BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

All My Sons Moving & Storage of Orlando, Inc.

Phone: (407) 650-0200Fax: (407) 294-85603636 Silver Star Rd, OrlandoFL 32808-4626http://www.allmysons.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

All My Sons Moving & Storage of Orlando, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered All My Sons Moving & Storage of Orlando, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 23 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business.
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 23

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints concerning additional fees that were not disclosed at the time of the estimate and that the staff is unprofessional and shows disregard for the consumers property.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
04/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: All My Sons caused damages to antique furniture and to my new home. They are wanting me to settle for significantly less that repair quotes obtained.
On December 8, 2012, All My Sons Moving was hired to move my personal items to my new home. When they were finished delivering the items, I pointed out to their technicians that they had caused significant damage to 3 pieces of furniture, the wall in the stairwell and the wood stair landing. They informed me that kind of stuff happens all the time and gave me a number to file a claim. I filed the claim and now All My Sons Moving is wanting me to settle for significantly less than the quotes that I obtained to repair the damages. Two of the damaged pieces of furniture are antique which was handed down from my father and cannot be replaced. I paid them $483.37. I have been in the claims process with them trying to settle for a significantly less amount than it will cost me to repair damages that they caused.

Business' Initial Response
We provided moving services for Mrs ****** on 12/8/2012. Upon arrival Mrs ****** is required to sign paper work prior to the start of her move. One of the forms that has to be signed covers our liability in regards to damage. It reads "If any articles are lost, destroyed or damaged while in the movers custody, the movers liability is limited to 60 cents per pound per article, based on the actual weight of the lost, destroyed or damaged article. This is the basic liability level and is provided at no charge. It is considerably less than the average value of household goods." Mrs ****** signed for this coverage. Our claims department is handling this matter. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused Mrs ******.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, I am requesting more than what they originally offered. They should be more than happy to cover the damages that they cause in a person's home. If they were more careful and take better precautions, they wouldn't cause damages.

Business' Final Response
Our claims department is handling this issue.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Moving company that price gouges customers and managers who say they are managers and are unprofessional.
On Sunday I called and spoke with the owner of All My Son's Moving to assist in moving my wife. I had previously used them back in November for a move and had a great experience. Lenny was very gracious and said he would take very good care of the move for my wife. On Monday I first received a call from Sal, who stated he was a manager about having a credit card authorization form sent over. I finally received it and called back and spoke with ****** ********* who said he was the manager. I asked him how could he come to the charge of $743.20 before the move had been completed. He then begin to fast talk me using terms that he did not think I could understand. I grew angry over this knowing that it was 1:45 and he gave me a completion time of 4:00. I asked to speak to his supervisor and he said he was the manager and the owner which I knew was not true. I called back and spoke with Sal, who said that ****** was his co-worker and that they get payment before the job is complete. This was very disturbing because in my prior move with All My Son's the payment was taken by credit card at the end of the move.

Business' Initial Response
We provided moving services for Mrs ****** on 2/18/2013. The ******'s called on 2/17/2013 and spoke with ***** at our call center in Dallas TX and he arranged a move for the ******'s that next morning. On 2/18/2013 upon arrival my driver went over the paperwork with Mrs.****** at that time Mrs ****** informed my driver that her husband would be taking care of the move cost. We at the office faxed over a credit card authorization form to Mr ******. In the state of Florida it is the law the the mover shall not relinquish the furniture until payment has been made. Mr ****** was called by myself (****** ******) and asked if he had filled out the form and sent back either by email or fax. Mr ****** stated he had not received the form so I resent it to him. Mr ****** called a few minutes later stating he had received the form and wanted to know how the cost was calculated. I tried to explain to Mr ****** all the charges and time involved pertaining to this move. He then began getting upset at the final cost and told me he was going to rite the BBB and call other agencies because he did not believe the cost of the move should be what it was. There is no refund due of any kind. We did not finish early on the offload time. We did move Mr ****** a few months ago and the same charges were on his move as this move. We are sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused Mr ******.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: I was charged $50 on my card to "lock in" move date and it would be refunded if I decided to cancel. I cancelled and was now told no refunds.
On 2/13/13 I spoke with an All My Sons rep in Dallas at an 888 telephone number about a potential move. He told me that in order to "lock in" the rate and the date he would need a credit card to "hold it" but that it would be completely refunded if I decided to cancel. On 2/14/13 I called AMS at XXX-XXX-XXXX to cancel and was told that deposits were not refundable. This is a complete misrepresentation and very unethical from what I was told originally and I want my deposit in the amount of $50 refunded.

