BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/16/2010

Florida Insurance Specialists, LLC

Phone: (407) 805-0200Fax: (321) 832-0824View Additional Phone Numbers1025 Greenwood Blvd, Ste 300, Lake MaryFL 32746-5424 Send email to Florida Insurance Specialists, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/16/2010

BBB has determined that Florida Insurance Specialists, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Florida Insurance Specialists, LLC's rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Florida Insurance Specialists, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Florida Insurance Specialists, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a policy for 3 days got charge $365 and didnt get my refund of $300
Had a car insurance policy paying $365/month, I cancel the policy after 3 days of payment and only got refunded $67.00 ,they suppose to refund me $300.00.

Desired Settlement
I expect a refund of $300.00 i got $67.00 now they own me $233.00

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@thefis.com
Good Morning,

Please see the response from our Customer Service Manager, *** ******, followed by the email that was sent to the insured on 7/8/14. I will forward the cancellation request to cancel with his signature in another email since I cannot attach it.

Mrs. *****,
I am not sure why he is taking it out on us, his dispute is with National General ( GMAC) and how they determine refunds. We sent him this explanation directly from a representative at GMAC below. In addition, he states in his complaint that he only had the policy for 3 days? The GMAC policy started on 01/20/2014 and the attached cancellation shows it ended on 06/25/2014 per his signed request.

*** ******

Email sent to insured on 7/8/14:
I'm working with Nannette in researching your refund amount for your National General auto insurance. We were notified back by a representative at National General and they provided this breakdown of costs and totals:
Your premium started off at $4317.41 for coverage from 1/20/14-1/20/15. Shortly after, there was no documentation provided after we requested proof to dispute the at fault property accident from 7/23/12 so the premium increased to $4476.45. In order to find out the daily premium amount, you divide the $4476.45 by 365 days of coverage, giving you a daily amount of $12.26.
On 2/12 the premium was prorated and reduced by $146.89. As a result, the first 23 days of coverage (1/20-2/12) at $12.26 was $282.05.
After the reduction of prorated premium (-$146.89), the new daily premium was $11.83. You were charged that amount for your coverage from 2/12-6/25 (date of cancellation) which is 133 days; totaling $1573.39.
When you cancel a policy midterm, they keep 10% of the unearned premium. To calculate that amount, they took the reduced daily premium amount $11.83 and calculated it by 342; the total amount of days planned to cover you in the policy period. (23 of those days were already passed ** the higher premium, equaling 365 days in your policy period). So $11.83 * 342 is $4045.86.
When you subtract the amount due from 2/12-6/25 $1573.39 from that total it resulted in was $2472.86 of unpaid premium. 10% of that is $247.28.
From 1/20-6/25, your total amount owed for auto insurance broke down like:
$282.05 (premium from 1/20-2/12) + $1573.39 (premium from 2/12-6/25) + $247.28 (10% of unearned premium) + $30 (installment fees) + $2.67 (hurricane assessment fee) = $2135.01
You paid a total of $2202.20
$2202.20 (what you paid) - $2135.01 (what was owed) = $67.19 your refund.
If you have any questions you're more than welcome to call our Customer Service or contact ********* at National General (XXX-XXX-XXXX) to discuss further.
Thank you!

12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fail to cancel policy as requested.
Acting as an agent, this company does not attempt to follow through with the insurance company to cancel an existing policy without demanding additional (private) information.

Desired Settlement
Cancel the policy and refund any amounts paid in advance since the day of signed cancellation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@thefis.com
On 09/16/2013 Mr. ***** called to request cancellation as the home was sold.
The insured was upset that we requested a copy of the HUD with a signed cancellation request in order to have the cancellation backdated to the date the home was sold. It is an insurance carrier requirement. During the day on 09/16/2013 there were 11 emails back and forth between **** ***** and the insured as well as emails between the insured and Security First Underwriting in an attempt to come to an understanding. The insured also copied Tisa on emails between himself and Mr. ******* (the Insurance Commissioner) as well as Security First.

On 09/17/2013 **** ***** ( Underwriting Supervisor) emailed us for the cancellation request, so he could process it immediately. We were also copied on an email from **** to the insured advising the policy was cancelled effective 09/15/2013.

On 09/24/2013 ****** followed up to confirm the cancellation was in fact processed.
On 09/27/2013 Security First generated a refund of $221.62 to the insured. This check shows a status of cleared on their site. Check number XXXXXX.

Our agency followed the requirements of our insurance carrier, Security First. We cannot cancel and backdate policies without proof of sale.

