BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2009

ServiceOne Air Conditioning & Plumbing, LLC

Phone: (407) 331-6589Fax: (407) 331-8381View Additional Phone Numbers755 W SR 434; Ste-L, LongwoodFL 32750-5183 Send email to ServiceOne Air Conditioning & Plumbing, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2009

BBB has determined that ServiceOne Air Conditioning & Plumbing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ServiceOne Air Conditioning & Plumbing, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ServiceOne Air Conditioning & Plumbing, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Service One repairman did not even try to fix our A/C unit. Instead he tried to sell us a new $4,800 system. Another company fixed unit for only $212.
It seems that Service One acted unethically when they did not perform a minor repair and instead tried to sell us a new $4,800 A/C unit (which was for a low-end unit vs. the high-end unit we currently own). When Service One's repairman arrived, he stated (and wrote on our receipt) that the compressor needed to be replaced, along with many other repairs to the A/C system at a repair cost over $3,000. The next day we called another A/C company (Air Flow) who took 15 minutes to replace a minor part and charged only $212.

After the other company (Air Flow) fixed our A/C unit, we requested a refund from Service One for the incorrect $79 diagnostic fee.

Here is the June 30, 2014 email sent to Service One:


As we discussed on the phone last Friday (June 27), I respectfully request a refund of the $79 diagnostic fee that I paid to Service One A/C for the June 24 appointment to examine my 3-ton A/C unit.

On the work order, your Service One technician wrote several items, including: "compressor is locked" and "recommend replacing equipment." I could not be at the service call in person, so I asked my wife to use a speaker phone to keep me informed. She told your technician that I was on the phone. As I listened and asked questions on the speaker phone, he told my wife and me that the relay (Kickstart) had to be replaced for $1,000, plus the compressor had to be replaced for $2,000 (for a total repair cost of over $3,000 for our 3-ton A/C unit).

Also on the work order, your technician included a long list of replacement parts that he estimated would be needed to repair our 3-ton A/C unit. Presumably, this long list of replacement parts is what he was referring to when he provided the $3,000-plus repair estimate.

Your Service One repairman recommended replacing our "old" A/C unit rather than repair it. Based on a conversation we had with your Service One salesman, ****, on June 25, a new 3-ton A/C unit would cost between $4,000 and $4,800.

On June 25, a technician from Air Flow A/C company examined the same 3-ton A/C system. The Air Flow technician never once said that the compressor was locked, nor did he recommend replacing the entire A/C system. Instead, the Air Flow technician repaired my system for ONLY $212 (including tax) compared to your company's recommendations that we (1) spend over $3,000 repairing our system or (2) buy a new 3-ton air conditioner system for more than $4,000.

A comparison of recommendations by your Service One technician and the Air Flow technician follow:

Cost to REPAIR our 3-ton A/C unit:
per Service One: Over $3,000
per Air Flow: $212 total

Cost to REPLACE our 3-ton A/C unit:
per Service One: $4,000 to $4,800
Air Flow never suggested replacing the A/C system.

The contrast between Service One's expensive recommendations and the actual low-cost repair by Air Flow is shocking.

As it turned out, your technician could have simply replaced the capacitor and, thereby, fully repair our 3-ton air conditioner. The process of replacing a capacitor has a total cost of around $200 (including the diagnostic fee and taxes)! That $200 amount is not even in the ballpark of your estimates of $3,000, $4,000, or $4,800.

A review of the comparison presented above could easily leave one with the impression that your company does not really have your customers' best interests in mind.

Thus, I would like a refund of the diagnostic analysis fee that I paid to your firm. Will you please immediately refund $79 to me on the credit card with which I paid your firm?

As we discussed, I have attached a copy of the work order from Air Flow.

Will you please acknowledge receipt of this email? Thanks.

Dr. ******* ******** END OF EMAIL

SUMMARY: Based on our experience, we find it difficult to trust Service One for A/C repairs. They were asked to repair our A/C unit and instead took the opportunity to try to sell us a new system that we did not need and that would have cost us an extreme amount of money.

