BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2014

Mike's Moving

Phone: (407) 476-8097Fax: (407) 985-22839602 Sidney Hayes Rd, OrlandoFL 32824-8123 Send email to Mike's Moving

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2014

BBB has determined that Mike's Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mike's Moving's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Mike's Moving

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
11/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

broken/damaged furniture, household items by mover.
In January, 2015, I moved from Orlando to Jacksonville and stored all of my furniture and belongings in a 10x10 storage unit in Orlando. Mike's Moving did this job and I personally supervised. Once working in Jacksonville, I learned a co-worker had items stored in Orlando as well. We wanted our items moved to Jacksonville and decided to combine the move. Mike's Moving had done Ms. ******'s move in Orlando so she contacted Mike's Moving to handle the move to Jacksonville, scheduled for 2/5/2015. At 17:56:32 (almost 8:00 p.m.) on February 4th, Mike's sent a contract by email to Ms. ****** for the move. Ms. ****** executed the contract and sent it back to Mike's. I never saw nor executed the contract. At 9:00 a.m. on February 5th Mike's loaded Ms. ******'s items onto the truck. Mike's then went to my storage unit and began moving my items onto the truck. Ms. ****** stayed in contact with Mike's during the move so we could anticipate what time the movers would arrive in Jacksonville. Several hours passed and the truck had not left Orlando. Ms. ****** finally discovered that the movers had moved 3/4 of my belongings onto the truck and ran out of space. Mike's knew the amount of items being loaded and assured Ms. ****** the truck he was using was adequate. Ms. ****** kept in contact with Mike's to determine what time the movers would arrive in Jacksonville so we could meet them at the respective delivery sites. The morning passed to early afternoon without the movers on their way to Jacksonville. Finally, Ms. ****** was able to find out that the inexperienced movers (1 of 2 months and 1 of 2 weeks) had improperly loaded my furniture on the truck and ran out of room. Mike himself had to go and view the situation. Later, Ms. ****** learned that all of my belongings had to be taken off the truck and reloaded in order to make everything fit. During this loading, unloading and reloading, nothing had been wrapped to ensure protection. We were expecting Mike's in Jacksonville around 5:00 pm, but because of the extra time spent unloading and reloading my belongings onto the truck, they never left Orlando until late afternoon, which resulted in several hours of additional move time. By the time Mike's left Orlando for Jacksonville it was afternoon rush hour traffic. Since we did not know exactly when the movers would arrive, I gave Ms. ****** the key to my storage unit. I learned from her the next day that the movers did not complete the move until after midnight. Two days later I went to my storage unit. Upon opening the door I could tell that everything had been tossed into the storage unit and there was going to be considerable damage. The storage unit in Jacksonville was 5 feet larger but was loaded to the door because of the inexperience. I took pictures from the door showing the manner in which my items had been stored as I knew there was considerable damage. The next week a mover in Jacksonville moved my items from the storage unit into my new home. I took more pictures of the damaged items as they came out of the unit and the movers commented on how bad the job was. On 2/9/2015, I sent Mike's an email of how bad the move job was and requested his insurance information to file a claim. Mike's never responded. On 3/10/2015, I sent Mike's a second email with all of the pictures showing the damaged items, the cost of replacing certain items, and how poorly my belongings had been placed into storage. Again, I requested his insurance information, with no response. In early April I called Mike's and spoke with his wife. I asked her if he was going to respond to any of my emails and her response was "I believe he has someone working on it." A week later, I received a letter from Mike's attorney. Mike's never contacted me to discuss what had happened, apologize or try and directly resolve the damage his employees caused. Mike's has made no effort to adequately compensate me for the damage.

Desired Settlement
I want to be compensated for the damaged/broken items.

Business Response
Ms. ****** moved with us the first time 01/10/2015.

On 1/5/2015 Ms. ****** contacted us via email about a move in Orlando. She saw a special for a 17' truck and I explained that was too small for her 3 bedroom move and that she would need a 24' truck to be able to move all of her items in one trip.
That move was completed with no problems. Then we were later phoned by her colleague, Ms. ******, about doing a last minute joint move to Jacksonville, FL for 2/5/2015.

I explained MANY times that I could NOT guarantee that a 24' truck would fit all the belongings of both ladies because we had just moved Ms. ****** by herself, previously, and that move required a 24' truck. When I stated these concern to them, they stated they didn't have that much stuff and they were going to sell a lot before they moved. So, they continued on with booking the move with us on 2/5/2015 to Jacksonville with only one truck.

Ms. ****** called a few days before the move to make arrangements to mail us her storage keys for her Orlando storage location and emailed 2/5/2015 to ensure we got her FedEx package with the keys for her storage unit. I have the email as proof that she FedExed the keys to us.

Ms. ****** was not present at anytime during the move and was leaving Ms. ****** in charge of supervising both start and stop locations. Moving day arrived and Ms. ****** had no idea how much stuff Ms. ****** had for the move, and communicated this to my crew. Ms. ****** was not present at any portion of the load process, and never intended to be, which is why she FedExed the storage keys to us.

