BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/1992

Modelscout

(407) 420-588862 W. Colonial Dr., Loft 309, OrlandoFL 32801 Send email to Modelscout



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/1992

BBB has determined that Modelscout meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Modelscout include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Modelscout

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deposit paid for comp card shoot. Scheduled date. Showed up and informed shoot was rescheduled. No one informed me. No copy of contract given to me.
I took my then 5 year old daughter to ModelScout in June for an orientation. While there we were sat with *********, a rep, and 4 other clients. ********* "sold" us on paying a $100 deposit for a comp card shoot and this shoot was scheduled for August 11 at 9am. We showed up at 9am sharp at the photographer, **** ********* house, only to be told "oh, that was rescheduled to yesterday. Didnt anyone call you?" "No," I replied (as no one did let us know.) He went into his house and tried calling someone from the agency. Came back out and said he could not reach anyone. A couple hours later, **** ******** from Model Scout called me and asked the same thing. "No!" I told her when asked if anyone called me about the rescheduling to the PRIOR day. She asked who we met with during the orientation and I told her "*********." "Oh," **** said. "She is no longer with us. No wonder you didn't get a call." Then she said she would call me the next day, Monday, August 13th, to reschedule the shoot. A week goes by and no call. I sent an email on August 18th requesting a full refund of the $100 deposit as this entire experience proved "bad business" all around. She responds saying "I signed a contract that stated NO REFUNDS." I did NOT receive a copy of anything signed during orientation and wrote her back saying that I wanted a copy of what I signed stating the "no refund policy." I have not receieved a copy of anything. They have called numerous times trying to get me to reschedule this shoot. That's NOT happening. I told **** in an email that it is by NO FAULT of ours that Model Scout failed to notify us of the change in date of photo shoot. We paid in good faith, we showed up as directed and we were stunned to find the shot took place the day before. I want my $100 back immediately. I also want a copy of what I signed during orientation since ********* was very quick to take this deposit and "shuffle us out" yet could not be bothered in giving me a copy of anything on that very day. I would like it proven that the contract reads "no refunds will be issued if Model Scout changes your appointment and 'forgets' to call you." We did our part in good faith and Model Scout did not. They failed miserably.

Desired Settlement
Full and immediate refund of the $100 deposit for "comp cards".

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* ***, Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@modelscout.com
The agency has opted to refund Ms. ******'s $100 deposit, her dissatisfaction was the result of a highly unusual calendaring error and we provided her with the following remedy today by email.

Complaint Case ********* (Ref#XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

Dear Ms. ******,

After a thorough evaluation of the situation regarding the missed photo shoot and deposit of $100 on file for the shoot and your subsequent BBB Complaint.

It is not usual that a cancellation of a scheduled shoot occurs, and even more unusual that you would not be properly notified in advance of any change to the shoot date/time.

A refund check for $100 will be available at the agency or by mail on Monday, October 20, 2013. Please call the agency and speak with ****** ******** and she will either mail the check to you OR she will have it available for you to pick up during regular business hours.

The agency has a fairly new staff in place this year due to growth in the market and our divisions; still this could and should have been avoided and well-handled upon receipt of your initial email; staff training & policies have been put in place to avoid this type of situation from repeating itself.

We've had a long-standing record of being fair in a fickle industry & we do hope this does not turn **** away completely from what could be a fun & profitable hobby at some point.

********* ***
Accounting Department

cc: Better Business Bureau, **** ********, ****** ********
SugarApps




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They have been in contact and have promised to mail a refund check of $100

09/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They practice an illegal practise in FL of signing people up with THEIR Photographer and going through them to get comp Cards etc. They receive money.
Every Thursday, Model Scout has "casting calls" of around 20 people saying they need to have Comp Cards and Books to proceed with them, instead of offering a contract, they sign people up with their Photographer (an illegal practice and common agency scam) Where they will get a commission from all the people they sign up. They will also say you need a Comp Card, Makeup Artist and Book through them, wether they offer you a contract or not, again, making commission off the sales. I was one who was told all the "amazing things I can do" I was told to lose weight and come back.

2 weeks later I came back 10 pounds lighter and was told they would take care of my book and the photo shoot. Ward C******* says the photographer was from New York City and is famous, when in reality he is a bar tender from the midwest. I put down a deposit of $200, went to the photo shoot, pictures came back okay. I was never given a price, or a list of charges, or anything of that sort.