Business' Initial Response
We will refund the $50.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: We hired All My Sons Movers for a local move. Their employees were untrained, rude, and not only broke many things, severely damaged our new house
Movers were hired to move us from one house to a brand new house. It was a local move. They sent 3 movers, all under the age of 30 with a "Manager"' who was a kid. The movers took over 13 hours for a move that should have taken 7 hours. They were un-equiped with a medium size truck knowing ahead of time how big our move was (Furniture wise)which caused the movers to make 3 trips back and forth. Which they charged us for. . We continually caught 2 of the movers taking "Breaks", smoking, and chewing tobacco during the move. One was even using our new bathroom sink as a spit jar. They also did not give us a final bill which we have asked for several times.
The following furniture and appliances were broken due to their negligence during the move:
2 10 speed bikes (Piled things on top which bent them badly and ruined them)
Brand new Webber proffesional grill
Leather couch
Leather loveseat
Two pictures
Front load LG brand new washing machine
Refrigerator
Computer desk
32 inch LCD TV
Queen size bed frame and headboard

Damages to the new houe were over 2100.00 and were:
Walls- Holes in the walls from furniture
Garage epoxy floor scratched severly due to broke refrigerator
Entry door frame damaged
Walls scuffed (Was brand new paint)
Carpeting ripped due to furniture

Business' Initial Response
All My Sons provided moving services for Mr ****** on 10/27/2012. We acknowledge there were damages on the move. We are in the claims process with Mr ****** now.

Consumer's Final Response
From: Tilka Charlie
Sent: Friday, February 08, 2013 10:02 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#90099707(Ref#111-24000492-90099707-11-1100)

We have filed a claim with All My Sons insurance and still have yet to get a response. I have called numerous times and have never received a phone call back. When I contact the insurance company they say they are waiting on the owner. This is just unbelievable to me that our move was in October and it is now the middle of February and still no reply.

I am so sorry but I did not realize I had to reply.

No it has not been resolved and they keep giving us the run around


Please re-open the case

Thank You


Business' Final Response
We are currently going through the claims process now. We are trying to resolve these issues as quickly as possible.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/10/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: I was billed for things I wasn't told about ahead of time. Also I was doubled billed for 2 15 minute increments.
When I booked the movers, I was told $129 an hour, 3 movers, a 26' truck. I was not told about a fuel surcharge. I was not told there would be a 3% charge for using a credit card. When I complained to the manager he said it was on the contract. I've read the contract front and back, there is nothing about a 3% charge for using a credit card. Had I known I would have gone to the bank and gotten the cash. As for the 12% fuel surcharge, the bill has a section titled Time Basis and Services. This is filled out. Under that it says Weight Basis and Services. This is not filled out since we did time based. Under this it says 12% Fuel surcharge. Nothing here is filled out. The form seems to make it clear the fuel surcharge is for weight based moves, which makes sense if you're moving heavier than normal items.
They bill in 15 minute increments. They left they're office at 8 am and arrived at our house at 8:20. They billed us from 8:00-8:30. They then began moving, and they billed us from 8:15. They then did the same thing at the end. They finished at 11:20, so they charged us until 11:30, but then they also charged us from 11:15 for the drive back to the office.

Business' Initial Response
I have reviewed the complaint From our customer ******* ******. We did provide moving services for ******* on 8/3/2012. On arrival the customer (*******) is required to read and sign our paperwork prior to the start of the job. The fuel, and 3% are on 3 seperate pages of our contract. ******* signed all paperwork prior to the start of the job. The start time is signed in at 8:15am and the finish time at 11:30am. There are no refunds due. We are sorry for any inconviences that this may have caused Mrs ******.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I didn't sign anything; my husband did. And he only received a copy of 1 document. It does NOT say there is a fuel surcharge or credit card charge.
Also since my husband didn't find out about these charges until the movers showed up and I didn't find out until after he'd paid, what options did we have? To not move? They cornered us with these bogus charges.

