BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1991

Fairbanks Construction

Phone: (352) 732-8600Fax: (352) 732-0069

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
12/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After purchasing 5 windows in March of this year, 2 horizontal sliders do not fit properly. After 7 mo. nothing has been resolved.
We purchased 5 windows in March, 2013. As of today, Nov. 12, 2013 we still have 2 horizontal sliders (2PS) from ***** Mfg. that do not fit properly. Our job number is XXXXX according to Fairbanks Construction. We have dealt with Mr. ***** ****** throughout the whole process. When the windows were installed, Fairbanks service rep. stated the windows were not properly fitted. New windows had to be reordered. Once ordered, the windows did not fit again. Mr. ****** brought the Quality Control person from ***** Mfg. with himself to review the situation.
New measurements were taken but windows still do not fit. They have ordered two more sets of windows since then with no results. Mr. ****** claims it must be something to do with their computer programming at ***** but nothing seems to be done to resolve this situation. We would like this taken care of as soon as possible, since we paid $4000.00 by check, in good faith for quality windows. Many calls have been made to Fairbanks to see what decision has been made with answers of "I have nothing yet to tell you." We feel 8 months is long enough.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of both sets of windows that fit properly. Time has run out.....

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am in full agreement with the customer that this has been going on for far too long. I have instructed our department manager to correct this immediately even if it requires our ordering 2 new windows to replace the ill-fitting ones. Our problem with the manufacturer should be our problem not the *******'. We will contact the customer directly and determine a course of action that meets their schedule.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
On Monday, December 2, 2013 Mr. ***** ******, Operations Manager of Fairbanks Construction, came to our house to inspect the windows again. Once he saw the windows in question, he saw immediately what the problem was. He said he would replace both frames and windows for us and it would take approximately 5 weeks. We told him we would be waiting for his phone call stating the windows were in and ready for installment.
If this does not work, we will be getting in touch with you for further action to be taken.
Thank you for all your help in trying to resolve this situation, for without you, we would not be this far in resolving the problem.

01/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like them to have the courtesy to call me and tell me when the guy will be here. There professionalism just isn't there.
The problem started or we noticed it on 12/18/2015.
I started calling 12/15/2015.No one has returned my call. Everytime I called them it will be tomorrow. I hear nothing. I need my shower.
It was put in Jan, 8th 2015. I paid $7000.00. They said they were responsible for everything and they would have guy right out here,when ever I called.

Desired Settlement
I'm only asking they come out and fix it That is all.

Business Response
We were at the customers home on December 18, 2015 and have scheduled a service for 12/21/15 to complete.

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive sales of the sunroom
Shoddy workmanship
many problems while building the sunroom
over charged me by at least $20,000
I contracted June over a year ago for a sunroom. the salesman after seeing the type of room I wanted told me it would cost me over $40,000 because a partial roof would have to be built. The room was to be 11ftx14ft. At the time I was caring for my husband with alzheimers by myself, as this was overwhelming for me I was not able to actually know that this could not be right. Unfortunately I signed. After I did this I realized I could not continue and called Fairbanks and told them, at which time Morgan F******** called me and told me that I was upset about nothing and it would be ok. It wasn't, I have had nothing but problems ever since. First I said should they remove the withlachooche rock before building, they said no, not a problem. The workmanship was not good and they were working with premade walls, roof and windows. It was not
completely thought out before they started, several things had to be hand made and not very well. When it was finished it had a leak at the door side and they attempted to fix it about 3-4 times and it still leaked. About 2-3 months ago I
asked another company to look at it. they said one way was to cut a drain next to it so the wate would be beneath the floor. He also said that it should never have been build on the stone, and that they did not use z flashing, and that they floor should have been leveled first which wasn't.
Every time they came to fix anything it was fixed with caulk and one was so toxic you could not go into the room for at least 2 days. If something could go wrong it did. Just yesterday I wanted to clean off the side of the outside by the doors and clean the windows, I used a regular hose and when I was drying the windows I realized there was water on the inside. Inside I looked up and at the top of the wall all the way across there was water dripping in. I couldn't believe it.
Also the windows are not the ones the salesman showed me when talking windows. He told me it would be 20% or more insulated so that the room would not get hot or cold. They are not and it does get cold and in summer it was like an oven.

I'm sure I have left things out that I can't remember but it was and has been a miserable experience.
They did come and sawed a (maybe 1/2in) drain and then cover it with a piece of metal something and then of course, caulked it all over. It's shoddy workmanship. The attitudes were that I didn't know what I was talking about, I wasn't a builder or that they could care less.

I tried to contact you before and all I could find was the other few complaints, I wish now that I knew more about this than I did. I did go to Seniors vs Crime and they are the ones that got them to come back and fix the leaks, it took them 3or4 times to finally fix it. Unfortunately, they couldn't make them do anything else. I feel that they should come and put 3M thermal film on the windows and also return $20,000 to me. Everyone that has seen the room especially the other contractor told me it is and never could be worth $40,000. I don't know what else to do other than going to one of the action news stations.

I truly hope you can help me with this.

Desired Settlement
I have already sent them a list of things that I want resolved.
1. 3M thermal film on the windows
2. reimburse me $20,000.
3. fix the new leak above the windows.