The book, photoshoot and comp card was never needed as I, along with several others were only sent on a casting for a Hairshow in Orlando. When I got my check back from The Hairshow, they called saying I still owe $500. My overall total was close to $1,000. I had never agreed to a total of this much and would have never done it as I cant afford a debt this high. I called/emailed for 2 weeks to get a copy of my contract and a copy of all the charges. I never received anything and kept getting told by the "office manager" she doesn't know anything.

I set up a meeting with Ward after he got back from Jamaica with one of his Models that he is dating, and was told he didn't think he needed to provide me with anything because he "thought we had a good vibe to where it wasnt it like that" He went over the charges with me, finally. I was told the money would be taken out of my jobs (i never got sent on castings except one and along with my whole check, they also took out the 20% agency fee) before this though, i had still never knew the total was $1000.

Along with the sketchiness of the money and payments, the office is completely unprofessional. You can never speak to anyone who knows anything and always being told to call back in a few days. They have a reputation of scamming people with Photography scams, then sending them on a few castings a year so they cant be sued for fraud. I also was told several times to lose weight, I'm 5'11 and Ward wanted me down at a weight of 115 Pounds because he was promising me I would walk with Chanel and go to Milan very soon. Again, other than the hairshow I was sent on, I went on a group trip to Miami to meet with other agents. There were a few girls in Miami, one was a size 6. He said that "she could of been a supermodel but now she is super sized"

I became fed up with the agency and lack of concern they have for their "talent" I met with another local agency and was told they have a lot of those problems and people come to them a lot. I was offered a contract with them once I get out of MS, I sent several Emials to get out of my contract and I finally got an email back saying I needed to pay my debt to be released. I refuse to pay the money as I never was shown what I would be paying for, and that what they are doing is illegal. All I would like is release from this contract so I can proceed with my life as I have a 2 year old and cannot afford this debt and never agreed to a payment of almost $1000

Desired Settlement
Release from the contract immediately.

Business Response
MODELSCOUT strives to provide superior customer service, and will of course take whatever action necessary to protect its fine reputation. In response to the following items mentioned in Case #*********, filed by *********, Modelscout, Inc. offers the following explanations, clarifications and documentation. Modelscout has never and will never require any model or party to use any of the services offered to our talent in order to be represented by our agency. The competitive nature of the industry has certainly created the tendency toward highly polished and professional models to be more successful in obtaining bookings than those that are perhaps not as well-branded. Our agency makes a commission when our models work, therefore we do participate in the 'branding' of the models we represent, not only to increase our chances of earning commissions but also of course to give the models we represent the best possible chance of booking with our clients and/or obtaining representation in major markets.

Photos from any source (that meet the industry standard) are always considered to use in promotion of our models. Comp cards are used to promote the models along with the web profile. The agency provides the cards and the digital link to other agents, casting directors, existing and new clients, magazines, catalog companies.
No model is (or ever has been) required to purchase comp cards through the agency's printer, it is offered as a convenience and the agency's advisement as to which photos would give the model the most appropriate advantage in the market and vs. their competition is a service we provide on the contingent hope that our investment of time and expertise in a model would later recouped through the commissions to be earned once the model is booked by client(s).

Attached are the signed photoshoot agreement​, comp card/web profile order confirmation and mother agency representation agreement, which are all signed by Ms. ***** and explained in person to her.

The 'PHOTOSHOOT AGREEMENT' and 'COMP CARD & WEB PROFILE CONFIRMATION" both clearly state the costs, and the fact that she was given a significant discount on the comp cards.

The agency worked closely with her to prepare for her shoot and eventual visit to the Miami market, as a result we have had some positive response in terms of her representation in Miami, New York and Milan as well as local market opportunities. we put many hours of work and consultation into

**** and did not charge for these consults as she was under mother agency agreement. If she were not .. we do not provide those services at no charge.
**** lost contact with us for periods of time and our agents left numerous messages to come in when she was ready to meet with us again, we didn't hear from her unless we called and do expect models to check in weekly with the agency. When we had a small job for her she agreed to do the job and then cancelled the day of the assignment. The agency was prepared to put it all behind us, once paid for what she agreed to pay​. N​umerous times said she was coming with funds from grandparents, when she did not do as she said we put the amounts on account (something we would only do for mother agency talent). We even advanced her money when she owed money and had not been paid by her client ... she said she had no gas and no money for diapers. We contend that personal financial challenges may have prompted Ms. ***** ​to file this claim against the agency.