Business' Final Response
I can forward all paperwork if needed. There was no over billing.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
05/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: The company's moving estimate, based on precise information about the size and location of the move, was nowhere near the actual cost.
The company's moving estimate, based on precise information about the size and location of the move, was approximately half the actual cost (estimate given on phone around $450, actual cost $790). If I had been given an even somewhat accurate estimate, I would have been able to make a more informed choice as a consumer. I called to complain but the spokesperson told me he couldn't verify what the sales person told me.

One reason the estimate was so far off was how slow the movers were. I had a similar move several months earlier (with Machomovers) that took approximately half the time.

Business' Initial Response
All My Sons moved Mr ****** on 3/2/2013. Mr ****** was given an hourly rate , not a flat. We do not give flat rate quotes over the phone. Mr ****** was given paperwork prior to the start of the move that is required to be signed which states this very fact. All paperwork was signed. We do not owe Mr ****** a refund. We billed the correct number of hours.

Consumer's Final Response
The business's response did not address my original complaint, which was about truth (or in this case, deception) in advertising.

04/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: The estimate given by this company not even close to what was charged. These men are con-artist, it is borderline a scam how they conduct business.
I contacted All My Sons for a move a few weeks prior to my move on 9 March 2013. Lets back up to estimate before we go into further details. I spoke to ****** a salesman of this company over the phone. He asked me questions regarding the contents of my home on a room by room basis. To give you a brief example of how the estimate went between ****** and I, lets talk about the bedrooms only for time sake. It is a 5 bedroom house but only occupied by three people two adults and one child. But I told ****** just like this, one room only had a fruition in it, one room had two computer desk and a book shelf, one room had a full child's bedroom furniture, and the last two rooms the master and guest room had full sets in them. ****** also asked about any big items, I told him I had a 60 inch T.V., treadmill, and a big tool box, and some tools in the garage. He told me that my move would be anywhere from 725 to 800 dollars. so I accepted and decided to hire the company. When the company showed up on the morning of the 9th they wanted to do a walk around. So we did so and they said it wouldn't be a all day thing. So we sat down for paperwork. First thing out his mouth was did they tell you about the 12% fuel charge, I said no! He said did they tell you about the 3% if you decide to use a credit card? Again I said no. So right off the back their is 15% more then I intended to pay. So I did the math in my head 15% of 800 not that bad let's do it. So the job was almost done and the 26 foot truck was full to capacity. The movers were in disbelief as they felt it wasnt that much stuff in my home. At this point we are four or five hours in. So to save time and not have them make two trips I took it upon myself to go and rent a Uhaul. Cheaper for me in my mind because All My Sons was charging me 109 dollars an hour. So I done so, we finished packing the Uhaul and we were on our way to the storage facility. We were six hours in at this time. This is were the drama began. The head guy got on his cell phone and I didn't know at the time but called *** a salesman at the dispatch. I guess he told him how much longer the job would take them. So the head guy***** walked over to me and showed me two prices one he said was a cash price and one a credit card price. The cash price we'll say was around 1950! the CC price was over 2000 dollars!!!!! What happen to the 800 dollar figure that was estimated!?! I was heated so I decided to call this**** person a call. He was a true WINNER let me tell you. I asked him why and how we were at these large figures? Well Mr. ****** you had alot of stuff more then we anticipated. So I said and thats my fault that it was more then you anticipated? Why didn't you send a person out to give me an estimate. Oh we would have had I requested it. Or your movers could have said something on the walk through! Not at the end of job! Are you kidding me? He said we based our estimate off of what you told us over the phone. But your guys are here and been here all day they do this for a living so in my mind, they should have known a few things. First if they had enough man power or not, number two the truck and it's capacity. So at this point this company has you by the you know what as they will not unload your belongings until you pay so they can say this move is 10,000 dollars and you have to pay to get your things. I told**** that I'm in sales as a United States Air Force Recruiter and his business operation was very sub-standard. To me an estimator should go out on every job. Or have the movers adjust price on walk through, but all they saw was dollar signs, a big job that would take them longer then 8 hrs. Because at the time I didn know this but the rate changes from 109 to 163 dollars another small detail the company forgot to tell me. The movers told me that this happens all the time. And in one instant a man pulled a gun ordering the men to unload the truck! I can see why because I felt like that customer when I seen the bill.

