our sincere apology goes out to ***** ******** and her mother Ms. *** ***** ***** We strive to be the best possible moving company and it is unfortunate we fell short on this relocation.

We have compensated Ms. **** for the one day delay per her contract in the amount of $100.00.

We also have offered Ms. **** $300.00 compensation for the inconvenience that was caused due to lack of proper labor for the Van Operator, in which she has accepted. A check has already been processed and placed in the mail.

From,
**** *******
Director, Quality/Customer Relations
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Movers - Office, Movers, Relocation Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/29/2009Business started: 01/01/1950Business started locally: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Murray (General Manager)Mr. Charles G McDaniel (President)Ms. Belinda Romano (Office Manager)
Business Category

Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Movers - Office, Movers, Relocation Service

Products & Services

This company offers full service moving and storage.

Alternate Business Names
Mayflower Movers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alpha Moving & Storage

1750 Cypress Lake Dr Ste 200

Orlando, FL 32837-8450

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1750 Cypress Lake Dr Ste 200 

    Orlando, FL 32837-8450

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alpha Moving & Storage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 296-4557
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Moving Services - Labor & Materials

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.