Desired Settlement
It has now been almost 3 weeks since Service One and I exchanged emails. I have not heard from Service One regarding my refund request.

I would like payment from Service One in the amount of $291.

This amount is composed of $79 for Service One's incorrect diagnosis, plus $212 for the cost and inconvenience of having to take time off work to meet with a second A/C repair company (who actually fixed our A/C unit).

A review of this complaint could easily leave one with the impression that Service One A/C Company does not really have the customers' best interests in mind.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ** ***** ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
Dear Dr. ********,

My apologies for your dis-satsifaction with the service call that ******* performed for you on the 24th of June. I also apologize for the lack of email response from *** on the last of your email chain that went back and forth. I understand your frustration and hate that we are at this crossroad, but want to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

I would like to explain better the nature of the problem that occured with your system and findings that evening. When our technician came out he did notice that the compressor was locked up. This is typically a result of mechanical failure within the sealed compressor. He did what he could to try to free the compressor at the time he was there, but to no avail. At that point... we assume that the compressor is locked up and needs to be replaced. He could not have given you an actual compressor replacement cost at that moment as it was after 5:00 pm when he was there and we would have no way of knowing that cost. We have seen some compressors push the $3,000 range when replaced along with capacitor, contactor, and wiring harness. It is our experience that when we give ball park pricing for repairs, we try not to underestimate for obvious reasons.

Our technician felt as though he did everything he could to try to free the compressor, and that is why he diagnosed it as such. Mechanical failure of compressor. With a system at your systems age with the cost of repairs being as high as he thought, he suggested that you look into replacing the system, and gave you a ball park range of pricing. He had it set up for us to call you back the next day and arrange a project manager to come back out and talk with you more specifically about that pricing of new systems vs. a compressor.

We think that it is possible that in the time between ******* being at your home, and the time the next technician arrived from the other company, that your system electrically cooled down enough that a new capacitor could kick it over and allow it to start. ******* tried this the evening before, and our attempt failed. Usually with a mechanical failure, we do not see this, but it is possible, and in your case we assume that is what happened. I have talked to a couple of senior technician friends of mine from other companies about your scenario since recieving this, and they agree that must have been the case.

******* is a upstanding tech and would never lie, cheat, or do anything to take advantage of any homeowner. He has a reputation in Orlando as one of the best, and many service mananagers would love to have him on their team. He get's offers each year from some of the biggest, most reputable companies in town. Frankly, there is plenty of legitimate work & issues with systems that problems don't need to be created to generate work.

I can understand your frustration with this,and once again, I am very sorry for this frustration, but am glad that you did get your system repaired at a much lower cost than having to make a major repair or replacement. I also apologize that *** didn't respond to the last of your email chain. *** asked for proof of the repair as justification for what you said. Frankly, we run into more dis-honest customers, than one would think, and like you, we have to protect ourself. He meant to reply to your last email upon you giving him the copy of the invoice and refund your $79.00... unfortunately it just slipped through the crack in the busiest time of year that we experience.

Your $79 invoice has been refunded in our system, as we have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, and we will happily refund this. Your check should have went out yesterday or today and should be to you by the beginning of the week next week.

Please feel free to contact me personally on my cell phone if you would like to discuss this matter further, or if you have further questions, I welcome the opportunity to help you further! My cell number: (XXX) XXX-XXXX


******* ** ***** ***
ServiceOne Air Conditioning & Plumbing, LLC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. *****,

Thank you for refunding my money.

Although the second word in your treatise is "apologies," the longer you wrote, the less your letter looked like an apology and the more your letter looked like an excuse for poor business actions.

To assist you when this situation occurs again in the future, a real apology is brief, to the point, and does not ever try to justify or explain the problem. Perhaps you could have simply stated, "Service One is sorry for this situation and we will do everything in our power to make you a satisfied customer." Now, that would have been a refreshing letter to receive from you. Alas, that is not what happened.