09/03/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to submit proper paperwork to Citizens Insurance on time, resulting in cancelled policy twice. Failure to respond to inquiries.
I originally applied for homeowner's insurance through FIS for a Citizens Insurance policy in February 2012 when my home was purchased. The premium was paid and all necessary paperwork was completely as requested by me. In May 2012 I received a notice from Citizen's saying that my policy was being cancelled because they had not received proper paperwork from FIS. I had my premium refunded, and had to go through the application process again. Again I believed that everything was taken care of, until this August when I received yet another notice from Citizens, stating that again my policy was being cancelled. Again FIS had failed to submit proper paperwork in time.
I have contacted FIS and their agent Ayleen Prieto trying to get this issue resolved yet again. They promise to get back to me with more information, but fail to call or write me back. As of now my policy remains cancelled and FIS has not responded to my inquires on how to resolve this.

Desired Settlement
I would like FIS to respond to my inquiries, and get this issue resolved so my house is either insured or my premium is refunded so that I can find insurance through another company.

Business' Initial Response
The original policy was canceled and the carrier would not reinstate because they did not receive a signed statement from Ms. ****** re: removal of the debris that was on the property. Policy was then re-written with Citizens and they would not accept proof of declination from the prior carrier. Policy was sent to our rewrite department again to see where it can be placed since the home also has an FP panel and most carriers won't accept it. Our agent, ***********, is working the file and emailed Ms. ****** quotes yesterday at 9:46 a.m. and also left her a voicemail. We have not received a response from Ms. ****** as of 11:00 this morning. Our CS department and sales team have worked diligently on this file and will continue to do so.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have chosen another insurance agent to represent me. I will expect a refund back on my premium. FIS would do well to communicate with their clients in a timely fashion and to accept responsibility for making sure documentation is completed to the carrier's satisfaction.

Business' Final Response
Pro-rated refund in the amount of $1147.00 was mailed by Citizens 8/26/2012. Citizens insured her home from 05/08/XXXX - XX/13/2012. We are calling the customer today to confirm this information with her.

09/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company and its affiliate ChallengeMyRate.com promised a house insurance quote within 1 business day and it has not complied.
Well....I was told that my quote for house insurance was promise to be email this past Monday...then for Tuesday and today is Wednesday July 16/14, yet nothing has arrived.

I called again today at 1:53pm and to my surprise, your voice mail says your in vacation. I'm very dissapointed that you and  "Challenge my rate .com" has wasted my time waiting and waiting. 

I submitted my request online for house insurance quote on 07/08/2014 and was assigned to ****** ******. According to email, I was supposed to receive quote withing 1 business day. Today is business day number 6 and I have received no quotes. I have checked spam filter like suggested but still found no quotes.

Desired Settlement
To comply with insurance house quote as specefied in emails, affiliate company and phone conversations. Please stop making promised dates of quotes that you do not comply with.

Business Response
Good Morning,

All of our emails and phone calls are monitored. Here is the timeline of communication with Mr. *********.

***** ********* left a message on Friday, July 4th (holiday) and *********** returned his called and left a message July 7th

ChallengeMyRate lead was received through web - email was sent to gather info to prepare accurate quote.

Another follow up attempt was made by ****** ****** on 7/XX XX:XXAM. She was able to get Mr. ********* on the phone. The information was gathered to prepare a quote. The lead was marked as level 3, 24-72 hours. The information forwarded to ***** *********.

Mr. ********* called to follow up Monday to check on the status of the quote. He called 5:13PM. He requested we email him the quote.
*************** prepared the quote the following day and emailed it to Mr. *********. (email attached) Tuesday, July 15, XXXX X:XX PM, but we sent to the email address provided, which now we know was the incorrect email.

7/16 Mr. ********* called and emailed very upset. *********** emailed back and attached the original email sent by *****. ***** also called Mr. ********* after receiving the voicemail.

I will forward the emails that were sent in another response since I cannot attach it to this document.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The quote was filed online with challengemyrate.com and date of it was provided in original complaint. So there was no call prior to that date, because I had no contact information from them prior to online request. The email address provided for the quote was correct since I received email from them with excuse for the original delay. From there, my request for quote was assigned to someone else and my email was spelled incorrectly by them causing more delays. After I called and became aware of the mistake they made on my email address, it was corrected and forwarded to me. All these process of delays, more information requested by them and mistakes by them caused that a quote promised for 1 business day was emailed to an unacceptable 6 business days latter. All I want from the company is to stop promises of one business day quotes. Although, other insurance companies gave me their quote the same day I ask for it. Two companies gave me and email their quote right after the called was concluded.

05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide prorated reimbursement for canceled home owner's insurance policy.
Received notice of policy payment by mortgage company from insurance broker. Surprised that premium had increased by $100. Called to question rate increase and was told state approved rate increase; complained that I was not notified, but broker claims I was. Rate increase notification was received the same week of notice of payment.

I then notified broker that I would shop policy. I did, and changed broker and insurance company. I notified FIS (broker I am issuing complaint against) of policy cancellation. Date cancellation was 22 days into policy start date. I received refund from the insurance company for 299 days. Broker claims they do not control fees and proration of said insurance company.

