BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/20/2009

Hughes Relocation Services, Inc.

Phone: (352) 237-7100Fax: (352) 237-9228View Additional Phone Numbers445 SW 52nd Ave, Ste 800, OcalaFL 34474-8540 Send email to Hughes Relocation Services, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/20/2009

BBB has determined that Hughes Relocation Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hughes Relocation Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

As this company is headquartered in St. Louis current information regarding their customer reliability is available on the Internet by entering www.bbb.org

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hughes Relocation Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hughes Relocation Services physically moved my household goods from The Villages, FL to Naples, FL over the four day period from September 15-18, 2014. The move involved estimating the weight of the goods and $5,171.06 was billed to my credit card. Hughes' policy (which was included in one of it's pamphlets and represented orally several times by one of it's employees, ****** ********* indicated that if the final weight was less then the amount estimated, we would receive a credit for the underweight. The transportation portion of the billing was estimated at 12,000 pounds @.3103 per pound with a "transportation adjustment" credit of 22%. The final weight (per the driver and a review of the Certified Automated Truck Scale printout) was 9,680 pounds. This entitles me to a refund of $561.52 calculated by multiplying the difference in weight (12,000 minus 9,680) times the rate charged (.3103 per pound) or $719.90 minus the transportation adjustment of 22% (or $158.38)for a net refund due of $561.52. Hughes Relocation will not honor their representations and are trying to ultimately bill me at a higher rate with the final refund calculated by them only being in the range of $50.00 to $150.00.

Desired Settlement
Issue a credit for $561.52 per the above calculation which is consistent with the representations made by the Company.

Business Response
the move in question was quoted on 4 different estimates. on the day we were loading the shipper added a golf cart to the shipment. he was supposed to sell it and didnt. we added the weight of the golf cart and had him sign a new estimate that clearly stated binding estimate. there for his price was a binding price, no more no less. as a good faith gesture i agreed to give him a refund of the less weight, but he insists on picking his amounts for his refund from the first estimates which had a higher rate per hundred weight. when the weight increases on a shipment the rate per hundred weight goes down. so i agreed to pay him the rate per hundred on his last signed estimate. this was explained to the shipper , but he keeps trying to get the best rate for his refund off of older estimates. if the shipper gave you a copy of the last estimate that was signed on 9-16-2014 the day of loading when he added the golf cart you will clearly see 3 inches in bold writting above his signature and date that it was a "binding not to exceed estimate" this is why we had to do a new estimate when he added the golf cart.....

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response by Hughes Relocation is factually inaccurate. The rate used in my refund due calculation is from the final billing to my Mastercard of $5,171.06 as set forth in the documentation previously provided to BBB. This was the last of several estimates which were necessitated by the fact that we had moved several items in advance of the final move to reduce the final weight to be charged. These advance moves were in response to the representation by one of Hughes personnel (expressed several times) that we would only be charged based on the final weight and we were trying to reduce the charges from the original estimate which was almost $8,000 for a four hour move within Florida. We were told several times that the billing can't be higher but can only go lower if the final weight is below the estimate.

In the course of the re-estimating process, the Hughes representative inadvertently omitted the weight estimate for the golf cart (and the entire garage contents.) There was never a representation by me that I was trying to sell the golf cart and when Hughes realized that the weight of the golf cart was omitted, they revised the final estimate and bumped up the estimated weight of the move at the last moment from 10,749 to 12,000 pounds. I had to agree to this estimate since most of my belongings were already on the truck. If Hughes is not willing to honor their representation that I would only be billed based on the final weight moved and own up to the fact that my refund calculation was based on the final rate included in the amount billed to my Mastercard, then my only recourse will be to take this matter to the Small Claims Court where the facts will come out and the documentation will speak for itself.


Final Business Response
the consumer has filed a complain with his credit card company and we are in the process of working with them. as a good faith gesture we will be issuing a credit to him in the amount consistant with his estimate of the proper weight class.....

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot accept the response from Hughes Relocation as it does not include an amount for the credit to be issued. Until they agree to the previously requested credit of $516.62 which is based on the rate used to bill me for the transportation charge, I cannot accept their vague and ambiguous response (i.e. consistent with his estimate of the proper weight class.)

06/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Estimate for shipping was calculated and submitted to me via email w/ documents. When I wanted to book, I was told the rate changed and was a mistake.
It seems as though this company uses classic bait and switch with their written estimate practices.
I made an appointment with the sales representative from Huges Relocation Services two times.
Throughout both of the visits I was told that the application for determining the weight and cube of my household contents is extremely accurate.
After the walk through I received a document with the shipping estimate via email and printed it out.
I had the representative then come back to the house. I had removed more items, and decided to pack more items to reduce the cost of shipping.
The representative said they would look into it with their supervisor. I got an email that night from the representative stating that the estimate he had given me he made a mistake on, and that I would have to do even more work for my move and pay Huges United Relocation even more money, and the company would not support the initial estimate. And then to add insult to it, the sales representative told me that the company was "willing" to ship my goods at a cost of $500 to $1,000 more than the quote and written estimate he initially gave me .
I was told I better hurry and book because the rates are going up.
I felt deceived and pressured because of the changes in the estimate and the way it was handled.