Upon finding out that several things were not going to fit into the truck I went out personally to the job to assess the situation. As a courtesy, because both women were repeat customers, I unpacked and repacked the truck. I also took 2.5 hours off of the clock for the time issues of unloading/reloading and for the traffic that our driver ran into due to a later departure. Ms. ****** stated I did not take that time off the clock, but I can prove that I most certainly did deduct that time from their bill. I have their Bill of Lading that shows the amount they paid, when the clock started and stopped, and the deductions we gave her.

Once my crew arrived in Jacksonville, FL, Ms. ****** instructed us where to put items in storage. Again, if Ms. ****** had wanted things stacked a particular way, she should have been present or communicated what she wanted to Ms. ******. Further, my crew states that a lot of the items were placed into the storage by Ms. ******, herself, because she was concerned about time. Ms. ****** made no complaints as to how her own items arrived, and were placed into her apartment.

Being that I was personally on the move I made sure all the appropriate items were shrink wrapped and protected properly for the move. Her concerns about the experience of my crew are also misguided, as the team leader had several years of experience, and I, myself, have over 15 years of experience. One of the crew members had been relatively new at that time, but that same crew member is also now a team leader and one of my more solid, reliable, and more responsible movers.

We did receive her initial email on 2/9/2015, which was 4 days after the move was completed. This email said she saw some damage and she wanted to file an insurance claim, but at the end of her email she had stated that she had not assessed everything yet and was waiting to assess all the damages.

Then on 3/10/2015, we received another email with the items that she was claiming were damaged, along with the amount she wanted to be reimbursed. She did also call the office and the office staff was instructed to let her know I was working on the claim.

I had a letter drawn up by my attorney to let her know what I had found out about her situation. First, she did not notify us in the proper time to file an insurance claim. Second, even if she had filed in time, the insurance included for free with this move, as per her contract and Bill of Lading, was the Florida standard general liability minimum at $0.60 per pound. Being that she was a repeat customer, I did offer to personally pay her based on the items weight out of my own pocket, not the insurance company, as Ms. ****** did not file the insurance claim in time. This is not "hidden" information. We send out a contract via email for each customer to review and e-sign so that there are NO surprises on moving day, and if people need to file a claim, this contract makes them aware of how to do so. Being that Ms. ****** had used our services before, I know she had access to this information more than once.

The importance of filing on time is because so many things can happen once you get outside of that time frame. How does the insurance company know Ms. ******, herself, did not try to go in and re-arrange the storage and cause the damage? Why would you wait over a month to send photos? If you have someone else supervising your move like Ms. ****** was, then the insurance company can say she is to blame. We are not stating that Ms. ****** or Ms. ****** did any of that, but that possibility does exist, which again, is why time is of the essence in filing a claim. There are so many variables that could exist here, and if you wait that long to file a claim, it becomes unclear as to whether the moving company did the damage, or if the damage had been done after the company had left.

I had my attorney send her the forms she needed to sign to accept the payment I was offering, and she sent back a letter to my attorney. My attorney informed me the letter was ridiculous and that I had made more than a reasonable effort to resolve the matter.

Another matter I would like to address is that yes, the move did go very late, but that has much more to do with the amount of items we were picking up, had to pack, and repack, and then drop off in two places in Jacksonville from Orlando. Not many companies would have even made the delivery on the same day once it was realized that the load portion was taking so long, not to mention heavily discount the move the way we did.

In summarization, we made several financial considerations on moving day, plus offered even more after the move, even though we were legally obligated to do nothing else, and this courtesy Ms. ****** refused to accept. We went above and beyond for her on moving day, and attempted to go above and beyond for her after.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
see attached response.

Final Business Response
I feel that we have gone above and beyond for this customer, and that she is just trying to take advantage of and tarnish my company's good name.

To recap: I discounted the move several hundred dollars right off the bat, even though there was no fault of mine or the business. All items were blanketed and shrink wrapped and packed properly on the truck, and were even repacked by the owner, as the owner was present over half of the load. The other part of the move, my movers put the items exactly where Ms. ******'s point of contact for the move told us to put the items. If that wasn't enough, we even offered to over pay for what she said was damaged, per what her contract and the State of Florida stipulates.
At this point I feel like we have done all we could to satisfy this customer, and have offered more than what we were contractually obligated to offer.

12/26/2013Delivery Issues
11/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/15/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/28/2012Business started: 09/21/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service
(800) 435-7352

Orange County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of IM2183 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service. Intrastate Mover.

Type: Intrastate Mover (Within the State)

BBB records show a license number of 1111891 for this company, issued by Orange County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Hawkins (Owner)Customer Contact: Mrs. Andrea Hawkins (Director of Operations)
Business Category

Movers, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company

Products & Services

This company offers moving services for household moves, office moves, and intrastate moves.

Alternate Business Names
Mike's Moving & Packing, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mike's Moving

9602 Sidney Hayes Rd

Orlando, FL 32824-8123

To | From


1 Locations

  • 9602 Sidney Hayes Rd 

    Orlando, FL 32824-8123

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mike's Moving is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Movers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.