BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2008

Speedway Flooring

Phone: (386) 248-2882Fax: (386) 248-2802View Additional Phone Numbers2841 S Nova Rd, Daytona BeachFL 32119-6101 Send email to Speedway Flooring



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2008

BBB has determined that Speedway Flooring meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Speedway Flooring's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Speedway Flooring

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Owner failed to reimburse my money on a returned product that she was reimbured from the company.
It is almost a year I have been dealing with this issue. I purchased flooring for
On 6/27/14 I purchased from Speedway Flooring in Daytona Beach, Florida,Pinacle Country Wood Flooring in the amount of $6398.79.
Invoice *****
The order was placed with ******* ******** at Speedway Flooring XXX-XXX-XXXX
The distributor of this product is **** & ******* in Jacksonville, Florida XXX-XXX-XXXX
Payment was made on my **** in the amounts of:
$1398.79 on 6/27/14 to Speedway Flooring
$5000.00 on 6/30/14 to Speedway Floring
The floor was partially installed on 9/28/14
At the time the product was not reflective of the sample I ordered from. We stopped the installation per ******* ********'s suggestion.
******* contacted the Rep from Pinacle Flooring,
**** ********* XXX-XXX-XXXX.
He came on 10/3/14
He was in agreement the product did not reflect what I ordered from sample.
The floor was removed and returned to **** and ********
A claim was submitted and satisfied.
******* ******** notified us the claim was settled. Funds were reimbursed to Speedway Flooring.
This is where the problem started.
******* could not or would not give us back our money.
to this date 5/19/15 we have received the following payments in increments of:
$500.00 credited to my **** on 1/5/15
$500.00 credited to my **** on 1/10/15
$500.00 credited to my **** on 2/3/15
$1000.00 check 2/9/15
$500.00 check 3/6/15
$745.50 Invoice ***** for tile purchased
$3745.50 refunded to date
Difference still owed to us is $2653.29
She claims she will put our claim into bankruptcy
We are only trying to get our money back.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking to be reimbursed in the amount of $2653.49 due us by Speedway Tile in Daytona Beach, Florida.
We purchased wood flooring in the amount of $6398.79 on 6/27/14 from Speedway Tile
$3000.00 refunded
$745.50 refunded by product
Total amount due us is $2653.49

Business Response
In response to this consumer complaint speedway flooring made this customer aware it was a special order product and that there would be no returns based on variances in natural wood. This consumer also was told on several occasions before we ordered the hardwood that the sample only represents 1 percent of finished job. I personally on more than one occasion suggested to this consumer to buy a laminate floor which is a picture of wood and that this product would look exactly like the sample. The consumer was on the jobsite when all product was opened and installed on the floor. Over half of the product was installed before they stopped the installer. If this product was unacceptable it would have been unacceptable after the first box went down on the floor. The consumer simply did not like her choice of product.
Speedway Flooring did ask the vendor to help us on this and because they value our relationship agreed to take back uninstalled product. The agreement was with vendor they would issue a full refund if the consumer bought another product in their line. The consumer could not find a suitable product out of hundreds of items that she liked so my credit from vendor was for unopened boxes only. Because of this I charged 25% restock fee & freight back to the vendor which are charges speedway flooring incurred for the consumer not meeting the agreement to choose another product from this vendor. I would also like to point out that the consumer had me special order tile for her bathroom that she didn't like and asked to return it and order something else which we did at no charge to her.
Our contracts & Credit card receipts clearly state our special order policy of 25% restock fee & freight.
The consumer asked us to order some carpet for them and the bill was for 2422.69 I asked him to pay 882.30 and I would order the carpet. This is when he said our figures don't match.

restock fee 1599.70
freight 170.00
already refunded 3745.50

5515.20 total refund so far.
Leaving a balance of 883.59 due back to the consumer.