Desired Settlement
I want refund for 343 days which would equal approx. $870 versus current refund of $759.

This small amount is petty, but the principle of the whole process is what is upsetting.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@thefis.com
Good Afternoon Mr.*******,

The letter below was sent to Mr. ****** on 4/19/13 by our Customer Service Supervisor, ******** ******. She also included a copy of the signed application which on page 5 defines the Contribution to Surplus which is non-refundable at policy inception or renewal. This is the policy of Sawgrass Insurance Company and, as a broker, we have no control over their policies. I can provide a copy of the policy to you if it is necessary. Mr. ****** had the entire signed application stating this policy emailed to him in an attachment to this letter. He initialed the Contribution to Surplus section stating that he acknowledges and accepts this policy of the non-refundable contribution.


Mr. ******,

I understand you are frustrated with the refund that you received from Sawgrass Mutual Insurance Company. I spoke to a representative there and when the policy is cancelled they do not refund all the surcharges that are included in your policy. There is a surcharge called the Contribution to Surplus that they do not refund back to the insured and the fee was $110.00. The annual premium was $926.00 included in that premium is this Contribution to Surplus charge. The refund amount you received from Sawgrass Mutual Insurance Co. was $759.00 this is minus the surplus charge and the for the number of days they insured your home.

I have attached a copy of your signed application with Sawgrass that states that the Contribution to Surplus is non-refundable. It is located on page 5 of the Sawgrass application.


Florida Insurance Specialists has no control over the refunds that are returned to the insured, this is all done by the insurance companies. I know we were the agent on the policy but we can't do anything in regards to the refund amount you received. If you are not happy with the refund this is a matter you need to discuss with the Florida Department of Insurance, they agree to the guidelines that the insurance companies put in place.

Thank you,

******** ******
Customer Service Team LeadREDACT33*****@thefis.com33REDACT
XXX-XXX-XXXX
REDACT33*****@thefis.com33*****@thefis.com33*****@thefis.com33*****@thefis.com33REDACT

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are showing BBB the initial contract I signed with them which expired on 3/22/2013. What they have uploaded is an expired contract! Ask them to also upload the contract expiration page! The core issue is that I did not receive a notice in time (prior to payment due date for the 2013 policy year) of the premium increase.

FIS is hiding behind this error by pointing to the 'contribution to surplus'.

I received the premium increase notice the same week I received receipt of payment by my mortgage company. When I did, I immediately called FIS (week of March 25th) asking why and expressed my displeasure in seeing my premium increase.

As a consumer I had no opportunity in shopping for a new policy before the payment due date; Sawgrass Mutual had already been paid.

Had I received a premium increase notice prior to payment due date, we would not be having this conversation.

In fact the notice of premium increase and payment due date was printed on 03/20/2013! It is right on the notice I received. I would be more than happy to provide this.

My policy expiration date is 3/22/2013 and premium due date for policy renewal was 3/07/2013. The payment date listed by my mortgage company is 3/20/2013, 13 days past the payment due date. Someone forgot to look at the calendar.

I hold FIS, as the broker, responsible for this. I should not get penalized for their or Sawgrass Mutual's error.

It is amazing how insurance companies are quick to collect money, but slow to reimburse it.

By April 5th 2013, I had secured a new homeowner's policy and had sent the required docs to FIS for policy cancellation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Agency, Insurance Services, Insurance - Property, Insurance - Rental, Insurance - Marine, Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists, Insurance - Auto, Insurance Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 10/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Financial Services (FL)
200 E Gaines St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6502
(877) 693-5236

Seminole County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of L011017 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services (FL).

Type: Office of Insurance Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 141499 for this company, issued by Seminole County Occupational License. Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of A260607 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services (FL).

Type: Office of Insurance Regulation

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Tankersley (Managing Member)Customer Contact: Ms. Joy-Marie Russo (Administrator)Mr. Frank Russo (Managing Member)
Business Category

Insurance Agency, Insurance Services, Insurance - Property, Insurance - Rental, Insurance - Marine, Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists, Insurance - Auto, Insurance Companies

Products & Services

This company provides property and casualty insurance for home owners, condominiums, automobiles, motorcycles, boats, recreational vehicles, renters, and flood insurance.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:30 PMSat: 08:30 AM to 05:30 PMSun: 08:30 AM to 05:30 PM
Service Area

Florida

Alternate Business Names
Tankersley Insurance Group

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Florida Insurance Specialists, LLC

1025 Greenwood Blvd

Lake Mary, FL 32746-5424

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1025 Greenwood Blvd
    Ste 300 

    Lake Mary, FL 32746-5424(866) 681-4668
    (321) 926-4717

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Florida Insurance Specialists, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 681-4668
  • (321) 926-4717

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (321) 832-0837
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance Agency

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.