Instead, rather than offering a sincere apology, you wrote over 700 words attempting to explain why you did not actually need to apologize.

The refund is appreciated. Your approach to this troubling situation is quite appalling.

Dr. ********

Final Consumer Response

07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was sold a Lemon A/C Unit by ServiceOne.
On 6-7-11 Serviceone installed a new Goodman 2 Ton 14 Seer Condenser and Air Handler (*******************), total price 3485.00, paid by check, Invoice attached. When Installed the system was making a loud noise when it shut-down. I call and was told that that was normal for this system. I had the system tune-up on 3/6/13. On 9/5/13 the system stopped working and I had to have a new motor install at the rate of approximately 400.00. At the beginning of May 2015 the system stopped cooling. On 5/14/15 a serviceperson (Joey) came out and added Freon and stated he didn't see any leaks , cost $186. On the receipt he added "at customers request asked to add 2 lbs R410A". I did not ask for any additional R410A (I don't even know what that is)- See attached Invoice. The system worked for about 1 week then stopped cooling again. On 6/9/15 a different serviceperson (John) came and said the system has a leak and it would cost $965.00 to repair.- Invoice According to Goodman's warranty the parts have a 10 year warranty. It has only been four years. I called Service one and spoke to Dan, Office Manger. He said he would call Goodmand and get back to me. After not hearing from him, I called him on 6/16/15 and he said the only thing ServiceOne could do is deduct the $186.00 that I paid to the 1st serviceperson who didn't find the leak but that I would still be responsible for the remainer 779.00 for the labor. I was sold a "Lemon" by ServiceOne and I feel they should be responsible for repairing the unit at no additional cost to me. Please feel free to contact me if you require any additional information.

Thank you very much,


Desired Settlement
I hope that the BBB is able to contact ServiceOne and have the A/C repaired at no additional cost to me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: William ************
Contact Phone: 407-331-6589
Contact Email: *****
I have just spoken with Ms.****** by telephone on 7/2/15. I listened carefully to her complaint about the issues with her system.

In a four year timeframe from installation she has had to replace a blower motor, and now has a leak in the evaporator coil. Her agreement that she signed gave her 10-year warranty on the parts, and 1-year warranty on her labor. Refrigerant is not covered as a part in the warranty by the manufacturer, this is typical with all manufacturers. I acknowledged that it is unfortunate that she has had 2 issues with the system in 4-years, and that may not be typical, but it can happen. These machines are mechanical items made by human beings, and can fail. They operate approximately 2,700 hours per year in Central Florida. Two repairs does not constitute her system being a lemon in our opinion, or the manufacturers opinion.

On her most recent issue that is in question, the evaporator coil, we had to add the R-410a refrigerant to the system to get her cooling. Our technician performed a leak search and could not find the leak. He did not give her additional refrigerant, only the 2lbs that she needed. Within a few weeks later she found the system was not cooling again, and we went back out. The system was low on refrigerant again, we added 3lbs. of refrigerant, and performed a leak search again, and found the leak this time. It was in the evaporator coil of the air handler. We DID NOT charge her for this call, as we felt it was not fair to charge her again for something that we would have liked to have found the first time a few weeks earlier. We quoted the repairs to the coil @ $965.

She did call and talk with Dan, our office manager. Being empathetic to the situation, and her concerns, he offered to apply the cost of the refrigerant to the repair of the coil as a way to help the situation out. She explained then that she felt she had a lemon. Dan called the manufacturer to see if there was anything they would do on her behalf... and they could not offer anything as the system is 4-years old. Dan did fail to get back to Ms.****** quickly as we have just been as busy as we can ever be with the heat of summer in full strength. He did apologize to her for this when she called back in to find out what the manufacturer said.

Unfortunately, the replacement of a coil is a time consuming job to do correctly, and requires materials that are not covered in warranty by the manufacturers parts warranty. Refrigerant, filter drier, silver solder, use of torch gases, labor to remove and install new coil, labor and time to acquire the coil, and return the coil for warranty. These cost all add up.