Business' Initial Response
We provided moving services for Mr ****** on 3/9/2013. We here at All My Sons do not give flat rates over the phone. Prior to the start of the job Mr ****** was given paperwork to read and sign. The first form which is required states "READ ALL PAPERS ATTACHED IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS CALL THE OFFICE PRIOR TO THE START OF THE MOVE. ONCE THE MOVE BEGINS YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL RATES AND CHARGES. Mr ****** signed the paperwork. The next required form is the Estimate Order for service which states all charges and rates pertaining to his move. Which is also signed and initialed. There is no refund due. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused Mr ******. We do not want anyone having a bad experience with All My Sons.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like a refund for half of what was charged! The initial estimate was 800.00!!! I was scammed for the rest!

Business' Final Response
We did not over bill. There will be no refund.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

12/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: We were given a verbal quotation by this company and then charged double. They also held our furniture to ransom and didn't reassemble as promised.
Towards the end of August I contacted All My Sons of Orlando. I asked for a quotation for moving our home furniture from Windermere into storage for approximately 3 to 4 weeks and then from storage into our new home in Gotha.

I was told that it would be in the region of $1350, but also that they do charge an hourly rate so they couldn't tell me exactly. This was the best quote I had received so I agreed.

After they had loaded up all our furniture on the day of the first move (as I was at the new house) they asked my wife to pay via credit card and gave her a bill for $1616.00.

When I returned home I thought it was a little high but realized that I had been told the $1350 was an estimate.

Shortly after it dawned on me that the bill was for only half the trip and that they were going to bill me again to deliver our furniture out of storage. So I called the company to clarify.

I complained that I had been quoted $1350 and was told that it didn't matter because my wife had signed for the hourly rate.

Eventually I asked to speak with the owner and we had a long chat. I explained that I had been misled and he seemed to accept some responsibility agreeing that these things happen from time to time. I even urged him to check the original phone call so he could hear what I was told.

He said that as recompense he would offer me up to 5 weeks free storage and would ensure that the trip out would not go over $1,000 no matter how long it took. I said I wouldn't need 5 weeks storage and I wasn't really happy with $1,000 because that meant we would have paid double the original estimate.

He said he would look into the situation and personally deal with our move and get back to me. I never heard from him again.

On the day our furniture arrived in our new home I met the shipment myself. One of the guys gave me the form to sign and I noticed that the sum was $1,000. I asked them how long it had taken them to load up the previous day and they said 2 hours. I then asked them how long it would take to unload and they said about 4 hours (which is about exactly how long it did take).

The hourly rate printed on this form was $109 whereas the first form said $129. I said that 6 x $109 is way less than $1,000 and they agreed.

I called the office and said they were charging me more than their normal rate, not less. The same guy as last time (Sal) said that was what I had agreed with the owner (Ambrose Palermo) and anyway I had gotten free storage. I said that wasn't the case and that he'd said he would make sure it wouldn't go any higher than $1,000 and would look into the matter and get back to me.

Once again he refused to move his position and eventually hung up on me. Almost immediately the cell phone of one of his employees rang and a hushed conversation took place.

I then was told that I had to pay the $1,000 now otherwise they wouldn't be able to leave our furniture. I'm not sure if it legal for them to blackmail me like that, but I reluctantly signed.

About an hour from them emptying the van I had to go out so I tipped the guys because the issues I had with the company were nothing to do with them. That was a huge mistake because they then dumped everything and left.

We had three beds, a chair and some furniture to reassemble and they left us to do the lot. This is clearly against the terms on their website. Again I phoned to complain and was told that as we had disassembled the beds in the first place it was our job to put them back together.