That being said we still want what is best for Ms. *****, as we do all of our models and thus will not bill her for the hours of consultation. We will uphold her discounted services as if she were still under contract and when we resolve the going forward agreement on her part and take care of the minimal balance on account will release her from her Mother Agency Agreement (attached) as per her request as this is also our decision.

We sincerely wish **** a positive successful journey in her professional, personal and whatever pursuits she may choose to follow, however the agency has advanced costs for photography, printing and website subscription fees, all of which were authorized by signature on the attached documentation.

MODELSCOUT contends this complaint has no grounds and the agency has provided services in excess of the agreed upon services. Ms. ****'s balance owing remains $342.00. Attached also is an accounting of debits and credits to her account.

12/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lied like Always!
This place told me I would get casting calls by next week. To tell you the truth I never ever received at least one casting call email or phone call. I called the place to find out if they have my information and that if something was wrong they said they will find a casting call for me. Honestly, they did not and they did not even try to find me a casting call or a photoshoot and I spent a lot o money for the comp cards and to be online and still no casting calls. They lied and told me I'd be a famous model by next year and they lied. Its fine because I just want a refund or for them to actually try their job because it is not fair that I ended up loosing half of my rent money to these jokester. Also I wrote a review on Facebook about Modelscout and they took down their reviews because they ended up getting 2 out of 5 stars because they also ripped off people as well. Please talk to the manager because he keeps on bringing peoples up and then the people are loosing their rent money and investing it into false hope. Thank You!

Desired Settlement
I either want a full refund, or I want them to actually find me good photo-shoots that will help reimburse me the money I lost due to their shady business scheme and tricks, Thank You.

Business Response
MODELSCOUT strives to provide superior customer service, and will of course take whatever action necessary to protect its fine reputation. In response to the following items mentioned in Case #XXXXXXXX, Modelscout, Inc. offers the following explanations, clarifications and documentation.

Modelscout has never and will never require models to use any of the services offered to our talent in order to be represented by our agency.

Photos from any source (that meet the industry standard) are always considered to use in promotion of our models. Comp cards are used to promote the models along with the website. Agencies use comp cards and the digital link to show their models to other agents, casting directors, existing and new clients, magazines, catalog companies, etc.

Thanks to the use of digital media like our website and our mailers of comp cards to clients (existing, potential and new) not all 'castings' require a face-to-face meeting with the client in order for clients to make their selections of which models they choose to hire. The agency is diligent in giving all those we represent an equal amount of exposure to clients hiring in any particular age range, ethnicity and type. However, the decision of which models to interview in person (at a "casting call" or "go-see") as well as the decision of which models are hired is made solely by the client.

In Ms. ******'s situation, she opted to bring her own photos to us and agreed to purchase composite cards for her personal use and for us to distribute as needed. She ordered, approved, paid in full for the printer's costs and accepted the composite cards (see attached order form). The agency kept half of the cards to distribute the cards to appropriate clients and also provided a web profile on our website to her. ****** ******'s web profile was sponsored by the agency for the first 6 months without charge to her in order to give her added exposure during her start-up in our highly competitive industry. This sponsorship carries a value of $150 and was given to her at no cost.

It seems as though Ms. ****** is embellishing her complaint with further claims that she was told she would be a famous model by next week and busy on casting calls within a short period of time. Clearly, after nearly 25 years in the service of talent representation, these are promises that we never make to any individual and these portions of her complaint are clearly frivolous and driven by her own economic struggles with rent, etc. which she mentions numerous times.

No agent or employee of Model Scout Inc. would knowingly cause undue hardship by providing services (at any cost, discounted or not) which would deprive an individual of basic life necessities and part of each agent's training is to learn to identify those that may be overextending themselves and advise them to 'wait until their circumstances are in a position where investing in their career as a model or talent would not cause hardship". Those individuals are scheduled for a follow-up call in 6 to 12 months to determine if they are more suited for representation at that time.

