BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2009

SurpassHosting.com, LLC

Phone: (407) 756-1126Fax: (407) 386-65132603 Challenger Tech Ct. Ste. 140, OrlandoFL 32826 Send email to SurpassHosting.com, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2009

BBB has determined that SurpassHosting.com, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SurpassHosting.com, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on SurpassHosting.com, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Surpass did not deliver on their 99.9% uptime guarantee and provided terrible customer support in the process.
Surpass Hosting guarantees 99.9% uptime for its websites, measured on the basis of a 30 day month. My site has now been down for 2.5 days and is still not back online. This is approximately 91.7% uptime for the last 30 days and is the second substantial outage of my website in the last 6 months. There is no reason that the site should be offline this long. Surpass was unresponsive during this downtime, offering only vague estimates of repair time (e.g. "We are restoring accounts that begin with D. We don't know how long it will take.") Even after the initial restore, my site was not back online. When I brought this to Surpass' attention, they told me that they "lost" my backup. Several hours and several emails later, I was told it was located but it would be yet another day before the site was back online. During this time, dozens of my clients have had no web services, including online reservations, email, etc. My business has also been unable to design and proof out new projects. When I asked Surpass for a temporary sandbox account so I could at least continue designing, they said they would be unable to assist. It seems to me that Surpass is not equipped to ensure excellent services even in a crisis.

Desired Settlement
Surpass offered me a 10% statement credit after I asked multiple times. This is not an adequate resolution, as my site remains offline 2.5 days after the outage began, their support has been horrendous, and they have been unwilling to help in small symbolic ways such as allowing me to use a temporary account for development while the restore is underway. I seek an actual refund (not a statement credit).

Business' Initial Response
Attn:********************
RE: Case # XXXXXXXX

Thank you for taking the time to allow us to respond to our partner's complaint with the BBB. We have reviewed the issues and while the complaint was submitted to you guys on the 9th of January, we had an internal ticket with ****** (XXXXXX) in which we did in fact apply a whole months credit to his account versus the original credit of 10% that was applied. At no time did ****** mention that he wish to have a refund versus a credit but if that is the case, as a courtesy, we can make sure to refund him his credit and remove it from his account.

As to the issues at hand, so that everything is clear, ****** is currently on a Legacy Power plan ($48/yr subscription) for hosting and is on a shared server environment. As can happen on any shared hosting environment, there is the possibility of hardware failure occurring and just that happened. In the event that a server needs to be restored, our team will deploy new hardware for accounts to be restored on and then a complete restore will be done from backups that we provide as a courtesy (and per our Terms of Service, they are not guaranteed). Given the nature of the shared environment, as there are multiple accounts just like ******'s on the server, it can take time to make sure that all account's data is restored and for this reason there was a delay in getting the restore completed. During the restore, we did have a few tickets opened with ****** (TICKET IDs: XXXXXX, XXXXXX, XXXXXX, XXXXXX) in which our technicians did keep open communication with him regarding the restore and provided updates as to what we were doing to better the situation.

As per our Service Level Agreement (SLA), for issues related to hardware failure, on a normal basis, credits would _not_ be provided but as a courtesy and in understanding ******'s frustration, we applied a 10% credit at first which we then elevated to a whole 100% monthly credit. Our intention is to always do what we can to be proactive in avoiding hardware/software situations from happening and in the case an issue happens, we do take all the steps to get a resolve for them as soon as possible. We do feel that we did just this and at no time were we neglectful in handling ******'s requests.

We will be opening an internal ticket with ****** so that our billing team can provide the credit currently on his account as a refund to his method of payment and should there be any other issues that you feel we should address, please let us know at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to resolve them in an appropriate manner. Thank you again for allowing us the time and opportunity to handle this and we hope that you have a great day.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet - Web Hosting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/21/2009Business started: 04/13/2004
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rachael Goodwin-Cokas (Director of Finance)Customer Contact: Mr. Dennis Henry (Vice President)Mr. Emmanuel Vivar (President)
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting

Products & Services

This company offers web hosting, internet service, shared, reseller, vps, dedicated server hosting platforms, domain registration and web hosting addon services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SurpassHosting.com, LLC

2603 Challenger Tech Ct. Ste. 140

Orlando, FL 32826

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2603 Challenger Tech Ct. Ste. 140 

    Orlando, FL 32826

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SurpassHosting.com, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Internet - Web Hosting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.