BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/09/2002

Futon Planet

(407) 447-0638View Additional Phone Numbers4801 E Colonial Dr, OrlandoFL 32803 Send email to Futon Planet



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/09/2002

BBB has determined that Futon Planet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Futon Planet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Futon Planet

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/09/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered two futon covers from Futon Planet. They have not been delivered, and the company has ignored my emails and phone messages.
I ordered two futon covers from Futon Planet. They have not been delivered, and the company has ignored my emails and phone messages.

My order ID is *****

Desired Settlement
I desire delivery of my order. It this is not possible, I demand a full refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Rima LeBlanc
Contact Phone: 407.447.0638
Contact Email: rima@futonplanet.com
I called and spoke with the customer about the 2 special order covers. We had been trying to reach her to confirm the custom extra LOFT before the covers were made. We were not able to reach her. We have connected with our customer and corrected the error in the order. We have a happy customer. Thank you. :) Enjoy your futon covers and thank you, for your business. :)

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Futon Planet has corrected their error to my full satisfaction! Excellent customer service.

11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The issue is the quality of the product coming from the brand ****** does not satisfy my expectations. I have a piece of furniture that I can't use.
On April 11, 2013 I purchased a "Futon" from "Futon Planet." at 4801 E Colonial Dr. Orlando, Fl. 32830. This futon was described as "Tracy bed frame/mattress" by ***** for a sale price of $299, original price agreed with the store owner was $599. I asked why the futon was on sale and the owner responded with nothing was wrong with it, but there was no space to keep it. I trusted that statement and from the sample shown in the showroom, the futon was quite comfortable and well upholstered. The owner had a futon in the box so that was the one I purchased. Once I set it up, I noticed the quality to be much different to that of which I was sampled. the Futon was uncomfortable and feels like upholstered plywood, poly fill can be seen coming through the stitching. I spoke with the owner of "Futon Planet" who was quite rude and unwilling to try and work something out. From here, I reached out to ********* ******** ******* line X-XXX-XXX-XXXX extension 6518 and spoke to the Florida Representative ******* ***** who was willing to help. He said he would speak to the owner of "Futon Planet" and see if he could arrange something, but I have yet to hear from Mr. ******** I believe to have purchased something of quality that does meet the standards I was shown at the store for the standards Serta represents. I have a piece of furniture I can't utilize and $299 out of my pocket and wasted. Trying to have any solution to this matter in July 8 I wrote a letter and sent a certified mail to the head office "Lifestyle Solution" from ***** company at **** **** **** ******* ******** CA.XXXXX to explain the situation, but I did not receive a response from them either.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund the amount of money I paid for the Futon, I do not wish to get a replacement or deal with this business anymore.

Business Response
Ms. ******** purchased a Tracy click clack futon on Feb.23, 2013. This item was a close-out in our store. The manufacturer discontinued the item and it was on clearance for $299. It is not at all unusual for models to be discontinued. It happens in every industry. The regular price was $499. The customer paid the clearance price of $299 with the agreement that she would pick it up the following Monday. She put a deposit of $50 to hold it. We had one in our showroom and one in a box in our stockroom. She wanted the one in the box, so we held it. She did not return to pick up her click clack until April 12th, more than 2 months later. We called her several times to encourage her to pick-up, as our stockroom is very limited. She said she needed more time and we decided to work with her. The Tracy click clack she picked up in the box was exactly like the one that was in the store showroom 2 months earlier. Certainly, if she wanted the floor model we would have given her that. But she wanted the one in the box and we would not hold a floor model for 2 months. The customer called the manufacturer in California and spoke with ******** He confirmed with her that the Tracy futons were purchased and delivered in the same container. They were manufactured in the same factory, at the same time and had the same skew number. Less than 100 Tracy click clacks came in and they all sold. They were identical twins.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I expect from you to follow from your Lifetime Guarantee Policy as stated as follows:
"As we continue to do business we will do our very best to help you quickly and efficiently. That is our Lifetime Guarantee!" You are not honoring this policy. I have been dealing with this situation for more than enough time now. If I am the first person to complain about this issue, then you will have to go with the policy that you have stated on your website and be more willing comprise with me. At this point, I will accept your second option, only if you pick up the item from my house as well as bring the amount of money you are promising to give me. If you do not wish to honor your policy at this point, then you have to change it. This is what I am willing to agree to and I hope you will take into consideration of what I am trying to resolve.

Final Business Response
I am happy to look at the futon and inspect it before I agree to give you a partial refund. We will not come out to your home to pick it up. You will have to bring it to our store, just as you picked it up from our store after you made your last payment on the item. Please let me know when you would like to do that so that you can make sure I am at the store.

Consumer Response
After some thought, I have decided to decline your proposal. You have not given any guarantee that you will accept the item.I would like to see if rather I can obtain an exchange for another futon in the store for the value of $300 (purchase price of the futon I purchased). I have read and I am aware of your refund regulations I am claiming my item to be DAMAGED and is the sole reason for my current claims to a refund or exchange. This item was a boxed Item and just like all products they run a risk of having manufacturer defect. My futon IS defective and I will not lose the money I have invested in the item. I am not content with the product I purchased. The lack of assistance I have received from your company is rectifying it or helping the manufacturer replace it. I understand the Item purchased is a discontinued item but this does not mean or imply that I accepted to purchase a poorly constructed, uncomfortable futon for $300. So I hope to find a resolution that helps us both. In the end this is your company and you have the authority to help an unhappy costumer if willing


Business Response
I will ONLY accept the item if it is in NEW condition. I will let you exchange it ONLY if there are no signs of stains or of use. If I see the item and it is NOT in NEW condition, I will not accept it.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response. I accept this offer. If it's all right with you, I would like to take my item after three o'clock tomorrow, Friday November 8th. I appreciate your consideration in my request.


Business Response
From: ****@futonplanet.com
Sent: Friday, November 08, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#90116131(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

Thanks for your efforts. The customer brought the futon back just 20 minute ago--only to find out, upon my inspection, she BROKE THE FUTON! No wonder she wanted her money back. There was never one mention that the futon was broken in all our correspondence. She likely thought I would not notice. Nonetheless, I refused the futon and she left the broken futon in the back alley and walked out.

10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Futon Sales

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 10/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Orange County Business Tax Receipt
http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx

BBB records show a license number of 504441 for this company, issued by Orange County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.octaxcol.com/Octc/LocalBusinessTax/Search.aspx.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Rima LeBlanc (Owner)Mr. Gabriel LeBlanc (Owner)
Related Businesses
Gabe LeBlanc LLC - 2423 S Orange Ave Ste 382, Orlando, FL
Futons Etc. Factory Outlet - 4801 E Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL
London Teak - 4801 E Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL
Dragonfly Teak - 4801 E Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL
Business Category

Futon Sales

Products & Services

This company is in the business of Retail-Furniture such as Beds-Lamps-Bar Stool-Mirrors-Desks-Dinette sets and many many more.

Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Alternate Business Names
Titan Investment Group, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Futon Planet

4801 E Colonial Dr

Orlando, FL 32803

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Futon Planet is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 845-2371
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Futon Sales

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.