While it is unfortunate that this particular young lady was not successful initially and has become confused about her comp card order being in exchange for "becoming famous" we assert that a refund would not be a reasonable response to this complaint, since her half of the comp cards are in her possession and we have only 7 left at the agency - the other's having already been given to potential clients. She was also afforded an additional 3 months on our website (increasing the web profile scholarship amount to $225 covered by Model Scout) as a general extension in the hopes clients would later request her for some of their bookings. Her profile was finally removed this summer due to a lack of interest from our client base.

With Sincere Regards,
********* ***
Corporate Administrator
XXX-XXX-XXXX
*********@modelscout.com

There is 1 attachment to support this response, if there is any difficulty in opening these, please contact us and same will be provided via email to our BBB representative.


07/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for website placement, and now they claim it was a deposit for photos I already owned
After I submitted a comp card for my child, I was called in for their "open call." Myself and many others listened to the "owner's" spiel about a model he used to date, and then he went on to state, "We are not here to sell you anything." He then prattles on about everyone needing comp cards, and he could recommend people to studios they use. Everyone knows this is shady business practice. Any modeling agency that directs you to a specific photographer is usually getting a "kick back." They definitely were trying to sell something-pictures. The "owner" also claimed that in 25 years, the company has never had a complaint filed with the BBB. This was also untrue as I found a complaint online, and several unflattering reviews regarding individuals who stated that this company charged hundreds of dollars for photographs, yet they have never received a single paid job.

After this "open call," the "owner" asks for everyone to stand in line and wait to be called up to speak to him. They definitely made sure there was approximately 25 ft between the people waiting in line, and the individual he was speaking to. He told me that my pictures were "Okay," but I needed to make another appointment to meet with their office. He then stated, "The good part is that your child is beautiful, so you're not wasting your time."

I made an appointment for two days later, and when I walked into the office, there was no meeting at all. In fact, they looked as if they weren't expecting a soul. I showed **** ****** my daughters comp cards, and he said the photos looked good, but he could re-design the card. I agreed to let him do that so I could see what it looked like. Every printing company online charges $60-$100 to print comp cards, so I anticipated spending no more than this.

Before I left, **** asked me to obtain the high resolution photos from my photographer, which I did. I thanked them for their help, then asked what I needed to do to place my child on the website. **** told me that the fee for placement was $145, which I paid on site.

The following week, I received an email intended for someone else, but had my child's PDF file attached. The email stated that I had a "balance" of $220. Naturally, I called the office to inquire about this "balance." I was placed on hold, then told the fee was for printing comp cards. The cards looked great, but I already knew that they would because they were photos I already approved for printing by the photographer that took the photos.

I did not respond back to the agency because I was not going to pay $290 for my own photos just because some guy changed the font and rearranged the photos. **** then called me under the pretense of "trying to find out how to pronounce my child's name," which I knew was nonsense. I began to question why I was being charged so much for my own photos, and why would I pay for photos with their contact information on them. If I distribute these photos to agencies on my own, I would essentially be doing my own legwork because they would be contacted obligating us to pay them 20% commission. **** suggested I buy stickers and place the. Over their contact information.

I told **** that I already paid $500 for pictures. Why would the "owner" say the pics weren't good enough, yet **** used them with no problem? I inquired about the cost for a photo shoot because I wanted to compare prices, and prove they were running a scam. The difference between a photo shoot with comp card printing was only a $90 difference from what they were attempting to charge me. When I stated this to ****, the phone call was disconnected.

Once **** took ten minutes to get his story together, he called back. I told **** that I am not fronting any money to anyone else for photos until it is necessary. I also informed **** that if he was not trying to scam me, then why don't they take the "balance" out of my daughter's pay after she receives her first job. He flat out said, "No." This

Desired Settlement
This let me know that this company was never going to make an attempt to find work for my child. They planned to pocket my money. If you run this scam several hundred times a year, they make thousands of dollars from unsuspecting people.

**** told me that I paid a deposit which was non-refundable. I informed **** that I never paid a deposit for photos. I paid $145 for my child to be placed on their website, and that was all. Furthermore, what document did I sign that indicated I was placing a deposit specifically for photographs? Also, what document did I sign that stated deposits were non-refundable if that is your claim?

They claim comp cards are $275 plus $15 for shipping. If they claim I already paid them $145, then why are they claiming I have a balance of $220? That is not $290, it's $365...the same price a person would pay if they approached the agency with no photos at all.