Business Response
On June 6, 2014 Mrs. ******** entered into a contract with our company to build an enclosure. A building permit was issued and all required inspections were performed and passed. The room was constructed per the contract and approved plans, including the glass.All work was completed and meet or exceed industry standards. As stated in her complaint, Senior v Crime was contacted and the case has been closed. We have responded to her request for service each time she has contacted us. We will continue to perform our obligation to provide service to her for the length of time stated in the contract at no charge and in a prompt and courteous manner. We regret that her perception of our obligation exceeds those stated in our contract or stipulated by the State of Florida but will fulfill all legitimate obligations to ensure that the product installed performs as designed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted Fairbanks Construction, I picked out a room that would be 11 1/2'x14' and the cost would be $40,000 I asked why so much, they said because they had to build a roof. It was not a full roof as I expected , it was a small extension on the existing roof in order to attach the new roof. A week later I called them and said that I could not afford this, Mr. Fairbanks
himself called me and said, now, now you need to calm down, when you do you will find a way to pay for it. He seemed nice at the time and that I would not be able to break the contract. He said that he already ordered and received all the building materials. During the building I took pictures, and glad I did. I did not know that it was going to be modular built. There were glitches and improvising of which I was not happy with nor how they fixed them. We had leaks that
took months to finally fix and when it was done the worker hosed off the cement dust and I realized that during the building of the room they had broken the seal on one of my sliding glass doors. All the white dust is between the glass but other dirt was there from a long time ago, it had to have done when they were building.
Now, you could say , what took me so long to notice this, because I was the sole caretaker for my husband that had Alzheimers. So, you can imagine how I could have been distracted.
That was a year ago and my husband just passed. I could go on and on with all the details and show you the pictures. As I said before I asked another highly rated construction company to look at the room. He saw the problems and the size and said what was the cost $10,000?
He could not believe that I paid $40,000 for it.
No one has come out to actually look at the addition, not Seniors vs Crime or the BBB or Mr.
Fairbanks himself. I understand that I am not the only one having issues with this company.
If Mr. Fairbanks cares about his companies reputation to be fair and honest, then he should respect the people he is doing business with.

Final Business Response
Mrs. ******** contracted with our company for a custom enclosure as she has confirmed. The products installed correspond to the contract and all items have been completed. All inspections required by the local building department were done and a final inspection was obtained. As we have stated before, we will perform any legitimate service issues covered by the contract and warranty. As of the writing of this response we have no outstanding warranty issues related to her project. We apologize to Mrs. ******** if she feels that we have disrespected her in any way.

12/14/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After original installation issues, I am now waiting two months for warranty issues to be resolved. My sliding Sliding glass doors needs repairs


We had someone come out to fix the sliding door issues, the handle has broken and the wheel that slide on the bottom are not working well, someone came out and sprayed some WD 40 and took pictures 2 months ago , I mentioned that the track is cracked, his reply , was We really don't see that kind of problem

Desired Settlement
Please fix the resolution

Business Response
We forwarded the warranty claim to the manufacturer and have since ordered the parts to repair the door handle at our expense. Repairs will be completed in a timely manner once parts are received. We apologize for not keeping the customer informed of the status of this issue.

10/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
That the toilet gets repaired.
On 6/10/15 a salesman of Fairbanks Construction and I signed a contract to have our only bathroom remodeled. On 7/15/15 we had two men come to do the renovation at which time they made a mess of our bathroom and a very unprofessional job. They cracked our color toilet and tried to cover up their mistakes and did not tell us, they stayed longer to complete the job from what we were told. On 7/17/15 a field supv. spoke to me for him to come over to fix the mess and unfinished job, and mess they had made he stated they had to re-order materials. On 8/6/15 field supv. and another worker came to finish the job and other problems. On 8/11/15 the toilet was not really noticed until a general cleaning was made by a member of our family cleaned the entire bathroom when she noticed the toilet was cracked and damaged and you could see the two workers tried to cover up the toilet with paint. On 8/12/15 field supv. was e-mail about the situation, he came by and saw the damage on the toilet, admitted to the damage and stated that it would be taken care of, and that the two workers had been fired. Time passed by field supv. and I e-mailed back and forth about not being able to find color toilet, I e-mailed him with information, and two links to help him out and he stated he would get back with me. On 9/2/15 field supv. called me and stated that ********** must have sold me a broken toilet, and that they did not believe that the toilet had been damaged by their worker. That was the last communication I have had with Fairbanks Construction.

Desired Settlement
I am asking as prior to them that I need my toilet to be replaced with the same rose color or if the color is not available then white can be used as long as the sink would need to be replaced, which would matched the toilet color. This has already been spoken to the field supervisor and they do not want to come to this agreement. I was told no because it was to expensive. I would prefer that they paid me to have someone else fix their problem approximately $1,200.00.

Business Response
We respectfully disagree with Mr. ****** about his toilet. Our contract with him did not include the items he is requesting and we have addressed this with him. All items have been completed regarding his contract with us. All installation issues regarding the items contracted with us have been replaced or corrected.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The toilet was broken by their demolition of my tube. Their field supervisor admitted to them being responsible for replacing the toilet with one like it. They promised me they would fix it and they haven't. This is a typical riff off outfit that is taking advantage of Senior Citizen Veteran's.



Final Business Response
We again respectfully disagree with Mr. ******'s position of his toilet and our responsibility for damage.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They already admitted to being responsible and now faced with the expense they are denying they broke it. Very well we have pictures all during the process and it's very clear they broke my toilet. This is a business that is cheating the senior's of our state and all they think they have to do is deny it. We will continue to spread the word about the corrupt business practices of this company.

07/20/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Windows, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Windows - Installation & Service, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Bathroom Remodeling, Siding Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Home Improvements - Additions, Kitchen and Bath Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.