BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/29/2003

Vanacore Construction, Inc.

Phone: (800) 369-1293Fax: (386) 677-80741293 N US Highway 1 Ste 3, Ormond BeachFL 32174-0719 Send email to Vanacore Construction, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/29/2003

BBB has determined that Vanacore Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Vanacore Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Vanacore Construction, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mary Marcus from Vanacore Homes, salesperson, told me I need Impact Resistant/Turtle Glass for $9,500. I call the city and this was false.
Todd Vanacore said he would give me my $9,500. back. He said he would. They, as a Company never did. They we're like pack man eating the money with this and that expense. What I was afraid would happen did. The final check. I was shorted $1,756.12. I would like it. If is only fair. I will have a complaint against this company until they give it to me. I explained it to them. They have obstructed me and won't pay.

Desired Settlement
refund $1,756.12. within two weeks.

Business Response
Also See Attached ( 16 Pages )

April 30th, 2014

BBB of Central Florida
1600 South Grant Street
Longwood, FL 32750

Re: Case # ******** *** ***********

We are in agreement that there was a mistmderstanding as to whether or not impact windows
were a requirement in the area that Mr. *********** was building. It did turn out that the
impact windows were not a requirement. The amount the customer was charged for the windows
was $9,500.00. At that time the customer did have a credit of $9,500.00.
As per his contract, the customer had an allowance for Clear, Bill and Grading of the lot in the
amount of $5,000.00. At the time of contract we explained to the customer the allowance would
not cover the required work due to the fact he has an oversized pie shaped lot. He understood
and decided not to increase the amount of his allowance. The cost for the work was $10,912.82
which reduced his credit to $3,587.18. (He also went over on his landscaping allowance because
of the size of his lot and the requirements of the City of Palm Coast.)
It is stated in his contract that if we need to pump concrete to the job, he would be responsible
for that expense. That expense was $866.80 which reduced his credit to $2,720.38.
We then reimbursed customer for electric usage in the amount of $58.12 which increased his
uedit to $2,778.50. We issued his credit check on 316/14 in the amount of $2,778.50 ek#10S891.
We have explained the expenses to the customer and have provided him copies of each and
every invoice and a copy of the cheeks isued to pay for those expenses. We have enclosed a copy
of the invoices that was sent to the customer for your review.

Sincerely,
**** ********
Vice President





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I maintain my original position. I don't agree with their acct. of the facts. I am not satisfied with ******** Home and my complaint against them stands. I know how you work, they do to. They pay dues for you to obtain and keep their rating. The 2 ******** bros. are born and bread in this area. They pay dues to you as well, I'm sure to judges re-election campaigns. So, you will tell me since we dis-agree to get an atty. I am already beat in that arena since the Judge and the court would find in their favor. I can't will against them. They know they owe me the $1,750. and for a big outfit if they nickel and dime every buyer, it add up to big money. Figure most people won't fight it, but, I'm not like most people being a senior + Gay, I know discrimination and nothing has come easy in my life. Even General Motors, if they make an item .01cent cheaper on the Chevy Impala run for the year it adds up to $10,000.00 for the model year run. This is just an example of how to save money and increase your bottom line. This is what they are doing to me !!! Question is B.B.B. are you going to let them get away with it? Thank-You in advance for your consideration, Sincerely, *** ***********. 5/3/14.

Final Business Response
Please refer back to the documents previously submitted. ******** did not make any profit on the allowances that was provided for the customer. Proof of payments to vendors was provided and customer may speak with our vendors to verify the amounts paid to them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company saw some errors and corrected them and issued my additional funds, so, if I get the house fixed under warranty, I will be happy.

03/19/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services, Building Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

DPBR Lincense QB0011797 Joseph Todd Vanacore #5474374

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1991, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Vanacore (President)Mr. Joseph Vanacore (Vice President)
Business Category

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services, Building Contractors

Products & Services

This company is in the business of Home Building and Developer services.

Alternate Business Names
Stor It Self Storage, LLC, Vanacore Construction Company, Vanacore Homes

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Vanacore Construction, Inc.

1293 N US Highway 1 Ste 3

Ormond Beach, FL 32174-0719

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1293 N US Highway 1 Ste 3 

    Ormond Beach, FL 32174-0719

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Vanacore Construction, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.