This agency's only real claim to fame is a model discovered in my hometown nearly 20 years ago that the "owner" was dating, and owned a home with. He never stated that he discovered her, he only said that they "furthered" her career...whatever that means.

The bottom line is this, I know what I paid for and it was NOT photos. It was to hold a place for my daughter on their website, which is not an uncommon fee for an agency to require. To take my money and claim it was a deposit so you won't have to return it is pathetic.

Simply return my money, because you know I never paid anything for pictures that I already owned.

Business Response
MODELSCOUT strives to provide superior customer service, and will of course take whatever action necessary to protect its fine reputation. In response to the following items mentioned in Case #XXXXXXXX, Modelscout, Inc. offers the following explanations, clarifications and documentation.

Modelscout has never and will never require models to use any of the services offered to our talent in order to be represented by our agency. Photos from any source (that meet the industry standard) are always considered to use in promotion of our models. Comp cards are used to promote the models along with the website. We use comp cards and our website to show their models to other agents, casting directors, existing and new clients, magazines, catalog companies and other clients. Additionally, attached is a link to a video wherein Ms. **** ****** (In regard to the famous model which she questioned our association with) states on camera that she was "discovered in my hometown mall by Modelscout/**** ********".
Link to video: http://*********/******?q=welcome+to+**********

In regard to the claim that the customer was told she would have to "do her own legwork", we suggest that she is simply confused as to how non-exclusive representation works to a model's advantage. ****'s intention was to express to her that she could or even should do additional legwork to promote her daughter to other agencies in order to increase the number of opportunities and that our representation of her daughter would be non-exclusive nature, so she therefore was not encumbered by any exclusivity to obtain bookings only from Modelscout and furthermore (in direct response to her question) that she would not owe our agency any commission for worked booked on her own or through another agency.

In regard to our record with the BBB. Any and all complaints have been satisfactorily resolved according to BBB Policy and any issue(s) were remedied immediately. Additionally, the statement did not contend that there were zero complaints but that we maintained a very strong reputation through the Better Business Bureau's system.

In response to the distance the owner stands from the others waiting to see him after the "call back" (not "open call" as referred to in the complaint), however odd this may seem, is to not only allow for privacy when his advice to a model may be to lose weight or get an acne situation under control (common for teens) but also to not embarrass but inspire them to improve their appearance, or perhaps grooming to best compete in the industry. Secondly, it is where the desk and computers are located. Lastly, to form the line elsewhere would block the stairway, access to the restroom and the exit.

No model is (or ever has been) required to purchase comp cards through any specific printer (or use a specific photographer), however the agency is not obligated to advance these costs to the models we accept to the agency. The price of other comp cards on-line or elsewhere is irrelevant to this case.

Attached is the signed comp card/web profile order confirmation which clearly states the price on the first line of the document for the composite cards.

COMP CARDS: $275 plus $15 Shipping
The agency will keep HALF of the cards for: Clients, Castings, Job Submission, Publicity

All four of the boxes are checked off so the customer was indeed aware that the agency would be pursuing paid bookings on behalf of her daughter.

The agency does normally charge a fee for placement on the website, however at the time of this order, the agency offered six month sponsorship on the site at no charge (other than the one time $75 upload fee - for the webmaster to re-size and design the individual web page). The form is for both comp cards and website together. The website alone is $300 per 6 month time frame.

In response to the claim that **** used the pronunciation of the child's name as an excuse to call her, in all due respect the child's name is ******** ******* This name could obviously be pronounced many different ways and he was asking in an effort to be polite and not mispronounce the name in the future. **** did not intentionally end the phone call. That day our phone system went off-line due to an afternoon storm (common in our area) and it takes about 10 minutes to reset the router and bring the phones back on line. He returned the dropped call at the earliest possible opportunity and apologized for the technical inconvenience.

To follow are are all the email correspondence that transpired between the agency and all of its employees regarding the representation, coordination of the comp card order. Never was a photo shoot or paying for 'photos' mentioned.
The customer agreed to pay for Composite Cards through our Printer and to accept our 6-month free website profile sponsorship, by having our webmaster upload and create the profile on our site.