Desired Settlement
I think a company should be held accountable to the ethical practices of giving estimates and sticking to it. Especially when it is in writing, and the customer has been told that the way they calculate the moving items for the customer is extremely accurate.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Sales Manage
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@**********.com
We pride ourselves on providing accurate estimates to our customers. Unfortunately in this case, when the customer made changes to the original quote, we inadvertently applied the wrong rate and gave her an incorrect estimate. We caught the error when the customer contacted us to book the job. It was never our intent to be unethical. We made the customer aware of our mistake as soon as we realized it, apologized, and told her we understood if she wanted to book her move with another company because of our mistake.

02/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In a household goods move from Ocala to Gainesville, FL on 1/27/2015,food contents from a chest freezer were stolen.
The contents of chest freezer were to be personally placed and transported in coolers I had set aside. Inadvertently these coolers were packed by the crew and placed on the truck. One of the moving crew suggested keeping the items in the freezer for insulation and since the shipment was to remain overnight on the truck for delivery the next day, the ambient air would be cold enough to maintain the food to which I agreed. This one crew member was the only one of the entire crew involved with the freezer. I packed the items in three boxes, placed the boxes on the kitchen counter and saw this individual pick up the boxes. Later I checked the freezer and saw it was not packed. I mentioned this to the crew member and he said don't worry I will take care of it.
On delivery the freezer was empty. I checked all the boxes delivered and they were not to be found.
I called the moving company about this and they advised me they were not accountable for theft is a police issue and to file a report. I was hesitant to do so as I didn't want the police to bother with a food theft and I didn't want the crew member to be faced with potential legal action. I just wanted compensation for the items stolen. After waiting 24 hrs. and getting no response from the moving agent, I filed an Ocala police report- file only with investigation pending. I finally heard from my mover's sales rep on 1/30/15 who was happy to tell me they would send the crew chief up to help me find the boxes. I found this statement to be obviously an evasive,futile remark as I have already checked the inventory, this individual would not even know the type of boxes the food was packed in, and it was already 4 days later. If the boxes were removed from the freezer (a ridiculous Action on anyone's part, the food would be spoiled with a very obvious smell present. I later spoke to the claims adjuster who was kind enough to advise me. There are a number of other circumstances and observations on my part that I have drawn my conclusions on the guilty party which are open for discussion, but may not be relative to your investigation at this time.

Desired Settlement
$350 in food value. The chest freezer was used for foods for entertaining. Among the items were 2 whole corned beefs about 12-15lb each with a value of about $125 each along with other items I can inventory worth about$100. I am just looking for reimbursement and no action on my part against the company or individual involved.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* / Claims
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@hughesrelo.com
We have spoken with Mr. ******** regarding his suspicions of theft of food items. Per our internal investigation of the situation, we did not find any evidence of theft of food or any other items transported. The customer cannot positively state that he saw anyone remove these items nor did any crew member see another remove any items from the shipment. The shipment was loaded and delivered on the same van. The shipment was never removed from that van during transport. In addition, the trailer was backed into our warehouse and locked up until the time of delivery the next morning. Therefore, eliminating the ability for anyone to access the goods overnight.

As part of the investigation, it was found that the customer packed his own cartons with the meat products and left those cartons unmarked and unidentifiable. He was given pre-move instructions for preparation which were not followed to completion, therefore, creating the atmosphere for this issue. The customer was to have his freezer emptied, unplugged and prepared to move prior to the arrival of the relocation team. The coolers that are being referred to were loaded on the truck earlier in the day. When the customer requested them, the moving van was loaded more than three quarters full. It was not cost effective for the customer to have the shipment unloaded and reloaded to get these items. The customer chose the option of packing these perishables in cartons rather than purchasing temporary coolers to transport his perishable items. He as well, could have specified these cartons to the crew for special handling knowing the nature of what he had packed.

At the time of delivery, the shipper did not notate any missing items. It is our belief that all cartons have not been unpacked and that the customer will find these cartons in his shipment while unpacking. This customer has a large shipment and it is unlikely at this point that all the unpacking has been performed. Should the items have been properly marked, they could have been identified immediately for proper placement in the home.

When the customer notified us that he could not find cartons, our manager did offer to send a crew to his residence the go through all packed items in an effort to locate the cartons reported as missing. The customer denied our offer. His denial also prevented further investigation of the incident on Hughes behalf. We were not given the opportunity to inspect the cartons to verify a loss.