The resolution offered: What we originally offered was going to cost Ms.****** $779 additional dollars in repairs for the coil and future refrigerant needed during the coil replacement. I have offered to replace the coil below our cost of time and materials @ $400.00 She has indicated that she is going to call other companies in town to see if she can find someone to do it for less money than this, which is her right to do so. I have cautioned Ms.****** that there are shortcuts that can be done while changing this coil, and that would lower someone's cost considerably, and told her that we would not be taking any of these "short cuts" as I want the unit repaired correctly for all parties.

We do not wish for issues to happen to air conditioning & heating systems that are installed by us. We do however know that they will at some point break. It's what we are in business to do, repair, maintain, and install air conditioning & heating systems. All customers are offered labor warranty to cover their possible expenses. Typically for a standard system that she purchased, the labor warranty. The system she chose to install comes with t1-year labor, which of course we honored. After that period, the labor is no long covered, and the only warranty left is that of the manufacturer on the mechanical parts of the machine which is 9 additional years. Manufacturers warranty does not include, refrigerant, filters, general maintenance issues, or cleanings. It is recommended that customers maintain there system semi-annually by all manufacturers. Ms.****** has had maintenance done 1-time in 4 years from our company, and upon that maintenance, we did not find any issues, and the system was in proper working order and performance was noted to be right on manufacturers specifications.

It is our goal as a company to resolve any issues with any customer promptly, professionally, and give great service in the process. I am sorry that she feels as though this has not been accomplished. Our rating with many outside sources has us ranked extremely well for this, and we have offered the best we can for Ms.******' situation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did speak to the owner of the company. He said he didn't sell me a lemon and went on to explain if I bought a car and something happened to it after a few years would I expect the dealer to be responsible for the repairs. My response was yes. His statements were not even relevant to my situation with his product. He wanted to know what I would consider he do and I explained that I strongly believed that the A/C unit was a lemon from day one and I think he should fix it at no charge which he said he would not do. He ask me what would I be willing to pay and I advised him that seeing that I had already paid 186 (for nothing) I wiould reluctantly be willing to pay another 300. He declined my offer and said he could repair the coil for 400. I do not feel his offer is reasonable considering all the problems I've had with the unit. I called several different A/C companies and the range I received is between 400 - 600. I don't see where Serviceone is given me any kind of discount.

Final Business Response
I appreciate the position and understand the frustration of the homeowner. As I said before in our original response... 2 repairs in 4 years does not constitute a lemon with any product. I am a homeowner as well, and I hate to have to spend money on unexpected repairs in my own home, and wish that I did not have those expenses. But this is just a part of homeownership.

I understand that the homeowner has called other companies to find out what the cost would be to change the coil, and I have done the same. We have not found a company that would charge less than $500-$600 and most were above that dollar amount. We did this as we try our hardest to be fair in our pricing and competitive as we can, yet remain profitable to stay in business and provide exceptional customer service!

I understand that the owner wants to spend the least amount of money to resolve the situation, and unfortunately we cannot go any lower than where we are.

That said, we are going to stand by our offer to replace the coil for $400.00 If the homeowner would like to have us move forward with this, we will expedite service to her at the soonest available time slot we can in accordance with her availability. If not, we understand, and wish her the best of luck with her system and whom she chooses for the repairs.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 04/03/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

State Cert.Lic #CAC1813760

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William R Gouty (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Kenneth Bailey (Plumbing Manager)Ms. Ginger Gouty (Office Manager)Mr. Daniel Zasowski (Operations Manager.)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company is in the business of air conditioning, heating and maintenance services.

Alternate Business Names
ServiceOne Air Conditioning, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ServiceOne Air Conditioning & Plumbing, LLC

755 W SR 434; Ste-L

Longwood, FL 32750-5183

To | From


1 Locations

  • 755 W SR 434; Ste-L 

    Longwood, FL 32750-5183(407) 966-4441

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ServiceOne Air Conditioning & Plumbing, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 966-4441

Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.