I said we didn't disassemble any of the furniture (in fact one of the chairs I didn't even realize could be disassembled) the first guys did, that was partly why they took so long. His response was that his guys had told him differently which is a blatant lie either by him to me or from his employees to him. I asked to speak to the owner and was refused the opportunity and future calls have yielded similar results

Business' Initial Response
We are in receipt brought to you from one of our customers Mr ****** ******. We provided relocation services for Mr ****** on 9/28/2012 and again on 10/23/2012. On the morning of 9/28/2012 upon arrival Mr ****** was given all paperwork to review and sign prior to that start of the move. Mr ****** signed all required paperwork. The first piece of paperwork that is to be signed reads "Please note that the quote that you were given over the phone was nat a flat rate nor was it a binding estimate. That paperwork was signed. We proceeded to inventory and prep furniture and quilt pad and shrink wrap all Mr ********* furniture. Mr ****** was coming back to our storage facility for a month or so. Our driver called the office when everything was completely loaded on the truck and went over the bill with the office. The customer paid and the crew proceeded to come back to the office to offload the furniture into our storage vaults. Later that afternoon Mr ****** called and asked about the cost of the move because he did not think the bill should be that high. The owner returned the phone call to Mr ****** and they talked in length. The owner and Mr ****** came to an agreement that we would only pay a fixed price of $1000.00 to deliver. The owner waived $450.00 of storage charges. We are sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused Mr ******. There is no refund due.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company is making zero effort to answer any of the complaints filed against them. Simply saying "We are sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused Mr ******. We do not owe a refund." is tantamount to ridiculing the entire BBB process and is not trying to seek a resolution other than hoping I will go away. I am not satisfied in any way with their responses. Until they can explain why the overcharged me twice, why I was lied to, why they held my furniture to ransom and why they didn't reassemble the furniture as per their own contract I will remain unsatisfied and pursue this matter.

Business' Final Response
We are sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused Mr ******. We do not owe a refund.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

12/03/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: This company is unbelievable. They overbilled me by an hour and then added on a credit card fee and a fuel charge fee of 12%. This is a scam!!!
So I called initially to get an idea of the cost it would be to move out my condo and not all furniture was moving. I was told it should not take more than 2 hours of move time and 1 hour of travel time @ $99 per hour making it around $300. So when it came to the billing and I was told this would take place by the driver before they unloaded any pieces the total bill came to $479. I knew that was just absurd given it was a total of 3 hours including travel. I stated I am not going to sign this or initial the paperwork and they told me they would not unload my furniture. So I signed it. The driver ****** who I couldn't understand and was clearly trained to be a hustler and make these bogus hours. So I questioned him several times to give me the breakdown and he couldn't. I'm an Accountant and I KNEW I was in the right. So he said contact the Assistant Manager tomorrow morning "******". So their office was closed but I went ahead and left 3 detailed voice messages for ******. So here is the icing on the cake. The other driver was all secretive and called me over and said that I was correct and you should receive a credit. And that this company does this all the time. So ****** didn't even call me back this morning, I called him and he couldn't even make sense of the 4 hours plus all the fees that were never told to me by anyone. I told him I would dispute this charge with my credit card company. Thank God I didn't pay cash. Now that I'm aware of this and saw online how many such complaints other people have encountered how is this company still in business. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I did dispute $130 of my bill. I stay gave the movers a $20 tip each.

Business' Initial Response
We are in Receipt of a complaint brought against us from a customer ****** ******. We provided moving services for Mr ****** on 11/1/2012. We arrived at 4:15pm at that time Mr ****** is required to read and sign all paperwork prior to that start of the job. Mr ****** signed all paperwork. The paperwork he signed stated the hourly rate for his move , and all charges that he would be responsible for. The crew arrived at 4:15pm and started working and we finished at 7:15pm. We charge 1 hour for travel which gives the men 1/2 to get to the customers pickup address and 1/2 hour to get back to the office once the job is completed. We did not over bill time. The helper on the job tried to tell Mr ****** if we finished before 7:15pm there would be a refund due. We however did not finish early. I am sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused Mr. ******. There is no refund due.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is false.. The helper even told me they do this often to people. Bill incorrectly on purpose. This company owes me an hour that they over billed. I signed the paperwork because they would not UNLOAD my furniture unless I did. I did not sign paperwork at the beginning. This company has several similar complaints. So this is a routine thing they do. I would never do business with them again and I am stressing to everyone I know how much of a FRAUD they are.