The customer signed for all transported items with no exceptions noted for missing items. Should the customer locate the cartons, the valuation policy does not cover items affected by heat or change in temperature per the terms and conditions located on the back of the bill of lading that governs the relocation, in Section 1.

Our position remains that the customer will find these cartons as he completes his unpacking. The customer has been advised that if he still has suspicions of theft, he should file a police report. Hughes Relocation will offer 100% cooperation from our crew and staff.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This reply is filled with inaccuracies and drawn conclusions by person /persons not even at the move sight.
Response to Paragraph 1-The items in question were never removed from the moving van during transport or in the warehouse overnight. That is because the items were never placed on the Van to begin with. It is highly suspected that the suspected crew member placed the items in his or the company's econovan in which he transported himself to the moving site.
Paragraph 2- The entire paragraph is incorrect in an effort to shift accountability and place blame on the owner.
Premoving instructions were followed as this was a manual defrost freezer that was disconnected the evening before for defrosting with the food items placed in my refrigerator's freezer. After it was discovered the coolers set aside for transport were inadvertently placed on the van and not accessible, the suspected crew member came up to me and suggested that the items should be placed back in the disconnected freezer for transport due to the insulation quality of the freezer and by staying on the truck overnight where the nighttime temperature would be cold enough to maintain frozen conditions. I agreed with his conclusion and then he said to me not to worry as he will personally take care of it. No other crew member on the team was privy to this discussion. The items were placed in open 2 open top liquor boxes along with a third box which was the original manufacturers case packaging. The items were placed in these boxes only to prevent shifting around in the freezer. Moving boxes were too bulky and a ;larger size than the freezer could accommodate. Moving boxes were not used. If the author of this response was at the house, he/she would have noticed quite number of styrofoam coolers were already available for me which were not needed because of the insulating quality of the freezer. the packed boxes were placed on the kitchen counter and by the time I retuned a few minutes later, the boxes were gone, which I assumed were packed by the crew member who said he would take care of it. I am of the opinion that these items were placed in the econovan not the moving van. Later when the freezer was due to be placed in the van I noticed the items were not in the freezer. I question ed crew member involved and he said the items were not placed in the freezer yet due to the warm outside temperatures but for me not to worry he will take care of it.
Paragraph 3- Upon delivery the freezer was plugged in immediately. I did not check to see if the contents were in place, as I assumed they were. This paragraph alludes to the fact that the boxes were commingled with other boxes. Why would frozen items be taken out of the freezer for the proper placement was for these items to be kept in the freezer on delivery. "Properly Marked"! These were not moving boxes and if placed among all the other moving boxes, they would really stand out. These boxes belonged in the freezer.
Paragraph 4-The offer to send the crew was made four days after packing. If the items were among the cartons, the smell of rotting food would be quite noticeable. Only one individual on the crew would know what the boxes looked like and they belonged in the freezer. It would be futile for others to look through the entire shipment to locate or inspect. The items were never placed in the freezer or the Van and not transported.
Paragraph 6- The position is, and not just the company's conjecture, that the cartons have not been found visually or by smell..The items were never transported and probably residing in someone's kitchen. A police report has been filed but is pending my decision to activate pending Hughes response.

Final Business Response
Again, we disagree with Mr. ********'s conclusion that our moving crew, consisting of long term, honest employees, had anything to do with his missing food. For his allegations to be true it would have required a conspiracy on the part of each crew member to steal these items - items which, by the way, were probably rapidly spoiling due to the lack of refrigeration. His shipment was loaded and unloaded under his supervision, the truck was locked and parked inside a secure warehouse overnight, there was no notation of missing items at the time of delivery, Mr. ******** refused our offer to assist him in locating these items after delivery and finally, and surely most importantly, the employees involved categorically deny having anything to do with his allegations.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/31/1982Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U S Department of Transportation

BBB records show a license number of 077949 for this company, issued by U S Department of Transportation.

Type: Moving Broker

BBB records show a license number of IM227 for this company, issued by U S Department of Transportation. Intrastate Mover.

Type: Intrastate Mover (Within the State)

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert M. Hughes (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Wilson (General Manager)
Business Category

Movers

Products & Services

This company offers local and long distance moving and storage services in the United States.

Alternate Business Names
Fischer-Hughes of Florida, Fischer-Hughes Transport Inc., Fischer-Hughes United Van Lines, Hughes Relocation Service Inc., United Van Lines

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hughes Relocation Services, Inc.

445 SW 52nd Ave, Ste 800

Ocala, FL 34474-8540

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 445 SW 52nd Ave, Ste 800 

    Ocala, FL 34474-8540

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hughes Relocation Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 888-7129
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.