The 'COMP CARD & WEB PROFILE CONFIRMATION" clearly states the charges of:
$275 for comp cards, $15 shipping of comp cards and the webmaster's $75 upload fee = $365

We offer the comp card cost to be broken into 2 payments. The printer provides the digital proof, which the customer did receive (an emailable marketing tool for the model) and was pleased with the comp card proof (as evidenced in email correspondence to follow). While the form does not state that this first payment of $145 is non-refundable, she received the product and the product (digital proof) is now in her emailed possession infallibly and cannot "be returned" for a refund.

Should the customer opt not to stay with the agency, the remaining obligation to print and receive the cards/be on the website, then the remaining balance of $130 for the printed cards, the $15 shipping and the $75 upload fee would be waived as a courtesy by the agency. Thereby releasing her from the further obligation agreed to in the signed that reads as follows: "You are agreeing to complete the entire payment to the printer for the cost of the composite cards upon approval of your proof and certain computer monitors may cause color variations."

While it is unfortunate that this particular customer has become confused about the order she placed for her child, we assert that a refund would not be a reasonable response to this complaint, since the digital proof is in her possession.

With Sincere Regards,

********* ***
********* *************
XXX-XXX-XXXX
*********@**********.com

Supporting documents have been emailed to:
***** ******** at *********@centralfloridabbb.org

04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Model Scout represented themselves and products as something they are not. After putting over $1,000 into them, they have yet to deliver their side.
I met with model scout back in August of 2013 during which time they informed me that they would like me to enter their agency however, I would need to purchase a photo package from them in order to start a comp card. They assured me that their prices were far lower then if I were to meet with this photographer on my own. I did however, show them photos of previous photo shoots and they explained that those photos were not high enough quality for their comp card. After purchasing a photo package we sat down to design a comp card. At this point they decided to pull 3 out of 4 total pictures on my comp card from my previous photo shoot which they had initially explained as not "high enough quality". thus making the most recent photo shoot an unnecessary purchase.

After speaking with the owner and expressing my concerns on not only the outcome of the photos as well using previous photos I already had for the card; he quickly tried to provide me with a casting as a means of appeasement. I then took their word and reassurance and ordered comp cards from them. Once the cards were received, I was extremely unhappy with the quality and asked numerous times for them to be reprinted so they were very digitized. The owner agreed to the reprinting, however never followed through with it. I contacted the photographer who was contracted by Model Scout and found out it was a much cheaper rate for him to do the photo shoot without going through Model Scout. I gave the agency some time, hoping the situation would turn around. However, after being with the company for half a year now; I have only received two castings. Both of these castings were only offered to me when I called to discuss my unhappiness with the situation. I have spoken with other models who were signed with the agency who share the same dissatisfaction as I do. Model Scout is a company who works on selling photo shoots, comp cards, portfolios, and uploading fees. They solicit as many willing individuals as they can find only to leave a stack of overpriced photos in return. Out of the 20 models they called back in my original casting; in addition to the multiple models I have met within their agency along the way, I know of only two who have received any form of jobs from Model Scout, however many models who unfortunately bought into their scam.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the money back that I put into Model Scout.

Business Response
it is unfortunate that ****** has made a report about our agency
we have never promised anything in the 23 years we have been established as one of the best agencies in the south east
we only offer professional advice and great service to our talent-
the agency and myself , **** ******** have gone above and beyond in helping and working with her
in addition to charging her no consultation fee and never an upfront fee as is our standard policy
she was supposed to be signed exclusively with modelscout before being taken to miami and introduced at no charge to several of the top agencies in the world *********** - *********** - ******************************************************************
after ****** went through the development and paid for her photography , hair and make up , laser prints , portfolio and composite cards.. she in fact was given a group discount and a free consultation and trip to miami ... an oversite on our part is only we did not catch she had not given back the agreement that she was given to sign
this agreement was to insure that when she did sign with one of these agencies we work with in miami .. we would be paid by the agency not her
she had gained weight , no fault of ours , and the agencies had suggested she lose weight
we stand behind her fotos , her comps and everything she has received from modelscout
her cost for what she has received would be two to three times more elsewhere
the only thing she was offered was to reprint her comp because of the front foto chosen having had a special filter on it by the photographer ... she never did follow up on this offer after the last appointment
she instead threatened to contact the bbb
we , going forward we would bill her for the time invested in ****** and the meetings organized for her on our behalf ...
she seems to be unhappy at all turns and we must now decide if working with her in the future would prove beneficial