Business' Final Response
There was no over billing on Mr ******'s move. He is not due a refund.

08/28/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized changes to the contract or agreement

Complaint: Hired All My Sons Moving for in town move. Was quoted $238 for the job and was charged $468 and movers held our furniture hostage till we paid.
On 8/2 we hired all my sons moving to move from a town house to an apartment. We were quoted for 2 hours of work for a total of $238 ($119 per hour). The movers showed up at 8:45, and once the town house was packed up we drove to the new apartment, they would not unload our furniture till they were paid. Unfortunately, they were charging over double what they had quoted us. They included an hour of travel time that they personally had to drive and also charged us for 3.5 hours of work, and one of those hours was at an overtime rate. However, they finished the job at 10:30 (less than two hours). When I asked for the refund of the amount they lied and said this was all in the contract. They were dishonest about their business practice and said we were to dumb to understand the contract.

Business' Initial Response
All My Sons of Orlando have no record of an ****** ******. We looked up the name , phone number , and address provided on the complaint.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just because you did a different move for her before does not mean that this move was the same. Your company held us hostage for costs that were not agreed upon before the move. Refund us the money or we will take you to court.

Business' Final Response
My reference to both moves being exact was to show that the same charges were applied to each move. We send out paperwork that has to be signed prior to the start of each move. All paperwork was signed and initialed prior to the start of the move. That paperwork stated all charges. We did not overbill. There will be no refund. I can send you all signed paperwork if needed.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 2
06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Didn't provided number of movers promised. Ran out of room in truck.I was forced to rent a uhaul. Broke 2 items. Didn't offer compensation when asked.
I was quoted $975 for job plus an additional $150 to store items overnight in truck. That included 3 movers. When movers arrived, there was only two. I told sales rep how important it was that we had to be out of the house before 2pm. The buyers closing was at 3pm. They said, not a problem. I also mentioned that I had a lot of things, including a piano, riding lawn mower (he also failed to mention that gas had to be out of the lawnmower cause they can't carry gasoline) , BBQ grill, 3 beds and 2 sofas, plus a lot of boxes, and asked will it all fit in there size truck. He said it would. Because there were only 2 movers, it took them longer to move everything and by 1pm, they ran out of room. I was forced to go rent a box truck and trailer to fit to rest of the items and the riding lawn mower. We missed the cut of and didn't leave the property until 3. The buyers closing was delayed. My husband and I called the sales rep (**** *********)on two separate occasions during the move to express our dissatisfaction and nothing was offered to make the situation better. When the movers unloaded the truck, the price jumped up to $1800 and after they left, I discovered a broken lamp shade to a $300 lamp, and a 4 tier picture frame that was placed upside down against the wall and all the glass fell out and shattered in the garage. Needless to say, I am EXTREMELY unhappy with their service.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Refusing to refund a deposit for services which are not needed.
I call All My Sons moving company to get an estimate for an upcoming local move, I was given an estimate of "around $600" with a $100 deposit. I booked the move and gave them the $100 deposit that they asked for. I no longer needed their services and had to cancel the move, but they are now telling me they are keeping the deposit and refuse to refund me and hung up on me when I asked about it. I need my money back for the services they I didn't use.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: Damaged Items, Additional Charges not Listed in Estimate, Unwillingness to try and resolve issues.
On May 25, 2013 my wife and I used All My Sons Moving to move out of our home which we recently sold and into two storage units as we are waiting to close on a new home.

At the time the company arrived we were informed that in addition to the amount that we were quoted, there would be a 12% "fuel charge" which was never mentioned in the quote that we received a week prior. Being as we had to be out of our house that day we were forced to go ahead with the move even though we expressed our displeasure with the omission.

During the move the movers damaged several items which they unloaded without mentioning the damage.

The only reason I became aware of the damage is because after the two movers had gone well over the time quoted for the job I found them both standing in one storage unit staring at the furniture. When I asked why they explained they were trying to figure out how to fit the remaining items in the unit. I then unpacked some of their "work" and repacked items so that they fit (very simple) while they stood by and watched (while charging $139/hr.) this is when I discovered the damage to the dresser.

