BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/2002

Christensen Financial, Inc.

Phone: (407) 869-0008Fax: (407) 869-0018

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
12/18/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: Mr. ************** did not do what he told he would do and failed to provide the bank with the proper documentation.
On August 8, 2012 Mr. ************** told my daughter and me that he would close on a refinance by August 31, 2012 if we provided him with all the documentation. We did not close until October 2012.
Mr. ******** failed to provide the bank who picked up our mortgage with proof of insurance. Therefore, the bank picked another insurance company at higher cost than the original insurance company (USAA). We had homeowner's insurance.
The title company, Venture Title underestimated the taxes. Therefore, the escrow is short. I could not, would not recommend Christensen Financial to anyone looking to finance, refinance or for anything else.
Thank you,
*************

Business' Initial Response
Written response has been mailed to the BBB 12-06-2012.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/15/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Mortgage refinance .Started in mid May .Going in to the fifth month and they still keep giving me the run round.
This company ( Sarasota office ) told me it would take a couple of month to compete.They ordered 4 payoff from my Mortgage company on an interest ONLY loan starting in May and the last one Sept. 5th ,costing me $20 everytime they order it. They have ordered 2 credit cks. on me . August 8th they told me they needed one more paper from me and we were clear to close.Now they say it is still in the underwriter files. They don't not to pay August mortgage payment as we will be closing very soon. They said the same in sept.,costing me each time $80 in late fees. If they can't refi my mortgage give me back my paper work so I can find someone who can.I have benn dealing with ************** .***********

Business' Initial Response
The investor for this loan has very long turn times. Each time we have had to furnish additional information needed, it seems to take at least 20 days for a response. We are very sorry for the delay to this borrower. We will be refunding the credit report fees to the borrower at the time of closing. The borrower must make their mortgage payments monthly until the loan closes.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: Poor customer service(documentation gathering)in getting mortage refinance process that resulted in unexpected finacial costs, we cannot afford.
We want to express our great dissatisfaction with the home loan refinance process, particularly with *** ********* management of the process. We feel like we have been misled and taken advantage of, despite of our clear indications to *** Hogrefe that the reason why we wanted to explore home refinance is because we have financial hardship.

I first inquired about the refinance process in September 2012. I received via email the application, which described the documentation needed to qualify (9/4/12): including the information of our equity loan, which is separated from our mortgage (9/5/12). She indicated that this loan would have to be subordinated, which in fact did not need to be.

By this time, we had already spoken on the phone with *** about our credit reports/banking/bils, etc, so she should have noticed any outstanding issues, such as the sewer lien with the county and discuss them right then before moving on to obtain a home appraisal. We felt that being in the business, she and her company would be familiar with our community particular zoning issues. We are not experts in thfinacial services, this company claims to be.

The appraisal was conducted on 9/6/2012. I can assure you that if we would have known that 2,100 dollars for the sewer lien would need to be paid to move forward with the process, we would have stopped right there and not go ahead with the home appraisal(365.00$). *** notified us about the need to pay the water lien on 9/17/2012. Because the appraisal was done already, we felt trapped with no choice but to make yet another financial sacrifice and wipe out our savings account to make the payment at the time of closing, on top of the closing cost. We were not conviced we wanted to move forward with the loan becuase of the finacial harship for us.

On October 29th, 2012 *** emailed us the savings supposedly on the new loan (489.00$), which was wrong because she added the mortgage plus our home equity loan. Again, huge mistake on her part! despite the fact that she had all our information already. Only when we went over the numbers and called her back, we realized that the savings would be less than half of that!. As you can imagine, we were done with Christiansen Fincial DBA and Gulfside Mortgage services at that point.

What bother us the most is the indifference shown despite our constant concerns about unexpected costs involved.

Consumer's Final Response
Despite our dissatisfaction with the result and the fact that we were misquoted in the savings reached through this process (attached two emails from the loan originator, where we were misquoted as saving 489 $ on 10/29/2012; when we contacted to verify this, she apologized on 11/05/12. We based on decision based on this misquote. Unacceptable mistake!
I am assuming that this complaint will be included under this business, correct?

Please add this attachment to my complaint.
Thank you for your assistance,
***** ******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/04/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Contract of sale was accepted based on false pre-approval letter written by Branch Manager****************************************************************

Branch Mgr *********** wrote pre-approval letter dated 5/18/2012, stating that, among other things, credit report had been reviewed and was/is acceptable.

Contract was accepted based on that letter.

Loan denial on 7/27/2012 gives reasons as bankruptcy and insufficient credit. **** damaged me by writing the letter, misrepresenting the likelyhood of buyer approval for financing.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@cfimail.net
Thank you for advising me of a complaint that you received from ****** ******. I have researched the ****** file he referred to. Unfortunately this borrower started out her home purchase financing with low credit scores and a previous bankruptcy. Originally this would not have prohibited her from getting the loan she spoke to Stephen Trye about but during the processing period, the guidelines changed and due to her previous issues and current credit scores, she did not qualify for lender financing. We have seen the tightening of guidelines tremendously in the past several months because of the high percentage of loans that go into default.

We hope that Ms. ************ will continue to work on maintaining good payment performance with her creditors. She has opened new credit since the bankruptcy. It will be essential that she not have any lates going forward.

Should you have any questions regarding this file, I would be happy to respond.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** Mortgage is not telling the truth.

I am in the mortgage business and am aware of changes as they occur. While single investors change requirements from time to time, it is not plausable for ******'s SOLE investor changed THIS particular rule during THIS two month period.

Business' Final Response
FHA did not change their guidelines, but the investing lender changed their requirements. As I said before, we have seen guidelines tighten greatly in the past year and often without warning.

We are in the business of closing mortgage loans for qualified borrowers. We never like to loose a loan or disappoint a borrower. We certainly would have liked to have closed this loan. Much time was spent on it. Salaries and payroll were paid to my support staff. Not closing a worthy loan does not make sense. Please accept this response as final.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mortgage Bankers

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.