she has gotten everything agreed to by our agency and once again we stand behind our product 100 % and will continue to offer a standard higher than anyone in our community
we hope only the best for ****** in the future , she has used the tools and work we have provided her and now wants a refund , she is unhappy with the out come , which is not from lack of trying ..we hope she loses the weight which the industry has suggested and she succeed with what she has been helped to obtain
thank you ,
**** ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are many incorrect statements in your reply. For starters, I was told to never sign the contract. When I was at the agency ***** asked you if you would like me to sign an exclusive and you replied with "just let her look at it". I took it home and called back on two different occasions asking if I needed to sign it and turn it in and I was told to just hold on to it and to not sign it. So the lack of a signed contact would be on the fault of your agency. As far as my weight is concerned, you knew from the moment you looked at me that I was never going to be the 5 ft 10 inch model with 34 inch hips. I am 5'9 and 125lbs and healthy. I did in fact lose weight during my time with you, I never gained a pound. However, I refuse to loose so much weight that I am one of the stereotypical models that is nothing but a bag of bones. I feel like looking healthy and fit is far more attractive then sickly skinny. I apologize if that is the look you were going for, if I would have known you wanted me to lose that much weight I would have never set foot back in your agency after the first day we spoke. I understand that weight is a big issue in the modeling industry; however it was extremely concerning during my time at Miami speaking with all the girls from your agency who expressed your need for them to lose weight. I have never heard so many 15-16 year olds talking about eating nothing but lettuce with salt and pepper and running to the point of near black out. I truly feel like your agency needs to take a step back and reconsider the pressure and ideas your are putting on young females who take what you say not only to heart but so extremely personal y that they are on the brink of developing an eating disorder. So if you feel in your heart that you did the right thing when it came to handling me as a client and refuse to try and rectify your actions in any way then I simply hope to educate future aspiring models to beware of Model Scout as they will come away from your agency with nothing but less money than they went in with, no advances in their modeling career, and a greatly lowered self-esteem if they listen and believe everything that is drilled into their heads at your agency.

Final Business Response
it sounds as if this industry is not for this particular person...
we do not demand anyone lose weight
we simply let our talent know what is the standard and what the large market agencies tell us in their comments
as stated we have given everything that was required to this person and it seems she is frustrated with the clients and agencies requirements
we wish her good luck in her pursuit and never feel people are losing money in pursuit of their goals , dreams, and aspirations
we have no upfront fees or classes to sell..we do not charge the for appointment times and consultations - we spent time to prepare her for a trip to miami .. most companies have fees for this - we did not charge her-we help those that are in need of development , which is what we did ..to have charged for the time and work put forth would have been a very large cost -
we consider this matter closed and what ever agreement was signed or not signed may be disregarded and is null and void-
thank you,
**** ********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I entered this agency fully aware of the standards of the industry. However, saying that your company does not require models to lose weight is a vast understatement. I was told that if I did not lose weight I would not only be unable to go to Miami, but I would not be able to book any clients. So if you do not call that a requirement, then I am unaware of what you might call it. I am fully aware that you do not feel that taking over $1,000 while only returning poor quality photos, a fuzzy composition card, and the only advice that was given was to lose weight, is nothing you should apologize for let alone make amends for. I do not expect you to rectify the situation in any way at this point as you have made it clear that customer satisfaction is not a concern of yours. I would however, like to bring awareness to future potential clients and warn them of the scam they could potentially be walking into.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Modeling & Talent Agencies, Talent Representation, Modeling & Acting - Training, Fashion Consultants, Acting & Voice Over Training,

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 10/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

Orange County Business Tax Receipt
http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx

BBB records show a license number of TA406 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Talent Agency

BBB records show a license number of 86880 for this company, issued by Orange County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1991, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ward Cottrell (President)Ms. Leisa Carey
Business Category

Modeling & Talent Agencies, Talent Representation, Modeling & Acting - Training, Fashion Consultants, Acting & Voice Over Training,

Products & Services

This company offers Model and Talent Agency services.

Alternate Business Names
Modelscout, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB Advises Caution When Dealing With Talent/Modeling Agencies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Modelscout

62 W. Colonial Dr.

Orlando, FL 32801

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 62 W. Colonial Dr.
    Loft 309 

    Orlando, FL 32801

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Modelscout is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Modeling & Talent Agencies

BBB Advises Caution When Dealing With Talent/Modeling Agencies
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.