We also had a mirror that fell when one of the movers had propped it up against a hand truck. He picked it up and said "oh it's fine" and tried to continue to load it in the storage unit, we had to point out to him that it was in fact broken.

Following the move we have tried working with both the local business and there corporate offices. At both points we were met with extreme rudeness and basically told "oh well" call our insurance company's claims department who has told us that it is the moving company who should be handling it.

This has been by far the worst experience I have ever had with a business, it is no wonder they have lost their accreditation.

06/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized changes to the contract or agreement

Complaint: Movers arrived one full hour beyond the quoted 3-hr. window. I was charged for additional time and also for fees that were undisclosed to me.
I contracted the moving co. on Wed, Apr 24,2013, for a move on Sun, Apr 28. I was called on Sat, Apr 27, to confirm move & advise of arrival window - between 12 - 3 pm. On Apr 28, when I had not heard from the movers by 2:30, I began calling the company and after three calls was finally able to speak with someone who advised he would contact the movers to see when they would be arriving at my apt. I received a call from the actual moving crew at 3:15, who said they were 10 minutes away. At 3:50, they called me to say they had just turned onto Metro West Blvd. At 4:00, they called me from my gate to obtain the access code. When they arrived at my parking lot a few minutes later, I was there to greet them. At that point, they were a full hour beyond the quoted 12 - 3 pm arrival window. I was presented with papers advising me of additional fees which were completely new to me and had never been disclosed to me prior to that moment. (Apparently, this is a common practice with this company, based on the driver's response.) On Apr 24, I had been advised of a premium rate for a Sunday move of $129/hr with a 3-hr min. fee. On Apr 28, I was advised by the driver that in addition to the quoted hourly fee, there would be additional fees of: one full hr, or $129, for movers' driving time; a 12-percent fuel surcharge fee; a 3% convenience fee for credit card payment. (Payment was charged to my Discover card.) Additionally, the movers worked from 4:15 until 7:50 pm, or 3-3/4 hrs., or it could be rounded up to 4 hrs. I was charged for a total of 5-1/4 hrs working time in addition to the added fees. These additional charges were totally unexpected, but I had to pay them. What choice did I have, as I had to move on that day, and my apt. was totally packed up and ready to go. I immediately phoned the moving company and was told the dispatcher had gone for the day and he was the only person who could handle a billing dispute. Also, when I contacted him the following Tuesday, he lied and said that their automated phone system records all calls, and that the notes of my phone calls with the company indicated I had been advised up-front of all fees. THIS IS A TOTAL LIE! He refused to adjust the charges on my account. I am disputing this charge with my credit card co., but I most definitely wanted to file a complaint with the BBB. I understand, from your website, that their BBB accreditation has been suspended. I hope you can help me resolve this issue with them. They most definitely took advantage of my situation by not advising me up-front of their pricing policies and fees, and they stole from me by charging me for time they did not work when I was already paying the premium rate. Also, had I not begun calling the moving company on the 28th, I'm wondering would they have even bothered to call me to advise of their late arrival? I think not. I feel this shabby - to say the least - treatment is at the minimum highly unethical and is also probably illegal. I'm certain that moving companies are, or should be, required to disclose all fees when quoting moving rates. Thank you very much for your assistance.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 04/01/1993Business started locally: 07/10/2000
Licensing

FL Movers Reg. No. 113, ICC MCC 392229

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2000, FL

Business Management

Mr. Robert Peterson is listed as a Director for all locations in Florida. Each Florida location is incorporated separately with different individuals as President and other officers.

The BBB issues individual Business Review reports based on each corporate name.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Ambrose Palermo (Owner)Mr. Robert Peterson (Director)
Business Category

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving & Storage Company

Products & Services

This company offers moving & storage services.

Alternate Business Names
All My Sons Moving and Storage
Industry Tips
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All My Sons Moving & Storage of Orlando, Inc.

3636 Silver Star Rd

Orlando, FL 32808-4626

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3636 Silver Star Rd 

    Orlando, FL 32808-4626

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All My Sons Moving & Storage of Orlando, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.