We also incurred the cost of installation product that did get installed as well as the removal of the product which was 1600.00

the carpet ticket on my side would have been 1540.39 and I was going to reduce the restock fee until the consumer came into the store and got aggressive. He has been coming in to our store and telling customers I sold him defective product. My attorney has said to me that I should have taken them to court for breech of contract but I chose to try and do what I could. We feel these consumers have probably done this to more companies than ours. Any other dealings with them will be through The law firm in Daytona beach.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was not made aware prior to purchasing this product that there would be variations in the actual product as opposed to the sample. Regardless **** ******** the rep for **** and ************* the product was purchased) absoultly agreed with the misrepresentation of the product. It was returned and refunded!
******* ******** sent her installer on Sunday morning 9/28/14 to install the product. We opened up the house(as we were not living there yet) for the installer ******* We could not stay because of the glue that was being applied. My husband and I went to church and breakfast and after went back to check on ********* progress. The product was awful. I immediately called ******* and she told me to shut down the job. When ******* from Speedway Tile and the Rep from **** and ******* came on 10/03/14 not only did they agree the floor was grossly misrepresented, but had been installed incorrectly! I was told the floor would need to be taken up due to the the installers incapability to place the planks correctly. She also said he had installed the floor without written consent. And that he would be responsible to tear out the floor. I was promised there would be no mess. They never covered my counters, cabinets(newly installed,window coverings, or closed doors to the other rooms. the grinding of the glue off my concrete floor left me in a big mess. I was told by ******* "there was no mess!" She accused me of not liking the floor I picked. The floor was maple with white frost, just like my cabinets. I loved it in the sample. But unfortunalely it was not reflective in the actual product. And all parties agreed and the flooring was returned to the distributer **** & ******* on 10/3014. I spent thousands of dollars in good faith. I am not here to slander anyone, but I feel I am being swindled. Also there is no truth to me returning tile for my bathroom. There was no exchange either. She must be confused. I purchased floor tile for my bedrooms, mosaic tiles for my fireplace, and shower and floor tile for my bathroom. Cost = $2244.68. There was no returning or reordering on any of these products. I do not like being slandered like that. Also my husband and I are upstanding, hardworking human beings. We do not cheat people. We come from a long line of decent and trustworthy people. We have good credit and have NEVER done to people what we have experienced with Speedway Tile. My husband had to go to her store twice a week to try to recover this money that she told us she would give back to us. it took 3 months before she even attemped to return the money then she made us wait and paid us in installments. It is now May and this has been going on since September between the installation, removal, and return of the flooring. We have had no more payments since her last check of $500 3/6/15 which she herself wrote the balance due us in the amount of $3398.79. This floor was misrepresented and incorrectly installed!

Final Business Response
In response to consumer answer to speedway flooring's response to original complaint we are politely calling this consumer a liar. I will further say that the consumer was on the jobsite for entire job while ****** was there and ****** has pictures of consumer on this jobsite not in church as consumer has stated. This consumer was told several times by me in front of other employees of speedway flooring that the product was natural and returns would not be made because of variations of wood. This consumer was also advised by myself to buy a laminate floor which would look exactly like the sample.

To state again that she was to get another floor, not a refund as I did not have to honor any returns. She is in breach of a special order contract & I have the right to charge the restock fee & freight that is clearly stated on the contract as well as the credit card receipt which is clearly signed by consumer. As far as the installation goes she hasn't paid one penny for the work that went down or the removal of product.

My lawyers have copies of all paperwork concerning these consumers.

This consumer has been trespassed from our store due to extremely violent behavior which includes a threat to shoot me. The two contractors he has made this statement to have given the police a report in this matter. I will refund to the original credit card the balance of $883.59 and that is our offer. If this is not a suitable offer for consumer we will have a court of law assess the situation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Tile Sales, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Hardwood, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Laminate, Carpet Layers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/31/2008Business started: 01/01/1984Business started locally: 01/01/2006
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Waldon (President)Mr. Rawb Mecannic (Sales)Ms. Barbara Waldon (Vice President)
Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Tile Sales, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Hardwood, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Laminate, Carpet Layers

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial flooring services for tile, carpet, laminate and wood.

Hours of Operation

Monday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sunday: Closed

Alternate Business Names
Speedway Flooring & Tile

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Speedway Flooring

2841 S Nova Rd

Daytona Beach, FL 32119-6101

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2841 S Nova Rd 

    Daytona Beach, FL 32119-6101

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Speedway Flooring is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (386) 323-6205
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.